Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Review 1 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Thomas Olson
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyday questions and everyday challenges. Sound apologetics. Well worth the read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy read

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
yoyo
Location:Wooster, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent book dealing with difficult questions as selected by christians in a survey.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Devin
Location:Bay Area, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy the loving approach to apologetics that Mittelberg takes. It gives a refreshing perspective on how to address concerns that non-believers have. Definitely recommend it for those who want an introduction on how to reach out with their faith.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Witnessing Tool:Answers the Tough Questions

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
DeaconBob
Location:Bohemia, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My men's small group used this book as a study. It was fantastic. Every man thought it really helped with the tough questions that they were being asked by non-believers. It not only gave answers, but also provided the non-believers point of view. Very valuable. I and my men's group would recommend this book for any believer or small group.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jake
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my first copy of this one at the local Dightman's - then another 8 copies from you guys to use with my Wednesday night men's group (we're starting with Chapter 1 on 4 May). The fact that we all looked at my copy (after I'd read the first three chapters) and decided that it is worth our time to study as a group says a lot about the book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:November 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angell
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Mittelberg's book "The Questions Christians Hope No On Will Ask" is a must have for all Christian bookshelves. This is an outstanding book for reference. I get tired of being in situations where people ask questions that I truly can't come up with an answer other than "that's where faith comes in." That answer doesn't seem to suffice anymore. This book answers questions such as "What makes you so sure that God exists?", questions about evolution, so called "contradictions" in the Bible, Jesus being a good man/wise teacher vs. our Savior, here's a question I hear often "How could a good God allow so much evil, pain and suffering?," the book discusses abortion, homosexuality, hypocritical and judgemental Christians and hell. This is a 5 star rating from a reference stand point. Thank you to Tyndale for this complimentary book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't be afraid to answer.

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Byron Lance
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When i get finished reading the book i'll be able to tell more. For what i have read so far, you will not be afraid to answer any question about your faith or God, and our lord Jesus.!!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book on apologetics I've read

Date:October 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best book on Christian apologetics I've read. Challenges to the Christian faith are coming fast and furious. The Bible tells us we are to have a defense for our faith. Mittelberg has given us a great tool to do exactly that.
Christians were asked in a survey which questions about faith would make them most uncomfortable when asked. The top ten responses form the outline for this book.
Some of the questions include those about God's existence, evolution, supposed biblical contradictions, the problem of evil, abortion, homosexuality, and the existence of heaven and hell.
Mittelberg first identifies the question or criticism so the reader is well prepared for the issue. Then he gives detailed answers to issue or question. He frequently suggests other resources to fill out the readers' knowledge of apologetics. A bibliography at the back gives further resources.
At the end of each chapter is a summary of the answer, tips for talking about the issue and great questions for group discussion.
Lastly, Mittelberg reminds his readers that the world would like for Christians to always be on the defensive. He suggests, “the defense can and should naturally flow into an appropriate and effective offense (without being offensive).” (292) He shows how to take each of the critical questions and turn them around to challenge the skeptic.
This is the most well done apologetic book I've read, and I've read many. If you want to know how to dialogue with your atheist neighbor, this is the book for you.
This book was provided for review by Tyndale House Publishers.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Questions Christians Hope No One Will Ask - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thorough and insightful

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are just some questions that are difficult to answer. They're tough and uncomfortable to the point that we hope we can just avoid those topics in conversation. But, avoiding the difficult questions keeps us from talking about what we really believe--and the faith that's changed our lives!
Mark Mittelberg has tackled the tough questions head-on, and he's done it in a way that's true-to-life, theologically sound, and easy to follow. Mark and his team conducted surveys to collect the list of most difficult questions, and then he answered them biblically and with real-life illustrations.
Of all the books I've read, this one had the best, most understandable answer for questions about homosexuality and the Bible. That's been a tough question for me to answer, and Mark Mittelberg provided an explanation that dealt with our sinful nature, was true to Scripture, and yet was understanding of people and the sensitivity of this question. In addition, I really appreciated the book's discussion of why Christians are viewed as judgmental. How can we remain true to the Bible, and yet "judge not"?
I recommend this book to anyone looking for some excellent answers to those questions you hope no one will ask.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.