Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Love, Charleston - eBook

Thomas Nelson Love, Charleston - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
2 out of 540%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love, Charleston - eBook
Review 1 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I was expecting.

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherri
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was not at all what the synopsis on the back, or on the web site, said it was about. I expected the story to be about Anne and her journey, but she was, in fact, a very minor character. I agree with a prior reviewer who said that this book did not deal with issues in Christian ways. Though there is a thread of faith throughout, the overall book does not seem to have a Christian theme. If the true synposis of this book had been what was advertised, I never would have bothered to read it. As it is, I did read it and found it to be decent writing and easy enough to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story!

Date:April 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I throughly enjoyed Beth Webb Hart's book, Love, Charleston. Family, friendship, and faith converge in a beautiful story about how God transforming love changes the lives of three women - two sisters and their cousin. The city of Charleston comes to life and is a great setting for this story. The writing is exquisite and kept me turning pages until the end. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
ourmommyreads
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Despite the summary provided by the publisher, I found the novel to be very little about the love of Anne and Father Summerall. It focused more on three cousins (Anne and her sister Alicia and their cousin, Della). Each of these women represent different aspects of marital status and content. One woman searching for love at a later age in life, one married with a child who yearns to grow her family, and the other married and growing her family but having a difficult time in the process. It seems the grass is greener on the other side for these cousins yet they stand strong by each others side despite the heartache it may personally cause them.
Observing each woman's journey touched me personally on a few different levels. I could relate to the post-partem depression, the discontentment in a relationship only to find it is actually exactly what I want. The story was a bit slow, however, and with chapters from the perspective of four characters didn't allow the author to get deep enough into each character's story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I found Love, Charleston and enjoyable read

Date:October 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love, Charleston by Beth Webb Hart is a story following 3 women, a bell ringer, a doctor and a writer who grew up together and one priest. With multiple points of view and a seemingly large amount of characters, the beginning was a little hard to follow for me.
I find the beauty of reading fiction is that you have a chance to take your own personal journey with the themes in the book you read. This book covers psychological issues, health, family, faith, friendship and marital/infidelity themes. Some great thought provoking issues to check in your own life as you read.
see complete review at http://michelledevans.blogspot.com/2010/10/love-charleston-book-review.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

*SPOILER ALERT* I was very dissapointed...

