Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Falls Like Lightning - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Falls Like Lightning - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
Review 1 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

action packed

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
j29mj
Location:bucks county, pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books that I have read. I read 50-60 books per year and do not give an excellent rating very often. This book was action packed and full of surprises. I highly recommend this book. You wont be dissapointed. Can't wait for more from Shawn Grady.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shawn Grady had hit another homerun

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Location:Dallas TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shawn Grady has again hit one out of the ballpark with a captivating plot, believable characters, and a fast pace that doesn’t stop. First-rate action and thrills set against the backdrop of spectacular Desolation Wilderness. Falls Like Lightning has a hero firefighter, a single mother pilot, a sick child, and a mystery needing solving. When put all together, it makes for a stay-up past bedtime read.
A J Hawke, Author of Cabin on Pinto Creek and Caught Between Two Worlds
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this one from Shawn Grady

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Smoke Jumpers in the middle of a forest fire started by lightning... acres and acres on fire and towns in danger. Enter the good guys - the ones that clear the path to stop the fire... but is that all they are there to do? Who are the good guys and who are the bad guys and how many of them will die before it is all over? A legend of a hidden cache of gold might just be enough to make the best people bad. Elle is the pilot in the middle of everything on a mission of her own - to save her daughter and find her missing father. Her blast from the past is Silas who ran out on her 7 years ago and has now shown back up. After everything they went through can Elle forgive and forget?
This book is a wild ride from page one and I spent a lot of time trying to figure out the good guys and the bad guys. No one is immune from demise, which as a reader is always nice because the book is unpredictable. Really enjoyed this one and the heart pounding journey it took me on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Falls somewhere in the middle...

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Silas Kent is a daring, likeable smokejumper. Elle Westmore is a responsible pilot and young mother. Both of them constantly deal with fire, altitude, and broken pasts.
Unexpectedly reunited after years of separation, the two are forced into danger before they have a chance to make amends. Elle is assigned to fly Silas’s new crew of smokejumpers over a massive wildfire in the Sierra Nevadas. Things go very wrong, very quickly.
An engine explosion forces the crew to parachute early while Elle barely survives a crash landing. In a desperate race to reach Elle’s plane, Silas suddenly realizes he has more to fear than an uncontrolled forest fire. Something sinister is brewing- and both their lives hang in the balance.
Falls Like Lightning plunges into action from the first paragraph and keeps it surging until the last. Shawn Grady’s experience as a firefighter and medic definitely shows, providing the necessary details for scenarios to seem more believable. Despite all the excitement, I found the plot didn’t seem to really pick up until about 150 pages into the book.
Silas and Elle are both well-drawn characters throughout the story. Especially towards the end of the book, I found their histories, strengths and weaknesses, understandable and realistic. Bo is also well-developed. Although Caleb has some back story provided, I didn’t find him to be as deep of a character as the other three. As for the secondary characters, some truly felt real; others have no plausible explanation for their actions.
The dialogue is realistic and fitting to the story. The downside of it is an unfinished profane expression (it’s easy to fill in the blank), a couple slang words, and what seems to be yet another unfinished profanity. This took something away from the book for me.
Although there are some spiritual themes worked into Falls Like Lightning, they felt like subcategories. The main focus here is undoubtedly action. A touch of romance, the said few spiritual points and constant life-and-death situations are pretty much the makeup of this book.
This book is a mixture of points of recommendation and non-recommendation. It wasn’t the best or worst book I’ve ever read. Falls Like Lightning falls somewhere in the middle. I give it 2 out of 5 stars.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A real page burner..didn't want to put it down!

