Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook

It is the beginning of a new century at Lake Manawa Resort in Iowa, but some things never change. When 22-year-old Emily Graham's meddlesome aunts and grandmother take it upon themselves to find her a husband among the resort guests, the spunky suffragist is determined to politely decline each and every suitor. She has neither the time nor the need for a man in her busy life.Carter Stockton, a recent college graduate and pitcher for the Manawa Owls baseball team, intends to enjoy every minute of the summer at Lake Manawa, Iowa, before he is forced into the straitlaced business world of his father.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book, so much fun to read!

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lake Manawa, Iowa is still growing and Emily Graham is the president of the Council Bluffs Equal Suffrage Club, she is determined to get women the right to vote. Carter Stockton is the pitcher for the Manawa Owls baseball team and plans to enjoy his first summer since graduating from college.
Emily's great aunts are trying to find her a husband and trying to get her to forget about the women's vote. The first man they try to set her up with, she knocks out with a horseshoe. You see, Emily is a klutz, that's how Carter happened to get involved with her this summer, she was skating and she fell. She says her fall caused Carter to topple on her but he insists he ran into her so he feels responsible for her getting hurt. Carter takes her home and soon finds himself helping Emily's grandmother with her bank account which keeps coming up short of money, the account is in the bank owned by his father and run by his brother.
This was a very fun book to read, Lorna had me when she started with the roller skating, that is how I met my husband and my aunt and uncle also met roller skating! Also, I love the klutziness of Emily, we have a klutz in our family, our granddaughter, we always say she can trip over her own feet, she is ditzy besides and she isn't even a blonde, lol. I found myself giggling throughout this book and yes there was a spot when I fought back a tear too. I don't see how anyone would not love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this book for my daughter. She really enjoyed reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lorna Seilstad hits a HOMERUN with A Great Catch!

