Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook The Transformation - eBook

David C. Cook The Transformation - eBook

Can a 'good, Christian boy' find happiness with a woman from another faith? Can Samantha find salvationthrough Oliver's witness? And can a church ever be anything other than a place of worship? These intriguingquestions are posed by author Terri Kraus. Dive into the second installment of the Project Restoration series - you'll enjoy discovering the answers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for The Transformation - eBook
Review 1 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Transformation by Terri Kraus has an unexpected depth. Oliver Barnett has spent much of his life trying to please him mother while also living out his faith. Samantha Cohen has spent hers trying to please no one but herself. The two are thrown together when she hires him to be the contractor to renovate a beautiful old church into a restaurant, a job his mother is certain will make him the bullseye on Satan's dartboard with God's permission for the sacrilege. The church maintains a certain sanctity, and everyone who spends time there will be transformed. The plot sounds like any number of romance novels, but Kraus ' writing elevates this to pure literature. She creates a taut suspenseful story where the reader can feel the noose tightening around Oliver's neck. Oliver's faith is a rare gem, and his desire to make everyone happy puts him at the mercy of far too many people. The characters are three-dimensional, not all good or bad, and every line of dialogue rings true.Kraus exposes the hypocrisy of Christians who believe in forgiveness for only some and can justify anything with Scripture without truly believing. Just like reading a detective or suspense story where the tension grows with each page, so does The Transformation. This book was truly a joy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Im not really sure where to begin here. This book took me by surprise. I dont know what I was expecting this book to be, but the back cover synopsis just did not do this book justice. There was so much more to this intense, and at times, dark story. Im not really sure where to begin here. This book took me by surprise. I dont know what I was expecting this book to be, but the back cover synopsis just did not do this book justice. There was so much more to this intense, and at times, dark story. The darkness gave way to the light and ended on a positive and happy note.One of the most striking things about this book is all the detail. The author really took her time writing this book, at least that is how it felt as I was reading it. All the details about the project and decorations made it easy to visualize the setting and the feeling of the Blue Church. I loved how that church felt and the transformations that took place there. The Transformation is a very appropriate title for this book.There is a lot of theology in this book which made reading it a wonderful Christian experience. I really loved this book, much more than I thought I would. I think anyone who wants to read a book where Jesus is at the center, will appreciate The Transformation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Another great book in a series. This time the renovation is a church and the two people involved, the real estate developer and the contractor have more in common than not, although of course, since the transformation is about them as well as the church they don't realize the common thread at first. This story brings to mind how people, Christian and non-Christian alike, are much more judgemental about a person's past than God will be. At least I believe that God will be much more forgiving about the a past that has been brought before him and confessed. The author is a writer who can draw you into the story and make you forget the world around you for a time. 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
As an avid reader, it is a pleasure to me to find an author who can write a series and make each successive book as good as or better than the one before. Terri Kraus does this. The Transformation is book three in her Project Restoration Series. In Oliver Barnett and Samantha Cohen she crafted new, flawed, endearing characters and managed to give us pieces of information about the characters we came to love in the other books. She even gave us a canine character who frequently upstages his humans.As a resident of Pennsylvania, a lover of old buildings and a true romantic at heart, this book touched me on several levels. And, as the renovation of the old church takes place, a renovation in the characters' hearts does too. Reader, beware. Your heart may have some improvements by the faith and grace elements in the story line. If you have not read The Renovation and The Renewal I would recommend them. However, each book stands alone, so go ahead and grab this one while it is on the shelf! I enjoy Terri's books and look forward to reading more.Notice: In accordance with the FTC regulations I inform you that in my role as an Influencer, The Transformation was sent to me directly from the author, Terri Kraus, for review purposes. I review only books I have read and all reviews are the honest representation of my opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
The Transformation is the third book in the Project Restoration Series. It is the story of Oliver Barnett, a contractor hired to renovate an historic church into a nightclub/restaurant. The building is owned by Samantha Cohen. An uncomfortable situation for Oliver since Samantha is a Jew, not the ideal woman that his mother had in mind and Oliver's attraction to her is something that could make working for her difficult.There is something about the Kraus writes her books that amaze me. My normal book preference is quick moving plots and snappy dialog. But Kraus' books take a more leisurely pace. Yes, it takes me a little longer to finish them, but I am thoroughly satisfied when I am done.And the topics and themes of the book are pretty strong. I think Kraus handled the subject of interfaith relationships beautifully. Also, she tackles some other difficult situations and shows how the grace of God works in these situations.My only problem is I was left guessing about some of the subplots at the end. A few situations were left unresolved. It's not that big of a deal, but especially if there is going to be a part two to this novel. (Insert subtle hint to the author).All in all, it was a great book and I so appreciate when a good book stretches my reading style and preference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patti Shene
