Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1

Moody Publishers The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1

Annah hasn't spoken a word since she witnessed her father's murder 15 years ago. Seeking escape from her harsh existence and cruel brother, she weaves a veil to hide beneath. Then a gentle young man who trusts in the Most High penetrates her silent world. Will her newfound faith and happiness with Shem, son of Noah, be enough to face the chaos to come? 384 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best, if not the best book on the biblical story of Noah and the flood.
The story centers on Annah who lives in the settlement across the river from the settlement of Noah and his family. Living with a family that knows nothing except violence and selfishness, Annah longs for freedom. When Noah's son Shem spies Annah sitting across the river he knows that God has set this woman aside for him to marry.
While the flood itself didn't have the big part in the overall story, I did like what the author did with it in describing the detailing of the ark inside.
The other part that I thought was a real winner was after the flood and Noah and his family were discussing the way the earth had changed. The sky was different, the plants and the way that the animals reacted to them were different. I thought that was very well thought out.
But in the end, this is a story of a emotionally damaged woman who learns to love and laugh and experience the way that God wants to love us.
I can't wait to read the rest of the trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, well-written novel

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Heavens Before" is one of my favorite novels. It's a historical romance. One of the things I appreciate is that the story stayed true to the information given in the Bible. The author also clearly did her research as to what the pre-Flood society might be like, how the ark could hold all the animals, how they could feed all the animals, etc., to fill in what isn't told in the Bible account. All of this information was woven in as a backdrop for Annah's story.
I was quickly immersed into the world and the story (even now that I've read it several times). The world-building was excellent and brought the story alive in my imagination. The pacing was excellent, and the author built the tension nicely to keep me reading. The characters were complex and realistic. I cared about them, even the ones that weren't very nice to Annah.
Since the Flood happened before Christ's birth or before Jacob/Israel was born, only God ("the Most High") was referred to except for a brief mention of "the Promised One." Noah's family is shown as devout (with mention to them praying, thanking God, etc.), but it's presented as an underlying part of their daily life. As in, it wasn't preachy. I think readers who have a Jewish or Christian heritage would enjoy the novel.
There was no explicit sex. There was no bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this well-written novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A novel that held me mesmerized

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annah is a young women who lives in the time of Noah, residing among a people who are violent, selfish, having no thoughts for anyone but their own pleasure. She is held in contempt by all, believed to be mindless as she has not spoken since she observed the death of her own father many years before. While down at the riverside, she has a chance encounter with Shem, son of Noah. After she is nearly beaten to death by her brother, Shem rescues her through marriage and brings her to his family. At the prompting of the Most High, Noah brings warning of the coming great flood. The people must choose between evil and good as the day of judgment draws near.
Kacy Barnett-Gramckow has written a powerful novel in The Heavens Before, one that held me completely mesmerized with it's depiction of life before the flood. The details are rich and beautifully fleshed out, the characters larger than life. Annah's story left me breathless with her rise from the ashes of where she suffered so much wrong. It takes a talented author, indeed, who can take a story where everyone knows the ending, and create a novel that holds you in it's grip and takes you on a journey with unexpected twists and turns. God's light shines through this story, and you will leave the pages with a deeper understanding of his love and his grace and the marvel of his ways.
I highly recommend this book and give it a full 5 out of 5 stars. If you have never read this book, you are missing out. This book should be a must for any library.
Disclosure of Material Connection:
I received this book free from Moody Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robs
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent! The author wrote about something that I had never heard anyone else doing. The Biblical facts that she brought out in the story were so interesting that it made me go back to my Bible and really study the account of Noah's time period. It really made me wonder how was the earth before the flood. I hope the next two are as good as this one and would really like to read them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
This is a fictionalised tale of Noah's family, following them during the building of the ark, the flood and after the flood. It is told mainly from the point of view of the wife of one of Noah's sons, and the story starts showing her life in the settlement; a town where murder is nearly an everyday event. Annah, the main character, has not spoken since her brother killed her father and is considered to be stupid. One day when she is at the river, one of Noah's sons spots her and God tells him that this is the girl that, one day, he will marry - and the story takes off from there. I have to admit that I found the part of the novel set in the settlement far more exciting and fast-paced (murder! And demons! And gold!) than the story that takes place after she leaves to marry Noah's son, but I did find it quite interesting to read about how Noah's other sons their wives. Overall, a really interesting novel which I think would appeal to non-Christians as much as Christians (providing that they realised they were reading a fictionalisation of a Biblical story and that, therefore, it would mention God in it) as it is very well written and completely different from any "historical" novel I've ever read. The author has written two more novels about events which take place in Genesis so I'd quite like to read them some day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kimberley Ketterman
This book was Amazing. I felt that God was using the Author to help us understand specifically why God flooded the earth and I think it portrays what God intended a marriage to look like and why. I cannot wait to read the rest in the series. I would really like to know when they are going to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2006
Annah lowered her head, crying silently. But even in her sorrow, she felt reassured. For beneath these new heavens and on this new earth, only the presence of the Most High had not changed. She could actually sense Him; He was as she remembered Him from the earth beforeExcerpt from The Heavens BeforeIt is a time of violence and hatred, lust and greed, justice and destruction. However, one man has found grace in the eyes of the Lord, and Annah longs to be a part of his family. God has chosen to take Annah out of the violent environment in which she lives and count her as one of the few that find refuge on the ark.Is it true what Noah says? Will the Most High really destroy all the earth with a great flood? Annah chooses to believe and thus becomes part of the lineage of Christ. The Heavens Before is the retelling of the story of Noah and his ark. Read this book and learn of Gods nature of utmost love and complete intolerance for wickedness and sin.Youll be inspired to know Him more personally and youll come to love Annah with all her faults. Kacy Barnett-Gramckow vividly depicts how life must have been before the Great Flood. She has stayed true to the Scriptural account of the story and at the same time, brought it to life for her readers.The Heavens Before is a beautiful story of redemption and one that should be read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This is totally original and engaging...If you like Biblical fiction, this story is for you. Annah, the heroine in the story, had so many horrible things happen to her at the hand of her biological family that she was mute and tried to be a 'nothing' person to survive. Then Shem sees her from across the river and she now has someone who cares. The author made Annah likeable and Shem is the ultimate hero. Gotta love a man like that. Annah had a lot of fears, all based on reality. There were moments when I feared for her life, other times when I rejoiced with her, breathed a sigh of relief and wanted to cry with her. Overall this is a great story that delves into a time that few people explore. Before the flood people were so wicked God sought to destroy the whole earth. This author portrays just that and it's hard to not side with God (referred to as the Most High.) It didn't take me long to finish this novel because it is truly hard to put down. Like the movie Titanic, you know tragedy is coming and you want to know how the people who believe in the Most High handle the situation. I plan to read her next book in the series because reading this one was such a great experience. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Renee
Excellent writing. I highly recommend this book. Once I started I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Christina
Excellent novel on a difficult subject - she really made Noah and his family come to life. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Cindy
The author does an excellent job creating a world that existed before the flood. With great skill and imagination she creates a credible scenario full of details the bible doesn't give. Haven't you always wondered what it was like before the flood? How did Noahs' sons meet their wives? What kind of relationship did man have with the animals? This book does a good job answering those questions and more. I can't wait for book 2!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heavens Before, The Genesis Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
This is a riveting story about the days of Noah. I couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.