Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook

Kit Kenyon is a first-rate hostage negotiator. Noah Lambert is a good detective with excellent instincts. The new partners have hardly had time to get used to each other when they are thrown into a grisly murder case. As evidence mounts up and more victims are found, Kit and Noah realize they are on the hunt for a serial killer. The problem is, he's hunting one of them too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.68 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reads like a movie watched

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Auntie Bear
Location:McAllen, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book so well written that as you read it you can picture it just like a movie. All the elements of a well written intriguing mystery novel. A page flipping novel to the very end. A book hard to put down
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Ending to the series

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed Kit and Noah's story very much. In the last book in this series the author really kicked up! With the serial killer hunting Kit and Noah I was literally reading on the edge of my seat!. This book stayed true to form with the rest of the series, in that it had mystery, suspense, and romance. This is one of the most checked out series in my church library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Legal Drama and Sweet Romance....

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kit Kenyon is a hostage negotiater. Noah Lambert is a detective. At the beginning of the book, they have just become partners in their department. They are on a case which they soon discover involves a serial killer. His targets have either been promising law students or somehow attached to the college where they were studying. Now he is after Kit and Noah as well.
This is the third book in the Women of Justice series. I read the first book, but not the second. Each story will stand alone. The characters, however, do reappear throughout the series.
I found this story enjoyable; in fact, I stayed up til the early hours of the morning finishing it. The details are rather vivid, so it may not be suitable for the faint of heart. It is not quite as sophisticated as some other suspense authors, but it’s good. I knew early on who the killer was, although there were several good decoys and subplots. Believability was a bit flawed; there is no way the killer would get away with his goal. He cleverly eluded the police with every murder, which indicated intelligence....so I had a bit of a problem with that. But I enjoyed the process of the story. I read for entertainment, so I don’t mind stretching possibilities a bit if the story is interesting. Which this definitely was. The side romance between partners Kit and Noah was also good. I was a bit surprised at some of the thoughts attributed to the characters. Hmm. This is definitely not a Lori Copeland novel. But it’s realistic. So many Christian books aren’t, in my opinion. It’s a pretty tough line to do well. And it continues to be a hot issue in the Christian market. This author seems to draw the line at thoughts and conversation.
All in all I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon1669
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book like the others of hers I have read is a real page turner. Once you start it is hard to lay down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoy this series.

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book meets all my expections of this series. I have also read the other books in the guys in justice series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dinner had to wait

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Douglasville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by this author, and boy, did she deliver! Great characters and story line. I'll be getting more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best read I have had in a long time!!

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
trish
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great characters. Full of twists and turns! I thoroughly enjoy this series. I finished all three books in three days!! Couldn't put it down! I will be looking forward to what Lynette Eason has coming in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
kapow
Location:harrisburg, pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this series...suspense and intrigue with a little bit of romance along with fast paced action keeps you interesed and makes you not want to put it down! I purchased the first book in the series because it was on sale...then, I got hooked!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jan Good
Location:E-town, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was wonderful along with the other 2 books in the series. It is a great mystery book. It has great twists and turns. You are not quite sure who did it until the end. It is a great read. I hope she comes out with more books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense at its best!

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Lynette Eason's Women of Justice series gets wrapped up with "A Killer Among Us" and what a wrap up it is! Each of these books has been more gripping and suspenseful than the last and I have loved all three of them. The bright yellow covers are great because when they show up in the mail I know right away that I am in for a treat and this one did not disappoint!
We get introduced to Kit in the 2nd book when she finds her sisters because she was given up for adoption at birth. She is adjusting to life with lots of family when she gets drawn into the web of a serial killer. She and her new partner, Noah, must try and stop him before anyone else dies but the bodies seem to be dropping like flies. What is the connection? Why is he leaving such weird clues? Can Kit save those that matter to her most?
Awesome, awesome, awesome! This is a series that I really didn't want to see end - I hope that Lynette starts a new suspense series soon because she has a gift for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Had to finish it in one go!

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:SC
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree with another reviewer, this third title can stand alone. However, it's fun to see the people from the first two books reappear.
Likewise I agree with the reviewer about a little much repetition on the romance / attraction.
Also I was suspicious about the role of the attorney general and his sidekick. Their appearances are a little contrived, but needed for the story?
I guessed the perp a few times - wrongly! (: ) Oh well.
I am sorry to give only 4 stars at best: If Ms. Eason reverted to euphemistic cussing (pgs. 190 and 234) shame on her. If the editors snuck this in - shame on them for losing her the fifth star.
A little advice: Start reading early enough if you don't want to lose sleep reading all hours of night to finish the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In the bull's eye

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Kit was teamed with Noah to handle a murder case
that was really bad, she had not idea that soon she would
be the target. This mystery is packed with suspense from
the first page to the end. Lynette Eason never fails to
keep me on the edge of my seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterful Suspense!

