Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook

When the world wants girls to grow up too fast, how do you help your daughter navigate boy craziness, modesty, body image, media, and Internet safety? The foundation for an emotionally healthy teen girl is built between the ages of 8 and 12. Mothers of tween girls can direct and guide their daughters by developing a close relationship with them. In Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl, Dannah Gresh shares six ways to help you grow confident, godly young women. Also included is a quiz to test your relationship, fun activities to do together, and Scriptures to use in prayer. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Review 1 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book for parents of 6yrs old and above!!

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Helen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opened my eyese. I always thought to not discuss things because I don't want her to know about them. But this book made me realize if I am the one she can talk to it wont be the boy down the stret she is talking to. Excelent book on the transformation from girl to teen to young lady. Strongly reccomend!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love all books by Dannah Gresh

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
bible girl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The insight from her books has been so helpful to me in how to keep the little in my 2 girls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Enjoyed

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momx2
Location:So. Cal
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 9 yr. old daughter that I want to reinforce her godly/Christian values. This book gives great advice and reasons to keep our girls in age appropriate lives. The world wants them to grow up and mature too fast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marster1n
Location:Naperville, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book for anyone who has a daughter and wants to keep that connection as she matures. Great suggestions and I really liked the scriptural references.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for raising a little girl

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Jackson, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a great resource in raising a little girl God's way. It was very encouraging to see I am already doing things suggested in the book and on the right track. It was also helpful in giving me ideas and suggestions on things I haven't done yet and a good glimpse into things yet to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book to help you with that special talk.

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
sflora
Location:Alvin, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Great book with details on how, when, and what to say to your daughter as you dive into those special talks. I have recommended it to every Christian mom of girls that I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative and Encouraging

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
WAVEmom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
After reading this book, you will have an understanding of the brain development of tween girls, and just how important it is to form their values on the issues of modesty, boys, sex, etc before they become teenagers. The tween years are the value formation years. This is when values will be set in a girl's brain; values she will act on as a teen. It is vital that we connect with our daughters in order to pass on healthy values. Dannah has included a connection IQ quiz as a tool for mothers to become aware of where their relationship with their daughters stand. The quiz opened my eyes to some ways I can better connect with my daughter and inspired me to take action.
I love this quote from Dannah: "So the question for you now - in her tweens - is not "Should I talk to her about boys, and sex, and periods, and other stuff that scares me silly?" The question is "How do I talk to her about boys, and sex, and periods, and other stuff that scares me silly?" without robbing her of her innocence?" What a great point Dannah makes! I think that is what many mothers are afraid of: that if we raise these issues with our daughters too early, we will rob them of that girlhood innocence. Well, rest assured, Dannah does a fantastic job of providing you with ideas and words that are gentle, but do the job.
You will learn about the importance of role play even during the tween years. Has your daughter seemed to lose interest in such creative play? Dannah shares three ideas on how to encourage her to play roles in unconventional ways. Such play is directly linked to that value formation that is vital at this time in her life. Wonderful information on the selection of age-appropriate, wholesome dolls is shared, along with which dolls have been proven to be harmful to tween girls and why!
There is a chapter that discusses how to approach the topic of menstruation with your daughter; here you will find ideas on stories you can share with her, scriptures to use, a special basket you may want to put together, and a specific DVD is recommended. Other chapters provide information on protecting your tween girl from negative media effects that can rob her of innocence, ways to make your daughter's inner beauty her focus, and fun activities you can do to form her values on modesty. Dannah includes ideas to help mothers better know the friends their daughters are spending time with, shift a girl's focus away from boys to her future husband, and even some dating suggestions (for when she is older of course!)
The part that I actually found the most shocking - and encouraging - was when Dannah wrote about discussing sex with girls this young. Honestly, I knew that I would bring up the topic of menstruation soon, but I hadn't thought much about telling my girl about sex. I guess I figured that could wait till she's 13 or so! But Dannah encourages mothers to discuss said issue with their daughters by the time they are 9, and she explains why. She actually suggests specific words to say, and I think I have found those words to be the most inspiring and confidence building advice from all the great thoughts in this book! The words are gentle and beautiful, but direct and honest. What a gem:)
I am so glad that I read this book. I am excited to read more books from Dannah Gresh in the next few months, books that provide ideas and resources for dates and devotionals with my daughter. After reading Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl, I feel much more confident to walk this journey with my daughter in a beautiful, fun and connecting way!
For more tween girl encouragement, visit http://blossomingezers.blogspot.com/
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enlightening

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie Kay
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far one of the best books I have read. As a grandmother of two young girls, I look forward to implementing these suggestions. I am recommending this book to all the ladies in our church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book to read

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Red3b4
Location:British Columbia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have a daughter between the ages of 8-12 or approaching this age this is an excellent book. It has helped me to know that being the only Mom to say "NO" to certain toys is just ok!
Highly recomend this book to parents with daughters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
trulyblessed
Location:missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't even begin to tell you what a blessing this book has been to me lately. My daughter just turned 9 and I was unsure of how to approach the discussion of puberty. I took Dannah's advice and WOW! This talk that I have been dreading, turned into a fun mother-daughter bonding experience,and my daughter didn't freak out! I've told everyone I know with a daughter to read this book. I even took it to church one Sunday and passed it around! Thank you Dannah for this wonderful, amazing book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonita Wise
Location:Carrollton, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been affected in a positive way by what Dannah Gresh has written. She delivered a wonderful read.I devoured the words and content and quickly passed the title on to many other mothers. Her love and concern for children is evident in her writings and her research and knowledge are thorough. She not only talks about the problems, but she gives you solutions. This book is an insightful look at the culture that we are up against.(Take note on the section where celebrities do not allow their own children to watch t.v. )
I have been encouraged to use the knowledge to combat the culture and make a stand on the behalf of all girls the Lord has laid on my heart, especially my granddaughter.
Mothers, Grandmothers, God-mothers, Teachers, Aunts... ALL of you who have a love for Girls should purchase this book. It is a delight even if you have older girls.
I am certain that an investment in this book will yield a profitable return!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must read for parents of girls!

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a "must have" for parents of young girls - even if your daughter hasn't reached the tween stage. This book has been eye opening for me and I've been telling anyone I know who has a daughter that they need to read it. Dannah gives many scary statistics regarding the effect the culture is having on our young daughters, but also gives us many practical ways to protect our girls. I am more aware of what my girls (I have 3 of them) wear, watch on TV, and play with after reading this book. Making decisions for our girls that is against what our culture is doing is hard, but worth it!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renae
Location:Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raising a modest, Christian daughter is a challenge with all the worldly views around us. Although I have just begun this book, it is exactly waht I was looking for. I have been reccommending it to my friends with daughters already.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
Location:Batavia, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all know that this society is encouraging our children to grow up to fast and this book shares with mothers ways to connect with our daughters, fostering a life-long relationship. The book gives advice on how to keep our daughters innocent, yet not naive. Boys, body issues, and other adult issues come quick enough. The author helps us foster this childhood innocence as long as possible. Great book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Six Ways to Keep the Little in Your Girl: Guiding Your Daughter from Her Tweens to Her Teens - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very practical biblical advice.....

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
brandy
Location:Conway, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent book, it cited lots of research that gives you a good idea of when certain physical changes in a little girl will occur which makes it easier to determine when to have certain discussions, and begin implementing certain standards in the life of your daughter. Everything was grounded in scripture, this was a very practical book that gave many great ideas and shared many things as a new mother of daughters that I might have never known......
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.