Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook

Thomas Nelson Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook

Best-selling author Calvin Miller has written an in-depth, biblically based study on the Fruits of the Spirits (Galatians 5:22). This unique study guide can be used as a personal study or in a small group setting.

Daily Scripture readings, devotional thoughts, and questions for personal reflection take about ten to twenty minutes and prepare you for the group review of the week's theme. Group discussion questions are provided and should take forty-five minutes. Six lessons. Scripture used for quotations is from the Holy Bible: New International Version

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
Review 1 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great study

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Child of God
Location:Walnut, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frankly, I’ve never heard of the author, Calvin Miller, until a close friend of mine, who is a devoted Christian, allow me to borrow it. I myself like to read so I find a few books fascinating. Although not a Christian by heart I was really appalled by Miller’s perspective on the subject.
Calvin seems to captivate a Christian audience and church-goers by emphasizing Love as a personal reflection and man’s questions about God’s plan. These are questions that open you up deeply about love if you’re willing to open up your heart and answer them honestly. From a biblical perspective, it reflects on the purpose of God’s on the readers’ life, their relationship with Christ, their service to others, and their personal worship.
The book’s structure is actually a small group study where participants explore various relational aspects of the Fruit, in this case Love. Six days of the week are to be used, and the seventh day used for group discussions. Each day is a different topic: day 1- The theme of the week. Day 2- The Purpose of God in My Life. Day 3- My Relationship with Christ. Day 4- My Service to Others. Day 5- My Personal Worship. Day 6- A Bonus study. Day 7- Group Discussion.
Going through a difficult time in my life where I wasn’t feeling appreciated or accepted, reading it through day by day individually I felt the power of the Spirit help me see that I am beautiful, unique, and – being a Child of God- learned that love comes from God. Is fair to say that this is a good study for new believers since it’s well applied and easy to understand. This study could serve as a great reminder of these basic principles of love, and to make sure this Fruit is developing in a healthy manner in their walk with God. This basic study of love will benefit many believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the Bible study format in this book!

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H
Location:Bath, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LOVE by Calvin Miller is a six-week Bible study, mainly to be used by small groups, but I found it was ok to use as an individual study, too. It is part of a Bible study series on “The Fruit of the Spirit”.
I really liked the format that this Bible study used. Each week has it’s own memory verse; plus each week’s “lesson” is divided into six daily mini-lessons. Each daily “mini-lesson” centers on its own verse(s) and its own topic; plus every day there are two questions for personal reflection. The seventh day is the group discussion questions.
I found the weekly topics (as well as the sub-topics used on the daily lessons) were very well thought out, and used a good assortment of different verses pertaining to love. There was enough background content included in each section that helped you to think, but not enough to give you all of the answers yourself. You really had to think about things and had to “dig deep” within yourself to answer the questions (most of which were directed at your personal feelings, etc.)
The seventh day of each weekly lesson had about six group discussion questions to answer and discuss together. The book said the group discussion should last about 45 minutes, but unless you have a really talkative group, I don’t think the questions would necessarily take 45 minutes to discuss. A lot of the group discussion questions were still slightly personal in nature.
As stated earlier, I really liked the format of this book, and would like to study from the other books in the series. My only “drawbacks” are: I thought the group discussion sections should have more questions, and maybe not so many that are really personal in nature, because not everyone likes to share their feelings in a group setting. Also, I wish the book would have just a few “hints” for the group (or group leader) to use to at least get a conversation/discussion started. Most books have these, and while sometimes they aren’t helpful, or aren’t used by the groups, I find it’s a good place to start if the group needs a little help in getting started. Overall, I would recommend this book for small groups and/or individuals to use.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book about LOVE.

