Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook

Bethany House Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
Review 1 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool to have

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I am pulling this review out and posting it again, because I found that I hadn't originally submitted it to the sites needed.
Very interesting concept. 100 Words from the NT, with their original Greek words and meanings. What a great idea. I did find it interesting the words that were picked to explore. The suggested usage of this book is with your regular Bible study, but I can see using it as a reference for topical studies also. A great resource to have on hand, a keeper for my book shelves. 4 stars from this reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AN EXCELLENT BOOK!

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Location:Golden Valley, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book can be considered both a reference tool and a devotional book. The words from Scripture used in the book are extremely important and have been well chosen. I am well into the book, and have not found a single word for examination that I would consider superfluous. I use the book as part of my quiet time each day. It is very readable and practical. The author beautifully applies the word to Christian living. One of the most helpful books I've encountered in a long time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have for the reference library

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Deeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament" by Keri Wyatt Kent is a very basic bible reference tool that reflections on 100 topical words that can be found in the New Testament. An addition to Keri's other book,"Deeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the Old Testament", this is a handy, thinline book that focuses on a new look at important topical words that can be found in the New Testament and can be used either as part of a personal reflection tool or for a quick and easy reference tool.
Going into such areas as to,"Why was this word chosen over that of another", "What is implied in the original language", and helping the bible reader understand, without knowing Greek, the deeper details of God's Word for oneself, this is really a very handy book to have in one's library.
The details are essential one and half pages long, so this is not a deep study of a word's meaning,but enough overview for the layman, to either point them in the general direction of where to look, or provide a more, "touching the surface" insight into what certain words that are used in the Bible, may imply.
If you are looking for a resource that will give you the general direction of what Greek word to look up or just a quick look on the surface of what say, the word, "Mercy" is being implied in God's word,"Deeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament" by Keri Wyatt Kent is a very valuable, to have on hand bible reference.
This isn't for the "serious" study of the bible, but rather a quick, road map to make our Father's word, more enjoyable and enough to help one develop a richer and slower journey into the richness and understanding of God's word.
Both books will be valuable assets to the library and this is something that even homeschoolers can use for either copywork, word lookup, or a way to even teach older children to young adults, the value of really understanding and exploring God's Word.
Note, this is not just for that age group, but rather for anyone who is ready to be serious about going deeper in studying God's word and a great way to develop that either personal time study, maybe just have a quick "go to" reference or help with getting a general road map of where to start!
Thank you to Bethany Publishers for the complimentary copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a welcome addition to my library.

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deeper into the Word by Keri Wyatt Kent is a welcomed addition to my library. This book is a wonderful study guide for the New Testament. The author has taken 100 words from the New Testament and studies the words in depth looking first at their original language and then delving farther into the actual meaning. At times when necessary the author will revert to the Old Testament to understand fully the meaning of the word. In the contents she lists the 100 words that is studied and the Greek index is in the back along with a list of helpful Web Sites.
Whether you use this book as a Study Help, for Reference or a Devotion to read, there is a lot of valuable information inside. This little book can give new meaning to the passages in your Bible, by fully understanding certain words bringing them to life.
A valuable asset to everyone, Keri Wyatt Kent did a fantastic job, do not pass this one by.
I received this book free from Bethany House a division of Baker Publishing Group as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

...a wonderful bible study resource...

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
A Phone Tree Book Review
~
DEEPER into the WORD is a wonderful bible study resource that will enhance the study life of anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the Word. It is engaging, thought-provoking, and even inspiring.
Each time I sat down to do my personal bible study, I looked for opportunities to do a word study using this book. I found myself anxious to discover hidden treasures and deeper meanings. I wanted to grasp any new insights that I could based on the original language and meaning of particular words.
~
I thought this book was a solid read. I will definitely continue to refer to it. I would also have no qualms about recommending this book.
~
This book would be a good resource for anyone who wants to add a little something extra into their bible study life. It is an easy read and would be well received by those new to the discipline of bible study, as well as those more seasoned in the area of bible study.
~
I received this book free from the publisher through the Bethany House book reviewers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful reference book

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
peggy
Location:Miamisburg OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the pleasure of reading this book by Keri Wyatt Kent. I love learning the Greek/Latin origins of the words used in the Bible and this book is excellent on not only presenting the history of the words as well as how they were used in Bible times, but Keri also brings those words to life with current day examples.
This book is an excellent reference book as well as a small group study.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers to review (and enjoy!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeper Into the Word

