Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Pattern of Wounds - eBook

Bethany House Pattern of Wounds - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Review 1 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The second book in the Roland March series, was a decent read. It began slowly, but picked up within the first fourth of the book.
It was a good mystery with a great deal of suspense. I can't find any fault with either the characters or the plot. But as I'm seeing with a lot of male writers in the christian fiction arena, I don't find a lot of God, Jesus or salvation. This trend bothers me, because these books are being sold under the "christian fiction" umbrella.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unusual Pacing with Twists that Tighten the Plot

Date:June 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pattern of Wounds is the second book in a series and I haven't read the first book yet. I have read Beguiled which Bertrand wrote with Deeanne Gist.
The beginning of the book was so slow and seemed to be a mish mash of history and unrelated current events that I was tempted to put this mystery down. However, I kept reading in order to solve the crime and was rewarded with a subtle, smooth, and suave read.
Two thirds through the book the pacing picked up and I was thoroughly enjoying the ride. What I appreciated most was the fine sense of balance between solving the mystery and journeying with Roland March as he learned more about himself. There were some great moments of insight and acceptance that were poignant for me, especially his last hospital visit.
Bertrand is becoming adept at lightly touching the heart of the matter while solving practical concerns. Well done and I look forward to reading the next in this series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Return of Roland March

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The return of Roland March is finally here! And it was worth the wait. This book is an excellent blend of fresh murders, a past case of Roland's and a serial killer. Roland March is smack dab in the middle of politics, mayhem, lies and betrayal and everyone is out for themselves. All Roland wants is to solve his case, keep his past case complete (and that murderer behind bars) and keep his nose clean (or not). But then his family is threatened and he starts to wonder if maybe the cases from past years are really related after all. Lots of twists and turns in this murder mystery and I followed right along - no huge surprises for me but the way it was all worked out I enjoyed the whole thing. I am so pleased that this won't be the last we see of Roland March, he is so not perfect and that is exactly why I love him!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Worth it to read through

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pattern of Wounds is a murder mystery novel featuring Roland March as the cantankerous, focused, tough guy homicide detective. Pattern of Wounds was written by J. Mark Bertrand. The novel follows March as he tries to solve a murder of a young woman, figure out if the crime is one of a serial killer, deal with his own past, and face an unraveling conviction.
I thought the novel moved slowly through the first half. Perhaps I am too used to crimes being solved in the 1 hour time frame on Law and Order: SVU! Halfway through though, my attention was grabbed and I couldn't put the book down. This was the first book in the Roland March series that I read, and although it is not necessary to read the first book in the series, it is probably helpful to. At some points I did feel a little lost because I didn't know the complete back story for the other story lines that were included in Pattern of Wounds. And speaking of other story lines, I felt there were too many in the book! And looking back, those were the parts in the novel that I seemed to drag through. Those parts were probably super important for those who have read the first Roland March book in the series and wanted closure. However, I would have been content just reading the parts relating to the main crime-the murder of the woman, with perhaps one side story thrown in.
If given the opportunity, I would pick up the first book in the Roland March series. If the series continues I would probably pick up those books as well.
**I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I generally enjoy murder mysteries. This one had what I look for, the dead body in the first view pages. I struggled at the beginning of the story with the main character, Roland March. Of course, I have a feeling Detective March is exactly where the author wanted him. A passionate cop, with ethics that are a little off the straight and narrow.
Regardless of my initial feeling toward the detective I ended up enjoying this story. March is passionate cop he works tirelessly to find the bad guy and see justice served.
This is book two of the Roland March series and although I didn’t read book one, but I didn’t feel lost in the story. The author gives you enough history to understand there have been previous relationships between several of the main characters, yet there’s enough questions in your mind to want to go back and read book one.
This is a well written book, with good detail that engaged me. I did struggle with many of the actions of the main character, but I think the author was very intentional in his writing. Great story!
I received this book from the publisher, but my opinions are just that my opinions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Different Read

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I pick books to read I tend to gravitate to suspense fiction books. I chose this book because a good friend read it and loved it. I did not realize that this was the second in the Roland March series by J. Mark Bertrand. Luckily, it was a story in itself, to some extent. There is a lot about the character and his relationship with his wife that I picked up only bits and pieces in this second book. Enough said about the background of my picking this book.
It was one of those books I "think" I liked-I am still not sure about my feelings after reading it. I have waited a few days to put these ideas down on paper. Roland March is a homicide detective in Houston. He has a past but he is really a good cop. He investigates a young woman found dead in a swimming pool in a rich area of Houston. He sees it as a copycat crime but the other investigators see it only as another crime. Roland has already sent a murderer to prison ten years ago for crimes like this one that was committed. Then he starts getting scary messages from the killer and the violence gets a little too close to home. The interesting thing is that with each crime after this there is a pattern of wounds on the bodies so he must try to figure out what exactly is the hidden message.
There was a lot of trying to guess "who did it" and I don't think I figured it out and I still after rereading the ending am lost. The last page ends with a twist and that really made me mad. Everything is left up in the air so I guess I have to read book number three to find out just how this ends-bummer. This is one of those books that will have different reviews from everyone.
I do appreciate being able to pick this one from Bethany Publishers for free just for my honest review
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Mystery!

Date:September 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book begins with Detective March being called away from his wife's Christmas Party. A woman has been sadistically murdered, and the more he looks at the scene, the more he feels like he has been here before. Then he remembers, but the murderer has confessed and is prison. There has been a book written about the Fauk murder and included was a picture of the crime. This crime he is sure is staged to mimic!
This is the second book in this series, and I'll have to read the third to find out everything. Am hoping that Roland is going to find his way back to God! Charlotte his wife is praying for him along with a lot of others.
You will have to fight temptation not to skip to the end of this book to find out the answers to the maybe serial murders?
I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pattern of Wounds - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

2nd in Roland March series brilliant storytelling

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pattern of Wounds by J. Mark Bertrand is the second book in the Roland March series about a disaffected Houston police detective. March has recovered some since the events of the previous book, Back on Murder. His marriage is back on track, although he's a bit worried about wife, Charlotte's newfound faith, and he's working murder cases again. This time it's a young woman found stabbed to death in a swimming pool that opens up March's old wounds. When this new murder appears to be connected to a decade old murder that March become nationally famous for closing, his life as he knows it is about to end. Bertrand is such an intelligent writer; his are the type of books I recommend to people who insist that they hate Christian fiction and that it's all cliched or badly written. Bertrand's March is angry and hurting at the world because of his scarred childhood as well as the darkness he sees daily through his job. He can't believe that there could be a loving God who could see all of this pain and refuse to act. His refusal to believe is so sympathetic, readers will find themselves empathizing with him, even when he is so very, very wrong. March is a poignant and intelligent hero and anchor to the series. Bertrand uses him to expose culture's obsession with serial killers and the frustrations of being a police officer and seeing only the worst in humanity. The story is complex and unpredictable, but it's March who really pulls readers into the story, making it feel very real and personal. Bertrand smartly reveals more of March's personal history and demons in this book, as well as shaking up what readers thought they knew about him. This is the rare series that will get better with each book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.