Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook

Revell Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook

By virtue of her profession as a midwife, Tabitha Eckles is the keeper of many secrets: the names of fathers of illegitimate children, the level of love and harmony within many a marriage, and now the identity of a man who may have caused his wife's death. Dominick Cherrett is a man with his own secret to keep: namely, what he, a British nobleman, is doing on American soil working as a bondsman in the home of Mayor Kendall, a Southern gentleman with his eye on a higher office.

By chance one morning before the dawn has broken, Tabitha and Dominick cross paths on a misty beachhead, leading them on a twisted path through kidnappings, death threats, public disgrace, and . . . love? Can Tabitha trust Dominick? What might he be hiding? And can either of them find true love in a world that seems set against them?

Average Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 3795%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intrigue of sorts and Romance

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrandmaCee
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a little different that I have read. But the author is not new to me. I am a retired RN so this series caught my eye.
It shows God hand of protection and His forgiveness. The people in the story showed the same struggles we have today even though dated back in the 1800's. God knows our questions and our feelings and is willing to forgive. He also
knows our desires. Starting book 2 in the series and am looking forward to more about some of the same characters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lady in the Mist is a enjoyable look in the world of being a midwife. Although a bit unconventional because almost all midwives were married or widows and our heroine was not, I still found the story overall entertaining and well written.
I do have to admit that it did take me a while to warm up to Dominic and I wish that there was just a bit more adventure/action within the story but those were just minor things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DMSELF
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not many historical romances can capture my attention the way this book had. From the first page to the very last I devoured each word. Beautifully written and capturing the true heart of early America, I felt myself being drawn into that time. Historical facts were accurate, but not the center of the book. The emotions and the growth of the main characters developed in such a natural and soft pace.
I eagerly look forward to the next two books!
Laurie Alice Eakes has become an author to populate my book shelves. Well DONE!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pulled me along

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tabitha Eckles is a midwife in colonial America. Her fiancé had been pressed into the British navy a couple years before the story starts, leaving Tabitha as an oddity: an unmarried midwife who has never given birth. Her parents had died not long before, so she's reeling from everyone she's loved having "deserted" her.
Early one misty morning Tabbie is walking along the beach after the death of an expectant mother. She meets a tall Englishman, Dominick Cherrett, who is the mayor's indentured servant. Considering the fact that young American men are disappearing from the coastline, kidnapped by the British to join the navy, she jumps to the obvious conclusion that Dominick is an accomplice. If only Dominick, the younger son of a British aristocrat, could explain the real reason he's here.
Lady in the Mist is a historical romance novel with themes of desertion and the discovery of God's presence, no matter what. I enjoyed the novel and found the story pulled me along. Ms. Eakes managed to leave many chapters with gripping endings that made me turn the page (on my Kindle) even when I should have been in bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Held My Attention Throughout

Date:June 18, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes is a great storyteller. She places trouble after trouble in Tabitha's path to be allowed to follow the occupation of her mother and grandmother. She has heard secrets from mothers-to-be in the pain of delivering a child. Tabitha has never revealed those secrets. She could use some of these secrets to shame men sitting on the town council that reviews her case for continuing to be a midwife. Will she do that or risk being run out of town?. Then there's Dominick and a former beau that has re-entered her life that she must consider for her future. Strong characterization and setting description. A page turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharron Shipley
Location:Portland, Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lady in the Mist is an excellant read. It gives an accurate picture of midwives in the 1800:s. I found myself so ingrossed in the book the I found I had read it in just a few days.
I have the second in the series on order now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was very well-written.

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lois Fuller
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much. I don't usually read historic novels but this one was very enjoyable and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent read. Had a hard time putting it down. Makes you feel you could walk into the the story and
become a character. I look forward to reading more of her books'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very interested in learning about the role of mid-wives in our early culture. The historical theme of rivalry between the new American country and England after the Revolution was utilized in a most unique manner in this book; the love story that is woven throughout this narrative was moving, as well. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the book! Great historical background.

