Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Review 1 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is meant to be shared with someone!

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vivian
Location:Kokomo IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book on impulse, but I am very glad that I did. I made my children and grandchildren read it too. I wrote on the inside front cover that it was given not to keep, but to read and pass it on the someone that needed to know that we have a Great God! He is always with us, and is directing our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
CO Woman
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for anyone who needs to be reminded that EVERYTHING we do touches others in some way. Would be a great gift for a new parent or someone embarking on a new venture in life. It is also a wonderful reminder that every step we take needs to be thought through carefully. Highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything You Do Matters

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I was supposed to have reviewed this book last year. I was given a link to an E-Book by Thomas Nelson Publishers and I had some upheaval in my life and just didn't have time to read it and then it expired. I was so bummed. I love just about everything Andy Andrews writes, and couldn't believe I just blew a chance to read this. Then someone was kind enough to give me a Gift Card and I used it to purchase the book. It was worth it.
This is one of those little Coffee Table books, or in my case, a Book Case book. I brought it to work and put it on my bookcase that holds all my binders of meeting minutes and important ongoing projects. I did this so I could remember that Everything I Do, Matters!
If you have never read Andy Andrews, most of what he writes is in allegory format (a truth wrapped inside a story). This was the way Jesus taught most things for a reason. Stories stick with us. I love Andy because he shares little tidbits of history, which I love. One of his favorite people in history is Joshua Chamberlain, a 34-year-old college professor turned Union Army Colonel. This man was given one task during a battle that ultimately changed the course of history for the U.S. Mr. Andrews has given us some of his story in some of his other books like "The Traveler" and The Noticer", but I don't remember him going into as much detail, and I have to tell you, he has turned into one of my favorite historical characters.
This book is not a hard read. It took me about 15 minutes to read it cover-to-cover, but it is a book that everyone should read once, and then again and again as a way to remind ourselves that what we do matters, not just to us or our family, but could have long lasting impact that we can't even see.
I also want to encourage you to put Andy Andrews in your To Be Read list. Motivate yourself and others around you to make everything you do count. It's up to you...Do Something!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most enlightening

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an eyeopening book with many applications! I woul and have reccomended it to several people. Actually I've given several copies as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my family is moved by the signif of our actions

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
papahowie
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in my role as patriarch-I chose to offer this very well expressed important relationship interaction to my family during the Christmas gathering. It has my grown children and my grandchildren thinking and moving during this important time in US history. We are all recognizing a new significance to who and what we are and how our actions and influence is so important to each other and the bigger society we inhabit. We have a picture of our selves being significant to the future through the stories so apply presented as "the ripple effect" put to wings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sami
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
All I have given this to love it, and are amazed. Tears and joy have come from reading this book. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 15 yr old son who is a bit aggressive, looses faith at times and this has helped him see that life is worth working for and that God will always be with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disturbed by profiling GMO as a good thing

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christi S
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to confess that I received these two books long ago but this has been a very hard review to write.
I love the premise of these books, that everything you do matters, that even the smallest insignificant things can have a profound effect.
I loved the first story in The Butterfly Effect about how a action done almost 150 years ago effects us still today.
I love Andy Andrews' writing that is engaging and fun to read.
Honestly though, the story about the wheat and corn turned my stomach. A book making the persons responsible for GMO wheat and corn out to be heroes is just something that I can't support. I try not to get political in reviews but since the 1940s when they first started with the GMO wheat and corn the rates of celiac have multiplied, the rates of autism have soared, allergies are sky-rocketing, among other things. We are tweaking our environment too much and a book that celebrates this is just too much.
I wanted to love this book, and honestly if I could tear out a section of Butterfly effect, I would still love it. If it wasn't a book to inspire and to change lives the politics wouldn't matter. But I can't recommend this book at all because of the GMO issue.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Andy Andews Books

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ohio 1234
Location:N.E. Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Andy Andrews and his writings. They are down to earth but have so much meaning being them. This book has caused me to think more about each action that I take.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A touching, easy to read message

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kari
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book touches the heart each and every time it is read. It is such a good reminder that often times we miss the small, but significant things in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
meimei
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book is an epiphany and inspiration! I initially bought five and intend to buy more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read - will suggest to friends!

