Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook

Multnomah Books Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quirky, Fun Book

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is the first book I have read by Tamara Leigh. Although not completely necessary, I would have liked to have read the first two books of the series before this book because I think it would have been more enjoyable to have known the back-story of some of the secondary characters.
When I first started reading Restless in Carolina I wasn't sure if I was going to like it. Bridget and I have little in common. She's environmentally minded, loves the outdoors, loves all types of animals (even opossums - she has one as a pet!) and did I mention she has dreadlocks? Yeah, definitely not like me. And not the type of character I am used to reading about, but I grew to like her.
I thought that Restless in Carolina was a well written, easy-to-read book that wasn't overly descriptive but kept to the story. I also thought the characters were well written. Plus, I liked that J.C. Dirk was said to resemble the actor Simon Baker from the Mentalist - one of my favorite shows : )
Overall, I really enjoyed Restless in Carolina and look forward to reading more from Tamara Leigh.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read!

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
melz
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is the third book in a series called Southern Discomfort. I will start by saying that you do not necessarily need to read the first two books in the series in order to read this one. I have yet to read, these first two books, but I can say that they are definitely on my list to pick up. The reason for this is because of my general curiosity into more depth into this endearing cast of characters.
This third installment of the Southern Discomfort series tells the story of one of the Pickwick family members, Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan. Bridget is a very colorful and relatable character. Her struggles are very real; grieving and healing from the loss of her husband, and coming to terms with happy endings.
This book is highly recommended. It will make you laugh along with its quirky village of characters and route for them as well. Tamara Leigh knows how to make characters that are relatable and weave a story that keeps you guessing in between laughter and struggle.
Note: I have received a free copy of this book from Multnomah Publishers in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny at times

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this book was good and funny at times. It got tiring reading over and over about Bridget's husband, Easton dying and her getting rid of her "widow's weeds". But, still a good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quirky and Fun

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
sawmillsmedia
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The characters in "Restless in Carolina" were fun to meet... strong-willed, a little quirky at times, and unpredictable! Bridget's grief at the loss of her beloved husband was realistic and painful... would she ever heal and believe in "happily ever after" again? Her tree-hugging, possum-loving personality and J. C. Dirk's successful businessman personality leads to all kinds of unexpected conversations and complications. The comparisons of the Pickwick family estate to the Biltmore Estate seemed odd to me, because the description of the family estate didn't come near to matching the Biltmore Estate... but otherwise, I enjoyed the book! I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review but the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a fun book to sit down and read.
The story begins with Bridget, a widow who has lost trust in God. After being a widow for 4 years, her family thinks it is time for her to move on. They need her help in selling the large family estate. Bridget is an Eco-friendly nursery owner, who cares very much about the future of the family estate, and doesn't want to see it sold to the highest bidder to be made into single family homes. She takes on this challenge, and has sought out J.C. Dirks as the developer with a good reputation for his green developments. After meeting, she is hopeful for the sale. J.C. comes to look at the estate. Meanwhile, Bridget's father introduces her to his friend's son who is also interested in purchasing the estate, and maybe a relationship with Bridget. Being a widow, Bridget has been out of the dating scene but she finds herself with 2 potential buyers for the estate, and 2 potential relationships.
Both Bridget, J.C. Dirk, and Caleb have to let go of their pasts, in order to move on to the future. In this process, 2of the characters find themselves back in the church.
Read the book to find out who wins the purchase of the estate and who wins Bridget's heart.
Disclaimer: I received this book for review purposes. No other compensation was received. All views are my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining and enjoyable read