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mick
Location:Redlands, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When ‘Falls Like Lightning’ was provided as a choice to review, I was quickly drawn to the art work on the cover. As a book about fires and the exciting life of a Smokejumper, I was eager to read / review this book. And was happy that the book did not disappoint.
On the back of the book is a quote by another reader that states, “Discover one of Shawn’s books and you’ll want to read them all.” I cannot agree with this statement more. Mr. Shawn Grady wrote this book from a personal place, his expertise as a fireman is showcased thru the pen.
Although I am not a fireman, (I do live in California, so I am an experienced fire watcher), Mr. Grady did an excellent job of bringing the life as a smokejumper to life, in terms that not only educated us, but intrigued the reader.
I really enjoyed the short chapters, as an avid reader, it is much easier to stop reading at the end of a chapter rather than in the middle of one. Due to the short chapters this was easily done.
This was a great story, it was an easy read that held my interest the whole book, I was eager to read and discover what was going to happen next. On that note, I did feel that Mr. Grady used 150 pages to build up the characters and events, and only 80 pages to tell of the events, I finished the book wanting more. So depending on how you look at it, this was brilliant, due to the fact that you will buy the sequel, or terrible if there is no sequel. Either way this was a great book and was very enjoyable to read. I will be looking into other books by Mr. Grady.
I was happy to have the opportunity to review this book for free from Bethany House Publishers; this is a book that I would purchase and share with my friends. Speaking of sharing, I am about to hand this off to a co-worker now. Happy reading!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The handsome smokejumper on the cover of this book is what sold me on it. I read Shawn Grady's first novel and had to make myself finish it. He just couldn't keep my interest. So, I reluctantly decided to try him again and when I saw this book and read what it was about it sounded very good. It was a very good book. A page turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating!

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Location:Belton, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to confess I was reluctant to read this book at first as I'm usually not a fan of male writers. But this book has changed my mind. I loved it! The characters were relatable and true, even the woman. You could tell Mr. Grady has experience as a firefighter due to the knowledge with which he has written. Would absolutly recommend this to anyone as a must read!
I was given this copy to review by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good, Clean Adventure Story

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Falls Like Lightning" by Shawn Grady is the story of smokejumper Silas Kent and his ex-girlfriend Elle Westmore. Not having seen each other since his sudden departure several years before, they are caught off guard when he’s called to lead a team to fight a massive fire in the Sierra Nevadas, and she’s called to fly them in.
Complicating matters for Elle are her concern for her young daughter who has been suffering from sudden seizures and her reluctance to fly over the area where her father’s plane mysteriously disappeared never to be found a few years before. With thousands of homes at risk, though, Elle must put her personal feelings aside and serve as only she can.
"Falls Like Lightning" is an action-adventure suspense novel with just a touch of romance. I had trouble following at first; the story was there, but character development was indistinct. Elle was easy to follow because she was the only main female character. But, at first, I kept getting Silas and Caleb confused. Bo’s sudden entrance came out of left field and made me wonder if I’d accidently picked up another book. Once everyone got on the plane and started their flight over the Sierra Nevadas, though, it all became mostly clear.
I liked the story overall. I don’t recall seeing much of God in it, which surprises me coming from Bethany House. It's a good, clean story written by a Christian author. Two people with extraordinary careers found each other again, overcame great difficulties, and lived happily ever after. The end.
Bethany House Publishers sent a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silas Kent is a smokejumper that abruptly left Elle Westmore, a pilot for the smokejumpers, years ago. They meet up again during a massive fire in the Sierra Nevadas. Silas is appointed to lead a crew of smokejumpers over the raging fire. As they are preparing to parachute from the plane, an engine explosion causes the plane to lose one of its engines. As the last smokejumper parachutes out, the other plane engine explodes. Elle manages to crash land the plane in a lake and has just enough time to get out before the plane sinks. Silas also lands safely, and then begins his search for Elle. He learns there is more going on that just a forest fire. Why is someone shooting at him? Why did the plane lose both engines? It is a race against time to solve these questions and find Elle before the fire overtakes them.
I have never read any books by Shawn Grady before. But I will from now on. The only complaint I had, and this is a minor complaint, is that there were a few places that were a little too technical. It is a fast paced full of suspense book. It grabs you from page one and you don’t want to put it down.
Bethany House Publishers gave me this book for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Falls Like Lightning" by Shawn Grady