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Salveson
Location:Malta,Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost couldn't stop reading this book after I got started. The historical background was a great addition to the action and plot. It will remain one of my favorites!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a good read! The time in history aas brought out - a time prior to the War of 1812 when the English empressed American citizens for their navy.
The narrative moved easily and held the reader's interest throughout. I kept guessing who the one responsible was for all the dastardly deeds accomplished. I was right!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Discovery of a new favourite author

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having seen one too many young men disappear into the mist on British ships, Tabitha Eckles has resigned herself to a solitary life. As a respected midwife, she’s the one woman in her town who can walk unaccompanied in the middle of the night without having rumours whispered about her. Unfortunately, her comfortable and quiet life is interrupted during one of these long, midnight walks. Returning from a birthing that went terribly wrong, Tabitha finds herself alone on the beach in the company of a mysterious English man, whom Tabitha suspects may be involved in the press-gangings that have been becoming ever more present in their peaceful costal town. But it’s not long before Tabitha discovers the identity of this mysterious yet charming young man – he’s Domonick Cherrett, an English gentleman who has fallen from grace and is now indentured servant and butler to Tabitha’s mayor. Knowing that an indentured servant would never be allowed to wander the beach at night, Tabitha remains suspicious a she pursues a friendship with Dominick, who has reasons of his own for wanting to become involved with the town midwife. Soon these two unlikely friends become embroiled in more mysteries than they expected – and an unexpected romance begins to bud between the spinster midwife and indentured English nobleman. Matters are complicated further when Tabitha’s long-lost fiancé returns from the sea and Dominick finds himself struggling over whether he could go home to his family with Tabitha or if he should leave her to her simple life in America – or whether he actually wishes to return to England at all. Can Tabitha and Dominick put aside their preconceived ideas about love and rank and – more importantly – learn to trust each other?
It’s always wonderful when you start reading a novel with the hope of being entertained and distracted from your busy life, only to be blown away by the discovery of a new favourite author. Laurie Alice Eakes’s novel had that exact affect on me, and I can’t verbalise how pleasing it is to uncover a gem of a story like this one. I came to this book with no idea what to expect, knowing very little about midwifes or the post-revolutionary war years in the United States. It was fascinating to learn about this period in American history, and although I never felt overwhelmed by the neatly intertwined historical detail, I do feel as if I’ve been enlightened somehow and will definitely be looking out for more books set in this time period.
It was particularly amusing to read a novel in which the Brits are the “bad guys”, being British myself. Yet despite the reservations that Tabitha and her friends had about the British, she had excellent chemistry with Dominick Cherrett, the typically ridiculously handsome and wittily charming British hero, whom even I fell in love with despite my reservations on minor royals thanks to studying at the University of St. Andrews. Their relationship is initially based on mutual distrust and suspicion, as the two of them try to deny their feelings for each other due to their very different backgrounds. The indentured noble who falls for the spinster midwife was a refreshing and original twist on the traditional plot of the prince falling for the servant girl.
The spiritual lives of the characters play a fairly large part in the book, as Dominick comes to terms with the corruption he found in the traditional English Church, and Tabitha learns to trust God despite the many grievances she and her family have suffered over the years. While I was particularly interested in Dominick’s struggles – which instead of being with God, were with the Church – I will admit that I felt that the focus on their spiritual struggles sometimes took away from the main plot. I occasionally found myself skim-reading the sections where Tabitha and Dominick talked about their thoughts on God, particularly towards the end of the story when it could have come close to detracting from the climax of the action. This may be a matter of personal preference, but I felt that the spiritual aspect needed to be more integrated so that it didn’t feel as if it was interrupting the plot. However, this is a minor issue that didn’t impinge on my enjoyment of the novel.
Laurie Alice Eakes is definitely an author to keep your eye on in the genre of historical fiction, and I’m looking forward to reading more from the Midwives series. She truly knows how to set the atmosphere of the period and create an excellent chemistry between her characters. Dominick and Tabitha are by far one of the most unique couples I’ve encountered in my reading of historical romances, and they were surrounded by a wonderful cast of minor characters, particularly the servants with whom Dominick worked. I hope that Laurie chooses to revisit these characters at some point, but if not, I’m sure that her next group of characters will be just as engaging. 9/10
Review title sent courtesy of Revell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Midwife meets British Nobleman

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book reminds me much of Julie Klassen's style of writing. It is close to 400 pages with intrigue and mystery. Miss Eckles is a midwife who encounters Dominick Cherrett an British nobleman with his own secrets.
I would give this book 4 1/2 stars if I could.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Informative Read

