Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Deception - eBook

Multnomah Books Deception - eBook

Ollie Chandler is back! The brilliant homicide detective in Deadline and Dominion is no stranger to danger. When a university professor is murdered, Ollie makes a stunning discovery. Could the killer be a fellow detective? Bristling with suspense, Alcorn's heart-punding page-turner will take you to heaven and hell and back again to discover the truth.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deception - eBook
Review 1 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some good parts, but just way too much

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start by giving the good points of this book; the characters are well done and interesting, especially Ollie, his friends, and his fellow police officers. The dialogues about God and the Gospel are great and Alcorn does a good job of defending the faith in those dialogues. There's plenty of suspense in some parts, but also alot to keep up with in others. The problem is that as a mystery, it is too long and there are too many twists and turns that could've been edited out. In addition, I was put off by the "Heavenly" conversations that were just add-ons in the story and bring too much speculation into what we will say or do in Heaven. I know this seems picky, but the character of God seems to be cheapened a bit and these scenes made me uncomfortable. There are some nice odes to Sherlock Holmes and Nero Wolfe, but again, it would've been nice to see these characters in a more concise, fast moving mystery. This is the first book I've read from Alcorn so maybe I'm being too harsh, but this wouldn't be a book I'd put on the top of my list to recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
judypudy
Location:Loveland, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Randy Alcorn is an excellent author. This book is exciting, suspenseful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read with wonderful Scripture references

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Location:Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suspense laced with "tongue in cheek" humour from beginning to end. Lots of in depth spiritual perspective which gave lots of "food for thought".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery with unbelievable outcome

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Samuel Stephens
Location:Northern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Characters come to life and you feel like you personally know them. You feel involved in the twists and turns within the story line.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eunice Sanborn
Our Church Book Study group read this book over a period of several weeks. The hardest part was waiting until the next week to see what happened next. It is a wonderful story, full of humor and adventure. It also fits into the "who dunit?" story. Randy Alcorn is a great auther and you can visualize everything he writes. We highly recommend this, you won't be sorry.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Bauman
I have only begun to read this book and already I am sucked in. I had just read Deadline and Dominion and when I found out there was a third book in the series, I immediately bought it. If Deception is anything like the first two, it will be a winner. All 3 of these books are thought provoking, dramatic, and spiritually packed. Randy Alcorn is an awesome author. I will be sure to pass these books on to others to read. All are must read books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
S Drost
Another great read from Randy Alcorn. If you enjoyed Deadline and Dominion-this book is just as enthralling. Hard to put down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheri Clay
This book is absolutely amazing! Its Sam Spade and C.S. Lewis all rolled into one. Forget Christian fiction this book deserves to be on the best sellers list! Its as suspenseful as a John Grisham novel. The author Randy Alcorn who has written twenty five novels does an awesome job with this page turner. Youll laugh, youll cry even get mad as you read you wont be able to put this one down! Actually this is the third novel in the line of mysteries Deadline and Dominion being the other two which have also received rave reviews. This reviewer loved the Sherlock Holmes quotes before each chapter and youll see heaven come alive as Chandlers friends and family that have passed on discuss Ollie with the Carpenter, Jesus. Youll cry as Carly, Jakes daughter dies and meets Jesus and really see Hell as Palatine finds himself there after his murder. A must read for any Christian but great for the unsaved as the questions unfold from Chandler as he questions Gods existence. Even the discussion questions in the back of the book make it great for a book group or reaching the unsaved. So as the saying goes taped on Ollies refrigerator Examine the evidence. Then follow wherever it leads. Dont miss this suspense thriller as it is a must, great read and one of the best of 2007 novels - Christian or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deception - eBook
This review is fromDeception.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
dale Lewis
A local university professor is found murdered and the motive looks like revenge. Thirty year Portland detective Ollie Chandler makes a stunning discovery, reluctantly leading him to an unthinkable conclusion: the murderer could be a fellow homicide detective. As Ollie probes deeper, irritating his fellow detectives with his unorthodox methods, his life is threatened. Several unsuccessful attempts on his life do not deter his pursuit of justice even when a detective is murdered.Two of Randy Alcorns former lead characters, Jake Woods (Deadline) and Clarence Abernathy (Dominion) are reunited in this heart-pounding murder mystery with overwhelming tension and suspicion. Jake and Clarence are Christ-followers who add the faith perspective to this storyline without pushing a Hell, fire and damnation! approach on Ollie or the reader. Deception is a story thatll affect you at a deeper level beyond mere entertainment or a simple tug at your hearts. Alcorn poignantly paints a realistic portrayal of life drawing the reader into the story. To me, the heavenly scenes compliment this earthbound mystery well. It gives us a believable but limited glimpse into the happenings of Heaveninto the supernatural realm. I could envision my parents, grandparents and other saints dialogging about their friends and family.The novel is a well-written police story starring a curmudgeonly, alcoholic cop who pays homage to Rex Stouts Nero Wolfe and other infamous mystery writers. Ollie is so transparent it is like looking in the mirror for (many of us) as he asks the difficult why? questions. All of Alcorns characters are intensely deep and refreshingly real! There is no sugarcoating with his characters.Deception was a long time coming from this prolific author but well worth the wait. Dont delay picking up a copy and if you havent read his other titles, get those too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.