Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook

Thomas Nelson Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook

In the foundational volume of his Pastor's Library series, Pastor MacArthur and the distinguished faculty of The Master's Seminary provide an unparalleled introduction to expository preaching. In Preaching you will learn how to correctly "divide the word of truth" through biblical exegesis and how to powerfully apply the truth of Scripture to the people in your congregation. Let Pastor MacArthur and the staff of The Master's Seminary mentor you as you respond to the Apostle Paul's command to "Preach the Word."
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
Review 1 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well organized and necessary tool

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Wade
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the very practical and easily understood instructions. Wish I could attend The Master's Seminary where this is taught.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tim Raymond
As a senior/preaching pastor, I may have read more books on preaching than perhaps any other subject. Of all I've read, MacArthur's is the very best for moving from exegesis to exposition. Other books are better on oratory method (e.g., hold your hands this way when you speak, make eye contact, etc.) but no book I've read does a better job of teaching you how to take a bare passage of Scripture, examine and interpret it properly, and then turn it into a sermon. I highly recommend this volume to all preachers - probably more so than those that teach oratory method. You can ususally figure that sort of stuff out on your own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris DuBose
This book is excellent. I think that every preacher should have this in their library. This book has literally helped transform my preaching. I'm a full time pastor, and this book is one that I refer to frequently to keep me sharp! It is very easy to understand, whether you are a seminary grad or lay preacher, you will get a lot of use out of this book. It is easy to understand, has great readability, and gives a step by step process of how to preach an expository sermon. This book also contains a HUGE list of tools and study resources that will be beneficial, in which I have already purchased some from CBD! For any preacher stuck in a rut, this will help you. A great resource, great price, and very readable. Yes, you need this!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
William E Ball
Outstanding. All who teach need to read this book, take a look at what they are preaching ("Preach the Word", and evaluate the need for change and refinement. Don't let things replace the Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stan
A fantastic resource for any pastor or evangelist who is caught up in the trap of making the Word of God fit your message, as opposed to making the Word of God THE message!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Kessler
Again John Macurthor provides us a text to learn by. His research and knowledge of the bible is inspirational as I start to study to become a preacher. It sets the bar for the preaching of today. I encourage all preachers of the word to read this book. It is clearly and masterfully composed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Greggrey Cudworth
The book gave some helps on how to improve your preaching; but for the most part it tended to make the reader feel inadequate and not up to the challenge. I was disappointed, most of JM's books are excellent. after reading the book I came away feeling that no one would be qualified to be a preacher by his standards.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Fair
Refreshing! Finally, a book that states the truth - Everything you need to know about how to live, be healed, and change your life is in the WORD of God! God IS ALL-Sufficient!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Preaching: How to Preach Biblically - eBook
This review is fromPreaching.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2005
As with all of Dr. John Macarthurs works, this is excellent. I highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.