Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Mailbox - eBook

David C. Cook The Mailbox - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Mailbox - eBook
Review 1 for The Mailbox - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian Romance at its finest

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew really nothing about this book when I picked it up. I remember that it had been suggested to me by some online group. It was just a filler while I waited on another book. I was pretty sure it would not be a book that would truly capture my attention.
I was completely wrong! I instantly knew I would like this book when I read in the acknowledgements that the author thanked her Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, I was astounded! This was a Christian book? Not only that, but the author was one that I recognized from Proverbs 31 ministries.
I loved the way in which the story was written. The story jumped back and forth between the 1980's and the 2000's and occasionally the 1990's. The story was told through letters and narratives. I feel in love with the two main characters! I guess because I tended to understand their situation. Since it deals with divorce and second chances, I could identify with them.
While this book is not a literary masterpiece, it is a nice romance that takes a couple twists and turns that the reader may not see coming--I certainly didn't. It makes me want to go visit the mailbox since the author herself says that it really does exist. I certainly wish I had a Kindred Spirit after reading this book.
I enjoyed the fact that faith was interwoven so easily into the story. Sometimes Christian novels really force the religion issue. In this novel, the character's faith and coming to faith are such an integral part of the story that it makes you believe that with God, nothing is impossible! And He is the God of second chances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vickie Gress
very touching and moving book. I really enjoyed reading it. would recomened it to others really a good read. vickie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
I had read many good reviews about this book and was looking forward to reading it. I was especially intrigued by the fact the book is centered on an actual landmark mailbox in Sunset Beach, N.C. (there are directions to finding it at the end of the book).The book spans the lives of the two main characters, Lindsey and Campbell, over twenty years of their lives. They first meet when Lindsey spends a summer at the beach with her aunt and uncle. While there, she meets Campbell who lives in the town of Sunset Beach. It is Campbell who introduces Lindsey to the mailbox and the Kindred Spirit. Lindsey and Campbell end up on a different path than they originally planned as teenagers in love. Both end up married to someone else and have children. Lindsey continues to visit the beach each summer with her family, leaving a letter in the mailbox for the Kindred Spirit each year. But when her husband walks out on her, she takes their kids to Sunset Beach to try to salvage her life. What evolves is a story that uses the mailbox as the tie between people, their memories, and romantic love. "The Mailbox" is an intriguing story of loss, hope, and the knowledge God knows and loves us enough to give a second chance at love.This book is for anyone, of any age and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edwina Cowgill
I have finished reading, in two days, Marybeth Whalen's debut fiction novel The Mailbox. Marybeth has served as the general editor of For the Write Reason and The Reason We Speak. In my opinion, The Mailbox is the first of many highly successful fiction books for Marybeth. Here is part of the back cover summary:"When Lindsey Adams first visits the Kindred Spirit mailbox at Sunset Beach, North Carolina, as a teenager, she has no idea that twenty years later she will still be visiting the mailbox--still pouring out her heart in letters that summarize the best and worst parts of life."Marybeth draws the reader into the book and the characters' lives almost immediately. All women will be able to identify with Lindsey Adams, but especially those who have gone through a divorce. However, this is not a book that focuses solely on divorce. It is a book about second chances. About healing and redemption. About hope and love. It's message will stay with the reader long after the book is closed. And it is a book that one will want to read over and over again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
The Mailbox by Marybeth Whalen was a fun, easy read. Lindsey, recently divorced, returns to Sunset Beach with her kids for her 20th summer there. While there, she runs into the boy (now man) who made this place so special for her 20 years before. Campbell's got his own set of problems - an ex-wife, a daughter with an eating disorder, and the knowledge that he hasn't tried as hard as he should to build strong relationships with the people in his life. It seems they've both been given a second chance - with each other, and with love in general. The question now is, what are they going to do with it?I really enjoyed The Mailbox. It would definitely be a fun vacation read. Quick, easy, not a lot to think through. I also liked the way the author told the past through Lindsey's letters to the Kindred Spirit who tends The Mailbox (an actual landmark in North Carolina). It was an interesting way to weave in a little character history without getting bogged down. Whalen also addresses difficult issues (like divorce and a child with an eating disorder) without giving pat answers but still giving hope. Other themes include forgiveness, second chances, love, friendship, and parenting.I would recommend this book and look forward to Whalen's next novel.I received a FREE copy of this book from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Mailbox by Marybeth Whalen is a great romance about a real life mysterious landmark in North Carolina. When Lindsey Adams was just fifteen, she fell in love on vacation in Sunset Beach, North Carolina, with Campbell Forrester. Before the teens parted at the end of the summer, Lindsey left a letter behind in the Kindred Spirits Mailbox. It's a mailbox where anyone can leave a message in notebooks or on loose leaf paper, and an unknown person regularly cleans out the letters and replaces the writing material. Her letter begins a twenty year tradition that will take her through a tragic break up with Campbell, into marriage to Grant, two children, and divorce from Grant. When she returns on the twentieth anniversary of her first visit, she's trying to put the pieces of her life back together without her husband. In the mean time, Campbell is seeking a second chance with the teenage daughter he lost contact with when she moved in with his ex-wife. When Campbell and Lindsey meet, the sparks between the two are just as fiery as they were so many years ago, but is it too late? Lindsey is a sympathetic character who is searching for real family and connection with the world. Her annual letters to the Kindred Spirit eventually lead her to faith in God as she comes to understand that only through Him can she find the connection and security she's always been seeking. I was thrilled to see that Whalen didn't give in to the standard old lovers rediscovering romance cliche of one of them being furious with the other and fighting the feelings throughout most of the book. Lindsey and Campbell's romance is of the once-in-a-lifetime variety, and makes the book truly romantic. It's an enjoyable romance with a message of trusting in the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Thomson
