Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC Saving Winston, DVD

Pure Flix Entertainment, LLC Saving Winston, DVD

A heartfelt story about a lost teen seeking a second chance! After being forced into drug rehab, Ashley goes to live with her aunt, a horse trainer. When she discovers Winston, a malnourished horse behind a neighbor's barn, she's determined to rescue the starving animal. Will Winston and her newfound love for God help her find salvation? Dove approved. 86 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 1258%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saving Winston, DVD
Review 1 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great promo, but poor movie

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor G
Location:Ontario, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this DVD in this hopes of showing it to our church youth group. The bio and story line sounded good and I guess in a way it was ok. The movie ran for 98 minutes but really only had enough story and action for 30. Lots of lovely scenery, background music and fluff. Beyond that it was time wasted. There is no way this dragging, poorly written story line would keep the interest of any audience.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Quiet Giant!

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
3777
Location:Portland, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While the movie moved very slowly and contained very little dialogue...the music, cinematography and scenery was absolutely beautiful!
As I said, the movie moved very slowly but at the end of the movie it became clear, from our perspective, that this is "exactly" how GOD moves...very tenderly, quietly and with exquisite care for each individual. We wept as we felt HIS presence in "Ashe's" troubled life reborn. "Wonderful Movie"!
I went searching for the soundtrack and even accompaniment cd's but found none...very disappointed. I would love to see this soundtrack produced and distributed. Also, I would "love" to find Liesel Brooks song "Broken"...what an amazing ballad of an individuals struggle and GOD'S amazing grace!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute family movie but very typical

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice family movie, has a good message but it a very typical storyline. Great for horse lovers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This movie is boring

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ladybug
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The movie's dialogue is so stilted, cheesy,and slow. Not at all what I thought it would be. It would not keep anyone's attention. I think the filmmaker tried making an 'artsy' film, but it really fell flat. Would not recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was somewhat slow

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susie N Mccurdy
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought this would be a good movie for our girls for a movie night, but it was so slow, I didn't get through it, so I know it wouldn't work for tweens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MWLJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our family was very disappointed in this film. If you watch the trailer you have nearly seen the entire movie. The rest of the film was filled with images of the countryside accompanied by repetitive piano music. We have four teenagers in our family and they were extremely disappointed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A movie with a lot of heart

Date:March 6, 2012
Ashley is a troubled teen who is sent to live with her Aunt Diane after being released from treatment. Ashley adamantly pushes her aunt out of her life. When she discovers a neglected horse, Ashley seeks Diane's assistance in helping the horse (whom she names Winston) to recover. In doing so, Ashley sees that there is more to life than her own problems. She also sees for the first time that Winston isn't the only one who is broken.
One of my favorite parts about this movie is the example Ashley's Aunt Diane sets for her. Diane is a strong Christian who, while not perfect, seeks to live her life for Christ. Diane never preaches at Ashley, but instead shows her what it means to be a Christ follower through her own actions. Diane's patience, kindness, and compassion do not go unnoticed by Ashley. We also see at the beginning of the movie that Diane is praying for Ashley. It's a fair assumption that Diane continues to pray for her young niece throughout the entire movie and never gives up on Ashley, even though Ashley stumbles and, at times, yields to temptation.
There are some great discussion points in this movie. Ashley struggles with drug abuse. While on probation, she is instructed to have no contact with her boyfriend. Yet, she makes the mistake of disobeying that order. It is a good example of why the choices we make are so important. They not only affect us, but also affect others. While there is some deep subject matter, I found this movie to be appropriate for those ages nine and up.
Saving Winston is slow at times, but the end result is worth it. This movie has heart and shows how, no matter how broken we are, Jesus still loves us and yearns for us to find salvation and peace through Him.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent movie

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
carpenterson
Age:55-65
Gender:male
a heartwarming movie about God rescuing a troubled teen with the help of an orphaned horse. Beautiful sound track as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The movie was slow - the message, great

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in the movie - there was not enough action to hold a teenager's attention, in my opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunbear
Location:Dade City, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was a good movie and would be good for teenagers to view and as a family.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching story

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
sidesaddle
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful and heartfelt story with a wonderful salvation scene!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Saving Winston, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really great movie

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Misty
Location:Eugene OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best movies I have seen, good moral
values. Would recommend this movie to everyone, a must see.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.