Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Meeting of the Waters - eBook

David C. Cook The Meeting of the Waters - eBook

The Meeting of the Waters identifies seven trends having a major impact on the Church around the world-and on every Christian at home in every country.

The global community of Christians is stunning in its scope and spiritual impact. But what is happening to the Church as new technology, marketing, and generational shifts make their unavoidable mark? And what difference does it make for Christians in day-to-day life?

Equal parts travelogue, character study, and global documentary, The Meeting of the Waters interlaces stories and instruction in the tradition of Freakanomics, The World Is Flat, and The Tipping Point. This breakthrough book is for any Christian eager to make a difference in a changing world.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (3 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Meeting of the Waters - eBook
Review 1 for The Meeting of the Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great out of the box thinking.

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cdowning
Location:Kingwood, WV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the writing style and information within the book. As an out of the box thinker, this book even challenged me to venture further in rethinking our outreach an missionality at the church my wife and I pastor.
I have suggested an will continue to share this book with other pastors and churches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Meeting of the Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
The Meeting of the Waters is a book packed with challenges and ideas for evangelizing through the global Church. Fritz lays out what he sees as seven currents that are changing the ways of evangelizing around the globe and the Church needs to engage in. 1. Mercy-an increasing emphasis on meeting physical need in addition to evangelism.2. Mutuality-leaders from traditionally poor countries having greater access to education, technology and growing economies, and thus demanding to be heard. 3. Migration-the increasing relocation of peoples among he nations, especially the cities.4. Monoculture-the cultures of all countries becoming more and more similar due to the spread of worldwide images, ideals, celebrities, and ad campaigns that reshape their deepest values. 5. Machines-transforming of lifestyles worldwide via cell phones, GPS, television, and Internet, changing individual lives and values. 6. Mediation-partisan rifts are proliferating due to communication avenues, inciting discord and attracting sympathizers7. Memory-distinct histories (albeit, violent or devastating) that profoundly shape their society; how their yesterday affects their thinking today. These currents are sometimes invisible, thus doubly potent. They cannot be overlooked. The Church needs to quickly and wisely act on these currents to be effective.The analogy of the Meeting of the Waters is a good view of the past methods of evangelizing and todays new ways. They need to converge together.My perspective is that these are real currents, but God is aware of all of them. I think Mr. Kling did an excellent job pulling these together for the Church to glean from. A good read for churches evangelizing in todays fast-paced world. I dont necessarily agree with all the information.,This book has accomplished its goal of alerting/informing the Church.I received this book from Audra at The B & B Media Group, Inc., for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Meeting of the Waters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
This reflective new book introduces the looming challenges and trends facing Christian missions in the world today. A foundation executive, Kling shares an insider's view of mission work around the world, in locales spanning the globe, often diverse yet often similar. Kling's introductory illustration of the old "Mission Marm" of previous generations contrasted to today's "Apple Guy" was particularly insightful.Kling identifies these 7 prevalent global trends in missions: * Mercy: Meeting people's physical needs while evangelizing them. * Mutuality: Viewing Christians from other locales (especially developing countries) as our spiritual equals and partnering with them in missions efforts. * Migration: Global relocation, particularly to cities for economic, educational and other reasons, should lead to discovering new ways to reach out to radically diverse populations. * Monoculture: Cultural similarity amongst nations through media infiltration and other factors will shape our ability to more readily communicate with others. * Machines: Technology (television, the internet, cell phones, GPS, etc.) are transforming lifestyles globally and may impact their values as well as their lives. * Mediation: The church must strive to spread peace-making and reconciliation amidst a number of splinter groups and increasing polarity worldwide. * Memory: Each nation and region holds a history which shapes and influences it. Often these influences may be subtle and unstated, yet will continue to impact the current generation's thoughts, ideals, and way of life.Although futurists generally cannot predict with much accuracy what the future holds, Kling seems less concerned with interpreting these trends and instead merely introduces them for the sake of opening up a dialogue with other Christians. Careful consideration of these 7 global trends should lead to thoughtful strategizing for reaching billions of people with the gospel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.