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back Cover:
She wants to change the world.
He wants to change her mind.
It's the beginning of a new century at Lake Manawa resort in Iowa, but some things never change. When Emily Graham's meddlesome aunts and grandmother take it upon themselves to find her a husband among the resort guests, the spunky suffragist is determined to politely decline each and every suitor. She has neither the time nor the need for a man in her busy life.
Carter Stockton, a recent college graduate and a pitcher for the Manawa Owls baseball team, intends to enjoy every minute of the summer before he is forced into the straitlaced business world of his father.
When their worlds collide, neither Emily nor Carter could have guessed what would come next. Will Carter strike out? Or will Emily cast her vote for a love that might cost her dreams?
The perfect summer novel. A Great Catch will enchant you with its breezy setting and endearing characters.
My Favorite Scene:
Let me "set the scene" for my favorite scene in the book. While Emily was very headstrong and fought for what she believed in she also felt awkward and clumsy and, in her eyes, never measured up. She had stood by and watched her aunts Millie and Ethel set her up with men that were very undesirable. Emily had started coming into her own by this point and had gained alot of confidence in herself and her abilities. Her aunts introduced her to yet another possible suitor and it couldn't have come at a worse time. Emily had just been insulted and pounded with rotten tomatoes at her suffrage speech and she was in no mood for matchmaking. Given the fact that her "suitor" was the town's undertaker didn't help matters.
"By the time Emily approached the cabin, the familiar heaviness of last night had closed in around her.Tears made paths through the tomato smears on her cheeks. Never had she felt more alone.
"There you are, Emily." Aunt Millie toddled down the path toward her. "Oh my, what happened?"
"One of the men didn't like the color of my dress today."
"Oh dear." Her aunt looped her arm in Emily's."We have to get you cleaned up."
"Why? What's going on?"
"We're trying to help you ease the torment in your soul, dear."
Emily raised her eyebrows. "And how do you intend to do that?" Stopping on the path, Emily saw exactly how her two aunts planned to do it, and he appeared to be the town's undertaker sitting in a rocking chair beside Aunt Ethel.
"Is that--"
Aunt Millie patted her hand. "No hasty judgments, dear. Dudly has an excellent job with a steady Clientele, and he's dying to meet you."
A moan rose in Emily's throat. She held out her splattered skirt. "Look at me. Smell me. I can't meet anyone tonight even if I wanted to, which I do not."
"Now, dear, you can't very well turn him away. He came all the way from the city." She pulled her forward. "Besides, I don't think the bad smell will bother him one bit. In his profession, I would guess he gets used to horrible stenches."
What did Emily care if she offended Dudly Lynch? She didn't want to be courted by him or anyone else, and the sooner he learned that, the better.
With a sigh, she marched up to the paunchy middle-aged man and stuck out her hand. Dudly's handshake, cold and limp, made Emily wince. And the thick beard hanging off the man's chin did nothing to compensate for the lack of hair on his head.
"Hello, Mr. Lynch." Emily squared her shoulders. " I believe women should have the right to vote. I believe they are every bit as intelligent , talented and able as men, and I believe they should say exactly what is on their minds. Don't you agree?"
"I... uh..."
"Good. So, here's what is on my mind." She tugged on her shirtwaist, ignoring Aunt Ethel's glare and Aunt Millie's gaping mouth. " I don't want to entertain a suitor right now. I want to go inside and wash away my unfortunate meeting with a couple of tomatoes. Is that all right with you, sir?"
"Uh... yes... of course."
"And please forgive my aunts for dragging you out here. I would say I hope this turns into a profitable business trip for you, but given your occupation, please understand although I'd sometimes like to kill these two, I won't do so today."
Yes, indeed, the fiesty Emily put her foot down and spoke her mind yet again. I absolutely LOVED this part in the book and sometimes wish I had the gumption Emily displayed in this scene. It was Laugh Out Loud funny and very well written.
The Characters:
Emily Graham: A fighter of the women's suffragist movement. She believes in the right for women to vote and be treated as equals. She took a stand for those beliefs and for every woman out there who were too afraid to stand up for themselves. She is fiesty, spunky and clumsy. A very special combination.
Carter Stockton: A college graduate and a lover of baseball, Carter prefers to be on the field rather than work in his Father's stuffy bank. He is fun-loving and a very spiritual man who trusts God to forge his path in life.
Grandma Kate: Grandma Kate supports Emily in everything she does. When Emily's aunts are pointing out her faults, Grandma Kate is building her self-confidence and helping her find her spiritual relationship with God.
Aunt Ethel and Aunt Millie: The meddlesome twosome. They are always trying to push a suitor on Emily whether she wants one or not.
My Thoughts:
This was a very light-hearted read. A fun book for the summer or any time of the year. It had the right ammount of spiritual reference without over doing it. The characters were well thought out and fun to get to know. I'm so glad Marguerite and Lilly, from Making Waves book 1 in this series, played such a big part of this book. I just adored their characters. The historical details were very accurate and eye-opening. I never knew there was a "Bloomer Girls" baseball team and after reading this book I checked out their history. Very fascinating indeed. This story was very well written and I would recommend it to anyone who loves Spirituality, romance and history. You get a healthy dose of each! It's hard to believe this was Lorna Seilstad's second book. She is an author to add to your "Watch" list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caught a great catch

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy N.
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. The characters were so rich and fun. I loved the story line and how the author portrays realism in the characters. The setting was real to me as well. I so enjoyed this book that I wished it hadn't ended. I love baseball too, so that was an added benefit. I could almost hear the voices of Emily's aunts. Too funny. Glad they aren't mine! I highly recommend this book for a wonderful escape from reality into a world so different than ours today. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something different!

