Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Inter-Varsity Press Hard Sayings of the Bible

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Inter-Varsity Press Hard Sayings of the Bible

Biblical scholars Walter C. Kaiser, F.F. Bruce, Peter H. Davids, and Manfred T. Brauch offer this handy reference compiled from five earlier Hard Sayings books. The short, easy-to-read historical, cultural, and linguistic explanations help you interpret the meanings of 500 perplexing passages and show their relevance for believers today. These scholars take you behind the scenes to find succinct solutions to a wide variety of Bible difficulties, ranging from discrepancies about numbers to questions about God's justice. Also features extensive cross-referencing, introductory articles on chronology, miracles, archaeology, prophecy, historicity, demonology, synoptic studies, and authorship.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Review 1 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hank
Location:Green Bay , WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic printed resource for anyone who is serious about truly understanding God's Word, what He means, and how this can affect us. I already have this book but recently purchased it as a gift for a couple in our growth group / bible study group, who are truly blossoming in their understanding of God's Word. And this book, through prayer, will help them to avoid stumbling over "hard sayings of the Bible".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dottie Az
Location:AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the greatest commentary on Bible texts that have been hard to understand. It is an easy read, and yet comprehensive to the topic. I am so glad that it was republished with the added features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FEARLESS & SCHOLARLY ANSWERS !!

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
Location:Glendora, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These erudite men of God have been a great "GO-TO" resource for me in my studies. (A good example would be their take on the earthquakes talked about in Matthew 27 & 28.) If you like to dig deep, but want clear explanations, this is an important book! Pastors and Bible teachers... you'll love this one! Chaplain Dan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Book of its Kind

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All four authors in this book provide a wealth of information on some of the most difficult passages in the Bible. Some scholars look at the same passages and speculate on imagined contradictory sources behind the text itself. Others ignore the difficulties altogether. Rather than taking either of these approaches, the authors here explain what is difficult about the passage. They then take an in depth look at the passage in question and offer clear guidance on possible interpretations including offering a proposed solution to the difficulty. Kaiser, Davids, and Bruce are all very well-known and highly respected Evangelical scholars. I was not familiar with Brauch’s work prior to reading this book, but his contribution is the equal of the other three. I highly recommend this volume.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Noah Kiser
This is a great resource (I have used in teaching in our student ministry). But don't assume this is the end all explanation. I have found it useful to get the ball rolling and my mind churning. I have combined it with commentaries and other books as I prepare to teach. In this way it is helpful to begin structuring an answer for the skeptic (within myself and without) and the Word of God comes under fire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Diagostino
I find it to be a helpful aid in obtaining and understanding knowledge of GOD's instruction book, along with other resource material. I like it very much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2007
Helpful. Easy to use. Very informative. Outstanding. The authors bring a light and clarify passages that baffle us.The average person can pick this book up and use for years and not grow weary of it. I've had my copy for about 10 years and I still consider it well worth the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Alesha
I use this book more than the commentaries I own. This is the best addition to my library yet. The articles in the front are insightful, especially the one about God of the OT and Jesus of the NT. It is very easy to understand and follow. It will enrich your study time as you gain a deeper appreciation of the text' meaning, historical setting, etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2001
Customer Avatar
Eug
An outstanding reference resource. Clarifies and/or contextualizes difficult to understand Biblical passages. Well worth the cost, and second only to a good concordance in usefulness. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Joe
Outstanding resource for Bible study. It provides good perspective on the difficult passages in the Bible.Excellent tool for Sunday School teachers or for people interested in serious Bible study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hard Sayings of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2000
Customer Avatar
Thompson Craig
Clarifies my understanding of really difficult passages by supplying well-balanced professorial insights. Very useful when preparing Sunday School lessons!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.