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
dyand
Location:Lancaster, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is an entertaining story about a woman named Bridget who runs a local plant nursery as well as designs and builds intricate mazes for use at local Halloween festivals. Due to a major loss in her life, she has a bit of a chip on her shoulder against God, against men who are attracted to her, and against others who have found love. No matter how hard she tries to hang on to those chips, events in her life, as well as the help of family, whittle away at the walls she has put up until she finally realizes it is time for a change.
In the meantime, there are a lot of interesting bumps and twists along her path as she tries to find a green-minded developer for her uncle’s estate while dealing with the demise of his health; deals with family situations including a pushy match-making father, a long-lost relative and an intriguing stranger with a secret that affects not only her family, but her life; and plays nanny to a rather rambunctious niece and nephew. Throughout all these events Bridget sees God’s hand and hears Him in her heart, albeit reluctantly at times and slowly takes the steps necessary to both repair her relationship with Him and allow herself to live the kind of life God has planned for her.
Finally, “…and they lived happily ever after” – should you choose to read this book, you’ll understand the meaning of this quote. I received this book for free from Water Brook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a real hoot!

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reese
Location:Prattville, Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A blond with dreads, dirt under her nails and an attitude. What an image! But the family thinks that image must be changed to make a presentable, professional front to impress the environmentally friendly developer who is needed to save the family home and acreage from development into tract homes, or worse still a shopping center or industrial park! How far will heroine Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan go to entice just the right buyer, and why is it her job, anyway? In the process can she give up mourning her husband who has been dead for four years? Can she move on with her life? What about her presently non-existent relationship to God? As far as Bridget is concerned, that relationship can stay just as it is, non-existent.
But now there is not only one developer vying for the family lands, but two! One presents the front of wishing to purchase the property to make into his personal estate, which would be the perfect place to raise his family (by the way, he does not yet have a family...). The other, the original developer Bridget was after, doesn't quite meet her expectations for the property with his development plan.
Combined with the hassle and headaches involved with finding just the right buyer, mix in family illness, family SCANDALS, a really smartalecky five year old twin niece and nephew, and WIDOW SNIFFERS! Are these men out to get her money, what little is left of the scandalous family name, the property, or are they sincerely concerned about Bridget herself?
This book makes for a great read. I loved Ms. Leigh's use of terminology of the South. Including the whole droppin' the Gs from word endin's. Get the book and enjoy the fun! Although this is the third book by Ms. Leigh on characters in this seemingly disfunctional family (I am just itchin' to get my hands on those first two books), Restless in Carolina is a great read on it's own. Enjoy!
In order to comply with new Federal Trade Commission regulations, please note that this book was provided compliments of WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was a fun, light-hearted read.

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is the third book in a series about the Pickwick family from North Carolina. This installment focuses on Bridget Pickwick Buchanan, a woman widowed before she turned 30, who is trying to let go of her "widow's weeds" and move on with her life. She is passionate about the environment, and wants to find a solution for her Uncle Obadiah's estate that is both respectful of the land and will enable the family to settle old debts and give Uncle Obe peace.
Although a bit on the predictable side, the story of Bridget and her family gives the reader lovable characters (and a few not-quite-so-lovable characters) to invest in. Bridget's struggles are real and will be familiar to many. She is afraid to let go of her past and trust God for the future, mainly because she can't get past the question that everybody thinks at some point: if God loves us, how can He let terrible things happen to "good" people? Having lost her husband so early and tragically, she struggles to love again. She finds herself turning to God in unexpected moments, even as she argues with Him that she's not really on speakin' terms.
The book was an enjoyable read for me. I wanted Bridget to be happy. I wanted things to work out for her and for her to find love. I wanted her prayers to be answered, and I wanted her to get her "happily ever after," (A phrase she struggles to even complete as she reads fairy tales to her 5-year-old niece early in the book.) Even with its colorful characters (or, perhaps "because" of its colorful characters), I like the Pickwick family. I like watching the relationships change and develop as they fight their past together and try to get past the "sins of the fathers" to set new courses for the new generations.
There's a quote near the end of the book that struck me when I read it and gives more depth to the book than just a cute story. In considering their motives for their previous actions, a character asks:
"Do you know how hard it is to be right with God when you aren't right with people? When you can't forgive as you should? When you're holding the past tighter than it's holding you? When you think you're better at being God than God Himself?" Those questions would be good for us all to consider.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Restless in Carolina