Date:October 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lyssa
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although the story had potential, I was severely dissapointed. To start there is a cuss word, morals that are very questionable, and no consequences for mistakes.
Throughout the book I kept hoping for each character to be convicted of their wrong-doings. For instance one character, Della, almost cheats on her husband, and even though she never goes through with it, it is never said that it was a wrong thing to think of doing. It is portrayed as only a bad idea because of Della having a commited husband. While it is said that Della isn't a Christian, I would hope that in a Christian book, she would come to know the Lord and ask forgiveness for her mistakes, but she never does. Another Character- Alicia, develops severe depression after giving birth and never turns to God for help, she goes to a psychologist, but he doesn't come across as a Christian character. At the end of the book, she is getting better, but God isn't in the picture. Anne is said to be a Christian, but not a very well developed character. You don't see much of her throughout the book. Roy Summeral is a Christian also, but with a mother who has questionable beliefs. So, if you are expecting a Christian novel, you will be dissapointed. I don't believe this should be sold at any christian bookstore or published as a Christian book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cym
The story revolves around the lives of sisters Alisha and Anne, their cousin Della and a priest named Roy. Alisha has always wanted a happy family, but it seems his husband's ambitions are getting in the way. Anne had heard God tell her to wait in Charleston for the love of her life to come. But she's getting impatient, and Alisha and Della are encouraging her to find it elsewhere. Della's former fiance returns and she doubts she had made the right choice when she married her talented yet unemployed husband. Roy, a widower, had been ministering to a country church when God calls Him to serve at a prestigious church in Charleston. He couldn't help but wonder why...Love, Charleston is a fitting title as the book centers on love in several aspects - romantic, familial, and spiritual, which take place in a historical city called Charleston and how the characters relate to it. I find the book quite riveting and as a Christian and a married woman with kids of my own, I could relate to the characters on different levels. It made me think of making decisions in life. Are they for selfish reasons? Or are they centered on God's will? And children, even if they are still young, play a vital role in the family. The insights they unknowingly let our hearts see us are amazing. Though I get distracted by the unnecessary actions and mannerisms described in the book that accompany dialogues, the progress of events made me unable to put the book down sometimes. The author did not create perfect characters, which is great, but I think Anne and Roy seem too good to be true. I would recommend this book as it made me appreciate, look unto God, and hope.I was given a complimentary copy of this book by Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Love Charleston, by Beth Webb Hart. In this novel we meet Anne, who heard a word from God years ago telling her that she should stay in charleston and she would find her love there. But years passed and no one came along. Now she's doubting what she heard and with the encouragement of family is considering moving. A new rector moves to town, could this be the man that God had told Anne about? He seems so unsure of himself let alone being in love. We also follow the story of a couple of other ladies in anne's family. One who seems to have it all, yet no ones happy. Another who was happy until her artist husband couldn't financially support the family anymore. All looking for a happier life. This really wasn't the book I expected it to be, its a good read, I really enjoyed it! Its not quite romance, not quite fully suspense. It has so many unexpected twists to it! Read it, once you pick it up it'll be stuck in your hands! lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam
Love, CharlestonBy Beth Webb HartWelcome to Charleston and the lives of three close women. Sisters, Anne and Lish, along with their cousin, Della, experience rough times, while learning to rely on each other and God. Anne feels she has heard from God in regards to a future husband, but that was years ago, and she still has not met anyone. Della is experiencing unhappiness in her marriage as she wants more for her daughter and needs more than a struggling artist husband to provide those wants. Lish, who seems to have everything she could ever want, with three children and a doctor husband, suffers the most.While I did enjoy the storyline and the very real life struggles, the book was lacking in the love and support from a relationship with God. While God and church is mentioned throughout the book, Anne and Roy are the only ones that truly seem to rely on God. Hart also uses the word hell twice in the book as a curse word, rather than the place. While the use of alcohol by the main characters is done wisely, it is still enough to go against the many denominations that abstain from any drinking. I usually donate the books I receive free after reviewing them from Thomas Nelson to my church library, but this is one that will not be appropriate. I would recommend the book as a good read, but not as a Christian read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Once upon a time, Anne Brumley heard God tell her to wait in Charleston for true love. But her sister, Della, and cousin, Alicia, have their doubts. Is Saint Michael's new rector, Roy Summerall, the answer to Anne's prayers? He's not even sure he's the answer to the church's prayers! Does God have anything to say? This book was a really good book, but when I started it, I couldn't put it down. Once you start reading the book, it takes on a different twist. I thought it would be a highly romantic book, but it really focuses on problems in Anne Brumley's family. I thought as the story moves along, that Anne's husband treats her terrible. It deals with Anne Brumley, her sister and her cousin and I love how the author winds them all together. This book is actually a romance, suspense and intrigue all put together in one book. I love this book so much, I definitely would recommend this to everyone. Hey, just give it a try, I will promise you that you will love it. A VERY GOOD BOOK!