Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Hazel Creek

Howard Books Hazel Creek

This captivating story takes place in the Hazel Creek Valley of the Great Smoky Mountains wilderness during 1924 and 1925, as Nathan and Callie Randolph, with their five unique daughters, wrestle to maintain their farm, forests, family, and faith against an unforgiving wilderness and an evil lumber company manager seeking by every means possible to pilfer their land and clear cut their virgin forest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hazel Creek
Review 1 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historically rich information

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyl
Location:Bristol, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the way the author began the book with the main character recalling her early years. Also a pleasant ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book, highly recommend!

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
msann
Location:Gate City, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This was one of the best books that I have read in a long time. Reading it was like watching a movie unfold before your eyes. It was the first book that I have read that I found myself weeping so that I could not see to read. I would rate it even higher if possible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great storytelling

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Calgary AB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book which is set in the Smoky Mountains in the 1920's, is full of historical details and atmosphere. He gets the "voice" of the time and place just right and the reader can picture the scenes in their mind. If you like stories similar to the Christie series by Catherine Marshall then you will love this book and this series. It is wholesome and yet realistic. Read it...and love it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A deeply satisfying read

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walt Larimore has written a book that will transport you back in time to an era and a place where people believed in right and wrong, marriages were forever, men treated women with respect, and family was all important. Reading this book made me ache for such a time, rather than today's society where families are splintered and nobody seems to believe in morals. Larimore has created absolutely beautiful characters, and I especially loved reading about Nathan, a man's man who loves his wife and children with tenderness, defends them from evil, stands up for what is right. The children are simply delightful, and I felt like cheering when young Corrie stood up to the bully of a teacher in front of the whole class! Their innocence and their adventuresome ways left me smiling more than once, and the characters are so true-to-life I felt an actual fondness for them, and grieved alongside them during their time of loss. The conclusion is perfect, a clash of good and evil that resolves in a wholly-satisfying way, and yet still hints at more drama to come in future books. I was truly sorry to see the story end and can't wait to find out what happens next!
Prepare to leave Hazel Creek feeling deeply satisfied, and inspired to act with courage and dignity like these characters of old. If you are looking for a highly enjoyable, historical novel, then Hazel Creek should be on your "must buy" list. I highly recommend this wonderful book and give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book was provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

outstanding down to earth real life in that time.

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
leanafisch
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enjoy how the book draws the reader into the story and the feel of that era and location.... enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I couldn't put it down!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Hazel Creek by Dr. Walt Larimore! Dr. Larimore does a great job of telling this story of a Christian family in the 1920's. It made me laugh and cry. A great book full of suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best fiction novels I've read!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hazel Creek back in 1924 was what small mountain towns should be. Where people respected the land around them, and found value in family, friends, and God. Scattered around the outskirts of a larger town, owned predominantly by the Calhoun Lumber Company. There goal since convincing the railroad line to come through town was to clear cut most of the virgin forest owned forever by the mountain people in the Southern Appalachians. If people didn't want to sell, the company found ways to obtain the land even if no one could prove their ways were less than honorable.
Nathan and Callie Randolph are a few of the last true mountain families that own a considerable amount of pristine forest lands with some amazing older and more valuable trees that Calhoun wants more than anything. But since the this land has belonged to the Randolph family for generations, Nate has no intention on selling. But after many run-ins with men from the lumber company, Nate is finding himself and his family becoming the prime target from the lumber company and they will stop at nothing to ensure they get the land.
I received Hazel Creek by Walt Larimore compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I have to say I love this book from beginning to end. I didn't want to put it down because the story and the characters are so likeable and believeable. There is Abbie, the oldest of the Randolph children that is noticing boys in a whole new light, especially the Sheriff's son, Bobby Ray. She is called upon to help her mother Callie out, who is having a difficult pregnancy and has to rest as much as she can. This puts Abbie in the position to act as almost a mother-figure to her younger sisters.
This story is unique in that it begins as Abbie is in a nursing home and begins to reflect back on her childhood much like Laura Ingalls Wilder did in her books. What comes out of this novel is nothing short of perfection and makes me truly love the writing style of Walt Larimore. It's a sure bet, I'll be researching his books and adding more to this one for my permanent library. If you love books like the Little House on the Prairie books, then I know this one will find a special place in your heart as well. I rate this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great author!

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Colette
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hazel Creek is another great book by Walt Larimore. It touches the heart and you'll be glad you read it. It is a glimpse into another time when life was harder but very rewarding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Got It All!

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Mari
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This terrific story about a family in the Smoky Mountains will make you feel like you made new friends to keep for life. You'll fall in love with Nathan, Callie, and their five daughters, especially Abbie, whose courage, faith, and love of family strengthen and inspire those around her. Full of adventure and even some romance, Walt's book paints a picture of wholesome living in the midst of struggles. I give it five stars and can't wait for the sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith and family in the 1920's

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Actuary Lady
Location:Norcross, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As elderly Abbie Randolph reminisces about growing up in the 1920's, we are taken back to a time when faith, family and bone-wearying work are foremost in mountains that are full of both beauty and danger. I look forward to the rest of this series about the Randolph family and their neighbors in Western Carolina.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good story from Dr. Walt!

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Podlogic
Location:Bryson City, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. Author Walt Larrimore was a doctor first, in a small town not far from Hazel Creek. His earlier books were full of funny, and sometimes poignent, experiences from that time. His compassion--his "bedside manner"--shines through in his treatment of the characters in Hazel Creek, his first novel. You care about these people. And you care about the things, both tragic and triumphant, that happen to them. It's a good story, well told.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hazel Creek
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meet the Mountain People

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many of the endorsements for “Hazel Creek” said this novel was much the same as the infamous “Christy” novels and while I never read “Christy”, only saw the movie, I can say I add my agreement to theirs.
Set in the back hills, the story has all the intricacies of how the people thought, talked and lived their lives. Tension and drama crowd the pages, but what I loved most about the story is how I as a reader, got to taste and experience these characters’ lives. Their struggles and desires.
The novel is a bit of a tear-jerker and provoked some wild swings of emotion from me. From fear (what. a. villain) to anger (at what the lumber company was doing to the mountain people). It has just about a bit of everything for every reading taste.
I do think in that “bit of everything for every reader” some of the story elements got lost. More focus was given to the lumber company at the beginning and end of the book, but I felt we lost that in the middle.
There were times I got a bit lost in all the setting and description, and towards the end I hurried the story just a bit to finish, but it has that quality about it, a quality rich in character and their lives. It’s a well-portrayed novel.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.