Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover

Random House, Inc The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover

The 1966 original Jerusalem Bible was immensely popular as an ecumenical version for study, liturgy, and personal reading. This 1985 revision takes note of recent biblical scholarship with rewritten notes and introductions, new translations to improve literary quality and accuracy, and eight pages of newly drawn maps. Some of the best features remain undisturbed: single-column format, verse numbers in the margins, chronological and genealogical tables, and an index of biblical themes in the major footnotes. 2136 pages, hardcover from Doubleday.

  • Single column format
  • Black Letter
  • Book Introductions
  • 9 point type
  • Footnotes 6 point type
  • Side-column references
  • Chronological Table
  • The Hasmonaean and Herodian Dynasties
  • The Calendar
  • Tables of Measures and Money
  • Alphabetical Table of the Major Footnotes
  • Index of Persons
  • Index to the Maps
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Hardcover with dust cover
  • 6 1/4" x 9 1/2" x 2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Review 1 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, No Surprises

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
DougB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It should be noted that there are not a great many editions of the NJB available. That being said, there is really nothing wrong with this one.
The bonded leather looks good and is somewhat flexible. The binding feels tight, like a glued paperback. The text, while not large is clear and readable. It does have a ribbon marker, as indicated.
Be aware that this Bible does have very limited footnotes, NOT the extensive commentary for which larger hardcover editions of this translation are known.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dan P
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best version of the Bible that I've ever read. Recommend it to any believer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very Good Bible for reference and study! I do with that is was a red letter edition though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Study Bible

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Wilkey
Location:Sylva, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently discovered the New Jerusalem translation, and this version is fast becoming my favorite study Bible. The notes are great, and offer an academic perspective. Also, when the original Greek or Hebrew is perhaps unclear, this translation makes note of that. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in serious academic theological study.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stevie
Location:Connecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Beautiful Bible I would recommend this to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Choose carefully

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
pastor jonathan
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible comes in several versions. This hardcover has all of the notes and extras that most people are looking for. The "standard" version as well as the "readers" do not have the notes and extras. Also, listed on the same page is a "leather" version, it does not include the notes, etc.. So, choose carefully. ISBN - 13:978-0385142649 has the notes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As a long-time fan

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
jltbunch
Location:Glenwood, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 3rd copy of the Jerusalem Bible. I have enjoyed the cross references and footnotes that are features of a JB for nearly 40 years. So much so that I have had 2 prior copies fall apart because I have used those copies so much. For this copy, I like the hardboard sleeve that comes with the bible - it may help me keep this copy in better condition than my earlier copies. However, the smaller print and the lack of side margin cross references makes this copy harder to read and work with. Otherwise my ratings would be excellent for all categories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
speedie
Location:Amarillo, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm using it every day. The Bible is easy to understand. A good translation.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rob
Reviewer Scott seems to have gotten a copy of the New Jerusalem Bible with a misprint. I have three copies, And they all say You SHALL not kill, none say You SAME not kill. For me personally, the NJB is my favorite translation. The English is clear, and the study notes are extensive and very well researched.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wilfred Drabble
I have been using the New Jerusalem Bible for years and I consider it absolutely superior to all other English translations for Anglicans and Catholics to read aloud in church.The only objection I have to it is its constant use of the name Yahweh in place of or in addition to any other names for God the Father in the Old Testament. There are a few places where this might be appropriate (places where the name "Jehovah" is used in the King James Bible, for example) but it seems jarring and unnecessary to use it all the time. I prefer the accepted tradition in English translations to translate the tetragrammaton as "The Lord".
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Lockwood
The Bible is exactly as described and is a great resource for a more comprehensive understanding of scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
scott
I was surprised for Christmas as a gift, It is very easy to read, the only draw back is some of the wording, translation, It says," Thou same not Kill", But it should read, "Thou Shall not Murder",it may not be an issue for some, but those that served their country and the public, may have issue with the translation.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Andrew Brenes
I recommend this bible to many catholics out there very educating,easy to read,great for bible studies and also references are excellent.I just wished they made this same version in Leather binding and indexed and i give it a 110%
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
W.W.Brings
I love This version of the Bible for its style of words, the Bible itself is very attractive, nicely bound, pages are wonderful and will bring me years of enjoyment, I strongly recommend this Bible to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Jerusalem Bible, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2002
Customer Avatar
Don Orlopp
Excellent New Testament Word Studies!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.