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollyroc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was designed to be used in a group format but I found it very helpful in an individual setting as well. It is a six week walk through exploring various themes revolving around God's love. Calvin Miller does a great job of providing scripture to prove his points and also does a good job of making the reader read their Bible every day in order to understand what the Miller is saying.
Each week's lesson is broke into 6 days of looking at different aspects of that week's topic (The Evidence of Love is Giving, Love Forgives, The Definition of God, God's Passion for His World, Unconditional Longing of God, The Incarnational Force of God) and a 7th day option for group discussion. The lessons include study questions for personal reflection and group discussion questions.
This book is truly an easy read, yet full of good things to think about. This would be a really good book for those that don't know yet what Gods love is and to help with the beginners understanding. One aspect of the format that I really enjoyed was the probing questions posed throughout the book. I really enjoy that because it makes me apply what I am reading to my life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the Best from Thomas Nelson

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelb
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fruit of the Spirit: Love Study Guide by Calvin Miller
Features include:
•Lesson overview of each 6-week study
•Questions for reflection
•Character studies
•Bonus parable study
•Questions for small group discussion
Fruit of the Spirit:Love is a study guide that can be utilized in both a personal and small-group atmosphere. I gave the book to a friend who loved it! She used it for personal study. As Christians, we have no ability to live an abundant Christian life without leaning into the power of the Holy Spirit. Love, being the most excellent, foremost way for us to show who Jesus is, to a sinful world, is the topic covered in this book. One thing which I will say, is the fact that I get frustrated when people use the term "fruits of the spirit". The Bible is very clear, that THE (indicating the only one) fruit of the spirit is love. The rest stem from the fruit of the spirit which is love. I gave the book to a friend, because I knew it would bless her, not me. I wouldn't recommend the book, but that's just my personal opinion. I'd rate the book: 2.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This product is great for new Christians

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Morgan
Location:Interloch, MI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love by Calvin Miller is a six-week study that takes one through an in-depth look at what love looks like. Miller explains that love is perhaps one of the most overused and misused word in our language. We use it to describe our feelings for things such as we love sports, or we love spring. But the Bible tells us that love is a characteristic of God. Through this study, Miller teaches that love is the result of the Holy Spirit dwelling inside of us, allowing us to reflect the image of Christ.
This study is organized into six main lessons and is best completed when working in a group, although that is not a requirement. Each week is introduced with an overlay of what is going to be covered. Five of the days are spent reading a piece of scripture and then looking at what God is teaching us through it. There are also some questions that are asked for us to look a little deeper within ourselves. My favorite part, the sixth day, is a look a person or persons in the Bible that portrayed love the way the Christ did and does through us. Then on the seventh day is the group discussion when everyone gets together and discusses what they learned throughout the week, although, again, this does not have to happen.
All in all, this book is a great study for new Christians or Sunday school classes, but Christians who are trying to look for a deeper look into the Word of God I would suggest skipping this book.
This book is one of nine studies that Calvin Miller has that looks at each and every one of the fruits of Spirit.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Restful Place
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is written as a 6 week study guide for groups or individuals. It would be a wonderful book for a married couple to read together. The author goes to the root of love in our lives, bringing forth the biblical concept of love through the Holy Spirit that dwells in us. I really appreciated and enjoyed the way the book was written and the spirit behind it. I enjoyed the easy read, just one short chapter a day. This book will definitely be a must to read again and to share with others.
Mr. Miller says 'Love is perhaps the most overused and misused word in our language today'.
At the end of each day's reading there are questions to help the reader apply the lessons in their own life. At the end of each week there are again questions.
Each week has a different subject it will cover. A great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved It!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
realivepastor
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calvin Miller has been a favorite author for me for several years. Back in the 2001 I discovered his writing for the Sunday school arm of LifeWay Christian Resources. His newest project is simply titled Love. Cultivating Spirit Given Character.
Miller takes us on a six week journey of discovering the deeper meaning of the word Love and its concepts. Love is more than a feeling or an emotion, Miller asserts. It is a word that is used flippantly in today’s culture, and overused by a society with little depth. True Love is seen most clearly as an attribute of God’s character. By focusing on the Fruits of the Spirit, Miller opens up the truest meaning of love. Of the nine fruits listed in Galatians 5, love starts them all, because it is the starting place for Spirit directed living, the first in a set of keys to achieving Spiritual Victory.
Broken down into six weekly studies that can be done individually or in a group setting, Love breaks down of preconceived notions of what Love is all about. Topics include defining love and understanding God’s longing and His unconditional love.
As with anything written by Calvin Miller, I highly recommend Love for your personal study, or in your Sunday School or Small Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good basic study on love