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayerpower
Location:St. Petersburg FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a different kind of historical novel - one about baseball! The characters are true to life, the setting is pleasant, and overall it is an enjoyable reading experience. Emily has many of the same conflicts within herself that young woman of today have, and she works through them in interesting and often comical ways. I especially liked her match-making aunts and the kind way she responded to their efforts to find her a husband! All in all, a fun book to read and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Fowlow
Age:35-44
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Catch tells the 1901 tale of Emily Graham and Carter Stockton as they both take steps towards each other and spiritual maturity. Emily is a petite yet clumsy spitfire out to change the world so that women can vote. Carter is a playful yet hardworking honorable man who loves baseball and is avoiding working indoors at his father's bank. They collide rollerskating and you've got the start to a great story.
I loved the sense of humor, the play on words, and depth of personalities in this novel - just superb! Cannot wait for the next installment on Lake Manawa.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually enjoyed this book more than the first one in the series, Making Waves. In Making Waves the main focus was on sailing which was nice, but sailing isn't an interest of mine, in this book the focus is on a baseball team in Lake Manawa resort, which I love baseball so I could really enjoy the story line. I liked the way the characters were written, personalities, likes, dislikes. And the research was good. Worth reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this author. Love the book.

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hepp
Location:Crossfield, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fun read as well as lessons on following the Lord.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vote Yes for Women's Rights

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet Emily Graham and catch up with old friends in A Great Catch by Lorna Seilstad as we see Emily take to spending the summer at Lake Manawa with her 2 Aunts Ethel and Millie and Grandmother Kate. Along this journey , we also meet Emily's best friends Marguerite and Lily whom you may remember from Book #1 Making Waves. Emily's goal in life is to become one of the top Woman Suffragettes in America and to get the bill passed that women can cast the vote . As we can recall in history, this was one of the biggest movements in politics- the right for women to vote and for me , it is why one of my Idols in New Zealand is Kate Sheppard as she lead the cause in NZ. Emily is not interested in men and settling down playing house , however her aunties and grandmother have other ideas as we read about Emily's blind dates . However, it seems that Emily has captured the heart of newcomer Carter Stockon - a new pitcher for the Lake Manawa Owls Baseball team . He is eager to court Emily, but soon discovers that he will have his hands full and that it won't be an easy task as Emily is one of the most stubborn females around and she won't let herself be pushed around by men. It is soon discovered though that Emily is too falling for Carter, but as A Great Catch continues , we see Emily hit a cross-road in her life - will she abandon her dream of becoming a women suffragette to court Carter or will she choose a path of women suffragettes leaving Carter behind in the dust ? Or will she be revealed the opportunity to have both in her life ?
Find out which path Emily will take in Lorna Seilstad's A Great Catch and another great addition to her Lake Manawa Series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humorous and insightful

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patty Wysong
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hooked in under 50 words.
Lorna Seilstad had me smiling and turning pages from beginning to end. Little bits of humor are sprinkled throughout the book, making for a very enjoyable and relaxing read.
The main characters, Emily and Carter, are easy to relate to, fun to be with. They made me evaluate the things I believe about myself, my tactics to avoid things I don't want to deal, and how much time I'm spending with God. Very valuable things all dealt with in a gentle, fun-loving way.
The secondary characters are charming and full of their own life and color, without stealing the show. Lake Manawa brings to life a by-gone era, making me wish I could visit and stay awhile. Women's rights and baseball made for a great combination and I loved the details included in A Great Catch.
Over all, I found this to be a truly delightful read that I hated coming to the end of, and I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Homerun for sure!

