Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Screen Play - eBook

David C. Cook Screen Play - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Screen Play - eBook
Review 1 for Screen Play - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:martinezsylvia09@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this story.  I love to read and I received this book for free from bookbub.com.  Screenplay is about a young actress Harper Gray.  Harper is facing a low point in her life.  Her boyfriend leaves her, she has been an out of work actress and her money has dried up.  Our character finds herself in New York playing a stand in for the star of the show.  When things take a turn and she finds herself leading in different directions.  See how Harper Gray handles the bumps in her road, and how her relationship with God grows.  You will not be able to put this book down.  
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Screen Play - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great for single theater buffs

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book takes the reader from Broadway theater in New York, to paparazzi-ridden Hollywood and on to the tropical paradise of the Pacific Islands. Harper is the down-on-her-luck actress who gets a really big break soon after she gives her life to Christ. I loved her boldness in living her new found faith surrounded by so many faithless people. God doesn't just revive Harper's career, He also brings romance into her life, via an on-line dating service. Technology plays a big part in the whole modern story, which would certainly appeal to modern singles, especially those with a love of theater. But there's a message in it for all readers - God is well able to bring transformation in our circumstances and He loves us enough to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Screen Play - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Full Palette of Emotions and Exciting Locations

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure of this book when I first started reading it. I am not a fan of too much sarcasm and endless back and forth retorts. That's how the book seemed to start--I was wrong!
It is an incredible story of God's faithfulness and the journey of life in a larger sense than just the usual church-going day-to-day adventure. This story takes you from Chicago, to New York, to LA, to the South Pacific--from abandonment, to finding Christ, to the New York theater crowd, to filmmaking in LA to the cub of a tiny plane over the Pacific!
The story line is a strong one that is surprising in that it is the voice of a young woman told by a male author! I didn't know that men could understand us that well! You will find yourself enthralled with Harper as she searches for God's true path!
I absolutely recommend this book that is so up-to-date that online dating, emails, and texting are vital to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever wondered what type of pressures an actress in LA can have ? , What it is to be a christian in a world of actors ?. William Shakespeare's quote "The world's a stage and all the people are merely actors" rings true as we all try so hard to be somebody we aren't to try and impress.
In today's review , I bring you a story of acting and theatre work with a hint of Christianity thrown into the mix with Christian Fiction author Chris Coppernoll's latest book "Screen Play".
Review: Screen Play -A Novel - Chris Coppernoll - 2010
"Sometimes the person farthest away from you is the one closest to your heart".
Harper Gray has had a year of constant struggles from her boyfriend leaving her to having no work and finding herself constantly broke and eventually only having enough items to carry in two plastic sacks. As an actress , as we know many live on paycheck to paycheck and the world of acting in a lot of ways is like writing. There is a high chance that you may not make it and when you do , there are only a handful. After a year of getting to know God and trying to reach out to him and hear her prayers, it may have paid off.
Harper receives a phone call from two old friends Ben ( now a theatre director) and Avril ( now a leading actress) , asking her if she would consider being an understudy in a play that Ben is directing called Apartment 19. The term of the play is 42 weeks and the amount of cash is enough to stay afloat.
As she arrives in New York City, Harper realises that this may very well be the start of a new cycle in her life. After hearing her friend Avril rave on about Internet Dating site LoveSetMatch.Com , Harper signs up and we soon see Harper chucked into a world of Internet Dating via IM's , Textes and soon Phone calls.
As things start to fall into place, Harper realises that something is still missing from her life and joins a small church as she longs for God to show her a sign that he is still listening to her prayers above.
This story told through the woes and tales of Internet dating and the theatre world , we read as Harper Gray finally learns the truth of who she is as a person and that their are some things in life that are even more important than her acting career , like the meaning of true love. As she starts to explore deeper within herself , she soon realises that at the same time God is forever continually reaching out for her with arms open wide.
