Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Veiled Rose - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Veiled Rose - eBook

Rose Red trusts no one with her secret. She hides in the forest, her face veiled in rags, shunning the company of all save her old father and her nanny goat. Her life is bleak and lonely.

Until she meets a privileged young man sent to spend his summer in the mountains. Leo, a lonely lad, befriends Rose Red, and together they begin hunting for the Mountain Monster which, rumor says, stalks these lands.But the hunt which began as a game holds greater risk than Leo supposes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 1688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Veiled Rose - eBook
Review 1 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Leo's version of Heartless

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leo's story. If you've read Heartless, then you will know the main character of this book. It is his side of the story, and we do see bits and pieces of Una, the main character in Heartless.
First, I must apologize to Leo, Prince Lionheart. I had a bit of a grudge against him for his behavior in Heartless, but now we know why. Reason don't excuse a person's choices, behavior, but it does help to understand where they are coming from, and it helps us give grace. Something that I find true in my own life.
Prince Lionheart yearns for a different life, one not dictated by the showy, yet constrained lifestyle as a prince who actions are controlled by his mother and tradition. He wants to be a jester and travel the world. He gets his wish, just not now he would imagine it, and spends the rest of the book trying to do the right thing.
But Veiled Rose isn't just about Prince Lionheart, it's also the story of Rose Red. A young goat girl who lives on the mountainside with her adoptive father and a nanny goat. She is different than the others and must wear veils to hide how different she really is, but even so, everyone despises her, except Lionheart who, after Rose Red's father dies, determines to care for her. But the terror that hunts Rose Red will descend on the Southlands, testing her friendship with the Prince, challenging her, and revealing her true identity.
Love the creativity and the way the writing flows, how the author worked in elements of mythology and making it her own. Rose Red's "journey" was mind bending at times, but awesome. Such a good read. On to the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating & Well-written

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
TreeFrog21
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautifully-written story with rich and vivid symbolism. One notable theme is God's faithful calling and pursuit of His own. I read it very quickly and recommend having the next book, Moonblood, on hand before you start this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery and adventure abound in this book.

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kurisuta
Location:New Bedford, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book that has events that take place before and during the events of Heartless, so if you wish you can read that book first.
Veiled Rose is the story of a girl who lives on a mountain with her old dad and her nanny goat Beana. A girl who is covered in rags and veils. It's also the story of a boy who feels the pressures of expectation and feels the need to escape from it. Of how they meet when, in normal instances, they never would and become close friends. It's a story that features a monster who may or may not live in the mountain; places from the far east to the netherworld; a Dragon and his sister, the mysterious Lady Life-in-Death; and a wood thrush whom Rose Red calls her Imaginary Friend but is more real than she ever thought.
And that's all I can really say without giving too much away. I enjoyed reading about the events that set the whole of Heartless into motion and seeing the events of Heartless from a different character's point of view. This book also sets up the events for Moonblood so once you're done with this book, go read that one. Read it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who is behind the veil? Discover who you are....

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Veiled Rose
Tales of Goldstone Wood 2
By Anne Elisabeth Stengl
This the second book in the series. Book 1 Heartless had a few scenes with Leonard - Prince Lionheart of the Southlands. Veiled Rose is Leo's story and it is the story of Red Rose.
Leo and Red Rose develop a friendship when Leo spends a summer with his cousin in a remote area. Rosie is a young girl whose true appearance is hidden from view by the layers of veils she forever wears. Her only companions are her old father, Beana - nanny goat, her imaginary friend who is a songbird, and the one who haunts her dreams and taunts her. When Leo and Rosie meet their lives are forever altered.
But the town folk who live below the mountain where Rosie lives believe she is the monster of the legends and that she will bring doom upon them all. When Leo's cousin Foxglove sees Leo with Rosie he declares that Leo has been bewitched by the mountain monster. But Leo cannot see the monster that everyone declares Rosie to be.
But as he grows older Leo's mother is determined to see Leo marry whom she desires and the lady of her choice is the Lady Daylily. But Daylily is not as she is expected to be - she is not afraid of anything and she is determined to win Leo and the throne. But Leo's friendship with Rosie is a threat to Daylily's plans.
But when a dragon invades their country and takes the capital and royal family captive Daylily and Rosie save Price Lionheart and together the two young women return to the castle to care for his family while Leo goes search of something that will aid him in quest to defeat the dragon.
But soon Daylily and the rest of the royal family succumb to the noxious fumes of the dragon while Leo continues his quest. Forbidden to leave the castle upon threat of death, Rosie is soon tested in her resolve to protect Leo's family.
As time slowly passes Leo's quest takes him far from home. When he is directed to find a ring to draw the dragon from his homeland, Leo finds himself playing Jester in the court of King Fidel of Parumvir. But Leo is soon tricked into betraying Princess Una though he is at first unwilling to betray her and must be persuaded.
But when the dragon leaves the Southlands can anyone truly be free of the dragon's power and at what cost was their freedom bought?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In "Heartless" we learned the story of Una. Now in "Veiled Rose" we learn of a girl named Rose Red. She has to be one of the sweetest characters in literature.
Rosie wears veils to hide her appearance. She's spunky and stubborn. But perhaps she learned that from her Nanny goat.
As far as Rosie is concerned, all her friends are imaginary. So she's only too happy to make acquaintance with a young impetuous boy called Leo. He's looking for a mountain monster, and thus a friendship begins...
Most of "Veiled Rose" takes place before "Heartless" and as the story overlaps, the reader understands people and hints in the first book that they didn't get before.
The novel is charming as we watch Rosie's and Leo's friendship blossom...and heart-wrenching as we see it start to wither.
The author has weaved a beautiful story here about judging by appearances. The writing will draw you in. You will laugh at childhood antics, you will hold your breath as darkness covers all, you will cry over Rosie's struggles...and you will be dying for the next book "Moonblood."
"Veiled Rose" is a love story. But not in the way you think. It will not disappoint you, I'm sure.
Read this book...read it and learn.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Possibly even better than Heartless!