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a sassy suffragist and an all-star pitcher collide (literally!) the sparks fly. Emily Graham, a single leader of Lake Manawa's local women's Suffrage movement , doesn't want anything to do with love. She's focused on fighting for the right to vote and keeping herself in one piece. Local Manawa Owls pitcher and banker's son, Carter Stockton is more focused on the game than on following in his father's footsteps. When Emily and Carter have a chance meeting at the skating rink things become even more complicated. Throw in a few meddling aunts and a matchmaking grandmother and you have a ball game!
Yep, baseball fans are in for a treat with this one too! There are Owls and there are Bloomers. Both the men and the women's baseball leagues do their part to bring to light the need for a woman's voice to be heard. While the Owls commit to the rather unconventional game somewhat begrudgingly, Emily, with the help of Carter eventually brings them around. You may or may not see a certain Owl player don a dress for the big game. Snatch up a copy of A Great Catch to read and see what happens. I can almost guarantee that you will laugh out loud.
As the second book in the Lake Manawa Summers series, A Great Catch does not disappoint. If you are looking for a light-hearted pick me up with a message look no further. Emily's fight to stay ahead of her matchmaking family and remain president of the women's suffrage league will have you in stitches. Poor Emily doesn't have to left feet, I think she has three! Watching Emily grow in her faith and learn to slow down to prevent tripping up both in life and faith is certainly an unpredictable journey. Carter isn't without his own dilemmas and must learn to follow his own advice. I really appreciated that both heroine and hero had some growing up to do and some compromises to make in order to make a success of their relationship.
**Infuencer copy provided by publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home Run!

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s 1901, and Emily Graham is president of the local suffrage club seeking the rights of women to vote. She’s only 22, but she knows what she wants and will do anything to accomplish her goals. Who needs a man? Most of them are against the suffrage movement, and besides, she doesn’t have time. She also doesn’t have time to seek God’s will. Surely He’s good with what she’s doing.
When nonathletic Emily crashes into Manawa Owls’ pitcher, Carter Stockton, at the roller rink, an unlikely romance sparks. Carter eats-breathes-lives baseball in much the same way as Emily exists for suffrage. One major difference is that his top priority is seeking the Lord. Carter’s father and older brother are waiting (not very patiently) for him to outgrown this baseball phase and join them in the banking business.
Emily hatches a grand plan to invite the Bloomer Girls, a women’s baseball team, to play the Manawa Owls in a visible promotion of the suffrage movement. Carter agrees–with one condition. Emily–anything but an athlete–must play for the Owls.
A Great Catch is a tale of summer love in an Iowa resort town and an often humorous look at the historical suffrage movement with a cameo visit by the main character of the first novel in the series, Marguerite Andrews. Interlaced throughout is the hilarious plan of Emily’s two great-aunts and her grandmother to marry Emily off, and the more serious theme of making time for God in one’s life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't miss reading A GREAT CATCH!

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A GREAT CATCH is the second of Lorna's three books in her Lake Manawa Summers series. I loved her first book,Making Waves, and A Great Catch delighted me even more. I couldn't help but fall in love with Lake Manawa and it's population of loveable, and sometimes quirky, characters. Lorna can weave a tale that makes you feel as though you're living alongside the people in her stories. I love to laugh out loud when I'm reading and Lorna's stories give you sheer enjoyment. I can't wait for the third book The Ride of Her Life to come out. If you haven't read Making Waves, I'd recommend you picking it up at the same time you get A Great Catch. Each of her books can be read as a stand-alone, but you don't want to miss out on one single adventure or love story in her delightful historical romances.
Revell does a fabulous job on the book covers. They are beautifully done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT CATCH? MUST READ!