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eason is the queen of masterful suspense and this book doesn't disappoint. The case is grim -- gruesome even -- but she matches the grittiness with a touches of humour and romance and has created a breath-taking drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat and turning pages so fast your head will spin! So many clues, so many red herrings, so much fun trying to figure this one out. I love the way Eason makes me feel like I'm right there -- a part of the task force trying to solve the crime.
A Killer Among Us isn't just another wickedly good suspense - it goes much deeper than that because Eason takes the time to flesh out her characters. They compliment the suspense -- draw it even tauter, in fact.
Noah is an engaging hero -- a man who isn't afraid to share his faith with troubled suspects. It's kind of funny and very endearing and adds a light touch to a heavy subject. And Kit is so intense, so driven to prove herself that she's forgotten to keep God in the equation. They are opposites that definitely attract and their romance is a steady undercurrent that flows through the suspense. Both build to a dramatic conclusion that left me blue from holding my breath! If you like suspense, you will love A Killer Among Us.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sisters in Law Enforcement

Date:May 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And then there were three. Sisters that is. Sisters in law enforcement.
Two cops each getting used to having a new partner while trying to find a serial killer.
Who’s the serial killer? My thoughts vacillate with the possibilities, but always I come back to that one person. Ms Eason made it difficult to figure out until you get right down to the wire.
Be sure you have that box of tissues near by as you get towards the end of this book.
Too bad there’s only three of these sisters. I’ve really been enjoying the Women of Justice series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Series!

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
I couldn't even begin to describe how anxious I was to read and review the 3rd and final book in the "Women of Justice" Series ~ "A Killer Among Us!" Lynette Eason has quickly become one of my Favorite Christian Suspense Authors for sure! While this book is the last in the series it easily would read as a stand alone however, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you read the other two ~ "Too close to Home," and "Don't Look Back." A Killer Among Us introduces us to Kit and Noah. Kit is a High Profile Negotiator and Noah is a Detective with not only excellent instincts, but a godly man, and an example to all of those around him.
When these two come together as partners, they both have to learn how to best work with one another. Noah's previous partner had a fatal accident and he still carries the burden and feels responsible. Kit is a strong woman and an excellent negotiator, yet harbors so much pain from her past. Together, these two make an amazing team and the more time they spend together, the more they realize they are attracted to one another. Noah prays Kit can find forgiveness and that God can work in her heart. As they continue to work on the case, they quickly learn they are dealing with a serial killer and may be hunting not just the innocent lives of the law students, but quite possibly, Kit or Noah as well!
I have loved this series. A series about Family, and finding God, despite difficult situations and hurts in your past. I love how Lynette weaves forgiveness and healing into the lives of not only Kit and Noah but Jake, Samantha, Connor, and Jamie! If you like Suspense and Fast paced Action these are the books for you! The only thing that could make this the full package is to add a good romance in and Lynette has done that perfectly!
If you are a CSI fan, or Criminal Minds strikes your fancy then don't walk to your nearest bookstore.....RUN! Grab the Women of Justice Series and a glass of sweet tea and enjoy these books!! You WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
THANK YOU Revell, a Division of Baker Publishing Group for allowing me this complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review!
♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥'s INDEED!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:May 28, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One-by-one law students are dying. Hostage negiotiator Kit Kenyon and her partner, Detective Noah Lambert, must hunt the serial killer known only as The Judge. With a few pieces of confusing evidence as their leads in the case, Kit and Noah struggle to stay safe when they become The Judge's next targets. Kit and Noah are targeted for two completely different purposes, but as they devote time and energy to finding the person behind the killings, they discover there is more than a common goal between them. Grisly murders, recently discovered family issues, and her attractive partner keep Kit's mind occupied. Will they find The Judge before he finds them? Can she ever forgive her mother for the past? And will both of them live long enough to consider more than a working relationship?
I enjoyed A Killer Among Us by Lynette Eason. The plot's pace was perfect – not crazy fast, but not boringly slow. As the evidence grew, so did the twists of the plot and the sense of suspense. The characters were well-written, especially Noah Lambert. He managed to be the hero that is often prevalent in Christian fiction, but not in a preachy or stereotypical way. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of romance in the book. Most crime fiction I've read has a only a hint of romance. A Killer Among Us, while not an over-the-top romance, had lovely little romantic moments that led to a beautiful ending.
A Killer Among Us by Lynette Eason is quite descriptive and therefore more poignant than other comparable Christian suspense books. I actually got creeped out during some of the scenes involving The Judge. Because of that, I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age of fifteen. However, if you can handle some gruesome details and a few minutes in the mind of a deranged serial killer, you will probably enjoy this crime suspense novel. Despite the creepiness, I would read it again.
Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have for your summer reading list