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virginia. I couldn't believe all that was expected of a midwife when a regular doctor was not in town.
I loved the way Laurie brought history to life. She shows a scary time in American history when the British boats were stealing American men off the shoreline at night and forcing onto their ships. Duty called all hours of the day and night and Tabitha found her unescorted on the same shores men were stolen from. For that reason she kept her eyes and ears alert as she made the walk on the beach to her home. Then one night she bumps into an unexpected visitor. Dominick Cherrett, a British aristocrat, on American soil working as an indentured servant. Tabitha’s world is never the same. Dominick is just as shocked as she is and fears she’ll turn him in to the Mayor (his employer) because he’s out at night. She says he’s British, and not to be trusted and after all the British were the ones stealing American men. She was in a quandary about what to do.
Dominick is charming, a man on a mission with a mysterious past. Could she trust him? He was a bit of a flirt it wouldn’t hurt to be his friend and see what he was up to. Both Dominick and Tabitha have something in common, each are trying to do their best in working for their redemption with God, to be good enough for him to love them. They found it hard to accept the free gift God gives.
I hadn’t expected a murder mystery and all the suspense and drama inside Lady in the Mist. I loved how this author wove this mystifying web and had the reader guessing who done it all the way till the end. I did find myself anxious for Tabitha as I really did want her to find true love, trust God like she once did and accept the love God offered her as a free gift. I love books that help me learn about history, what life was like back then and the part midwives played. This was one fascinating, suspenseful, charming, and fun read I most definitely recommend. I’ll certainly be looking for the next book in this midwife series.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

War of 1812 era romance

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful story set on the mid-coast of America right before the War of 1812. Eakes knows her historical period as well as sailing. You can just imagine yourself in that time period, feel the spray on your cheeks as you skim the waves on a fishing sailboat.
You also get a good view of what led up to the war from the American side. I'm so used to studying it from the British and French perspectives.
But most of all, you get to read about a wonderfully charming British hero and his growing fascination with a tart, no-nonsense midwife, who, nevertheless, is enough of a free spirit that he finds himself falling in love before he knows it.
But it's a hopeless love as they see it, since he is not from her world, and she can never fit in his. Throw in a mystery plot, which the two join forces to solve, and you have the ingredients of a great suspenseful romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing romance, intriguing plot

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Lady in the Mist, Laurie Alice Eakes has created a story that will keep you reading to learn who is determined to do away with Tabitha Eckles, the town’s midwife, and what are the secrets surrounding Dominick Cherrit and his background. When these two meet in the mists on the beach in Virginia, emotions arise that cause doubts and frustrations, but neither Dominick nor Tabitha is able to control the attraction and the troubles it brings. Set in a time when the young colonies were still struggling to build a strong defense system and prevent another war with England, the twists and turns with spies and counter spies will grab your interest and not let go until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:March 2, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great romantic suspense, and I loved trying to work out the intricacies of the plot. The mystery about who everyone was and what their motives were was very well done. The historic details were very interesting, and I loved the “midwife” aspect of the story.
There were only two small things that weren’t to my taste. I felt like the wording could have been better in a few areas, but that was very seldom. The other thing was that at the end of the book, in the final conflict where everything comes to light, it ends in the “middle” of the scene. So you just hear about what happened from later on in the next chapter. That could have been changed in my opinion, but it wasn’t a “deal-breaker” for me. It didn’t hurt the story; I just thought it would have been improved if that were different. In all, I think this is a great book and I look forward to reading more in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was more than I was expecting. It was a book that I had a hard time putting down. I can't wait to read the second book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh Read

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Naomi Rawlings
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a market saturated with inspirational romance authors, few books stand out as spectacular reads. Lady in the Mist is one of those books. It won't leave you feeling as though you've read this story before.
Eakes takes a woman deserted by every significant person in her life and pairs her with a man who has no choice but to one day abandon her. The characters of Tabatha and Dominick embody the essence of Christian romance. As the couple confronts forces both internal and external that drive them apart, both characters must work out their own relationships with God as well as solve a threatening mystery.
I wish more romance writers wrote stories like this one. I’ll definitely be reading Eakes’ next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lady in the Mist: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

** British Regency era**

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While I do not want to diminish the writings of Laurie Alice Eakes unless you really like reading about the British Regency times this may not be the book for you. This was a book that I purchased & was also given and needless to say was one of the hardest books ever for me to finish. I was wanting and hoping more from the book and found that the pages just went on and on and on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>