Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Secret Identity - eBook

Harvest House Publishers A Secret Identity - eBook

Cara Bentley is raised by her grandfather to appreciate family. When she discovers quite by accident that he was adopted, her whole perspective changes. If he wasn't a Bentley, who was he? If she isn't a Bentley, who is she? She determines to find her real family. Ending up in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, she takes a room at the Zook family farm. When she seeks the help of attorney Todd Reasoner, the search for the truth begins in earnest. But as mysterious accidents begin to happen, Cara suspects her attempt to find out the truth is not welcome and neither is she.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Secret Identity - eBook
Review 1 for A Secret Identity - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Turns and twists abound in this one.

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ivie
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What started out slowly became a gripping tale and a good read. So life-like that it's hard to remember it is fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not My Kind of Book

Date:April 20, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, this book definitely kept me more engaged than the first book, but it still isn’t my favorite kind of book. It was a good book, but I wasn’t wowed by it and I didn’t fall in love with it. I cannot pinpoint anything that I disliked; it just didn’t hold my interest in an I-can’t-put-this-down kind of way. I wouldn’t really recommend this, since I don’t know what type of reader this book appeals to. (I’m sure some people will enjoy it, but I can’t say specifically who would.) All I can say is, sweet romance, sweet characters, but just an okay book in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeanne
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an example of Amish Faith I thourghly enjoy the stories of Faith that is the topic of this book We should all have the strength and faith depicted in these stories.
May God Bless the authors and CBD for giving us hope in this troubled times
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable and informative

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zbates
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gayle Roper is a gifted writer with an impressive vocabulary. This is a fast moving book with a little romance and mystery as well as real information on Amish living in these modern times. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Secret identity is the second book in The Amish Farm Trilogy.
 
Cara Bentley, a romance writer, is looking for her family. 
 
After her Grandfather, Pop, dies she finds adoption papers in a box of pictures. The adoption papers indicate that her grandfather was adopted as a baby in 1918. Finding these papers sends Cara on a mission to find out where she and her family come from.
During her search, Cara moves to Bird-In-Hand, Pennsylvania to board with the Zooks, an Amish family, who takes in boarders to supplement their income. To aid her in her search she hires local attorney, Todd Reasoner. As Cara and Todd begin their search, the Zook family farm begins to experience vandalism, which Cara suspects is directed at her, a warning, perhaps, for her to end her search.
I read, and enjoyed A Strangers Wish, the first book in the The Amish Farm Trilogy and looked forward to reading A Secret Identity. Mrs. Roper didn't disappoint with this, the second book in the series. Cara, Todd, and the Zooks become very real to the reader. You want Cara to find her family, and feel bad when hateful things are directed toward her. I recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery, suspense, and/or Amish stories. I will be looking forward to reading the third book A Rose Revealed when it is released this winter. 
 
**A Secret Identity by Gayle Roper was provided for me free by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK by Gayle roper

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Epperson
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a reviewer for Harvest House Publishers.
Cara Bentley is raised by her grandfather to appreciate family. When she discovers—quite by accident—that he was adopted, her whole perspective changes. If he wasn’t a Bentley, who was he? If she isn’t a Bentley, who is she? She determines to find her real family. Ending up in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, she takes a room at the Zook family farm. When she seeks the help of attorney Todd Reasoner, the search for the truth begins in earnest. But as mysterious accidents begin to happen, Cara suspects her attempt to find out the truth is not welcome-and neither is she.
I did not read the first book but just might decide to go and buy it. This story is very good. It keeps your interest from the start. You will fall in love with Cara Bentley, as I did. Cara Bentley is full of life and I think that is GREAT. She goes in search of her grandfather’s real family after he passes away and in the mean time, she finds love. Her brother is not in favor of her going to search for this part of their roots but she does it anyway, she is so independent. I thoroughly loved this book. I will suggest this book to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great story!

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the first book in this series I eagerly awaited book number two. I was worried when I discovered Todd resurfacing in book 2 because I didn't like him much in book 1. However, I loved getting to know him through Cara's eyes. The romance, that develops at just the right speed, is tangible. I thought Ms. Roper did a superb job on her character development and her attention to Amish detail was delightful. Charming ... yes, that's a good word. This story was charming. I read it within about 5 days and really enjoyed it! I had a hard time putting it down toward the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Go after what you believe

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Secret Identity was fantastic, I could not put it down once I started it, it is a book that holds your interest until the very last page, it will make you laugh and cry it was wonderful I can hardly wait for the next book in this trilogy Book one was also wonderful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book keeps your interest.

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
Location:washington, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept my interest with the different turns in the story. All Cara wants to do is find her roots and where her grandfather came from. She isn't prepared for the hatred that is thrown her way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

True To Life Amish Information

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book; found the Amish information to be extremely accurate. I live in the area and I like seeing familiar places and sites in books I read.
This book is well written and has interesting dialogue and wonderful character development...definitely would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Secret Identity - eBook
This review is fromA Secret Identity, Amish Farm Trilogy Series #2 (rpkgd).
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
M
I will say that I was very disappointed with this book. I really couldn't get into it and finally gave up after reading about an Amish group of people needing deodorant! I would say that most Amish book readers are quite enchanted with the Amish and their lifestyle and this criticism was cruel and unnecessary.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.