The Transformation by Terri Kraus is a work that speaks to issues far deeper than the renovation of a historic old church into a modern restaurant and night club. As the restoration project progresses, it parallels the changes that transpire in the lives of the characters involved.The book presents a strong message of redemption backed by sound theology and accurate Biblical references. It leaves the reader with the realization that anyone, regardless of past sins, can be redeemed through the amazing power and grace of God.Oliver Barnett is a good Christian man who honors his God and his mother. Yet, his attraction to a woman outside his faith tests his moral fiber and threatens to devastate his doting mother. Oliver struggles with his feelings while attempting to rekindle a relationship with a past love interest, a woman who needs the stability he can offer and whose presence in his life would please his mother.Samantha Cohen, real estate developer and woman of the world who is bound by the Jewish traditions of her widower father, has never met a man like Oliver. As she tries to lure him away from his moral code, Samantha discovers why his beliefs have molded him into the man she has come to love.Robert the Dog is a delightful canine creation who serves to give a deeper dimension to Olivers character. A well defined array of other characters, including Olivers brother, Samanthas father, an old preacher, and even the workmen on the project, flow into the plot in a harmony of circumstances that force Oliver and Samantha to search their hearts for truth.In this third book in the Product Restoration Series, Terri Kraus dares to pose questions about religion, love, and morality through an entertaining tale that takes the reader on a soul-searching journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
In Ellensburg, Washington where some of my family live there is the cutest little restaurant called "The Yellow Church." It is a pleasure to eat in the peaceful atmosphere. Because of eating in "The Yellow Church" I was fascinated by the transformation of the Blue Church. Terri's characters are well rounded and as it was interesting to see the influence the Blue church had on the people who worked to transform her. I followed the transformation of each character. The individual healing that came to each one. Reconciliation between siblings, between Mother and sons. Relationships given another chance. This love story truly shows the love of God for those who call on Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Delores Liesner
Unforgettable. A compelling and realistically crafted story of restoration that will touch you, surprise you, and change you.If you read much, and tend to assume or expect certain results you will be pleased to discover that Terri Kraus does not limit her characterization or storyline to the expected. Several unique twists made this realistic drama exceptionally compelling. Every characters remarkably crafted personality becomes vital to the tapestry of Oliver and Samanthas private and public journey as they transform the Blue Church.Ms. Kraus expertise in the world of design is evident and the desire and love of God for all of mankinds interior design and possibilities of renovation permeates every page with hope. This is a book you will surely recommend to others, and likely want to read again yourself. A great choice for book clubs or discussion groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amanda Cabot
The Transformation is not your ordinary romance. In fact, its not your ordinary anything. What it is is a beautifully told story of Oliver-not-Ollie, a man who seeks to do Gods will in every aspect of his life. But finding Gods will isnt easy, especially when those closest to him, including his mother and his pastor, give him advice that conflicts with what he feels deep in his heart. Is he wrong to want to help real estate developer Samantha Cohen transform a former church into a restaurant? Should he hire three brothers, despite their past sins? What role should former girlfriend Paula have in his life? And what should he do about Samantha? Shes certainly not the daughter-in-law his mother longs for. Replete with memorable secondary characters, including Robert the Dog, Terri Krauss latest book provides many hours of enjoyable reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee Smith
The entire theme of this novel is redemption from beginning to end. Nearly all the characters have some need for it. I think that is very reflective of our world today. I liked the way the author treated the issues of past sins and how the church and people in general react to them. Some are too afraid to go there at all, some are very critical, and some let those sins determine the path for the rest of their lives. I think Gods mercy is a lot more extensive than many people are willing to extendeven to themselves. I also appreciated the way the author treated the Jewish culture and traditions with respect while still holding fast to the truth. Samantha, Paula, Oliver, Taller and even Robert the dog, became very real to me as I stepped into these pages and watched not just a building transformbut their lives as well. Its a beautiful reminder of what God can and does do each and every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Transformation - eBook
This review is fromThe Transformation, Project Restoration Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Anne Bantz
A shy contractor, a vivacious real estate speculator, a put-out-to-pasture pastor, and some ex cons are thrown together in a delightful mix that makes this third book in Krauss Project Restoration series impossible to put down. None of the flawed characters seem likely candidates to write a book about, but when we begin to see them through Gods redemptive eyes, we know there is hope for the rest of us. Theres just something about this very old church that compels Samantha Cohen to buy it, and Oliver Barnett to agree to renovate it for her. And Robert The Dog is as much a part of the crew as Olivers less than dependable brother, and the ex cons he hires to turn the historic church into a restaurant night club. And while the renovations are taking place on the building, God is busy transforming hearts, even the most unlovable. A delight to read, you wont be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.