Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Rose Legacy, The - eBook

Bethany House Rose Legacy, The - eBook

Driven by hope and vengeance Carina Maria DeGarcia, an Italian heiress, sets out for a new life in a Colorado mining town. But she soon finds out the "dream house" she purchased through the mail is already inhabited and the town called the "diamond of the Rockies" is anything but luxurious. Two men vie for her trust, but neither is what he seems. Will Carina learn the truth--and confront the deep secrets hidden in her heart--in time to prevent tragedy?
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Review 1 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my all time favorites. Its well developed characters tugged at my heart. Definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Carter
I have never read a Kristen Heitzmann book before so I had no knowledge of writing style coming into the reading of this book. The Rose Legacy is part of a series set in the Rocky Mountains during the gold rush era. The book begins with Italian beauty, Carina DiGratia making an arduous trek from Sonoma, California to Crystal, Colorado. She has left behind a loving family, except for a wicked sister who stole her fiance' from her, a deed she will never forgive or forget. She is out to prove that she is not the innocent that people believe she is. Unfortunately, she has a hard time living down that reputation, even among a city full of strangers.Ms. Heitzmann, cleverly pulls you in and points you in several different directions at once. Making you second guess who you think the villain is with every turn of the page. There were a couple parts in the story that I thought were a tad tedious, but all-in-all, the book left me wanting to read the second and third installments in the Diamond of the Rockies series.I have already recommended this book to my friends and will continue to do so. If you are a fan of historical romance and mysteries, this is a good, clean, entertaining book that, I believe, you will find hard to put down. This book was provided to me, free of charge, as part of Bethany House Book Reviewers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Of all the places for Miss Carina DiGratia for run to it would be Crystal, Colorado. The pull of the tiny mining town was merely that it was completely out of character and far away from Carina's finance. But the trip seems doomed from the start, a seedy sales man sells Carina a bad wheel forcing a trader to send her every possession over the side of a cliff, and to make matters worse the house she bought has been "claim jumped". Thank goodness for Berkley Beck, the town lawyer and Carina's personal champion. But despite Mr. Beck's kindness, Carina finds herself drawn to the mysterious and infuriating Quillan Shepard. The more she tries to forget him, the more he gets under her skin. And not just him, but the story of his past and the mine at the top of the mountain that holds its own terrifying secrets. This novel has so many good points. The story is interesting, the characters have depth, and the overall plot warms to what will be epic proportions. But if I must be honest, it was really difficult to get into the book. More than once I was tempted to put it down and away out of boredom. To Heitzmann's defense it is titled as book one of the Diamond of the Rockies series. But it was so slow to develop. Granted, once it did, the book became exciting, romantic, and engaging. On the bright side, the characters where really interesting. The author put together an eclectic group of people, from the prissy Carina, to mysterious Quillan and so many more. Despite its slooow start, I would be interested in reading the rest of the series. The first book ends rather abruptly, even if there wasn't the "book 1", more to the story is definitely implied, which doesn't make for a satisfying conclusion, but on the same token doesn't need to either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2010
Excellent story line, I love this author and all her books, and once again found my self staying up past my bed time enjoying the intrigue and the suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
My introduction to Kristen Heitzmann was through her most recent contemporary romantic suspense novel The Edge of Recall and I loved it. When I found out that she also had previously written a series in my favorite genre of Christian Historical Fiction I added it to my TBR list. Then I discovered that Bethany House was going to re-release the series with beautiful new covers and I could not wait to get my hands on the series! After reading the first novel, I am glad that I did. Originally published in 2000, now being re-released in 2010.Carina Maria DiGratia is a high class Italian transplanted with her family to Sonoma, California. After her heart is broken, she runs away to make someone work for her love. It is after she gets to her destination that she starts a journey of learning that maybe it is God's will but for different reasons than her own. Through this story we get to know Carina and also a less likely character of Quillan. Getting to know his history explains some of her own and God is definitely working in Carina's life in mysterious ways.Sweet Boundless (Diamond of the Rockies)This is a story of romance, redemption, vengeance and love. It ends with a string that causes a reader to have to get the next book (ordered my from PaperBackSwap thank you very much) and on the edge of your seat you want to know what comes next. I recommend this story, and I'm certain will recommend the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
