Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook

Bethany House Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Review 1 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

it isn't the whole bible

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bernie Boudens
Location:Calgary Alberta
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i expected the whole bible but they left a lot out. when it says the whole bible it should be the whole bible. they left a out too much. you can't pick and choose what's important in the bible, it all is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to read version of the bible

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
maggiep
Location:Kenora, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent version of the bible to have on an e-reader. Easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
maxy
Location:Wesley Chapel, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very easy to read and understand. It is rfreshing my memory of all the stories I learned as a child in Sunday School.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Earlean Grayson
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ebook is great. I have this book in a soft cover but wanted it on my ebook reader. It is a great way to read the entire Bible in a year and the way the author explain each chapter is great and help you understand the Bible better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not exactly The Whole Bible Story

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Whole Bible Story was a very interesting concept. I would only use the book for someone who is already saved. I believe in the working of the Holy Spirit through His Word for salvation. Besides that though, this was a very well laid out book. Obviously many details are left out; however, the overall theme is there.
The last chapter is the book of Acts and Paul’s missionary journeys. I appreciate the fact that Dr. Marty didn’t try to generalize Revelation, which I’ve had a hard time understanding the entire book.
I don’t have much criticism for the book because Dr. Marty told the Bible story in his own words. I know I wouldn’t be able to do any better than he.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Simple Read About the Bible

Date:May 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Liam Moran
Location:Kenosha, WI
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Whole Bible Story is the new publication by Bethany House (2011, 300 pages) authored by William Marty. Marty is Professor of Bible at Moody Bible Institute. He received his M.Div from Denver Seminary and his Th.D. from Dallas Theological Seminary. He teaches both Old and New Testament.
I was deeply interested in reading this book as Marty was one of my professors at Moody. This book is gleaned from his extensive teaching ministry, particularly in Old and New Testament Survey.
Introduction
Marty states his purpose in writing this book, "The purpose of this book is to tell the story of the Bible (p.11)." Marty attempts to tell the story of the Bible from Genesis through Acts. Marty points out that this is not a paraphrase nor is it meant to replace Bible reading. His motivation is to help others read the Bible.
Marty further points out that the book skips important information. He writes, "It is an effort to synthesize the storyline of the Old and New Testament minus the laws, messages (sermons), prophecies, and parables (stories). It does not include Old Testament poetry (wisdom literature) and prophecy, and it does not include the New Testament Epistles (p. 11)."
Overview and Features
Each chapter of the book contains a heading and then followed by subsequent subheadings. For example, in Genesis, Marty points out who the main characters are: God (the Lord), Adam and Eve, Cain and Abel and Noah. Then with all his chapters he points out the setting. In Genesis it is Mesopotamia.
Throughout the book, Marty tells each story as it reads in Scripture, covering the major "scenes" throughout each narrative. When there are difficult passages of Scripture to interpret, he will offer what the various interpretations of the passage are.
What readers will need to be aware of when reading this book is that at times Marty is interpretative and not all readers are going to agree with his interpretation. For example, in Scripture (John 6) when Jesus says, "I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry again. I have come down down from heaven to do the will of my Father" the Bible says that many of his disciples left and never returned to follow Jesus.
Here is what Marty says of this:
Many in the crowd left and never returned to follow Jesus because they didn't understand that by "bread" Jesus meant to believe in him as the Son of God. Most didn't want to trust Jesus as Savior because it required too much of a commitment (p. 212).
That Jesus was requiring and does require a commitment for others to be saved is one of enormous theological controversy. The text doesn't explicitly say this but Marty is describing the story according to his interpretation.
Conclusion
Overall, I enjoyed the book. I think that it is helpful. Marty writes in a way that is simple, clear and easy to understand. I think that there is much here that helps readers understand Scripture easier. The discerning reader will need to understand though that there are parts in the book as pointed out above that are interpretive. Yet, this happens even in our Bible translations. Translators sometimes translate verses according to their own interpretations. But I think that most will find this book an enjoyable and a good read.
Special thanks to the kind and gracious folks at Bethany House for this free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Whole Bible Story ~ Dr. William H. Marty

Date:May 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the whole story of the bible in plain english and reads like a story book. This book is not the bible with details or sermons it is to be used as a tool. It is a great read to use as a study guide then you grab your bible and read the real stuff with all the details. I liked how it read and you could just pick it up and read from begining to end, or just pick any chapter. It covers all the people of the bible and gives you the basic of what their purpose for GOD's use was. At the begining of each chapter it gives a list of characters and place of setting so you are able to look up certain people you would like to know about. Each chapter ends with a short summary and contains maps and reference verses throughout the whole book.
I would defientely recommend this book to everyone, it is a great read!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful addition to a homeschool library!