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is about Bridget who is a widow but also part of a formerly wealthy family. The older generations were believed to have received this wealth through dishonest measures and the Uncle now wants to make restitution to those the family had cheated in the past. Bridget is looking for a buyer for the family estate and quickly finds two buyers who seem not only interested in the estate but her as well. I liked the story well enough. It was an easy read however there were parts that were choppy and sentences that didn't make sense to me. There were so many characters to follow I had to think about which cousin is in the picture now. I didn't realize this was the third book in a series when I started reading it. I did like the story line of Bridget and J.C. I thought he was a well developed character. All in all, I say this book is fine. I wouldn't rush out to read it but would be a good summer easy read.
I received this book free from blogging for books in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Restless in Carolina by Tamara Leigh

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
emmylou585
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is the first book that I have read by Tamara Leigh. This is the third book in her the Southern Discomfort Series. As I looked through the list of books to review for Multmonah Waterbook Publishing the title of the book pegged my interest. I think I would have rated this book a little higher if I had read the first and second book in the series first. The books would have given me a better understanding about the Picwick family and the tension between the characters of Bridget and Piper. Tamara Leigh tells the story about Bridget whose husband Easton passes away. Bridget has been grieving for over four years. She continues to wear her wedding ring and will not sleep in their bed that they shared as husband and wife. She refuses to talk to God who allowed her husband to die. She is an advocate for saving the environment. Her Uncle Obie feels he needs to sell the family estate and the hundreds of acres undeveloped land. She wants to make sure that the person who buys it will use it in a way that will affect the environment. She tries to reach J. C. Dirk who is well known for developing with environmental care. She gets tired of leaving messages and not receiving replies and decides to crash his office. When J.C. learns who she is, sparks begin to fly because of their family's history. Bridget realizes that she needs to get past her grieving and begin talking to God and comes to terms about her life and finds true happiness in her life again. I don't want to tell anymore without giving anymore of the storyline. I hope that I have intrigued you and that you will want to purchase this book as well as the first two books in the series. I would give this book 3 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A relaxing read of an individual's struggles

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title "Restless in Carolina" really appealed to me, a Southern lady, with a penchant for reading. Getting into the book was easy as the writing style is relaxed and easy to read. So it was a relaxing read.
Right off I saw that the key character, Bridget, is restless for several reasons. She is a "Tree-huggin', animal-lovin'" individual who struggles with the grief of losing her husband at an early age. She struggles, too, with a family whose interactions could be the fodder for a number of novels.
Another key character is Bridget's Uncle Obadiah who is developing heart wrenching dementia but who also has lucid moments. Uncle Obe has a heart's desire to right a wrong done in the past by his family before his dementia overtakes him. "... the only proof he requires is that of his troubled conscience." p.319 This is another cause of Bridget's restlessness.
Enter our third primary character who stirs Bridget's restlessness and..... well, we'll let you read the story to learn how J.C. Dirk, a developer from Atlanta who is a man on the move developing green properties that have lead to his national recognition, and Bridget get acquainted and how it simply begets more restlessness for Bridget.
Enjoy your bit of Southern Carolina charm and life as author, Tamara Leigh, takes you into this world of charm and change, of fears and forgiveness.
I enjoyed this book and plan to pass it along for others to enjoy. I recommend it for those of you who enjoy a good relaxing read and a bit of "happily ever after."
Restless in Carolina: A Novel is the third installment to Southern Discomfort series, a contemporary religious romance fiction series by Tamara Leigh. Published by Multnomah Books in July 19th 2011.
ISBN-10: 1601421680 ISBN-13: 978-1601421685
Restless in Carolina was provided free of charge to me by Multnomah Books and BloggingforBooks.com to review. This review is my own opinion.
http://chatwithvera.blogspot.com/2011/10/restless-in-carolina-bytamara-leigh.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
KHarris
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read and enjoyed each book in the Southern Discomfort series... and this is my new favorite. Main characters, Bridget and J.C., are so relatable. There's a good dose of mystery about his past -- and she has the tendency to keep messing up her future. Yet their relationship seems divinely inspired. I found myself drawn into their story from the first chapter of the book. And, while I didn't want the book to end, I couldn't wait to see what happened in "the end."
Tamara Leigh's trademark "inspired women's fiction" is always a delightful blend of real life struggles--and humor. A great combination.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet, Contemporary Romance

