Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible

Thomas Nelson Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible

All the essentials you need to study the biblical text without knowing Hebrew or Greek! Find what you really need in the Bible and discover the meanings of Bible words. Combining the expert scholarship of Strong and Vine, this volume enhances your Bible studies by helping you easily locate, understand, and apply the meaning of scriptural words and passages. An indispensable multipurpose tool for studying both Old and New Testament words! With The New Strong's Concise Concordance of the Bible entries for words not likely to be used to locate Bible passages have been elimated or condensed. No Strong's numbers are included. Vine's covers thousands of Greek and Hebrew words in one easy access A-Z listing. Each entry includes how the word is used, key occurrences in the Bible, the English translation and definitions of its various uses in the Old or New Testament. Features include:
  • Clear, easy to read typeface
  • An authoritative dictionary and concordance in one convenient book
  • In-depth reference information for students, pastors, teachers, or for personal Bible study
  • Locate, understand and apply the meaning of biblical words and passages
  • An indispensable tool for studying both Old and New Testament words
  • Exclusive fan tab thumb index
1176 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Review 1 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Buy

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Missey
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this book as a gift and it was truly appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book meets my expectations

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
velmacrown
Location:Afton, WY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm involved in two Bible studies along with church and Sunday School. This concordance and dictionary has been helpful and I trust will continue to help me and my husband. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study tools

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Guffy
Location:Puyallup, Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for the serious student of God's word. It brings an in depth meaning to words through the study of the Hebrew and Greek. It is especially useful when used in combination with the Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kitkat
Location:Brattleboro, VT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the Stong's Concordance and Vine's Dictionary. The only problem l have with it, is that l have to use a magnifying glass in order to read it because the print is so small. This would not defer me from purchasing it as it is a great use in our Bible Studies that we do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline Nichols
Wasn't too sure after reading the reviews, but my daughter, who goes to a Christian college seems to love it. She asked for Strong's Concordance for Christmas and I bought this dual book instead. If she's happy, I'm happy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tim Balty
Ouch! I completely missed the fine print that states, "No Srtong's numbers are included." A waste of money for non Greek-Hebrew readers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Travis Evans
This book is very useful, I really am glad that I got it. I would recommend it for anyone, though perhaps the scholars out there might find it inadequate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deb Chandler
Somehow I was slightly disappointed. Of course, it's still Strong's and Vine's but it seems too small. I think I would have preferred to get the two seperate (and big) like I've been used to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Strong's Concise Concordance and Vine's Dictionary of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Annzella W.
The key word here is "concise" but a better term would be "gutted." You are NOT getting the two great reference works in one cover. This book does NOT contain the Strong's Greek and Hebrew dictionaries, which are sometimes better than Vine's in explaining the use and origin of a word. For that reason, I was disappointed. It's a good book for those who simply desire a topical understanding.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.