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Silas Kent made a mistake when he left pilot Elle during his early smokejumping days. Both are shocked to be called in to work the same wildfire in the Sierra Nevadas after years without contact. While Elle's daughter fights mysterious seizures in the hospital, Elle flies a crew of jumpers out on a seemingly routine drop, but instead crashes in the fire. Silas and Elle soon realize that the fire is not their only enemy, but they must quickly unravel the mysteries of the downed plane, missing jumpers, and an elderly homesteader - before the fire burns them alive.
Grady's experience is obvious from the very first chapter of this book. Full of technical terms and descriptions, most are explained in a natural way through the story. Grady's writing is smooth and and the plot contains several unexpected twists. The story opened between fires, so the action started slowly and accelerated rapidly through the climax, keeping me on the edge of my seat. The ending was rather abrupt, however, and while it suited the story perfectly, I wish there had been a way to change up the sequence a bit.
The cover artwork grabs at you and makes you wonder how the handsome man starring in it will escape the glowing fire in the background. It made the book so action-packed that my husband picked it up and started to read!
If you enjoy reading both action-adventure and romance stories, then this is the book for you!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Smoke Jumpers Are Cool

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smokejumpers are people who jump out of airplanes into dangerous wildfires without regard to their own safety. This reckless regard for their own safety makes them a breed not unlike what I imagine early cowboys to have been like – difficult to pin down, thirsty for the next adrenaline rush, and ready to face whatever comes next. Silas, the main male character, definitely fits that description. He takes risks to do his job, and while that may seem somewhat necessary anyway, there are always those who feel the rules were made to be broken by them, and Silas is one of those who takes those risks and dodges the consequences on a regular basis.
Perhaps this wild streak is what makes this book so interesting to me! I’ve never read a book about this occupation before, so some of the first part of the book was a little daunting, what with terms like “top-roping” and “line-of-sight radio communication,” but the author did a good job of explaining the technical terms without being condescending or making the reader feel like they should have read a manual first. I enjoyed reading about them, and I felt like I learned a little bit about what they do. Living in the Midwest, I don’t generally hear much about wildfires unless they are out of control, so it was definitely a new perspective to hear of the crews that battle many of the smaller ones, and come together to fight the big ones as part of the Forest Service.
Aside from the smokejumpers, the story of a woman pilot in the story intrigued me. Single parenting comes with a very distinctive set of challenges, and I’m pretty sure that trying to meet those challenges and fly a plane into dangerous wildfires makes that role more than a little insane. Elle, the main woman character, demonstrates how tricky that balance can be, and how much having a child can change your perspective on life in general. There is no surprise that both Elle and Silas are Christians, and while that is apparent, the book is not an evangelistic one by any stretch. Many of the characters refer to their faith, but overt witnessing is not evident – by no means a criticism, just a summary of the ‘Christian’ aspect of a fiction work.
Overall the story of Silas and Elle is a good one, with some interesting curves thrown in. I was a little disappointed in some of the final aspects of the story that felt contrived, but it was definitely a pretty good read overall, and I enjoyed it. This is a good book to read by the fireplace in the winter, when you can watch the flames jump from log to log, and imagine being in the middle of that blaze, uncertain of how you will extinguish it or get home.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page turner!!!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Falls Like Lightning” by Shawn Grady we meet smokejumper Silas Kent. Silas grew up without any family and then he met pilot Elle Westmore. When summer came to an end, Silas left without any explanation. Elle moves on and gets married and has a little girl. Now six years later Silas and Elle meet again and Silas realizes he has never really gotten over her. Silas gets called to lead a crew to battle against a massive fire in the Sierra Nevadas and Elle is the pilot that is taking the crew to the fire, but things are not what they seem. The new crew has another agenda in mind. They have discovered gold and will do anything to get it, even if it means killing their team members. When an engine is sabotaged the crew has to parachute early and Elle has to crash the plane. Silas finds out what the crews plan is and barely escapes when they try to kill him. He finally gets away and tries to find his way to Elle, but will it be too late? This book is a page turner from the beginning. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sizzling adrenaline rush!