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Honestly, I really didn't expect to like this book. I don't know why I had the impression that It would be corny, but when i picked it up to read I settled myself in for a boring time. I'm so glad i was wrong! This turned out to be an amazing book! I had originally thought this would turn out to be a historical/love story kind of book, and those really aren't my thing.The book is mostly focused around three women (2 who are sister's and their cousin) and the new minister who moves to town. Throughout the book we are introduced and follow along with the struggles that each has to face, and the different crises they are facing. I really appreciated the storyline about Lish and the struggles she faced, I thought it was quite an honest look at a not so nice thing. I appreciated the directness and almost brutality she used to describe the situations. There was no fluffing over of the post-partum depression, or any of the the other situations. I thought that part of the story was exceptionally well thought out and sincere.Really, this book brings its readers straight into the story and holds them to the very end. There were so many things going on in the book that I didn't see coming. I absolutely loved this book and will be looking for more from this author! Definitely one I'd recommend to anyone and everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Jones
This book had much more depth to it than I originally thought it would just from reading the cover. The author weaves the stories of a widower country priest called to pastor a large church in Charleston with those of three women living in Charleston beautifully. She also handles the topic of postpartum depression sensitively and honestly. I look forward to reading more bu this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
This book is great and a wonderful book to read. I'm so glad I got to read it, I LOVED it all. This is a book is a real grabber as I call them they are the ones that suck you in with in the first few lines and you don't want them to end! I loved how well written it was. Loved the cover, that alone is enough to make you pick it up to see what it is about. If you love sweet heartwarming reads then add this to your library list or must buy list.thank you so much BookSneeze for sending me a copy to review! I enjoyed this book so much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Well, I have mixed feelings about this book. The author has a unique writing style that appealed to me, where she often includes little details that other authors would leave out. One unusual thing is that the main characters dont even meet until you are over 150 pages into the book. But, the storylines for the other characters kept me interested, so it worked out alright.There was one thing that I didnt care for, and that would be Lishs situation. It broke my heart to read what she was going through. Her storyline basically gave me a mixture of sadness and anger. But, in the end she is doing better and you have hope for her character.So, mixed feelings. I cant say that DIDNT like it, but I cant say that I completely ENJOYED it either. I would recommend this to the person who likes books that are a little different from your average read. Its not a typical romance, or any other genre that I can think of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
"Love, Charleston" is a difficult book to describe. It definitely wasnt the historical fiction novel I expected. Its a contemporary story made up of the interrelated stories of a few families living in historic Charleston.The first character we meet is a widower, Episcopal priest with a young daughter. He learns that St. Michaels church in Charleston may be calling him to be their priest and must prayerfully discover if thats where God wants him to be.Next we meet three sisters. Two are married. One is a successful doctor married to another successful doctor and expecting their third child. Her life seems ideal. Another is a writer married to an artista life she loved until their financial struggles begin keeping them from providing all she believes their daughter deserves from them as their child. The single sister is a bell ringer at St. Michaels desperately trying to determine Gods will for her life. Should she remain in Charleston as she thought God told her to or give up on that thought and move on?As their stories progress, taking both anticipated and unexpected turns, the three sisters lean on each other as they have all their lives, learning to handle whatever comes as it comes with thankfulness for whatever blessings they find. It is what it is, a snapshot of a crucial year in these particular characters' lives.Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love, Charleston - eBook
This review is fromLove, Charleston.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
This is the first of the books I have read by Beth Webb Hart. I must say it is was the cover that grabbed me. Here you have a woman opening the windows into a new, beautiful light, casting her eyes across Charleston, South Carolina. This book takes you into the heart of Charleston where the characters are deep and so very real. I was able to relate to each character as their lives are revealed to us through these pages. We meet Roy Summerall who is trying to move forward with his daughter after losing his wife. Life is just not the same, but Roy is trying to find his way through. He is the Reverend at Good Shepherd where the folks are right nice and cheerful. It is where he calls home, but the Lord has new calling for him. He is now called to a new church in the heart of Charleston, where the people are quite different and to him, he thinks there is a big mistake. Is he ready? Is he willing? Drama? There is always drama isn't there? We meet Anne, who is waiting on love, Alisha, her cousin, and Della, her sister, who all have a story of their own to work through. Anne believes she heard God telling her to wait in the bell tower for love and it would come. When God says, "Wait", that is exactly what we should do, even though waiting is not always easy. We see the lives of these three ladies unfold as they intertwine in this beautiful town of Charleston. I must say, this book started out a bit slow for me, but it one with a rich characters and soon grabbed my attention. By Roy moving into a new church, how will these characters collide? I think you will be surprised. Beth Webb Hart has a way of bringing the story together and leaving you longing for more.This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.