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
addicted reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Killer Among Us is book three in Lynette Eason's Women of Justice Series. I have not read the first two books. I found that this is book can be read with out reading the others.
The book opens with Kit Kenyon in a hostage negotiating situation. A great way to get you started! Her partner, Noah is at a murder scene. You will find yourself captivated by the story line. Kit senses that she may have a stalker on her hands to deal with as well as trying to find who wants her or her partner dead. Not to mention that they need to solve this case before more bodies drop!
I so enjoyed reading this book. The trill of the hunt, you can, say kept my reading. I can say one thing, the ending was a surprise to me, a good surprise by the way.
If you feel the need to add some adventure to your reading list this summer, give this book a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid suspense

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've enjoyed Lynette Eason's Women of Justice series with her strong female leads, solid suspense and appealing romance. A Killer Among Us ticks all those boxes again as hostage negotiator Kit Kenyon, the adopted sister of Samantha and Jamie from the first two books, teams up with Detective Noah Lambert to hunt down a serial killer. Kit and Noah are great characters who I enjoyed getting to know although I did become distracted by the over abundance of references to their attraction to each other. It was great to see Sam, Connor, Jamie and Dakota return and catch up on their lives and watch Kit learn to be a part of a family she didn't know she had. As with Lynette's previous books, the killer stands out from the beginning but she still provides an entertaining and intriguing tale. I look forward to what Lynette has in store next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action Packed

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A top notch hostage negotiator with secret hurts, Kit Kenyon is a determined and driven individual with a heart to help others. Soft spoken, kind-hearted Noah Lambert is out to change the world one person at a time while working as a detective. As new partners they barely have time to get to know one another before a gruesome crime is committed requiring their attention.
This turns out to be more than a random murder when more law students are found murdered and mutilated. In the heat of the search Kit and Noah are target by the killer. Spending every waking hour working on this case Kit and Noah soon find that there is more to their relationship than that of just partners. Secretly Noah is praying for Kit's heart to be changed by God because he cares for her. All the while Kit is trying to hang on to the anger against her adoptive mother so that she does not feel guilty about starting a relationship with her two sisters and birth parents.
As they uncover new evidence and more bodies turn up they find themselves in a web of danger. Just as they think they have it all figured out they find something new that just doesn't quite fit.
Honestly - I was so tempted to turn to the last page and see who the killer really was. There were so many twists and turns that I did not fit the pieces together until close to the end.
This is an excellent book.
Available where Revell books are sold.
Thank you Revell for this review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Killer Among Us, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get ready to buckle yourself in for the ride!!

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, when you pick this book up plan on turning page after page and letting those chores go. Seriously, I couldn't stop reading. To tell you a little about the book, this is the third book in, Lynette Eason's series, Women of Justice. The first two are Too Close To Home and Don't Look Back. If you enjoy, Dee Henderson and Irene Hannon, you are going to love Lynette Eason. Wow, can this girl pull you into a story. She keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout the whole book! Friends, that is a gift.
In, A Killer Among Us, we have Kit Kenyon, who is a hostage negotiator and her new partner? He is Noah Lambert. Of course there is a serial killer and yes, they are on the case. The thing is, they didn't expect to be in the case. Both Kit and Noah have pasts they are trying to escape from and they dive into this case. Noah has gotten peace through his faith and Kit is trying all her might her figure it out on her own. These two characters feed off one another and connect right away. I love Noah's character in how he as a Christian shares Christ with everyone he meets. He doesn't strong arm them, he gently shows them there is hope. Kit is awesome because although her character is strong willed she isn't too wise to learn from others. Lots of life lessons to be taken away from this novel.
This series was filled with suspense that kept me up late until I finished each book. I would say to begin with the first book and follow through the series and you will gain more from, A Killer Among Us. Yes, you could read it separately, but you would miss out on one amazing series!! I enjoy reading, Lynette Eason, because you never know what is going to happen next. Too many times I read a book and after the first chapter you know how the book is going to end. Lynette has that gift of pulling the reader in and making you feel as if you are right there in the midst of the happenings. If your looking for a great series for a summer reading and you love suspense/thriller/romance, this one is for you!!
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>