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:Somewhere, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Did you know that one flutter of a butterfly's wings could change weather patterns---and that the minor choices we make could launch ripple effects into the future? Andy Andrews' compelling story about how one man's choice made over 100 years ago affects today's world will inspire you to do the right thing---even when it's difficult.
The butterfly effect is what happens (under the right conditions) when a butterfly flaps it's wings. The wings move air, which moves air, which moves more air, which causes a hurricane on the other side of the world. Andy Andrews says that it's the same way with people. One person effects a couple people, who effect hundreds of people, which then effects the whole world. Andy tells the story of a man, who when faced with a tough decision, chose to do what was unheard of - in fact, thought by some as stupid. He was leading a regiment, that was beaten and out of ammunition, and instead of retreating or just plain giving up, he chose to CHARGE. It was later determined, that if he had not won that battle, the South would have won in the Civil War.
Just one man changed the whole USA.
I thought this was very inspirational, and although I dislike some of the effects that one of these men (not the one mentioned above) made, the fact that he did it is impressive. He also did a wonderful job of illustrating it. I will definitely suggest this to my friends.
*description taken from ChristianBook.com.
In compliance with new laws, I am required to say I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson @ booksneeze.com in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could you possess the power to change the world?

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abby
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you suppose a butterfly could flap its wings and set
molecules of air in motion, which would move other molecules of air, in turn moving more molecules of air – eventually capable of starting a hurricane on the other side of the planet?
Could one life have enough purpose and meaning to change the world?
Could you possess the power to change the world?
This is the story of two extraordinary men and the effects of the actions they took. The first is the dramatic story of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain’s actions which resulted in the astonishing victory at The Battle of Gettysburg in 1863 during the American Civil War. The second is of Norman Borlaug who hybridized high yield, disease resistant corn and wheat which flourished in arid regions, it has been calculated that his work saved more than 2 billion lives from starvation. Was it Norman Borlaug who is solely responsible for changing the world or do the people whose actions and influence touched his life and the lives before have something to do with it too?
These stories illustrate that the actions you take can reach beyond your lifetime into the next and touch others. Each life is unique and purposeful, and possesses the power to change the world. The book is beautifully laid out and I found it meaningful and inspiring , I would highly recommend it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was
not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
<http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a lovely little book, with a powerful message

Date:November 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this (and I usually dont buy gift books), because of the cover and the lovely pages. It didnt take long to read, but the message is SO powerful. I lead a very low-key life; I clean houses and drive a school bus route. I often think, who cares whether or not I clean houses well, or drive a school bus wisely and safely?? These are NOT high paying, high profile jobs..but the Butterfly book says that EVERYTHING we do, has meaning, not just for now, but for the future. Please buy this book, not just for yourself, but for anyone who struggles with wondering if their life means anything..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Butterfly Effect: Book review

