Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Desert Breeze Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook

Desert Breeze Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 out of 1283%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Review 1 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this book in paperback vs ebook format. I read it straight through in a few hours. Enjoyed it tremendously. It is so REAL - how we believers sometimes really struggle with the desires of our flesh vs what we know God desires of us. I felt so bad for poor Jimmy at times as a result of his struggle, not to mention his confusion over some of the things Sammie said and did. My heart also ached for Sammie's struggle with believing God could love her. I think we've all been there at one time or another (or multiple times!). The ending left me smiling big. :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's SUPPOSED to be edgy!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for straight up romance from a Christian worldview, Michelle Sutton is the author for you. First Impressions is the first in the Tombstone Treasures Trilogy, a series of romance novels whose main characters work in the historic town of Tombstone, many as part time actors that help bring a sense of authenticity to this tourist attraction. This lends a sprinkling of old west flavor to the modern sensibility of the book. First Impression is a romance – there is no doubt about that. The central conflict is the emotional struggle the two main characters have as their passion for one another is ignited. Jimmy is a Christian, and wants to do ‘what’s right’, meaning staying sexually pure until marriage. But his attraction for Sammie is so strong, he often finds himself in compromising situations. Sammie, on the other hand, is not a believer and struggles with self esteem, compounded by the fact that they knew one another as children – something Jimmy seems to have forgotten. There are lots of fairly steamy scenes in the book, which makes it rather unusual in the context of a ‘Christian’ romance. However, this is probably the thing that makes the novel stand out. Sutton does not try to pretend that Christian couples don’t struggle when it comes to pre-marital sex. She is honest about the emotional turmoil, feelings of guilt and physical desire that can easily come into play. The hero in her book is not portrayed as a saint – nor should he be. He is a normal red blooded male who is struggling with an issue that is probably becoming more and more difficult for people to contend with in today’s culture. Although the treatment of the topic is frank and honest, Sutton is also able to maintain a tasteful balance. The book is in no way pornographic. It is simply a story of two people in love and the struggles they face as they come to terms with their own desires and obeying God’s word. I would recommend this book to those that are looking for an unapologetic romance. There is enough ‘steam’ to satisfy without becoming erotic, while maintaining a solid redemptive story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
melindatoad
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michelle Sutton does it again in this edgy romance set in Tombstone, AZ. The first book in a 3 book series and I cannot wait to read the rest! Who doesn't enjoy a good love story with a handsome cowboy? The story is more enjoyable because handsome cowboy, Jimmy actually has some morals even if he is severely tempted by Sammie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very shallow and entirely to worldly

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
dawn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was very shallow. There was no depth to the characters other than they were weak and driven by their hormones. I don't call it Christian fiction. I think the author has a very skewed view of what being a Christian really is. There was no holiness or purity or true change. This book wasn't about love, its about lust. Wish I hadn't wasted my money on it and won't on anything this author writes again!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tombstone Treasures Book One

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reader Writer Barb
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Tombstone Treasures Book One by Michelle Sutton is the first inspirational romance novel in a series of three set in Tombstone, Arizona. Sammie Carpenter decides to switch her army uniforms for an actor's costume as a saloon girl and strut through the streets. She is eager to practice flirting when she meets Jimmy, a handsome cowboy from her past. She remembers him as James, but he doesn't remember her--at least not yet. She's determined to fix that and vows to make him remember her one way or the other.
Jimmy, her James, is a Christian and finds himself in a battle of temptation when Sammie entices him, but he vows to maintain his self-control and hopes Sammie and his friend, Chet, will discover the joy of knowing a personal relationship with God. Wounds from the past make it hard for Sammie and Jimmy to find each other and just when they're beginning to develop a real relationship, a secret Sammie never found the time or right way to share threatens to rip them apart. Eighteen chapters makes this novel an easy, quick read, and the end takes a spin of its own as Jimmy and Sammie are separated yet again. Will they ever find their way back to each other for good?
If you're looking for romance with a Christian message, you've come to the right place, Michelle Sutton's Tombstone, Arizona.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Read

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great read by the master of Edgy, Michelle Sutton! The woman knows how to heat things up! First Impressions isn’t as steamy as some of her other books, but you can always expect some heat. I loved how she showed the internal struggle for the characters. How conflicted they were to do what they knew was right, but how temptation was there staring them in the face. Making it all too desirable to succumb to their longings. I love how she has the spiritual thread interlaced throughout her books. Showing the importance of faith. A relationship with Jesus. All and all another wonderful read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I was disappointed with this book.

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peppermint Patty
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was too much like secular romances. While it did try to make a good point to handle relationships God's way, it was still too much like girl porn for my taste.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FAVORITE.

Date:November 24, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I want to say that this is definitely for mature teens and up. This is very steamy and not to be read by younger people. But, the message in this book is priceless. First Impressions so completely stresses the importance of handling relationships God’s way that it will make you examine yourself and your walk with the Lord. Michelle is one of those authors that really touches you because she understands the importance of being real. Yes, the book is fiction and fun to read, but it deals with real issues that are usually not addressed in such a straight-forward, understandable way. There are consequences for doing things our way instead of God’s. Not because He gets angry and decides to ruin our life since we didn’t do what He told us to, but because God’s way is best. He created us and He knows how we work. When we follow His guidelines, it keeps us from ruining our own lives. I loved this book and think that Sutton is just getting better and better as a writer. I look forward to seeing the amazing ways that God will continue to use her writing to reach people.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
TracyPink
Location:Carson, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first eBook. I love the way the Michelle writes. Books are supposed to entertain. Christian Fiction is not only supposed to entertain, it's also supposed to minister and that what this book does...ministers.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book with a Good Message.

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shawna K. Williams
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite book by Michelle Sutton. I loved how real these characters felt, and how true to life their experiences were. I could relate to both. And, as always, she weaved a hopeful, spiritual message throughout. Excellent, Michelle.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read!

Date:November 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One thing I've learned when I read Michelle Sutton's books is that I can expect the unexpected. Just when I think I know what's coming next, she sends me on a roller coaster ride. Michelle's style of writing is a very easy read with a deep point of view, which allows us to know what's going on inside the main character's head. Michelle has a way of gripping the reader with emotion and never letting go. Her characters are real people who aren't perfect and struggle with choices on a daily basis just as we do. Michelle is one of my favorite authors. I can't wait to see what she comes out with next.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tombstone Treasures Book One: First Impressions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tarasview
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First Impressions is not the first book I have read by Michelle Sutton and I sure hope it won't be my last! I thoroughly enjoy Michelle's writing. Michelle writes stories that are closer to reality than a lot of Christian fiction. The edginess of the story makes it believable. I am not a big fan of unrealistic "everyone is perfect" Christian romances so this book is just perfect for me. I loved the two main characters and found them easy to relate to... like people I could actually know in real life. First Impressions is a well written, fun, and quick read.
This is the first book in the Tombstone Treasures series and I look forward to the next book coming out. I would definitely recommend ALL of Michelle Sutton's books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.