An awesome Christian Fiction that threads together inspiration , friendship , love and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Chris Coppernoll's contemporary romance "Screen Play" was thoroughly entertaining. And like any good romance, it made my heart pitter-patter and soar on more than one occasion. Add a little suspense, and the captivating effect was perfect.I adored this story because I got lost in it's pages and lived in an entertaining alternate reality while I was reading. The character development was impeccable and the faith element was perfectly done. I said this before, but the romance literally took my breath away. Seriously. I can see why this novel got such a high rating from Romantic Times. It was a perfect novel in many respects. Several times I'd even forgotten it was written by a man because the author clearly understands a woman's heart. That, in and of itself, is impressive.I also loved the setting. The various details in each portion of the book were so well developed and researched that I felt like I was in the story. I was Harper and I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. She was one of the most believable and lovable modern era heroines I've found in a book in a long time. I also loved the secondary characters. Their drama gripped my heart and I loved how everything played out with it's highs and lows. Harper was such a good friend, but it went both ways. Avril was also there for Harper when she needed support. Did I mention that I was enthralled with this story?The plot, the characters, everything about this story reeks of a novel that should be nominated for an award of some kind. If I had a chance to vote on a nomination, "Screen Play" would get mine...hands down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Harper is worried her chance for love and acting aren't going to happen so she signs up for an online dating site she heard her friend talk about. Lots of names pop up, but love? Hmmm that's a bit harder isn't it?Oh than two conversations start... I wasn't sure who to root for! Both were so sweet, so it was interesting how it turned out. I was surprised by the choice! I mean it was good but I was truly guessing who it would be.This is my first time reading a Chris Coppernoll book and I enjoyed it. I think Chris did a great job of voicing Harper and I loved the different scenes that unfolded throughout this story. I really enjoyed the acting part of this book. I was expecting ubber cheesy and it wasn't. It was done with a lot of style!I would easily pass this book on to any of my friends looking for a good romance with a Christian themed love story. It was sweet and sincere and Harper was a very easy going lovable type to just enjoy getting to know! I am looking forward to finding more of Chris's books in the future!**review copy recieved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
I had heard lots of raves about Chris Coppernoll & his latest novelScreen Play. So I was excited about the opportunity to read it.This book tells the story of Harper Gray, an actress selected to be an understudy on Broadway to a very famous actress by the plays director, who was a former college mate at Northwestern U in Chicago. In the previous year, she struggled mightily, personally & professionally, & was introduced to Jesus Christ by a lovely lady named Bella. I was fascinated by the fact that Chris, a man, wrote this novel in the first person point of view. As a female myself, I did not detect any incongruities in Chriss style. Harper is a lady, through & through!It was truly miraculous to see how Harpers life changed when she placed her faith in Jesus. She continued to lean on Him (& His Holy Spirit) for guidance & direction, and her life became more & more full of His blessings.A neat element of the story is how the characters, although they lived in NYC, the most populous city in the US (& highly ranked in the world), they relied on the internet (i.e., online dating services, texting, etc) to make connections with other people. The title is a clever play on words for the interplay online & the occupation of the title character.The storyline in this book was fast-paced & exciting. I have never visited NYC, but was able to catch the pulse of the city. And I was thrilled to see how a new believer, as Harper was, so readily and easily shared her faith, particularly in an industry like show business, which often berates and ridicules Christ-followers.There are many twists & turns in this book. It's textured,rich & very realistic, yet at the same times provides a heartwarming story of Gods redemption & care for all of us. I highly recommend this strong & sweet book. This book was provided to me by the B & B Media Group for review purposes.Reviewed by Andrea Schultz Ponderings by Andrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Snow
Ok, I have to be honest with you all and say that I did not have the highest hopes for this book. I was really expecting the story to come off as cheesy and unrealistically positive, as so many Christian fiction titles do. And really, it was quite the opposite. Bright, likable characters, a great faith basis without being over-the-top, and a nice romance. An engaging plot with the faith aspects sewn in subtly, but effectively. A main character in Harper that readers can believe, both in her actions throughout the novel and in her dialogue and emotions. I found myself engrossed in the story and continuing to want to know what happens to these people (uh...sequel please?). It's inspirational and somewhat romantic, though not overly so. Someone else's review compared author Chris Coppernoll to Nicholas Sparks. Uhhh no. Sappy and weepy this is not. Beautifully written, it is.Even if you aren't typically one to pick up a Christian fiction novel, but enjoy a good contemporary story, I would give Screen Play a shot. God definitely plays a large role in the character's lives, but it's not "in-your-face" at all. I think Coppernoll is a fantastic writer and look forward to reading more from him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
I Loved, Loved, Loved this book! Chris Coppernoll has captured the magic of theatre, from idea to rehearsals and finally to the excitement and joy of a play ready for opening night on Broadway! Chris captures the electrifying wonder and family atmosphere of life in the theatre. Readers will experience this through Harper's eyes, on and off stage and everything in-between...like an internet dating site where her friend has found love; Harper thinks you should meet people the old fashion way, face-to-face. I felt a connection to the main character, Harper Gray, a thirty year old girl whos been unemployed, unloved, isolated and wondering where life is headed. Harper meets Bella and life as shes known it starts to change. On her way to the airport, Harper discovers a note Bella tucked into her paperback book that says, I believe in you. God has a purpose and plan for your life.Bella Did He really? It was easy to believe in God when Bella was near, but Harper was headed to New York for a role on Broadway! Shes left to walk this unfamiliar journey with God alone! Or so she thinks. Harper struggles with her new faith in an atmosphere that is social in nature and a place shes never walked with God before. She says this about herself, I was sure I was getting a reputation as the oddball cast member who prays. I loved Chriss humor woven in-between the drama. Screen Play will pull at your heart strings and make you shake your head as you marvel at how this gifted male author could pen the heart and soul of Harper Gray, a female character, so well! I found myself so absorbed into this story; I was up until the wee hours reading about this believable and compelling world Chris created!Thanks to David C. Cook publishers for my review copy. This books a keeper. Finding Hope Through Fictionwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Ann Forkner, Author