This first book of the Diamond of the Rockies series is about a young woman named Carina DiGratia and her journey to the Rocky mountain town of Crystal, Colorado. Carina is a delightful young Italian woman from a good family. As the reader gets into the book, it soon becomes apparent that Carina is not just starting a new life on a whim, she is running from a broken, and betrayed heart. Things go from bad to worse as she nears the town of Crystal. Her wagon is lost with the help of a goods freighter named Quillan Shepard, who has a deep history in the area and his share of inner issues. She has trouble with her housing and even has her purse stolen too! She turns to Berkley Beck, attorney at law for help, and will eventually come to realize that there is much more going on in this little town than mining!Oh how I would love to keep talking about this book, but I dont want to give away any of its delightful secrets! I had to say that through this book the characters became real to me. The places that Carina sees and things that she does, is so vividly described by Heitzmann. This book was 415 pages of excellent reading! It has it all; monumentally interesting/exciting/real characters whom you can come to care about, enough intrigue to keep things interesting, serious soul searching for each character as they go through their issues and oh so much action to keep the reader coming back for more! I found myself making time to pick it up and had a difficult time putting it down. The only thing I didnt enjoy about this book was that everything is not wrapped up at the end, but that is how continuing stories are done and I understand that. I look forward to reading the next installment of the series, visiting old friends and meeting new ones. I hope you the reader will enjoy this book as much as I did!I would like to thank Bethany House for the opportunity to review their books and for the free copy I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
The Rose Legacy by Kristen Heitzmann This is the second time I have read this wonderful book and I enjoyed it just as much this time!Carina Maria DiGratia fled her comfortable home in Sonoma California following a searing heartbreak. Very determined and independent, she is on her way to the new home she has purchased in Crystal, CO.Carina soon discovers that the idyllic life she is hoping for is just a dream. The town is overrun with harsh miners, cheaters and women who are struggling to make their way any way they can.The one good thing is her new boss who seems to take an inordinate interest in Carina. Then there is the man she despises, Quinlan Shepherd. The man who destroyed almost everything she owned in one fell swoop. You will enjoy this book and the two others in the Diamond of the Rockies Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
michelle
I was given this book as a Christmas present. My 15 year old daughter snatched it up and read it before I was given the chance. I was especially interested in the characters since I've read the Michelli Series. What a wonderful idea to go back in the past and give us some background on the ancestors to the modern-day stories Mrs. Heitzmann has written about. This story is not as complex as most her books, though since she won't finsh with these characters for two more books, I'm sure we will glean much more about their character. I'm looking forward to the release of the next two books. I didn't like finding out that the next two haven't been released yet. I've thoroughly enjoyed most of Kristen Heitzmann's books, and this is no exception!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gina
As a fan of inspirational historical fiction, I was excited when Bethany House publishers offered me a free copy of this book to review, and I was not disappointed. This is the first book of a trilogy and is set in the late 1800's in a mining town in the west. This book grabbed my attention from the first page. It is fast paced with plenty of action and suspense in addition to the romantic story line. The characters were compelling and "real" and at the end of the book I was left wanting to know what happened to them next. This book is an excellent and quick read but if you pick it up plan on reading the entire trilogy back to back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Castor
This was a wonderful book. I almost didn't read it because I'm into escapist fiction and this had a lot of potential sadness in it. But it was too good to put down once I started! It was packed full of villains and heroes and heroes that turned out to be villains and vice-versa. I'm so glad I read this and came here to order the sequels! Where are they?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
The Rose Legacy by Kristen Heitzmann. This is a historical fiction book set back in 1880. A woman was not to be of on her own setting up shop. Carin Maria Di Gratia didn't believe in the social patterns and so sets off on her own out to conquer the world. Wagon trouble and disgruntled men are only the tip of the ax that start the trouble for her in the little mining town of Crystal, Colorado. This book was enjoyable from the upset on the wagon trail, to the wedding, to the betrayals. You are thankful this isn't the only book in the series and are ready to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rose Legacy, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
A great story - I really enjoyed getting to know her characters. I only took one star off because even though the gospel is in there, it is muddied a little by the beliefs of others who seems to be considered as going to heaven too. The plot is lovely though - can't wait to read the next one in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.