Date:August 5, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Losing her husband catapulted Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan into a grief-filled life. Four years later, it seems everyone around her is in a relationship, but her true undoing is a persistent little niece who just wants to read a happily-ever-after book. After a confrontation with her sister, Bridget takes the first steps toward a new life: removing the wedding band and a mini-makeover. In an effort to help her uncle sell the family mansion, Bridget approaches property developer J. C. Dirk. J.C. is known for his green developments and he just might be her answer to more than one problem. With family obligations forcing the sale, time is of the essence. Will Bridget and J.C. reach an understanding? Will he take possession of her heart as well as the land? Bridget's life is about to be a lot more interesting.
Restless in Carolina by Tamara Leigh is the third book in her Carolina series. I haven't read the other two books and this one did well as a stand-alone. I appreciated the “green” theme in the book. It wasn't overdone in a fanatical way, but it was a prevalent statement about respecting and preserving the earth. I am happy to say that this book was not as predictable as I thought it might be from the synopsis on the back cover. Leigh throws in a few twists which contribute tension to the plot. Bridget's faults and unique personality make her an endearing character. The imagery of a woman with dreadlocks, in a stiff bridesmaid dress, standing barefoot in the middle of the road ,stuck with me the entire time I was reading the book.
Fans of contemporary romance who enjoy sweet, light stories will enjoy this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher as part of FIRST Wild Card Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

3rd in Southern Discomfort series is great read

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Restless in Carolina by Tamara Leigh is the third book in the Southern Discomfort series about the eccentric Pickwick family of North Carolina. This volume follows family rebel and tree-hugger Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan who is still grieving for her late husband Easton who passed away four years ago. She still wears her wedding ring, won't sleep in their bed, wears dreadlocks in honor of his, and refuses to talk to the God who allowed her beloved to die. Her Uncle Obe is determined to sell the family estate, a beautiful old mansion surrounded by hundreds of acres of undeveloped land, and Bridget wants to ensure that whoever purchases it will use it in the best way for the environment. She crashes the office of J.C. Dirk, a developed well-known for his environmental care, who refused to take her calls or set up a meeting. Sparks quickly fly between the two, but Bridget's family, the skeletons in the closet as well as the manipulations of her father, throw roadblocks between them. Bridget needs to leave her grieving behind and come to terms with God before she can find happiness in her life again. Leigh is a terrific chick lit writer, and this series is almost overflowing with quirky characters. Readers should pick up the first two books in the series to keep the large family straight and understand the tension between Piper and Bridget. Leigh's writing is always fresh and a joy to read. I hope she keeps up with the Pickwicks for a long time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the interaction of the Character's in this book. They will make you chuckle, and feel like crying. The main Character Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan is a delight, and the other J. C Dick is not what he appears on your first meeting.
J. C. is a wonderful with the 4 and 5 year old Mitch and Birdie and loved their playing and story telling. The family is also great with their Uncle Obe who is suffering some dementia.
Facing the problems they are having and learning to put their faith in God in their lives, there are some great lessons to be learned
Although this is the third book in the series, this is the first on that I have read, and their is no problem not having read the others. Get ready for a pet opossum named Reggie...your gonna love her!, and a big Great Pyrenees named Errol!
I hope you enjoy this great read like I did!!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Multnomah Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Southern Fiction!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Restless in Carolina, Book 3 in the Southern Discomfort series is simply put, wonderful. With enough southern charm and fun even a Yankee will feel right at home in Pickwick, North Carolina. The quirky, animal loving, tree hugging Bridget along with her crazy family and two possible "widow sniffers" (not as weird as it sounds - promise) and a century old feud make the over 330 pages fly by. There were more than a few times when, "I know how you feel girlfriend," went through my head. When a fictional character seems that real the author has done their job well. Every bit of this book was a blast to read but those who have an opossum phobia, consider yourselves warned. Reggie, Bridget's pet of THAT marsupial variety, is present throughout and might just give you the shivers like she did me!
***Special thanks to Ashley Boyer, Publicist, WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending me a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I love Tamara's characters. They are flawed, funny, and fearless. We can relate to their areas of weakness and learn from the progress they make in their lives. I am sad that this is the final book in the Southern Discomfort series as I was hoping for more of the Pickwicks. An enjoyable read you can share with your family members of all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A widow learns life has more to offer her.