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any book that helps to bring the Bible to life is always welcome in my library. I have been enjoying Keri Wyatt Kent’s books for a number of years now and I was very excited to start reading her new book, Deeper Into the Word. I always know that I can trust her books to be informative, readable and well-researched and this one certainly fits into those categories. This book does an excellent job of bringing more meaning to these one hundred words we read in the New Testament everyday, but may not get the full meaning from simply reading the Bible.
This book can either be read in order from start to finish or the reader can jump around through the book and read about the words he or she want to read more about. I enjoyed looking at the list of words in the Contents and letting a word stand out and then reading about it. Either way Deeper Into the Word is an excellent addition to my library for when I want just that little bit extra.
This book was provided for review by Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bible Reference and Devotional elements in 1 book!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paul ThinkingOutLoud
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanna get real serious about Bible study? This is a devotional book that delves into New Testament word study, providing background context as to the meaning of the Greek words from which our English Bibles are derived.
Or is it? Perhaps it's really a word study text, but one written in a way that is accessible for the average person who would never consider purchasing a more technical Bible reference book.
Word study needn't be dry or dull, and most of the entries in this book are relevant and engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chock-full of a-ha moments

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susy Flory
Location:Northern California
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Oprah reads a book and talks about it on the air, she often refers to having “a-ha!” moments. Keri Wyatt Kent’s new book, Deeper Into the Word: New Testament” was chockfull of a-ha moments for me. If you’re like me and you’ve heard your share of sermons and Bible lessons over the years, Keri’s book will help scrub off the dust and grime of over-familiarity with well known biblical texts and give them a fresh gleam. For those who are newer to studying and tangling with biblical texts, Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament will introduce and demonstrate the idea of a “word study,” which means to stop and take a closer look at the meaning of a particular word and attempt to fully understand what the author meant when using that word.
Kent has chosen 100 words that appear in the Bible, such as Blind, Bread, Church, Disciple, Friend, Pharisee, Religion, Sabbath, Water, and Yoke. For each word, she gives the most common interpretation, often accompanied by a personal anecdote, then goes into a quick look at the word in the original Hebrew, Greek, or Aramaic. Then comes the fun: Kent quickly and easily puts the word into historical and cultural context, sometimes turning the most often used interpretation of the word upside down. Hence, the a-ha! And she does all of this with a friendly, non-intimidating, and engaging manner.
One of the most powerful a-ha moments for me was the chapter on the word “love:” I’ve heard preachers and teachers outline the three concepts behind the biblical concept of love in the Greek language: eros (sexual or romantic love), phileo (brotherly love or tender friendship); and, agapeo or agape (spiritual, self-sacrificing love) and how all three biblical words were translated into English as “love.” It was a familiar concept so I wasn’t sure Kent could make this concept new for me. But of course she did, starting out with a nod to the Beatles All You Need is Love, and a caution that love is, in our culture, “a word often said but seldom understood, a word robbed of meaning, and yet one that can mean so many different things.”
There is a quick and easy explanation of the meaning of each of the three love-words, and then the zinger, something I had never heard before (or if I had, I didn’t remember—sorry, Preachers!) In John 21, the resurrected Jesus talks to Peter, who is still ashamed of his public denial of being a Jesus-follower. “Peter, do you love me more than these?” Jesus asks, using the Greek agapeo. It’s a significant and loaded question. Jesus is asking Peter if he is willing to follow to the point of death. Guess what Peter answers? “Lord, you know that I love you.” In English, this seems a reasonable response. But Peter uses the Greek phileo instead of agapeo. Peter is making it clear that he loves Jesus as a friend or a brother, but cannot or will not yet commit to the highest form of love. Jesus has modeled it already to Peter and now he is calling Peter to it, but through shame, guilt, and/or pride, Peter stubbornly sticks to phileo. That’s not the end of the story for Peter and, in fact, when he is old he will surrender his will to his Lord and live out agapeo. But not yet. I never would have understood the subtext to the conversation without Keri’s clear and succinct explanation. Finally, I understood why Jesus kept repeating this question to Peter, even though Peter seemed to be satisfactorily answering Jesus.
Deeper Into the Word is full of these moments, directing a bright and warm light onto familiar biblical words that can speak into our lives with power, if only we take the time to listen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Deeper into the Word, Keri Wyatt Kent