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Take a man who grew up with no family ties, always depended on himself, drawn to adventure and excitement; and you have a natural born smokejumper. Add a beautiful woman who loves to fly and you have a mixture that is sure to set off some sparks. Silas Kent and Elle Westmore were instantly attracted to each other when they first met but circumstances caused them to go their own separate ways. Years later they meet again and find themselves working together in the midst of raging wildfires through the Sierra Nevadas. But they soon find that fire and a turbulent past are not the only things they have to combat if they want to pursue a future together.
The authors’ command of the written word is superb—his descriptions riveting and exciting. The book is fast paced and full of danger, romance, and adventure—I read it through in four hours. The characters were believable, the plot exciting, the ending satisfying. The book was not preachy but God was woven through the pages in a quiet and realistic way. Bottom line, this book has everything I look for in a good piece of fiction.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Firefighter forever

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
mcguired84
Location:kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Falls Like Lightning a novel by shawn grady
This novel is filled to the brime with action, drama, adventure, and FIRE. The romance and murder is a great addition to grab your attention. Silas is a smokejumper who never expected to see a lost love until he once more catches a glimpse of Elle Westmore. Unknown to Silas that Elle is fighting her own demons, as she is called up to be the pilot that has to fly over the same area where her father's plane was never seen again. Silas and Elle are unaware of the danger they have brought along with them or are they?
I love this book even the cover has done it justice. I fell in love with the cover until I opened the book then I fell in love with it as well. It has all the thrills and adventure that makes you travel to the Sierra's along with Silas and Elle. I would recommend this book to anyone and all. I love it. To anyone who loves firefighters or even a good book, go and get this one. You will not regret it.
Shawn Grady has outdone himself once again as he is taking Christion fiction farther then anyone has done before. Keep the Thrills coming Shawn Grady,and no one will be able to put this or any of your novel down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Action-packed novel with romance & a bit much plot

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Falls Like Lightning by Shawn Grady is a fast-paced novel about a smokejumper and a pilot trying to survive against both man and nature in the Desolation Wilderness in the Sierra Nevadas. Silas Kent loves his job fighting fires, but he's still struggling with his feelings for Elle Westmore even though he left her six years ago. He's suddenly forced to face those long-buried emotions when Elle is assigned as his pilot for him and a brand new crew to jump into the wilderness to fight a fire that is beginning to rage out of control. What Silas and Elle don't know is that their crew has a completely different mission in mind, and they aren't afraid to sacrifice anyone to achieve it. Falls Like Lightning has a stunning opening line that will quickly pull readers in: Heaven banished Lucifer in one air-rending fissure. Grady's books always make me long for a sequel, not that he doesn't end his stories well, he does! I just come to care about the characters so much, I'm not ready to let them go. Grady tries to pack a bit too much into this action-packed suspense novel. Between the bad guys search for gold, Silas and Elle's past, Elle's search for her missing father, and her daughter Maddie's health issues, it seems like an awful lot of subplots to pack into less than 300 pages, and it strains imagination for every single issue to be resolved so neatly. Grady is a strong and imaginative writer who is taking Christian fiction into new lands, but I wish this novel had focused only on Silas and Elle vs the bad guys; that would have been plenty of excitement and kept the thrills coming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Falls Like Lightning - eBook
This review is fromFalls Like Lightning.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Blend of Romance and Action

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
Location:Frisco, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Shawn Grady's experience as a firefighter has been evident in his prior writing. In this one, he branches out into the world of the smoke-jumper, and makes it so authentic that you can almost smell the smoke coming off the page. This one is a nice blend of adventure and romance, with enough suspense to keep you turning pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.