Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook

Grace Walk has helped thousands of believers leave behind the "manic-depressive" Christian walk: either running around trying to perform to be acceptable to God or thinking they've failed Him again and wondering if they'll ever measure up. Living the grace walk gets you off this religious roller coaster! Using his own journey from legalism into grace, Steve McVey illustrates the foundational, biblical truths of who you are in Christ and how you can let Him live His life through you each day. As you experience your true identity in Christ, you'll come to know "Amazing Grace" as not just a song but as your true way of life!
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
5 out of 771%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Review 1 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of Time and Money

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammie43
Location:Culpeper, Va
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this book after reading the back cover on this site. When I first got the book, I was excited to get it because I thought it sounded like something that would be of great help on my walk with God. Like someone else said on their review, at first I was a little bored but kept reading. Then the next few chapters were somewhat true and exciting but by the time I got to chapter 7 or 8 I was very confused and felt like maybe I was not walking with God the way I should be. First red flag! I talked to my husband about it and he didn't agree with what the author was saying. I felt like I had let the devil right in my door and instead of being uplifted by a book, I was confused, questioning my salvation, and thought, "There is no way anyone can live like this for God." Pretty much the author makes it seem like you can set back and rest and let God do all the work. That's insane! So I threw it over in another stack of books not knowing what to do. Well the next day came along and I was in a battle with satan. First thing that popped in my mind was "The Book." you want to know where it is now?? In the trash! I don't recommend this book to ANYONE!! Don't waste your time or money.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing book

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
R Cannon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book with a group of girls over the Summer as a Bible study. All of us agree this is a book every Christian should read! I have never viewed my Christian walk ths way! This book and God's amazing grace has allowed me to experience such freedom and break bonds that inhibited my relationship with Christ. It helped me fall in love with my Savior and see how much He loves me! Grave Walk is a book I will read over and over again!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Soberano
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have experience the love of God in my life. This book helped me understand more of it and to live by grace.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
saved by grace
Location:the Northwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike others on this board who write a review on a book they have not read and then judge someone they do not know, I have read the book, several times in fact, and have taught it in several churches.
If inconsistency, disappointment, and frustration area part of your Christian experience then read this book. Chances are you have not been told the whole story about all that happened to and in you when you became a Christian. The American church as a whole has done a poor job teaching the whole gospel; the new birth and our new identity. Much more happened to you than the forgiveness of all your sin and eternal life (if that wasn't enough). You have been transformed, and if you do not fully understand that, then the Christian life will seem disappointing and frustrating.
Read the book, you will not be the same!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is fantastic

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tee Ta
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say that before I read this book, I was one of those people who thought that I less than and that I would never measure up, so "Grace Walk" was a real eye opener for me and it's the best book that I have ever read. It showed me that the Christian walk is not about following a bunch of rules, but about allowing Christ to live thru me. I will read it again and again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Beware...