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Trisha
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fruit of the Spirit: Love, by Calvin Miller. In this book we find a study guide on the book of Galatians focusing on the fruit of the spirits, mainly love. Calvin miller does a six week study on the subject of love and its practical application and results in our lives. The book is set up in such a way that it can be done by either using it for personal devotion time, or to do it as a group. included is also study questions to get discussion going. Calvin Miller takes a foundational look at love in Galatians and what it should look like to us and how we should be using it.
I'm not too sure what kind of review to give this book? I did enjoy it for what it was, and that was a simple devotional book, looking at the foundations of love. What I had expected from the description of the book was an in-depth look at love and that it was not. I am the kind of person that likes to research things in the bible. I like to know who wrote, why they wrote it, who it was written too, what it meant to the people of that time as well as to go back to the Hebrew of that verse and see how that's been changed in translation, etc. To me that is an in-depth look at love. That's what I really wanted to find in this book, but it was not. The daily reading is really easy and can been done in a short amount of time every day, and yes it would probably do well in a group setting of people discussing. I can't give it a bad review as it is a good devotional and study, that does teach about love, but its not an in-depth look at it and I imagine it would do really well as a study for new believers or as a refresher on love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love ~ A Book Review

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best-selling author Calvin Miller has written an in-depth, biblically based study on the Fruits of the Spirits (Galatians 5:22). This unique study guide, part of the Fruit of the Spirit Study Guide Series, which is focused on cultivating Spirit-given character can be used as a personal study or in a small group setting. Companion Fruit of the Spirit Study Guide Series that are available include: Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodnesss, Faithfulness, Gentleness, and Self-Control.
Calvin Miller has taken the Fruit of the Spirit and has broken down each attribute into individual study guides, the first of which is Love. This study guide can be used individually or in a small group setting.
I have decided to use this book individually and have enjoyed this as my daily devotional. It's a very easy read and it's kind of short and simple. If you are a busy person that wants to make sure you start your morning with God, this is a perfect place to start. The lessons flow well and can be done in a matter of minutes.
This first book will emphasize how Love is a gift from God. God loves us. He wants to love us. He wants us to enjoy His gifts as an act of His love for us.
I will recommend this to my small group Bible study. I also plan to purchase the additional eight books to enhance my understanding of the wonderful gift of the Fruit of the Spirit. Well done, Calvin Miller!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fruit of the Spirit: Love: Cultivating Spirit-Given Character - eBook
This review is fromLove.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Devotion for any Reading Audience

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanee
Location:Kingston Springs, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“God is in love with us, and his love is totally without merit. His love has nothing to do with neither the good we have done nor the time we have given him in prayer and adoration. God is love!” This is a summation of God and His love for us, and Calvin Miller beautifully displays God’s love in his six week study, Fruit of the Spirit: Love. It is the first book in his series, “Fruit of the Spirit.” This six week study is a very practical study of love. It is not filled with deep theological concepts, but rather, it is an easy application of cultivating spirit driven character. This book is a great tool for a new convert or young Christian trying to develop an understanding of how to be more like Christ. Calvin Miller has written a very no nonsense devotional book that would be relevant for an individual or for group study, as this book was designed to accommodate either. The devotions are easy to read, and the length is not overwhelming. Anyone who is searching for a practical way to understand and apply the first fruit of the spirit, love, would find this book full of meaning and relevance.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.