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kittymom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Veiled Rose is another beautifully-written original fairy tale, second in the Tales of Goldstone Wood. Advice: Read the series in publication order for full appreciation of these books.
Leo and Rose Red are more like real people in their attitudes, reactions, and motivations than the characters in most non-fantasy books I've read recently. And Daylily--she is a cypher. So strong and cold, yet so fragile. This book is quite unpredictable--in good ways.
I loved seeing scenes from Heartless through the eyes of a different viewpoint character--the stories complement each other. This book contains a sylph, a mysterious hidden temple, a boy emperor (who is an awesome character), a hilarious peacock, and, of course, the Dragon and his creepy sister, Life-in-Death.
This book leaves the reader satisfied yet also craving book three, Moonblood!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I expected~

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lis P
Location:New England
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a child, one of my favorite things to do was to curl up with a good fairytale. I grew up reading all of the OZ books, and Andrew Lang's fairytale books, among others. So, it was with great delight that I read this particular novel. It was more than I expected~ all things fairytale, nicely wrapped in a more mature package~ somewhat more intense but not incredibly graphic~ Mysterious girl, nasty monster and a mischievous boy who is developing character throughout. The book references the first book in the series, which makes me want to pick it up, perhaps in time to coincide with the release of the 3rd book in the series in April. If you enjoy a little "Oldworld fantasy" this might be something just up your alley~ it was mine! :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD READ!!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a perfect sequel to Heartless, I also thought it was cool that that the two books were completely inter twined, Must Read.
When I started I couldn't put it down, I read it all through the night and was a little unhappy when it ended, can't wait for Moonblood to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Veiled Rose- a gem!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ah, escaping to a different land, a different time and a different everything- isn’t that a major reason to read a book? In the words of C.S Lewis “Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again”. Well I guess I am there with Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s newest book in her Tales of Goldstone Wood series Veiled Rose. (Or rather in my case, I don’t think I ever stopped reading them). If you are a fantasy fan that loves to read of princes and princesses, dragons and the netherworld then this book is for you.
Our 2 main characters are both intriguing and complex with regards to what they are looking for in this life. Our heroine Rose red has a secret that is hidden behind her special veils- all designed to hide who she really is. She has lived a lonely existence in the forest and hills above Hill House- a mansion housing young Leo who is visiting his relatives for the summer. And Leo is our little boy longing for adventure and looking to defeat the Monster of the hills. He finds adventure all right, but more prominently he finds a fast and true friendship with Rose Red that grows in importance as they do in age throughout the book. As young Leo is the crowned prince of the Southlands or ”Prince Lionheart” as he is known later in the novel, the pressures of his title irk him ,as all he would really like to be is a jester who entertains all those around them with juggling and a song (sung out of tune mind you, but never mind that). Unfortunately both Rose Red and Lionheart have to take separate journeys to try and save the kingdom from the wrath of the Dragon (enter villain), who is absolutely hell-bent on having Rose Red as his very own.
This story is full of adventure, excitement and quite allegorical. The struggles each character goes through in the end show what each is really made of, in how it manifests in their choices. I honestly did not guess Rose Red’s secret until it was revealed to me in the end and I love that when an author can pull that off, it’s pretty rare for me. I will not give that secret away in this review- read it for yourself and find out! The pull of evil in our lives is strong and this book illustrated it beautifully while also showing the great hope and love that the light offers. A great read and one I really recommend. I had not read Heartless before I read this book and did just fine, so now I will have to backtrack and read it.
4 stars.
I was graciously provided a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Veiled Rose

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyfull
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received Veiled Rose from Bethany House publishing to review for free. I am an avid reader, but I had a hard time getting into this particular book. I felt the flow of it was a bit choppy and confusing at times and I couldn't get excited about reading it. I found I just wanted to get through it. It could be because I am not very into fantasy type stories, but I wouldn't recommend it to others especially those I know who share similar interests. The ending was not what I expected either and there were many parts that seemed to drag on.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Confusing But Interesting

