Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Hearts Aglow - eBook

Bethany House Hearts Aglow - eBook

The future should be bright for Deborah Vandermark, who is now pursuing her interest in medicine alongside Dr. Christopher Clayton, who is courting her. But the lumber town is resistant to the idea of a woman physician, and she feels thwarted at every turn. A more devastating blow occurs, however, when Christopher breaks off their relationship to return home to his troubled family.

Despite her own love life going awry, Deborah is still intent to be a matchmaker for both her widowed mother and her brother, who has caught they eye of the spit-fire daughter of the local pastor. But what will Deborah do when faced with the truth about Christopher's family? Is there hope for the two of them.or will Jake Wyeth's attentions finally catch Deborah's eye instead?

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Review 1 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrandAuntie
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed reading the book. Like the author's writing style.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
This review is fromHearts Aglow, Striking a Match Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
JOkie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Tracie Peterson books and this one was no exception. Being able to escape into this book was a nice vacation. I fell in love with this strong family and how when adversity came they remained a strong family. I can't wait to receive the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Number 2 in a series.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
TechyLady
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the first book of the series and wanted to continue the story. The second story line was similar to the first. The author writes in an interesting manner; characters are believable and story line continued from one book to the next. Looking forward to book 3 in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than the first book in the series

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Londonderry, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this book much better than the first book in the series. I felt that the relationship between Christopher and Deborah was developed pretty well and the other characters stories were better explained. I felt like I got to know these characters better than in the first book. It left me with a desire to see what would happen in the next book. It is not the best series I have read by this author, but it is improving with each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hearts Aglow

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lorena Robinson
Location:Louisville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book made me cry and laugh. I thought Deborah and Dr Clayton were never going to get things worked out. I was so worried about what Staurt was going to do to Deborah's family. The story has many twist and turns that made the book very hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I usually enjoy Tracie Peterson’s books. Maybe I should have read the first book in this series (Striking A Match) because this book was like picking up a book and only reading the middle chapters!
This second book in the series starts out with a murder. It felt like the murder was just there to get the book started because once you got past those few pages the book just crawls along. There are a few moments of action like when a strong storm comes through the area. Even the storm though is talked about and then you feel just dropped off there. It was like these moments were written for another book and thrown in this one to add some action.
The story follows the lives of a family in Texas. There are a lot of characters but the main one for most of the book is Deborah. Deborah, who wants to be a doctor, goes along with the town doctor, whom she is courting, to his medical calls. The town people accept him as their doctor but not her helping him even though she has been there all her life. This part just isn’t believable.
The story leaves you hanging on certain plots. I have read many books that were part of a series but this is the first one where I felt you really must read the series in order to follow the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joan Beyer
Location:Elizabeth Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good book. Icould not put it down can not wait until book comes in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd in the series of "Strike a Match".

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene Comtois
Location:Brooklyn, CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Tracie Peterson. She's one of my favorite authors. She didn't let me down here either. 2nd book to "Strike a Match" series and it was fantastic. Can't wait for the next one, if there is one. It's like she left you wanting more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
dorrie
Location:Westford, Mass
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book. I can't wait for the next one. I am totally enjoying this series. Tracey did it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this author

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
peapod
Location:Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie Peterson never fails to intrigue me and entertain me with her stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Medicine Woman

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
For those who love Christian history/romance, this book set in the 19th century is for you. I was grabbed with the first page and read straight through to the satisfying end. For those who like to cook, two tempting recipes are even included.
There are so many good parts to this tale. Prejudice is one topic covered. Most people feel a woman should stay at home, while our protagonist wants to study and practice medicine. Inability to tolerate anyone from a different race is another theme. One of my favorites parts is in chapter five when Pastor Shattuck draws an amazing connection from the biblical story of Joseph to black/white relations. That alone is worth the price of the book!
I love to learn, and the author injected some gems. For instance, I learned that "quinsy," is infected tonsils.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Bethany House for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was very good

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
P. Toni Burger
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much and have past it on to a friend of mine to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hearts Aglow - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just the right blend.

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story held just the right mixture of action and dialogue between vivid characters against a rich Texas setting. I appreciate Tracie's boldness in presenting strong men and women of faith as they confront their real-life trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.