Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Spiritual Depression

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. Spiritual Depression

''In a sense, a depressed Christian is a contradiction in terms,'' Lloyd-Jones asserts. But what's a Christian to do to effectively combat spiritual depression (but not get bogged down with the guilt of it all)? Believing that Christian joy was one of the most potent factors in the spread of Christianity in the early centuries, Lloyd-Jones reveals the causes that have robbed you of your spiritual vitality and shows you how to find complete joy through the mind and spirit of Christ. Based on 21 sermons that the author preached at the Westminster Chapel in London. 300 pages, softcover from Eerdmans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spiritual Depression
Review 1 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical Theology Drawn Directly From God's Word

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
nucreationjc
Location:Lancaster Pa.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In response to the review which refers to this book as "self help" and old school, this couldn't be more false. This is a classic work based on a series of sermons from the Doctor that were given in the in the mid 1950's, and released in 1964, not the '70's. What makes it great is that unlike "self help" books labeled "Christian" that are a syncretistic mix of pop psychology, sprinkled with bible verses, this is the real deal based squarely on the bible. Martyn Lloyd Jones was truly gifted with an ability to apply scripture to everyday life. He remains one of the most gifted bible expositor's ever, long after his death in 1981. I especially love his use of Psalm 42 and David talking to and encouraging himself with God's previous care and the hope God gives him. This is very practical when Satan and even one's own unredeemed flesh (which consists of ones thought life) attempts discouragement. We need to talk to ourselves before we allow ourselves to talk to us. Sounds simple and almost humorous, but such practical wisdom. I would highly recommend this book as I do all of Jones' work. Martyn Lloyd Jones remains a treasure and I thank God for this dear man's life and his enduring ministry that still remains as relevant today as it was many decades ago.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Don't look for a "hand-up" in this book.

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daniel Markham
Location:Fort Worth, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not one of Lloyd-Jones better works. Excellent theology but old school practicality. This book is "old school" from the 70's and you do not want this book if you are looking for a hand-up, but rather, a boot in the backside. This is an old style pull your own self up by your boot straps, get a spine of steel, and grow a certain pair of anatomy. The excellent theology aside, this is really a "self-help" book at its core. Glad I read it but would not recommend it to somebody who needed a hand-up. This book is what you would give somebody if you wanted to defer your personal involvement and let them work it out on their own.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
jay bramer
Gender:male
EVERY Christian should read this...then again...then again...then again...not just for themselves, but on behalf of others, in order to understand what may be behind many Christians' suffering. No two people are alike...and because some Christians don't even know that, they are prone to give trite responses to sufferers or pull things out of their Christianese bag of cliches. Knowing how and why others suffer is so needed. THIS is my favorite book besides the bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Craig
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones' preaching is wisdom from the Holy Spirit through a 20th Century man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Wisdom

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rowley
Location:Penn Yan, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an age of "fluff" and consumerism, this work of D. Martyn Lloyd-Jones is outstanding. He provides insight on the issue of depression that is both faithful and consistent with God's word. Many Christians in our generation suffer without real understanding of some of the practices that can remedy their situtation. Lloyd-Jones does an excellent job with the use scripture of giving the reader the means for addressing this difficult foe. His observations and suggestions are invaluable. He writes in a manner that is both readable and engaging. I highly recommend this book to "all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus... "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This will "kick-start" your spiritual growth.

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kenny
Location:Ont, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will rejuvinate anyone's spiritual life, regardless of one's spirituality strength. "Depression" may deter some readers. Although written 40 years ago, it could have been written yesterday as the truths and revelance is fresh.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Ward
Theologically sound and encouraging for Christians of all ages, I would highly recommend Lloyd-Jones' Spiritual Depression. I originally bought this book for someone else and started to preview it and realized how much I needed to read it myself. Totally based on sound scriptural principles, this is a great book for anyone who is struggling with any issues of faith or depression.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jessalyn Bailey
About 40 years ago, my medical doctor wrote on a prescription pad the name of this book and advised I get it to "cure" what was ailing me at that time. I got the book, and have re-read it over and over for 40 years. I taught it to my Sunday School class, and I give it away as a present to inspire others. It is absolutely "5-star" fabulous!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
A weighty volume of truth. It is helpful, but out of reach for the novice reader. Lloyd-Jones has thought through many of the issues, with scripture as his guide. You will be challenged.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alan Hayes
This is a must read for all Christians whether you consider yourself spiritually depressed or not. This book is so well written and is full of scripture references. I would say it is one of the best Christian living books I have ever read. This man had a gift for both preaching and writing. This book is easy to understand (in my case, that was important)and easy to read. My only problem was that I didn't want to put it down. I drew much encouragement from this book and along with daily study of God's Word, I can say it has changed my life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rhett Atkins
This book is excellent and timeless. The book was written in the 60s and the lack of a positive title probably discourages many modern Christian from considering it. Don't make that mistake. It is excellent for personal and especially group study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spiritual Depression
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mark Almond
On a very rainy afternoon in Miami, Fl in 1972 I opened this book up to a random page and as a result have been reading Dr. Lloyd-Jones ever since. He is a complete original without a peer in the 20th century. Both his medical training and the depth of his prayer life set him apart from the pack in terms of effectiveness in both evangelism and biblical expository teaching. Search the globe for the rest of your life - you are unlikely to find anything written that will make such an impact on your life.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.