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doorkeeper
Location:Altus, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the past two books written by Andy Andrews and was very excited to find this book. The whole basis of the book is along the lines of the butterfly effect spoken of in years past in the scientific community. Basically, that theory stated that if a butterfly flapped its' wings on one side of the world, it could cause a ripple effect that could produce astounding things to take place on the opposite side of the world.
Andy takes that theory and breaks it down in how our lives can cause a ripple effect in time. By the things we do, regardless how small, we can change others which can cause amazing things to be possible.
Some of the places he draws from are the Civil War and the stand made by one man, in the face of certain death...this stand changed the course of history...what would life be like if the South had won? What if there were no United States? Another was the backstory of George Washington Carver...how the sacrifices of others made possible the advances in agriculture he was able to make...
The bottom line is this...the acts we do actually make a difference! If you are down or thinking your life has little meaning in the grand scope of things, read this book. It will take you approximately 15 minutes, but could completely change your outlook on how important your life is!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
The decisions you make and the way you treat others have more impact than you may ever realize.Speaker and New York Times best-selling author Andy Andrews shares a compelling and powerful story about a decision one man made over a hundred years ago, and the ripple effect its had on us individually, and nationwide, today. Its a story that will inspire courage and wisdom in the decisions we make, as well as affect the way we treat others through our lifetime. Andrews speaks over 100 times a year, and The Butterfly Effect is his #1 most requested story.Also included with the purchase of the book is a link to view a 9-minute message of Andrews telling The Butterfly Effect story to a live audience.It is a small gift book with a big message: What you do matters. Tracing the story of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, we find that our whole world would be a much different place if he had chosen a different reaction to his circumstances. Pull this one out when you need a reminder that your life matters. It inspired me to remember that, at any given moment, a choice I make could change the world
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie Reeves
would recommend this book. It is very encouraging and enlightening as to how God uses our life and the life of others in so many ways to reach out and touch others. I have already shared it with a friend and she is sharing it with her grandaughter. Thank you and God continue to bless your ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave Wilson
Andy Andrews speaks to groups over 100 times a year, and his skill at story telling is one of the main reasons hes so popular with audiences. One of those stories, The Butterfly Effect, is his most requested, and has now been turned into a book.Just 109 pages long, The Butterfly Effect is a slim book, but communicates a weighty message. The speaker and New York Times best-selling author uses real-life examples to communicate an important principle: the decisions you make and the way you treat others have more impact than you may ever realize.The books title is taken from a scientific hypothesis presented in 1963. It suggested that a butterfly could flap its wings and set molecules of air in motion, which are eventually capable of starting a hurricane on the other side of the planet.Now Im no scientist, but the whole idea seems pretty fanciful to me. If butterfly wings cause hurricanes, the force of my tire blowing out recently should have caused the planet to be wrenched out of its orbit around the Sun. In the same way, some of Andrews accounts seem a bit Bunyanesque.For example, Colonel Vincent Chamberlain, spared a mortal wound when a bullet bounced off his belt buckle during the Battle of Gettysburg, heroically held off rebel soldiers against insurmountable odds. If he didnt, the North would have lost the war, the United States would have dissolved, and North America would have turned into a politically fragmented continent like Europe.In spite of the fact that a number of Andrews biographical stories seem like hyperbole, The Butterfly Effect does convey the important message that your life can impact others in ways that are not always immediately evident.The Butterfly Effect does provide some serious inspiration. But Ill hold off on giving it a round of applause. I might cause a typhoon on the other side of the globe.A complimentary copy of the reviewed book was provided by the publisher.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacie
The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters by Andy Andrews is a small gift book with a big message: What you do matters. Tracing the story of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, we find that our whole world would be a much different place if he had chosen a different reaction to his circumstances. The story of Norman Borlaug is included as well (although I do like the retelling of his life story better in the kid's version). This is a beautifully illustrated and inspirational book. Pull this one out when you need a reminder that your life matters. It inspired me to remember that, at any given moment, a choice I make could change the world. It's amazing to consider, but generations are impacted by the lives we lead today. My favorite part of the book was actually in the author's notes at the beginning. I love this quote by a man Andy Andrews just names as Jones: "With a little perspective, you can live a life of permanent purpose."This book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for my honest, non-biased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Aspacio
When I read Andy Andrews' "The Butterfly Effect: How Your Life Matters" it challenged me and inspired me with the historical information about a hypothesis made in 1966 that became popularly known as the butterfly effect and how this has been proven scientifically and historically. Read more at http://www.aspacio.net/2010/09/butterfly-effect-how-your-life-matters.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.