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
dolodd
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third is a series of books dealing with the women of the Pickwick family of North Carolina, Restless in Carolina took a little bit of persistence to get into. Readers of Leaving Carolina and Nowhere Carolina would have no problem as many of the characters are already introduced.
However, do not let that discourage you, dear reader. Bridget Pickwick Buchanan is a tree-huggin’, animal- lovin’ widow who is still recovering from the death of her husband four years previously. Like no one you probably have never met, she has a history of doing outrageous things (outrageous to everyone but her) and so no one is really surprised by the way she lives or what she holds dear. Content to live in her widowhood, that state of life is ultimately challenged by her young niece and nephew. Happily ever after does not exist for Bridget and God isn’t fair in His dealings with her. On top of all of this, she takes on the job of helping to sell the family Biltmore style home and estate so her uncle can repay debts to families that the Pickwicks have treated unjustly in the past.
Enter J.C. Dirk, a developer from Atlanta who sees the possibility of developing the land while keeping with an eco-friendly development favored by Bridget. What no one knows initially is that J.C. is the descendent of a family who had been taken advantage of.
As I progressed through the four month period this book covers, I found it increasingly difficult to put down. I wanted to find out what happened next as Bridget and J.C. interact and eventually realize they have fallen in love. There are enough twists and turns to keep you, the reader, interested as you discover the motivation and plans of a second developer, meet members of the Pickwick family, discover lost relatives and find both Bridget and J.C. moving beyond their past, learning to forgive and let go of hurts/wrongs done and into a future together. Humorous with romance and a message of hope and healing, I recommend this book to readers of Christian fiction.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quirky Love Story

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Restless in Carolina is the first novel that I have read by Tamara Leigh, and the third book in the Southern Discomfort series. The fictional Pickwick family provides a basis for story-lines of a clean and faith-infused southern soap opera. Leigh builds her plot with humor, heart-break, romance, relationships, mystery, hidden agendas, and secret pasts. Restless in Carolina offers sub-plots and secondary characters that set a steady pace for the story while keeping readers in touch with members of the Pickwick family featured earlier in the series.
Bridget Pickwick is a quirky, outspoken, and hard-headed environmentalist with emotional baggage. Some of her antics made me cringe, while a few others made me laugh. I wanted to connect with Bridget; and I did sympathize with her struggles, but I often found it hard to relate to her humor and personality quirks. Despite being a thirty-three year old, Bridget is slightly immature in the beginning of the novel. As she works through her emotions and relieves herself of her "widow's weeds," Bridget matures and grows emotionally and spiritually. Her growth is inspiring and helps to balance some of the more eccentric aspects of Bridget's personality. Restless in Carolina is a well-written novel that readers looking for a modern day love story with the promise of happily-ever-after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Restless in Carolina: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Restless in Carolina Book Review

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
MJinnette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome and a must read! I love Bridget. She is awesome! I like how she stands firm in her beliefs regarding protecting the environment and doesn't compromise, even though it means it is harder to find a buyer for the family estate. I admire Bridget and the other family membes that help Uncle Obe right the wrongs done by their family over many generations. Even though Uncle Obe is unable to find one particular family he wants to make restitution to, he is determined to make things right and does follow through when they are found.
Restless in Carolina is the third book in the Southern Discomfort series. Having read the first one, Leaving Carolina, I was familiar with some of the characters. After reading this book, the second book Nowhere, Carolina is now on my "to read" list.
This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah for review without compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>