A love story that gives a realistic portrayal of single life amdidst the pressures of the world we live in today. Screen Play is also an inspiring, delightful read that deals with the sometimes difficult intersection of art and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Hovis
What a great story! After spending a year in almost complete isolation, Harper finally gets her big break as an actress. But she still isn't happy, as she longs for a meaningful relationship in her life. In desperation and loneliness, she rather skeptically registers for an online dating service. Even Harper is surprised by the outcome.The most amazing thing that I found about this story was the typical Hollywood setting and how it was mixed with an incredible woman of strong faith in God. Her witness and lifestyle was a clear and honest testimony to everyone that she came in contact with. This story is an inspiration to anyone who might struggle with being honest with our co-workers and friends about what we believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
MJ @ Creative Madness
I have been meaning to read a book by Chris for more than a year. I just never have a craving for contemporary fiction. Whenever I have free time I am always reaching for the historicals. After reading "Screen Play" by Chris, I am sorry that I waited so long before introducing myself to his storytelling voice. The entire time I was looking forward to what was coming next. Already, partially read I would recommend it. After finishing it, I highly recommend it.There is not just one story in there but several. The character voice of female Harper Gray is incredibly well developed by Chris. There were many little things that showed her personality and I am very impressed from a male point of view how well she came together on the page.While enjoying the story I was expecting it to wrap up right after the New York play, but it continued and it was as enjoyable as reading a sequel of character's lives that you are not quite ready to let go of as a reader. After a short trip to London with my SisterB where we saw a play a day, except one day two I recall our performance of "The Woman in White" that was saw. This show sticks out in my mind specifically because the staring roll was played by the understudy. I remember being curious about what goes on in the mind of someone that plays the roll of an understudy and thanks to the first half of this fabulous treasure of a novel now I have a better plausible picture.This was a story that was enjoyable to read and the characters were truly brought of the page to me. I can imagine them as palpable persons and that is to me an extremely valuable talent in an author. Once again, I repeat, I am sorry that I have not delved into the imagination on the page from Chris before, but I am so glad that I have found his writing now. I cannot wait for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Thank you to Audra Jennings at B & B Media for my review copy of this most interesting Christian fiction romance story.This is the first book I've read by this author who enjoys using metaphors and similes. When the story begins, the protagonist, a thirty-year-old wanna-be actress, is at the bottom of her barrel. We watch her struggle and see her story unfold. Intertwined with all of the backstage politics is an internet romance. I learned a good bit about both the career of an actor and online dating.Just when I felt that I had the plot all figured out, the author throws in a twist and then another, until I gave up and just enjoyed the read. Truly, I did not guess the ending. I predict you'll enjoy this one too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Screen Play by Chris Coppernoll is a refreshing romance full of faith and hope. Harper Gray has had a rough year: dumped by her boyfriend, a too-long dry spell of no acting jobs, and feeling like she has no purpose, nothing left to live for. The only reason she survived financially was because of residuals from a cold medicine commercial. After giving her heart to the Lord, everything starts to change. She's hired to be the understudy in a play on Broadway working along with her best friend Avril. Then Harper gives online dating a try and finds a couple of men who spark her interest. Things get even better when she ends up in the lead role and astounds the critics and the theatrical world, but she may discover that she'd give it all up for love. Coppernoll does a terrific job of writing Harper's voice, a skill not many male authors possess. Her meteoric rise to fame along with falling in love makes her story a compelling peek into Hollywood and Broadway. (Oddly enough, I had just read a biography of Amelia Earhart to my daughter before finishing up this novel last night. Readers will catch the reference.) Coppernoll is an emerging writer in the Christian romance field, and this may just be his best work yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this book!!! I was pleasantly surprised as I have not often read such a well written book from the perspective of a woman, written by a male author. Chris did a great job with this book and I would look forward to reading any other books he writes in the future! A young actor, Harper Grey is given a chance to act again. Everything has not gone right recently and maybe things are looking up! Sure, it is a chance in a million anyone will even see her on stage, but just in case......she is ready. When she arrives and finds there is conflict and even hatred towards her, she turns to God to help her through it, and visits a little church in the area and learns some valuable lessons. Also, as a side story, her friend convinces her to try internet dating.....with some surprising results for both of them!! Altogether this was a really fun book, with quirky characters and a refreshing storyline. I heartily enjoyed reading this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
m
This is my first book to read by this author. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was wondering how well a man could write from a female perspective. As I progressed thru the book, I forgot all about my skepticism. He did a great job. I am looking forward to finding his other books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Screen Play - eBook
This review is fromScreen Play.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara
I could not wait for this book by Mr. Coppernoll after having read Providence and A Beautiful Fall. Slightly disappointing... too many characters and an ending which seems a little lame; however, Mr. Coppernoll is a great writer who writes incrediblly good books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.