Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook

Revell Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Putting relatable flesh around Peter and Jesus

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Timothy
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have and will highly recommend this book. It puts flesh around the story of Peter and Jesus as well. It makes them more real and not only allows but encourages intimacy in relationship!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Peter's emotions explored in this book

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joyfull
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice retelling of Peter's story with added emphasis on Peters feelings as he went through life as portrayed in the Bible. Other than the expansion of Peter's emotions it was little more than retelling the story from the Bible. I'm glad it was not unduly embellished. There were several times the author gave good insight into Peter's actions which broadened my biblical understanding, but I wish there had been more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pastor Huntsperger's book is a most enjoyable read

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
BKNY
Location:NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Huntsperger's narrative flows thoughtfully without a ripple! He offers a valuable perspective for those who care to empathize with the struggles non-Christians may wrestle with as they initially experience our Lord. He also provides in this novel valuable, practical insights to help evangelize to children as well as adults. I believe this is highly appropriate reading for teens and early adults. In fact I have purchased several copies to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a very good read

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
shoe2
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gave me much more insight to the apostle Peter. He was so human with all our flaws and short-comings. I really hadn't thought much about his personal and private life. Even though it is a novel it gives much food for thought. I enjoyed this book immensely!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHAT A WONDERFUL BOOK!

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Location:Golden Valley, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't prepared for the very special book that this one is. The spiritual impact has to be tremendous for any committed Christian who reads it carefully. The book stresses Peter's relationship with the Savior, rather than simply being a narration of events. It certainly makes the Apostle Peter come alive--I know that even his New Testament letters will somehow have more "life" for me after reading this book. The author emphasizes that everything he wrote is pure fiction, but I thought that the content through the entire book really enhances the Scriptures' account of Peter's/the disciples' time with the Lord Jesus. I really feel that every Christian should read this unusual, excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

almost a devotional

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:massachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:male
This was avery interesting account of the Miniserial life of Peter. However, it was very anti-Catholic with no real reason to be. I would hesitate before reading other books from this author.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
turtle
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book is awesome! I couldn't put it down. it is very
well written. I would deeply recommend any Christian to read it !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book - a must read!

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teri
Location:Holly, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must agree with MarciGirl. My husband and I had a similar experience a few years ago. The book sat on our shelf for I don't know how long and we don't even recall how we even obtained it. We took it on vacation and were completely and thoroughly blessed. We've purchased more than a dozen copies and given them away to our friends and family. The reaction is consistent. Wow! Wow! Wow!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fisherman, The: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThe Fisherman: A Novel.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Should be on best seller list!!

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MarciGirl
Location:The Villages, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a sleeper...a hidden jewel. Bought it several years ago with several other books...read all the others and this one just sat there. Went on vacation recently and
just happened to open it and read one page. The Holy Spirit must have wanted me to read it now, because I brought it with me. Just finished it. I came away with knowing how much God loves us, how he wants to be our friend, how much he really really cares about us, our feelings, everything! When John wasn't catching fish, and Jesus said throw your nets on this side....and all the fish they caught.....but the perspective was on the fish....how they were fighting to get into the nets...WOW....can you imagine....us fighting to be close to Jesus...to God??!! Read this book. Then read Heaven is for Real by Burpo.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.