Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook

Zondervan Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook

In this revised edition of Lewis Sperry Chafer's classic Major Bible Themes, John Walvoord has added some of the later writings of Chafer, as well as some of the mature conclusions from Chafer's lifelong study of the Bible. Several chapters have been combined, and several new ones have been added (75 percent of the material is new to this edition). Subjects omitted in the first edition are included, along with additional scripture passages. Designed for self-study, each chapter includes study questions, which can also be used in a group setting. Since there are fifty-two chapters, this book presents itself as a good year-long study of the Bible.

Major Bible themes was designed as a tool for spiritual growth, offering a valuable introduction into Christian doctrine. It sees the Bible as the inspired Word of God, focusing on its subject and purpose as a vehicle of divine revelation. The character and attributes of God are examined, with several chapters dedicated to each member of the Trinity. Other chapters look at topics like the dispensations, the covenants, Satan, sin, the church, the end times, and more.

For a basic introduction to Reformed (and dispensational) Christianity, there is no better book. All major doctrines, issues, and personalities are discussed in a simple, straightforward manner. Chapters are fairly short, and are designed to be used in conjunction with the study questions. Reading through Major Bible Themes in one year will greatly increase your knowledge of the Bible and the God revealed there.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
Review 1 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for all readers of the Bible.

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mamie in Georgia
Location:Jackson, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first read this book in 1999 as recommended resource by my pastor. Here I am in 2013, I still continue to refer to this book. It is just as timely now as it was in 1999. I have been in ministry for 15 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book to do a Study on

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sis B
Location:Bremerton, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The purpose of getting this book was for review as another book referenced it. After I got this book and began to list information out of it during class, another student wanted to purchase it. Before long I will teach this book. Thank you for your prompt action in getting this book to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An escelent study guide of the major doctrines.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edward Flamboe
Location:Southern Maryland
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A single volume summary of the major doctrines of the Christian Church. An excellent study guide for Sunday school, small group, or a one on one study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Essential to developing theology

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
benb
Location:Butler PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the lifelong believer or beginning warrior for Christ, this book is essential to developing sound bible based doctrine. Don't expect it to be a page turner; this is a Christian training manual and it is loaded with scriptural quotes and concepts. Read it AFTER you have read your bible and it will go a long way to helping you understand the major themes covered in the Scriptures.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Ross
major bible themes is a must for every christian who takes his bible serious its a book on major doctrines that every christian should known about a must read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Philip Carlson
This volume has a solid theological background. It is arranged in 52 three-four page chapters perfect for doing a Sunday-night for a year type theology series. Each chapter has then or more discussion questions after it so this book would also be perfect for any type of intro. theology class or discipleship class. Any one who is familiar with Chafer's other voluminous systematic theology work will know what type of theological bent to expect. It is arranged very orderly (see the table of contents) and is great even for Sunday school lessons. If you prefer to use it in a devotional manner it would also be great for that. Overall, a really solid work, what you would expect from Chafer. I think it is slightly over priced (18.99) seeing as it is printed on light, seemingly cheap paper. This is the choice for you if you need a good theology "curriculum" for Church use!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael
I know of no better book for personal growth, or for group study, particularly in these times. In an era of competing world views and relativistic thinking, it is more essential than ever for the individual Christian and the Church to be firmly grounded in "sound doctrine,"...BIBLICAL doctrine, and the Christian world view, and if they are not, to return to it. This book will be a great aid in both efforts.Only a Biblically grounded Christian and Church will not be swayed by the "winds of doctrine" they encounter, the "clouds without water," and the "man made religions" of today. Only the grounded Christian and Church can they fulfill their Biblical mandate to "contend earnestly for the faith once and for all delivered the saints," and deliver the precious Gospel to this generation, and preserve it for the next.The Lord will bless your efforts.Godspeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Martha
I have used Major Bible Themes for years as a referene book; I just purchased several as gifts for believers who are interested in serious Bible study. This is one of my first choices to use when clarifying a particular subject of doctrine in discussions with friends. In my opinion, it should be in every Christian home library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Dowd
I think this book is great I have passed a few on to some grads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
RGC
This book was given to me during the early days of my christian walk by my pastor.To just call it a good resource would be an understatement;I truly recommend it to both new and seasoned Christians.A MUST READ!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Timothy Sander
This is a pretty good book, and I would recommend it for your personal library, but I would highly recommend that you don't use this as your only book on doctrine or theology. There are a few statements in here that seem to be mere conjecture by Chafer and lack Biblical evidence. By all means, read this book, but since we should never read just one book on theology, I would recommend that you read both Charles Ryrie and Millard Erickson along with Chafer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Mc Grew
Lewis Sperry Chafer's timeless masterpiece is a must for every Christian. Updated by John Walvoord, "Major Bible Themes" explains in detail the pillars of the Christian faith that will, without doubt, mature and strengthen the reader's faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Major Bible Themes / New edition - eBook
This review is fromMajor Bible Themes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2000
Customer Avatar
Michelle Lindsly
This has been one of my most valuable theological tools. It was one of my theology textbooks at Calvary Bible College Kansas City, Mo. I have bought multiple copies of this book to give as gifts to friends. It is easy to understand and has a multitude of references on each topic. Any Christian would find this to be a valuable book to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.