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Regina
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorna Seilstad hits a home-run with her latest in the Lake Manawa Summer Series, A GREAT CATCH.
Emily Graham is set to prove to the world that she can make a difference for the cause of suffrage. After all, God has to be in favor of her doing something so worthy, so why bother Him with asking if it’s what she should be doing. Carter Stockton is trying to avoid being tied to his father’s banking business, and is on his way to becoming a professional baseball player. It may be his last chance at doing something he truly loves, but he’s spending the summer leading the Lake Manawa Owls to an undefeated season, much to the chagrin of his overly-serious brother, who thinks he should settle down and take his place as one of his underlings. Could banking, the very idea of which makes his spirits sink, be God’s will? Surely not. Why would He give him the desire to play ball if he were to spend the rest of his life in a bank cubicle?
Thus begins the story of love and spiritual growth of Emily and Carter. Former Schoolmates, Emily is secretly thrilled when she catches the eye of handsome Carter, but mortified that he always seems to see her at her very worst, and usually has to fish her out of precarious situations. How can anyone like him love someone so plain and clumsy? At least that’s the way she sees herself.
Lorna’s book will make you stop and think about your own walk with Christ, but in a way that makes you want to read on, and on, and on. You will laugh out loud at the characters’ antics and conversations. There are places that make your heart stop with worry that our couple have gone too far apart to reconcile. There are places that make you feel that you are there, in the historical Lake Manawa park, taking part in all the activities available. The supporting cast of characters includes folks from the first Lake Manawa book, MAKING WAVES, and more importantly, Emily Graham’s grandmother and great-aunts, and Carter Stockton’s baseball team and the “bloomer team” of lady baseball players.
If you want to have a great time this summer, read A GREAT CATCH. You will definitely find yourself looking for the nearest lakeside resort and baseball diamond! Pass one of those hot dogs over here, please?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caught Me! Great summer Read!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve seen Making Waves and A Great Catch book covers and they both have made me stop in my tracks and pick them up to look inside. When the opportunity came to receive a review copy of this book I jumped at the chance to read A Great Catch.
Life on Lake Manawa, Iowa in 1901 was amusing and humorous to read about. This novel was not all fluff, but showed what Emily Graham went thru in her fight to get women the right to vote. Not everyone wanted change including the women.
Emily is twenty-two years old. Her Aunt’s Millie and Ethel and her Grandma Kate all are on a mission to get Emily married. The most important thing for a woman was to be married. Didn’t Emily understand it was more important than helping women to get the right to vote? After all Emily was twenty-two now and some men did not want a woman that advanced in age!
Emily was determined to fight the good fight for the right to vote. She wanted to make her own decisions, think for herself, and not have to answer to anyone! She didn’t need someone to tell her what to do!
Grandma Kate tells Emily, “We all answer to someone. I answer to God, and so do you…Men and women are equal…But equal doesn’t mean identical. Men aren’t unnecessary; dear…your grandpa was a part of me. We faced the world together. That’s how God planned It.!”
Emily wasn’t going to let a man run her life, but what about God? Had she even asked Him about His plans for her life? Would He make her stop fighting for women’s rights? She was afraid to ask!
Then she literally bumps into Carter Stockton, recent college graduate, and a pitcher for the Manawa Owls baseball team; at the roller skating rink. Carter asks Emily out to the theatre along with her Aunts to see a play about women’s rights. She realizes Carter may not be the one for her – was he making fun of her passion for women’s rights by taking her to this play? Carter thinks she may not be the one for him as he realizes Emily is much too obsessed with the women’s rights movement by being the chapter president, writing articles about the subject and holding rally’s. She was willing to give up time with God to do this too! God was his passion. That and baseball!
Sparks start to fly when Emily gets the idea to write the Bloomers Girls Team to play against a men’s baseball team in her hometown. She asks Carter if his team would and he agrees to this under one condition…Emily plays short stop on his team! Emily’s insecurities about being physically uncoordinated rise to the forefront and she hesitates. She would do almost anything for the cause, but play baseball?
I enjoyed the historical aspect to the story very much. The author says, “The Bloomer Girls team was real and existed form 1890-1934. Not only was this team providing a form of entertainment but it’s main reason to exist was to show the world they could hit, field, slide and catch as well as any man!”
This author made me want to live in the small town of Lake Manawa, where street cars, horses and walking were the main ways to get around and life was simple. The town marveled at electricity and was thankful they had lights at night. The characters were believable, and made you want to hang out with them. This author showed change of any kind wasn’t easy or welcome by men and women. I enjoyed Carters and Emily’s spiritual struggle. Even though times were very different their spiritual struggle is universal and reminded me of what’s really important in life.
A Great Catch is a historical romance novel that gives an intriguing look at love, romance and marriage. I highly recommend this as a great summer read or any time! I’ll definitely be reading more from this author!
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun for summer!