If you've ever messed up in your life, you will relate to Marybeth Whalen's characters in her debut novel. Set on a beautiful beach (if you've been there, you'll agree), and using an actual mailbox labeled Kindred Spirit, Whalen explores just what it means to be a Kindred Spirit.Others have mentioned Nicholas Sparks, and it's hard not to think of his novels when reading this one. Both take place on a beach in NC. Both involve lovers who are heart breakingly separated but have a second chance. The difference, of course, is that these characters are influenced by having Christ in their lives. That doesn't, however, mean that the characters don't struggle with the issues and conflict that everyone else battles. It does mean that there is hope in this novel, and it's not tragic like Sparks's novels tend to be.It was a quick and easy read. I was throughly involved in the characters' lives, and I didn't want it to end. Looking forward to the sequel. Highly recommended! I received a review copy from the publisher.Cindy Thomson, Author of Brigid of Ireland
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Who knew you could find God in a mailbox? Who knew at fifteen your life would change forever just in one summer, one choice, one moment that you can never take back. And the question is, "Would you change a thing if you knew how the story would end?" In this story of journey we meet Lindsey Adams who as a young girl has not had an easy life, and is searching for more. As she visits North Carolina with her aunt and uncle, her life changes before her eyes, and it is as though life begins. Lindsey meets Campbell, the boy who steals her heart with a glance. But as young love comes, young love also ends. A special place that ties them together is the mailbox. A place where a kindred spirit lives as others pour their hearts out onto paper with pen each year. As Lindsey returns home after the summer, Campbell finds himself making a choice of a lifetime, now marrying another, and is a new daddy. Campbell is always trying to do the right thing, but can he undo the pain he has caused the young girl he loves? As his life continues, so does the life of Lindsey, as she marries, and has children of her own. Only this man brings heartache. As Lindsey is struggling with divorce, Campbell finds himself reuniting with his daughter, who is needing him more than ever. As each summer the mailbox is filled, we see how God molds their lives together, and is always at work, even when they do not see clearly past the mailbox. This is one of those love stories that brings you straight to Jesus. As we follow the lives of Lindsey and Campbell we see that in our imperfections, there is always God's grace, a grace that carries us through and brings us into perfection with Him. They find that they cannot complete each other as once dreamed, but through Christ they can find themselves complete in Him. This is a book you will want for a summer read. To just take your time, sit back and enjoy.This book was a gift from Marybeth Whalen for its review. robinsnest66.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nicole O'Dell
What I loved about this book is that the characters are flawed; they're human. I can relate to each one of them in some way. The ways I've failed as a wife, mom, friend, Christian, etc, over the years...they're all in there. And, it's not that Whalen excuses those flaws, she just realizes that they exist. They're real. Redemption, forgiveness, second chances, restoration--all the good stuff--is present and believable. It's not one of those stories that buttons everything up all nice and tidy, leaving the reader wishing life could actually be like that. The sub-plot about a teen with anorexia is handled very well, too. The idea of the Kindred Spirit and how Lindsey connected with (it) having never met or communicated in anyway, made me think of how each one of us cries out for spiritual guidance. We want to know that someone bigger than us is in control. Thankfully, the truth of Who that is is expertly woven throughout the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
The reviews sounded promising, but I don't think the book is that good. I think the jumping around in time is confusing and sometimes I wondered where in time we were. There were a lot of uninteresting details.I recommend the author not to jump around in time in her next book and leave the little unimportant details out (like what to feed the kids). I think then you will have a great book, because you are talented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly
A perfect summer read! Whalen weaves the story through time in a masterful way, leading us to feel that we truly know her characters. A story of both broken relationships and restored love, The Mailbox is sure to be one of your favorite books on this summer's reading list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
The Mailbox reminded me of a Nicholas Sparks novel from the opening scene. Teenage love is found and then lost and years later there's the glimmer of hope that they can recreate what was lost then. But as with most love stories, there are so many obstacles standing in their way it looks impossible. The author weaves the story back and forth between the first summer the current day, slowly bringing the two timelines together. In some books that technique is jarring, but in this one it helped me dive deeper into the characters and their psyches.The writing is simple, the mailbox an engaging hook, and the idea of a Kindred Spirit we share our deepest selves with sweet. The spiritual thread was also woven into the story in a natural way that reflected the hero and heroine's growth.This book makes a perfect summer read with a hidden depth that makes the story that much richer. I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to reading more novels by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
The Mailbox captured me from the first chapter with its believable characters and page-turning plot. The author takes us to the North Carolina shore, and you can almost feel the sea breeze through her wonderful descriptions. This is a very well-written debut novel that makes you think, laugh, and cry. I will be looking forward to more books by Marybeth Whalen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Mailbox - eBook
This review is fromThe Mailbox.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tamery
I wonderfully written book, I devoured every page! What a great summer read; I felt like I was at Sunset beach with the characters. Everyone should throw this into their beach/pool bag and enjoy a little getaway..be it a vacation or staycation! I look forward to more books by Marybeth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.