Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook

Revell When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook

Where is God when a job is lost, a child goes astray, or the diagnosis is cancer? With compassionate insight, Shepherd uses practical strategies to help you see God in every circumstance---and use your sorrow to draw closer to him. Learn how to pray through the pain and find peace, hope, and joy again!
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Review 1 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seeing God in Every Circumstance

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra Caprella
Location:Lima, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book speaks to real life situations that relate to everyone at one time or another. It is Bible based and Spirit filled. It is a good basis for a life's journey with God or a new discovery of God if you are a new believer. It is easy to read and chock full of rich rewards. It shows basic principles in a new light and you can feel the touch of God through this book. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel closer to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the book & study guide

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
d jurly
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book for any woman of any age. Her personal story makes what she has learned from it so real to others.
I thought the back of the book's study guide had wonderful questions to do on your own or within a group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems that more often than not when circumstances spiral out of our control that God seems to be far away from us. Linda Evans Shepherd offered excellent insght in her new book, When You Can't Find God.
From envying others, especially those who do not know God – ever done that? Believe that celebrities etc. have it all and we Christians are left with all the heartaches? Yep, me too.
"Comfort and prosperity have never enriched the world as much as adversity has." ~ Billy Graham, quote that starts Chapter 1 of When You Can’t Find God
To our burdens that Jesus promises to carry, our hurts He promises to heal and our bitterness He promises to take away.
"We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations." ~ Charles Swindoll, quote that starts Chapter 10 of When You Can’t Find God
Linda gives us hope with her words of understanding, scripture verses and stories of how God shows His presence amidst difficulties, with real life examples from the lives of others. Ultimately peace and joy are ours if we only allow Him to bring us to ourselves to receive it with His help and power.
"Perhaps God brings us to the end of our resources so we can discover the vastness of His."~ Neil T. Anderson, quote that starts Chapter 12 of When You Can’t Find God
This is a wonderful book that allows us to regain our focus as we walk through difficult circumstances. We highly recommend it.
Disclosure: I received this book in exchange for a review, but that in no way influences my thoughts and opinions - they are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From the Heart

Date:June 4, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to ask the question "Where is God when...?" When a mom is diagnosed with cancer and only has 2 months or less to live and has to leave behind her 2 young children, where is God? Where is God when a mother looses her firstborn child before she is even able to hold her in her arms? I think all of us are full of these questions. However, we forget that God is still there. He's still with us, drawing us closer to Him, if we will only choose to let Him come closer to us.
This book is an encouraging book that reminds us to pray through those tough times and to find the peace and hope that only God alone can give, which also produces the joy that we find when we are resting in Him. Linda Shepherd knows this first-hand as she has walked this path in her own personal life. Her now adult daughter was in a car wreck 20 years ago and suffered severe brain damage. Linda learned that the only way to find that peace she so desperately needed was not to put aside the hard questions, but to ask them and have faith and cling to what God has said and know that He alone is in control even when we don't understand. How encouraging!
If you've ever asked the questions "Where's God when...?" then this book's for you!
___________________
This book is available in May 2011 at your favorite bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging for everyone

Date:June 4, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence by Linda Evans Shepherd (Revell, 2011):
If you want to trust God more, especially in the dark places of life, the new book by Linda Evans Shepherd is for you. And don't we all want to trust God more? When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence is her newest release and it offers both practical and spiritual principles coupled with her stories of how God has worked in her life and in the lives of others.
Linda has learned to trust God in many hard places of life. Over twenty years ago, she and her daughter, an infant at the time, were in an automobile crash that severely disabled her little girl. Linda tells other riveting stories that made my faith grow stronger by knowing a loving God who uses everything for good.
One of her most endearing stories to encourage the reader to find real joy by experiencing God's love, is of Jim, her son, when he was a toddler. After shopping in the mall, she realized how tired Jim was. She writes, “That's when Jimmy suddenly flopped to the white-tiled floor. 'I'm tired,' he said, grabbing my snow boot in an arm lock. 'Could you drag me for a while?'
Of course, she picked him up and carried him and relates how this represents a trusting relationship with God. “We get so focused on our prayer requests that we forget he longs to have a deeper relationship with us...Just as I didin't want to drag my son down a dusty floor and into the parking lot, God doesn't want to drag us through the muck of this world. He wants to lovingly scoop us into his everlasting arms and carry us through our difficulties.” (pgs 167-168).
When You Can't Find God is written for every Christian since there are always times when God seems distant. I also would pass this book along to any person who is open to reading about God but hasn't yet made Jesus their Lord and Savior. It's a readable, encouraging and inspirational book that makes you feel like God cares and that it is possible to trust Him more.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Pat Answers

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
M. Pieper
Location:Mount Dora, FL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God will take care of you." "Just trust Him." "He's got you in His hands." "God never closes a door but He opens a window." "He's got something better for you--wait and see." These statements carry varying degrees of truth. But all are pat answers--trite statements that lose their meaning because we use them so often.
As a mother whose now-adult daughter suffered severe brain damage in a car accident more than twenty years ago, Linda Shepherd could write the book on pat answers. I'm thankful she didn't. Her new release, WHEN YOU CAN'T FIND GOD: HOW TO IGNITE THE POWER OF HIS PRESENCE (Revell, 2011) explores the mystery of experiencing the holy in the hurt.
The book combines biblical, practical teaching with powerful, personal stories that help draw readers toward God. Highlighted callouts and chapter-ending features including "Oasis" (a Psalm or other avenue for finding and resting in God) and "Prayer Experience" (the author's own prayer to pray or adapt) point readers to the Father.
When I'm hurting, I need a friend--not an expert. When I'm confused, I need truth--not the enemy's lies. When I'm in pain, I need a healing dose of Holy Spirit power--not pat answers or pious platitudes. WHEN YOU CAN'T FIND GOD, with its warm, compassionate tone, contains all three.
Read it and receive an inoculation against pat answers. Embrace it and allow the Truth to set you free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When You Can't Find God: How to Ignite the Power of His Presence - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every person can relate to this book.

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Englund Murphy
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't think there is a person alive who has not struggled with "finding God" through times of difficult circumstances, or wondering if He even cares. If you are one of those people, Linda's book will help you walk through your pain and awaken you to an understanding of God's tremendous love and purpose for your life. Your problems may not go away, but you will face them with renewed hope and joy. This is a book of substance, NOT pages of feel-good "fluff".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.