Date:June 4, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a fun summer read, I definitely recommend this book. I found myself laughing in some spot and just thoroughly enjoying this book. This is the second book in the Lake Manawa Summers Series. I haven't read Making Waves but I had no difficulty following along and am now looking forward to reading the first book in this series.
Emily Graham is a 22-year-old woman who is independent and in some ways, headstrong. While at a resort, her aunts and grandmother decide that she it's time for her to settle down and find a man to marry. Each person brought before her was turned down. She just couldn't find a need for a man in her life, not to mention that she had no time at all for one in her life. When she goes roller skating, she accidentally runs into a man, Carter Stockton, who is a pitcher for the Manawa Owls. While Carter is trying to prove that he's meant to play baseball instead of working in a family business, will Emily decide that perhaps it's time for her to allow a man into her life? Perhaps Carter will decide that Emily is a great catch for him in his life.
_______________________
This book is available in May 2011 at your favorite bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great summer read!

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
abookandacuppa
Location:Prairie Village, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I had so much fun reading this book! It was a delight to read about the young suffragette, Emily, and her relationships with her spry grandmother, interfering aunts, brother, and a local baseball player.
It is refreshing to read a Christian novel with references to women's rights. This novel celebrates following God's path for our lives!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3 1/2 Stars

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Lorna Seilstad returns to the delightful Lake Manawa setting with another uplifting and cheery tale, A Great Catch. Drawing on a unique time when women were petitioning to be allowed to vote, Lorna has captured the dedication of a devoted suffragist in Emily Graham and her conflicted feelings towards men. Insecure about her clumsiness and determined to remain an independent woman, Emily is suddenly confronted with the very appealing Manawa Owls baseball pitcher, Carter Stockton. Carter has his own issues with an overbearing brother and a family expecting him to work in the family banking business but sees beyond Emily's . Lorna skilfully infuses humour, faith and romance and while it dragged a little towards the end for me, A Great Catch is still a fun read that will keep you engaged and smiling to the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Fun Summer Read

Date:May 31, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suffragist Emily Graham is determined to change the world. A natural-born leader who speaks her mind about injustices, Emily is not about to let men control her or the nation. She’s determined to show the men of the town, the men of the world, and maybe even God that a woman deserves the right to vote. Unfortunately, sometimes her own two feet get in the way. Emily is known for her clumsiness and when a mishap at the skating rink lands her in Carter Stockton’s arms, their worlds collide. Carter, the attractive pitcher for the Manawa Owls, isn’t so concerned about changing the world as he is changing the minds of his family. He’s out to prove that playing baseball, rather than working in the family business, is the life for him. However, as Carter’s and Emily’s lives become entangled by romance, baseball, and the suffragist movement, both of them must reconsider their true goals.
A Great Catch by Lorna Seilstad is the second book in the Lake Manawa Summers series. I have not read the first book and I thought this book was fine as a stand-alone. I wish there had been more development of Carter’s character. In the beginning he was a little cliché and while he did go through some mental and spiritual growth, his character development seemed to take second place to Emily’s development. Using Emily’s meddling aunts to provide humor in the story was a good move by the author. It kept Emily on her toes and provided some lighthearted moments. The suffragist movement was an intriguing element in the plot. I really do not know much about it, so I learned a little history while reading this book.
Overall, A Great Catch is a good read for someone looking for a light, romantic read with a dose of humor.
Available May 2011 at your favorite bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Great Catch, A: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromA Great Catch, Lake Manawa Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book, and was happy to see some friends from Making Waves in it.
And, yes, by the time I got to the end and through the author’s note, I did need that box of tissues.
We’re talking about one headstrong young lady who’s out to change the world, and one young man set on enjoying the summer playing baseball.
This book is not only entertaining, but heart warming as well. It’ll make you smile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>