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Veiled Rose is a fantasy adventure. But it's one I can't quite figure out. In one way, it has the feel of a children's story, written in the language you usually find in kid's books. Yet it is complex enough a story to confuse me. There are things that seem unexplained to me. When I requested the book, I didn't realize it is book two in a series. Though book one apparently deals with entirely different characters (I haven't read it), I wonder if maybe it set up the background for this story and the world that both take place in. That would explain the details that are never explained, as though the reader is assumed to already have a foreknowledge of some things.
That said, if you start with book one of the "Tales of Goldstone Wood" series, Heartless, you will enjoy this book even more than I did. For I did enjoy it. I love fantasy stories.
Leo is stuck at Hill House for the summer. He is a boy who is tired of the indoors and the company of his boring cousin. When tales of a monster begin circulating, that's all the motivation he needs. He sets off into the forest with his beanpole-weapon in hand. He doesn't realize that what he will find there will alter the course of his life.
Rose Red is a girl who hides in the forest, guarding a secret. Her friends are an imaginary friend and a goat. But her life is changed when she meets Leo. Together they have adventures and hunt the monster. But how far will their quests lead them?
I don't want to tell you more for fear of giving something away. Let me just say: read Veiled Rose!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Should've read the first book in the series first

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've seen many great reviews of this series, but I have to be honest and say that I just didn't "get it." I think it hindered my reading that I didn't read the first book, but the story was just way too cryptic for my tastes.
I liked Leo's character and his growth. I especially liked that the author started to call him by his full name, "Lionheart", when he really became a man instead of a boy. However, I felt off-balance the whole time by his three love interests. The girl that was in the story the least, whom we knew the least about, was the girl that he was in love with. This really confused me and I didn't feel connected to her at all.
I actually liked how complex Daylily's character was, even if she wasn't always likable. At least the reader could understand her feelings and she had some redeeming moments where she did the right thing. I also loved Beana, the goat. She was a great mentor and gave a lot of guidance.
sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
I'm glad this book has so many great reviews, but it wasn't for me. I grew tired of the mixed messages and trying to decipher even the smallest things about the story.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adding Even MORE Depth to Heartless

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell irreversibly in love with Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s writing after reading her spectacular debut novel Heartless (which you can find for free digitally – Kindle, Nook, Epub etc. right now). It is without a doubt a five-star read (you’ll have to wait for my full review because it is still in a moving box somewhere!). In any case, if you read, and loved Heartless know this. Even though Stengl’s first novel stands well on its own without the need of a sequel, Veiled Rose adds even more depth, more characters, and more mystery to the world inhabited by dragons, princesses, princes in exile, and ancient forces of darkness.
At first (feel free to call me dense), I couldn’t see the connections between the two novels. I was caught up in the splendidly mysterious friendship between a young nobleman named Leo and a mysteriously veiled girl who became his constant companion during an unforgettable childhood summer. Only halfway through our story did the pieces start to fall into place. I won’t let you know what I discovered; perhaps it is already obvious to you. What I will assert is that Veiled Rose adds another layer of meaning to Heartless so flawlessly that I simply cannot wait to read Moonblood the series’ conclusion.
Now, you do need to read Heartless at some point, but you could read it before or after. I think I’ll actually double back and read Heartless again through the new eyes Veiled Rose has given me. Whatever you do, you should certainly read it. Stengl has woven another thread of allegorical meaning into her series (though not as pronounced in this second novel), and her new heroine – Rose Red – is so richly imbued with sweet, strong virtues made naturally evident through her life, that she has burst off the page and into my heart.
Tales of Goldstone Wood is a must-read series for fans of Christian fantasy – and, even if fantasy isn’t normally your cup of tea, I can still confidently suggest that Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s works have the potential to just possibly change your mind.
I received a physical copy of this title in exchange for this review. All opinions are genuine and entirely my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Intriguing Read

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
schubertsinger
Location:Raleigh NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second story in the Tales of Goldstone Wood drew me in right from the start and had not one dull or sloggy moment.
This is a fun read and also communicates a beautiful story of God's grace.
There was one thing I didn't expect from reading the official synopsis: I though this was going to be mainly a story about Rose Red, but the story of her friend Lionheart was equally told. It was really fun to find out Lionheart's story as he was such a prominant character in the first book in this series, 'Heartless'.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second book in the Tales of Goldstone Wood is purely amazing, great, and thrilling! I really enjoyed learning more about Leo as well as Rose Red! Both very interesting characters as well as Daylily who made the book come alive! Can't for the third book in this series! A really good book for all ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Veiled Rose - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bekah
Location:CBD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't think it could be any better then the first one but it exceded my expectations. Running parallel to the first one, it gives you another, completely different view of the story. Can't wait for the 3rd one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.