Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Simply Sara - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Harvest House Publishers Simply Sara - eBook

Sara, who left her Amish family to live with Jane, discovers that the English world is a bit more challenging than she expected. As she finds a job, buys English clothes, wears makeup, and learns to drive, she begins a journey to becoming the person she might have been had she not been born into an Amish family. But when romance becomes complicated and school proves difficult, Sara escapes to her Amish sister's home, wondering if she should return to the life she left. Torn, she seeks answers in prayer, but is the God she is seeking the same in both worlds? What's a quilt-making, fashion-loving, formerly Plain girl to do when a new way of life starts to change her?
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simply Sara - eBook
Review 1 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting story

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sara leaves her Amish family and becomes English wanting to study fashion and design. She works very hard and also spends time with her English brother and his fiancee And their friends. Suddenly she thinks she needs to go back to the Amish, her classes are not ending well and she has overworked herself. She goes to her married sister, helps her out but she becomes thinner and thinner because she misses someone she can't live without and goes back to the someone and the story is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simply Sara - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Misty
Location:OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My focus in purchasing Christian fiction is that Jesus is very visible throughout the book. This book was no disappointment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nicely Done!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this story. This author has a very unique style of writing. This is not your mother's Amish fiction. It is a refreshing change and great fun to read.
I found myself rushing back to the book to see how Sara is coping with her new life and what she'll do next.
I love the characters created here. Jayne's friends that become Sara's friends and the employees at the bookstore are all fun to become aquainted with.
This was a really great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another fun book from Hillary Manton Lodge

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Sara, book 2 in the Plain & Simple series, shares Sara Burkholder’s story. She left Amish life behind in the first novel, Plain Jayne, and moved to Portland, Oregon. Sara, 18, has much catching up to do as she learns to maneuver the “English” lifestyle she has chosen. She shops for “worldly” clothes, starts wearing makeup, gets her hair cut, finds work at a bookstore, and enrolls in art school to learn fashion design. It’s like going from an old Daguerreotype to a 3-D movie in Technicolor.
As hard-working as ever, Sara continues to amaze with her achievements. But she also faces turmoil within as she second-guesses her decisions and deals with the loss of family contact. Good thing she has her brother Levi and friend Jayne for moral support in the city. As Sara struggles to become more independent, she wonders if she is actually forging or losing her identity. Will she find success and happiness as she seeks to fulfill her dreams?
A budding romance adds to the tension and delight. I love the way it unfolds so sweetly. Jayne and Levi’s story continues too—their lives are so intertwined with Sara’s. Do we hear wedding bells ringing as the book concludes?
I enjoyed another entertaining romp with these lively, fun-loving characters. This strong story could also stand alone since enough of the background is shared to fill readers in. Well done, Hillary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read with excellent humor and good story.

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
raybo
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great read with believable characters who deal with difficult life issues in ways that we can all relate to and learn from. Hillary mixes humor with drama and brings biblical concepts to real life. I do not belong to the target audience, yet found myself pulled into the story and applying the principles to my own life. I enjoyed the read, laughed and cried with the characters, and grew as a result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Sarah Snap Crackle Pops!

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronda
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Sarah, clips right along with the wit and excellent plot. It somehow keeps emotions, questions and feelings real, while packing in the wit and humor of fantastic characters. A sparkling combination of laughter and punch. Pour yourself a cup of tea or fancy coffee, and curl up for a great afternoon with this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet coming of age story

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveToRead
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a relaxing, wholesome read following the life of a young girl making big changes. She is supported by good friends and family who help her explore her options as she makes some hard choices.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simply Sara is Simply Sweet!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastorswifemom
Location:Salem, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Sara is such a sweet story! The author has a fun, easy-to-read, writing style with characters that come to life! This is the kind of book you can ready in a lazy afternoon and come away with a smile on your face! Though, she is near 20, Sara's Amish background and entrance into city life give this book a "coming of age" story feel. I certainly look forward to more books by this author!
In answer to another review, I do NOT feel that the book focuses too much on materialism but rather accurately portrays some struggles a young person of Amish background would face if they were to leave that lifestyle and enter into mainstream society. The book describes fun times that normal Christian young people would enjoy with friends and certainly not to the exclusion of God! I would definitely categorize this as inspirational romance--and having read many inspirational romance novels, I can say that the intent of that genre is usually not to describe "keepers of their home." (Most of the main characters aren't married yet!) Sara, the title character of the book is in fact "living under the protection of her family." (her older brother) If one is looking for a book to describe how to be the best keeper of her home and a submissive wife, the Bible is obviously the best option and then there are a number of good Christian books specifically on this topic. Inspirational romance novels will often include these topics but not as a main focus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!!!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Indianapolis
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hillary's second book is just as rewarding as her first. The tone is a little different than Plain Jayne, but Sara is absolutely loveable. The romantic tension is subtle, but it crackles in all the right spots. I couldn't put this book down and finished it in less than 24 hours. Hillary has leaped to my list of favorite authors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Simply Sara - eBook
This review is fromSimply Sara, Plain and Simple Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I was very disappointed

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
melissa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I was very disappointed in the first book Plain Jane and this one I could not even get through the first couple chapters (I bought the two pack). When I look for a good Christian book I look for something inspirational ...it seems like all Sarah (and Jane) care about is her new clothes, movies, and food...her friends/brother insist she must watch certain movies and have jeans that make "her butt look cute" to be "with it"...I was looking for books that give good examples of Biblical womenhood...keepers of the home...women living under the protection of their husbands or families...If you are looking for a book from the "all about me" generation than this is for you
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.