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie C
Location:South Florida, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the privilege yet again to review another book on the Bible. Now you might find it ironic that one needs a book to understand the sacred and blessed book called the Bible, but in one word it reminds me of the special Cliff Notes I used for books and special projects I studied during my years of high school and college. =)
Dr. William H Marty, shows his theological background by depicting the Bible as a sacred and vivid story book. There is no doubt that Dr. Marty has a solid foundation in his Christian faith that translates through the pages of the book. I am most definitely treasuring the book Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English along with the other book I just recently reviewed: The Story of the Bible: The Fascinating History of Its Writing, Translation & Effect on Civilization as a homeschool go-to reference books. The information in the book is full of Bible based illumination and has a compelling explanation to all the beautiful parables and stories that are in the Bible.
My only negative input for this book was that I didn't find the Psalms portion or chapter in the book. In my opinion I believe that the Psalms part of the Bible is a special place that gives light to the words of our beloved Lord. Truly wish this was incorporated in the book.
As a homeschool mom, I find this book holds a great educational value as a gem along books that are treasures for the child's mind, faith and heart. I definitely give this book 4 1/2 stars, because it missed special parts of the Bible. Otherwise it's a great book to add to your homeschool library.
My honest review was noted on My Catholic Family Circus Blog in exchange for this free Christian book through Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple Overview of Biblical Characters & Events

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JK Turnage
Location:Northern Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dr. Marty originally wrote the book to 'tell the story of the Bible' and wrote with the intent to motivate the reader to then read the Bible. I did find myself throughout the reading of this book referring to my study Bible. Throughout the reading I found instances of the story being oversimplified and would (had I written the book) have included more details of the events in which he wrote.
He wrote the book in simple English. He says in his introduction that he does not include the laws, messages (sermons), prophecies and parables. It doesn't include poetry and prophecy from the Old Testament and it doesn't include the New Testament epistles. Basically, he tells of the events and characters of the Bible in chronological order.
I did like this book because it was a simple read about the Biblical characters and events through the Old and New Testaments; but, I did find it a bit dry and boring at times in style. I think the task of summarizing the Bible in a simple format would be very daunting and certainly Dr. Marty did a wonderful job to keep it to 297 pages.
I found it best read in short segments. While my expectation of reading this book like a novel were not met, I believe the book would make a great read-aloud to kids in short segments, which I plan to do with my own homeschooled kids. I would also recommend this book to those who have never read the Bible.
Thanks for the free copy from Bethany House in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanne
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for new believers to get a feel for the Word and to help them relate to scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great tool for understanding Scripture

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Whole Bible Story" is a summary of the story of the Bible. Dr. William H. Marty has a strong handle on Scripture that was evident as I turned the pages of a book that claims to be "everything that happens in the Bible in Plain English."
Dr. Marty summarizes Scripture in a very straightforward way, with very little interpretation. I found it beneficial to follow the Israelites through their physical and spiritual journeys in one compiled story form. And I enjoyed reading the compilation of the gospels as one story. Although there were times that I felt Dr. Marty had left out some details that were important and perhaps oversimplified the story in some cases, I think this book is a solid summary of Scripture that can add to any reader's understanding of the Bible.
This book is a great companion to reading and understanding Scripture. It deals strictly with the stories in the Bible and gives a wonderful chronological summary of what the Bible is all about. It will help you see the overall picture of the Bible in a whole new way. Just don't use it as a substitute for God's inspired Word.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Simple Historical Narrative of Bible Events

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book "The Whole Bible Story" by Dr. William H. Marty wasn’t quite what I expected, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t what it says it is. From the title, I expected a story and pictured myself curling up in a corner of my couch with a nice cup of coffee to savor the most precious story in the world told in simple story form.
That’s not what this is.
In the introduction, though, Dr. Marty tells why he wrote the book. A friend of his asked him for a Bible, but found herself overwhelmed by it. She didn’t know where to start. Dr. Marty wrote "The Whole Bible Story" to help people like her.
This is a history book.
In it, Dr. Marty tells the historical narrative of the Bible. For understanding, he has broken this narrative down into 19 chronological segments, concluding with an epilogue based on Revelation. To avoid confusing the reader, literary forms of the Bible other than historical narrative, such as wisdom literature, law, prophecy, and epistles (letters), are not included in this book.
Within each chapter, Dr. Marty tells the history once with some interpretation, commentary, and explanation as he sees needed to help the reader understand what’s going on. Then he tells it once more for review—this time, just the facts. I appreciated this summary the most.
Readers like Dr. Marty’s friend who want to gain a simple understanding of the scope and sequence of Bible events will find this book to be a valuable tool. I thank Bethany House Publishers for sending a complimentary copy for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whole Bible Story, The: Everything That Happens in the Bible in Plain English - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy-to-read story of the Bible!

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From Creation to Revelation, this book is written in "plain, simple English" and I highly recommend it! Although I've read and re-read my Bible, I still have much to learn. This book is exactly the tool that is helping me learn and understand more about my Bible. I'm excited about sharing THE WHOLE BIBLE STORY with family and friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.