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Micah68
I first have to admit... I have not read this book in its entirety, but I have reasons for that, and reasons for writing this review. I was going to enthusiastically purchase this book, and was at first encouraged by what appeared to be in its contents~however I decided to do some research, and that research discouraged me from making the purchase.
Within the past year I have come to believe that I have had a legalistic mindset, and have recently come out of some legalistic teachings. I'm not going to make a point to define what I believe to be 'legalism', but for those of you who are interested in this book, you too are probably investigating the concepts of legalism and grace.
Legalism is extremely painful, and when a Christian has been made aware that they have been living in the dead religion of legalism, they might do almost anything to avoid experiencing that again. That tendency could drive someone into a teaching on grace that is not grounded and rooted in Biblical truth.
One can use scripture out of context in order to support a legalistic view on pleasing God, however one can also take scripture out of context to support the opposite view. I find some of McVeys points and usage of scripture to be confusing at best. At first glance, his points are attractive and appear to be in line with a firm handle on what God's grace truly is. However, after digging a little deeper, his views on hell, salvation, and walking the Christian life are quite 'hazy'.
So, as one who has, and is continuing to study grace ~ here is my recommendation. Don't start with what amounts to be another man's view, based on his thoughts and experiences. Get a good, solid, Bible study, deeply immersed with accurate teachings on scripture. John Piper is excellent, as well as David Roper. A wonderful book also is 'Search for Significance', and 'When People are Big and God is SMall' is good as well. Get a copy of the Strong's Concordance, which has the original greek renderings of verses, as well as what the greek accurately translates into. (I can't tell you how much that alone has cleared up my understanding of Bible passages.) Another good book is 'Changes that Heal' by Henry Cloud. While some contents of that book I contend with, His teaching on the importance of balancing Grace with Truth is remarkable.
And that's just it... to truly be free from 'legalism' - a solid understanding of grace is critical. However, grace must be learned in the light of Truth. Grace and truth go hand in hand. If you read this book, read it very critically. If it is not plainly taught in scripture, do not accept it, no matter how appealing it may sound, or how compelling it may be presented.
And finally, this is only my opinion, after reading McVeys interviews, blogs, and information he has posted on the web, I wrestle with the pride that I detect that he has in his teachings. God always admonishes us to exercise humility ~ is not humility truly at the heart of Grace?
-3points
8of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Oscar
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life-changing book! Far exceeded my expectations. Best explanation I've ever read of grace vs. legalism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Scott Cunius
Are you tired of striving for Christ yet feel empty and hopeless. It's Ok! You can rest now! Know your true Identity in Christ! Let Him take over and live in you and through you! Live the exchanged life! He exchanged His life for yours over 2000 years ago! Now enjoy the GraceWalk! :) You are just right and Perfect! PS Please try the GraceWalk Experience Work book in a single or group setting as well! Amazing Grace! Great gift to give away freely too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Led this study for a group of mature Christian women and we all agreed that we were totally libereated from many legalistic ideas. One of the very best studies we've ever done. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Geralyn Attree
Delivery was quick and item was received in excellent condition. Christianbook.com is the first site I go to when ordering Christian books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
This is a book I keep in my pick-up truck and pull out to open and read again and again. It goes so much against our worldly programming to live the kind of life Jesus Christ calls us to. We are so prone to live our relationship with God by rules and laws instead of love which Jesus said is the fulfillment of the Law. To understand the grace life causes us to love our God and let Him live His life through us without the struggles of anxiety, self-condemnation, guilt and lifeless living. Grace fills our hearts with gratitude and the longing to draw close to God and His Word. Thank God for this precious man and his book of love!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kat
I was given this book as a gift over a year ago and it sat on my shelf unread until just recently. I read it at just the right time in my spiritual journey and I felt like it was the life preserver thrown to me that saved me from drowning in the religious quick sand of the typical church life. Shortly after reading, I called the person that gave it to me and thanked him for sharing this amazing new perspective on enjoying my relationship with God without the strings attached.I highly recommend this book to anyone that is even the slightest bit unhappy with being a Christian or that is interested in taking their love of God to a new level. You won't be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
pd sanders
I was given this book by a mentor. started reading and because living a legalistic life i had no joy no peace, not able to live up to the law. as a christian of over 20 years, never expertially knew the love of God, let alone knowing His peace, His joy, just a law driven life. Praise be to God for this book. for me it has been "life giving".Being brought to His banqueting table, praise God for His grace and mercy. Understanding His Grace, thats life, being made alive.Grace walkexcellent read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alana
This book has changed my life. God has used it as a revelation of my freedom in Christ and has filled my heart with joy! You will be forever changed. Could not put it down!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Levi Baker
I've read countless books on the Christian Life. Some would fuel my excitement about the Christian life, but few have provided me with sustained passion. This book has radically changed my understanding of the Christian life and the truths it provides have freed me to live as the passionate, free believer that God made me to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kyle
This book is amazing. God used it to help me at a very low point in my life. I've been a Christian my whole life, but I never really understood grace like I now do until I read this book. In fact, I often go to it when I need reminders. God will change your perspective on who He is and what he wants you to do in the Christian life when you better understand the grace He's given you through faith in the work of His Son. In fact, that is the ONLY way to stay balanced and bear fruit in the Christian life. If you're always thinking about what you need to do for God, read this book and allow God to change your perspective through it. It is realistic in its approach and biblical in its theology.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cristina Paiz
The way I relate to God changed dramatically after reading this book. It was liberating. For a person who has been a Christian all his life this is the book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joanne
This book is fabulous! God used it to gradually change my outlook on the Christian life and how it is meant to be lived. I highly recommend this book, especially to people who've been Christians for a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dana
Excellent! Steve McVey really puts a lot of issues into perspecive. I thought I was living like a Christian and doing what God wants of me, however there are so many things this author put into perspective for me...now I TRULY feel my eyes have been opened. I feel I understand more of what God wants from me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Grace Walk: What You've Always Wanted in the Christian Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
lisa saia
These truths have personally been life changing for me.. If ever there is a book that Christians NEED to read, this is definitely it! Hats off to Steve McVey for providing us his insight and revelation concerning this issue.. along with his gifted ability to convey them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.