Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook

Regal The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook

In this revised edition of the best-selling book The Measure of a Man, Getz delivers the message of what it takes to be a man of God. Men will gain encouragement for what they can be in Christ - as fathers, husbands, and mentors to other men. Since 1974, The Measure of a Man has taught hundreds of thousands of men around the world how to live faithfully, lovingly and spiritually according to God's direction. Drawn from Paul's letters to Timothy and Titus, true masculinity isn't measured by a man's strength but by these 20 biblical guidelines. With life applications and words of inspiration, this updated edition speaks in practical terms to men from every generation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Review 1 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Conrad
Location:Farmington Hills, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an additional book to give to young man knowing the excellent instruction it has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read for men of all ages

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevin Nicholas
Location:Lebanon, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last year our church handed this book out to men of our congregation on Father's Day, unfortunately I happened to be out of town that weekend. I bought this so my accountability partner and I could do a book study on this. I strongly believe every Christian man should read this for reflection on what we are called to be as godly men.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellant Read

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ronn
Location:Larose, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must read for any man wanting direction. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
lanie
Location:Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My partner found this book to be challenging, informative, andwill re-read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book For Discipleship

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
1845jc
Location:Marianna, Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a pastor and have consistently used this book for discipling men ever since I read it for the first time many years ago. Every pastor should read this book at least once a year and encourage his deacons to read, or even better, read it with them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a game-changing maturity builder.

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rozz
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book for all men who would like an honorable path to walk and grow, using it in conjunction to Bible scriptures. The book sets out many "standards" we should all try to live by, all back by scripture. Great for individual reading or in a Bible study group setting, A+.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Impacted
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been impacted by this book and I have used it often to encourage, support and challenge men. This is one that I try to keep a few copies of to pass along or to begin a new small group study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mentoring Men to be Like Christ

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andy Anderson
Location:Lynden, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book, and I have used it in mentoring men that became new believers in Christ, and also with men who have been in the faith for years. The book has been updated and expanded, including application that is practical, and can be implemented in your life. Each time that I go through this, I gain more insight, and the Lord has used this book to change my life. If you want a life changing book that tackles your character, then read this book along side of your favorite study Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A must read for every man no matter his age.

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
aeh1951
Location:Hugoton, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our country is a great country because our early "Fathers" placed high importance on the Word of God. Unfortuneately, we are seeing our country slide away from greatness because men today have not kept the right focus which is on "Jesus Christ and Him crucified". This book guides each man to the important things in this life and how as God's spiritual leaders of our homes we can bring our families and this country back to the roots of placing almighty God first in all we do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hal Scion
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book tackles a broad range of the many challenges we face as men who want to live up to our own responsibilities.
More important for me, though, it is a treasure-chest of scriptural yet practical remedies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product has great features

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
christy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we are using this book for the mens meetings at our mens bible study. It has real life features in it as well as how to proact in real life situations. Our men are really involved in this book study and we plan to use more books by Gene Getz. thanks so much for your fast and safe delivery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
cadillac
Location:MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This delivers a powerful message to men as well as wives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dan Flynn
The book is practical with a solid biblical basis. Our men's group is gaining much from the book particularly the discussion questions at the end of each chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Johnny Anderson
Excellent Book! Would recommend to Man looking to know and understand their worth in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Rollyson
This is an outstanding book for discipleship. When I first read this book 6 years ago it changed my life! Every Christian man should read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
I am so happy that this book has been updated, I was so impressed with the first edition when my new church first did a class going through the whole book and then went through the process of choosing elders and deacons based on what we learned. Now I can try to get my students at my boarding school to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Edward Flamboe
Gene Getz provides an excellent guide for mentoring men, outlining the characteristics, qualities and responsibilities of spirtitual leaders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Measure of a Man: Twenty Attributes of a Godly Man - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rick
This is the definitive guide for men to grow in God. If you are interested in becoming a better man, better husband, better disciple, better father, you must read this book. There also a video course to go along side this book. Also highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.