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deeper into the Word is a compilation of word studies, but is definitely not a lifeless dictionary. In fact, once I picked it up I found myself grazing through several entries at a time. So don’t ignore this little gem. It could be used for private study or as an aid in lesson preparation for those that teach. She includes endnotes for her references. Most of works she cites are not beyond the most modest budget, and several of them can be accessed online. A list of some of those sites is included near the end of the book.
For those that lean toward the more studious side she also includes the Greek derivation for the words studied. That helps us English only types see some additional shades of meanings that just aren’t as obvious in English or highlights the differences more vividly. Her entry for “friend” is an example of the latter.
Don’t skip the introduction the author provides for this book. She’s got some very important points covered there. She says that this book is meant to be used with the Bible and uses an illustration of using the book like a shovel to help you dig deeper into the Word. It’s a tool to help you. She also suggests three ways that she sees the book can be used, a point of departure for your own study, an example of how to do your own word study, or a devotional study giving thought and reflection to a word, maybe over several days.
This book was provided by Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

100 Word Studies

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Keri Wyatt Kent’s "Deeper into the Word, New Testament," is a collection of 100 word studies. She has taken 100 words from the New Testament, researched their meaning and usage, and shared her insights with us. The book has an informative tone, providing the Greek words along with historical and cultural notes and cross-reference comparisons that give the words clearer meaning. For each word, she tells of passages where it is used and gives references for further research. Each entry is one to two pages long.
My only suggestion: I would have found a pronunciation guide for the Greek words helpful. Seeing a word is one thing, but being able to say it aloud or even in my head makes it more memorable. But the book does have an appendix of helpful websites in the back along with an index of all the Greek words used in the book. In the introduction, Wyatt Kent encourages us to follow her lead, using these back-of-the-book tools to do word studies of our own. Perhaps the example of her reflections and curiosity about pronunciation will prompt readers like me to do just that.
I’d like to thank Bethany House Publishers for sending this reference for my review. It was a privilege to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very practical book for bible study

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Location:Belton, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book by Kerri Wyatt Kent is a must have for any reference library. It can be used as a daily devotional or a personal bible study. It could be useful in a small group setting as well.
I found it useful as a study reference for the original word meanings to help me understand the context in which certain passages were written. I've never studied Greek, nor do I intend to, so I found this very helpful.
Would highly recommend this! Loved it!
I received this copy for review by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deeper Into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words From the New Testament - eBook
This review is fromDeeper into the Word: Reflections on 100 Words from the New Testament.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insightful book

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Deeper into the Word" can be used as a devotional or a Bible reference tool. Each entry was about 2.25 pages long and read like a devotional, so I'd recommend using it like that. The author explored 101 English words/topics.
The author took an English word and then explained which Greek words were usually translated as that English word. She explained the nuances of each Greek word and gave examples of where it was used in the New Testament. She also gave some cultural context for the word and an overview of what the New Testament (and, sometimes, the Old Testament) said about the topic. I was impressed by how well the author captured the tensions in Scripture. She also discussed how to apply what we learned about the word.
The book was written for those who have never studied Greek but who want to dig deeper, and I'd highly recommend this book to that audience.
The words studied: Afraid; Anoint; Apostle; Believe; Bless/Blessed/Blessing; Blind; Body; Bread; Break/Broken; Burden; Call/Called/Calling; Care; Chosen; Church; Clean/Cleanse; Compassion; Content/Contentment; Covenant; Cross; Daughter; Deacon; Death/Die; Disciple; Doubt; Eye/Eyes; Faith/Faithful; Father; Fellowship; Fill/Fulfill/Fullness; Fire; Forgive/Forgiven/Forgiveness; Free/Freedom; Friend; Fruit; Gift/Gifts; Good/Goodness; Gospel; Grace; Harvest; Holy Spirit; Hope; Humble; Hungry; Inheritance; Joy; Justify/Justification; Lamb; Light; Love; Mercy; Messiah; Miracle; New; One Another; Parable; Patience/Patient; Peace; Persecute/Persecution; Perseverance; Pharisee; Power; Pray; Preach; Prepare; Promise; Proud/Pride; Quiet; Reconciliation; Religion/Religious; Remain; Repent; Rest; Resurrection; Righteousness; Rock; Sabbath; Sacrifice; Salt; Salvation; Seek; Self-Control; Serve/Service; Sheep/Shepherd; Sin; Son of Man; Soul; Spirit; Strength; Temptation; Thirst/Thirsty; Truth; Understand; Vine/Vineyard; Water; Way; Wise/Wisdom; Witness; Wonder/Wonders; Word; Work/Works; Yoke.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.