Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Priceless - eBook

David C. Cook Priceless - eBook

Stuart Daniels has found purpose in life. After suffering the fallout of a tragic assignment, Daniels rediscovered faith and hope after a chance encounter with an extraordinary African orphan. Now his photo work also carries a personal mission: To educate people on the devastating effects of AIDS around the world. But when Daniels receives his next assignment to Russia, he unwittingly finds himself a key player in rescuing young girls caught in the tragic sex-slave trade.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Priceless - eBook
Review 1 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

authentic

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
brooksbjur
Location:Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A message that is timely & must be heard!!
One can not escape a sense of responsibility after reading this book!
We must choose to be involved in stooping these horrors: we can't love God and ignore the plight of his children, no matter how uncomfortable it makes us feel - we arre called to kove & that means called to action!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
RaeRae
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subject matter is thought provoking. One I cringe to think about yet it is very real and heartbreaking. An eye opener. Very well written. Another dark side of the times that needs considerable prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lauren
Location:Regina, SK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the most eye-opening, heartbreaking, suspense-filled books I have ever read. If you start, you won't be able to stop. Upon completing this book I was inspired and motivated to look into what is happening, not only in Russia but in our home Countries as well, and what I can do to help make a difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Priceless truly is!

Date:January 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
mommyturtle
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a riveting, wonderful, challenging read. Tom Davis has presented a part of the world we want to pretend doesn't exist, and reminds us that God has called us to be His hands and feet, to reach out. It is a well written book, I could not put it down, read it in two days. And thankfully, Tom Davis gives us information on how we can get involved and help!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
D. Melissa Carter
Location:Florence, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom's first book Scared was good, but his second book Priceless is incredible! Though it is a novel in format the truths he brings forth are so revealing and heart wrenching. You can't read this book and remain unmoved. At times I had to put down the book and let what I had just read sink in. Other times, I had to read out loud to my husband passages that moved me to tears, only to see him moved to tears. Many times, I ended up in sobs, crying for the girls in the story, crying for my girls, whom I adopted as teens from Eastern Europe. This could have been their story. Tom's writings were so descriptive that I felt like I just jumped into the book and was involved myself. I felt as if I were in those scenes with the characters. I think every emotion I own rose up within me as I read this book. I cried with them, felt their pain and spewed angrily at the thugs. I cheered the girls on and rejoiced when they were found or rescued. I gasped, I prayed, I held my breath.
The beauty of redemption, love and sacrifice are wonderfully portrayed in this book.
I think Everyone needs to read this book. I've heard comments,when I've tried to tell other, about the book, I just can't read a book like that. I think everyone HAS to read a book like this. We can no longer ignore evil and let our children die. The Church has to step in and save them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2010
One word: Amazing.Priceless is Tom Davis's second novel. He picks up with Stuart Daniels again, a photojournalist whose world has been rocked by his encounter with an orphan in Swaziland (in the first novel, Scared) and by God bringing him to his knees. Stuart is now on assignment to do a story about HIV/AIDS in Russia and how it is affecting orphans in that country. However, everything takes a huge twist and he ends up learning more than he wanted to know about a child prostitution ring.Again, the style of writing is what I would call "realistic fiction." These specific events didn't happen to this specific person, but it's all based on truth. It's not that it could happen ... it's that it does happen. Over and over. To lots of girls and boys. All over the world. It's both hard to read (because it's real) and hard to put down (because it's so fascinating). A great novel with biblical truths packed in. I pray that people who read this book will find themselves aware of realities that they absolutely cannot ignore. This isn't make-believe, people!I would HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Parents, you might want to use a little caution with teenagers, but read it with them!If you're interested in articles and different things about actual child prostitution, human trafficking, etc., check out the book's website. Lots of great articles and a free 5-day devotional too!The author graciously provided me with a free copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Schmidt
I am amazed at how God can use Tom Davis' fictional works to open our eyes to the horrors of this world. "Priceless" is a whirlwind of action, heart, and insight, and I honestly found it difficult to put down. As a Christian community, we really need to help these girls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
This story was very shocking. I had no idea what was going on in Russia. I felt so sorry for the girls and I was so angry to read what happened to them.I cheered Stuart in his mission and he did well.This story will open your eyes.I highly recommend it to male and female.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen Friesen
Drawing on his years of experience in ministry to Russia's orphans, Tom Davis has written a captivating and compelling story about the horrific crime of sex-trafficking, of which the fatherless are often victims. There is a tangible battle for these young lives that Tom conveys in such a way that one feels the urgency of acting on their behalf. Thank you, Tom, for giving voice to those who are enslaved in the sex trade. My prayer is that as people's eyes are opened to this injustice, they will be moved to engage in the battle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Priceless - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
I loved this book as much, if not more than Scared, Davis's first novel. Not trying to sound corny here, but I have to say that Davis's latest book is truly Priceless. The author's compassion for orphans resounds from every page. Anyone who reads Priceless will be stirred to hopefully rethink their priorities. It seems that the average person in a wealthy country such as the United States has no idea what really happens to many of the orphaned children in other countries, such as Russia. If understood, more people would be involved in eradicating the sex trade and pursuing the criminals who traffic children to provide a carnal service to the basest of people. For me, Priceless was an eye opening story that rang true-to-life. While unsavory at times, I found the content to be absolutely necessary to show what really happens to these girls and to develop compassion in the reader. None of the details seemed over-the-top to me. The main character, Stuart, was understandably conflicted between his desire to help free these children, and what he might have to do to facilitate their rescue, because he found posing as a buyer revolting. I empathized with Stuart and wanted to cheer him on for trying to do the right thing.Before reading Priceless I hadn't thought much about the horrors of sex trafficking and what it would be like to be raped multiple times a day every day of your life. It's frightening to think about. Because this novel is so full of rich details like culture and language, it's obvious that the author has an authentic understanding of Russian orphans and the devastating histories many of these children have. A reader would have to be heartless not to be moved to tears while reading this book. The Lord is going to use this novel to reach people in a profound and mighty way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.