Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook

Bethany House No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Review 1 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminds us that "nice" doesn't equal "good"

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheri Cook
Location:Chicagoland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a lot of fakey-fakey niceness in the Christian community, even by people who don't mean to be hypocritical. The misbelief that "nice" equals "good" has plastered smiles over the top of gritted teeth. It's an excellent reminder that there are times when "good" has far more to do with "beneficial" than "pleasant" and therefore can have a bit more of an edge than is comfortable in many Christian camps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Austin
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I facilitate groups on codependency and this book will help women realize that learning to love/ take care of themselves requires setting healthy boundaries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What "Having the Mind of Christ" really means

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Yukon01
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
This book is setting me free from years of trying to live a life where everyone is happy with what I do or say. The authors do a great job of pointing us to Christ, showing not only his gentle side, but the other side too, the one that got angry, frustrated, impatient and weary. I am so encouraged by reading this book, and am thinking of leading a Bible Study at church on this material.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An OK Read

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sugar and Spice and all things nice - that's what little girls are made of. So we've been told, and have been expected to be in society for centuries. But Paul Coughlin and Jennifer Deglen say differently. Jesus expects Christians to be like him and although he was always loving,he was not always what today's society would consider nice. He was instead, GOOD. He did what was right no matter who was offended or who got upset. He was not afraid of whether others perceived him to be nice or not. And he expects us, as women, to be like him.
Coughlin and Degler give examples of how we are nice but not good in our marriages, friendships, churches and workplaces. When we try to love up to every one else's expectations instead of obeying what God has for us we damage the relationships around us and instead end up burned out and resentful of all those that take advantage of our "nice-ness."
I thought this book had some good things to say about being an authentic Christian. I especially liked their explanation of how conflict increases intimacy when handled correctly. I wasn't the biggest fan of their writing style, however. I thought the examples were a bit cheesy and I didn't like that they used acronyms for everything. It was a bit over the top for me - almost seemed a little condescending. But I thought they made valid points and I'm sure others would enjoy the writing style - it just wasn't my cup of tea :-)
Thanks to Bethany House Publishers for a free copy of this book to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda S Moncrief
No More Christian Nice Girl by Paul Coughlin & Jennifer D Degler, PhD is a wonderful read for the woman who does too much and is feeling stressed in life. If you are woman who has trouble saying "no" because you do not want to hurt other's feelings or have anyone disappointed in you, then this is the book for you. I am quite capable of saying "no" or "enough is enough" but I always feel guilty and do not want anyone upset with me. However, this book clearly shows that you can be nice but be firm in setting limit. The authors demonstrate that you can do good for others but also set limits on what you are willing to put up with from others especially those needy people who seem to want and need constantly which, in turn, literally sucks the life and energy from you every time you talk to them. The book touches on these issues in many situations such as friends, family, marriage, work, and intimacy. They use Biblical examples of women who have walked before us who knew when it was okay to be tough in a situation. We forget that Jesus was not even "nice" all of the time - remember when he overturned the tables in the temple? I learned a lot about myself in this book and Bible Study (there are questions at the end of each chapter). I learned that it is okay to be who I am a strong woman who helps others, is constantly busy but one who has learned to say no and without guilt. NOTE: I received this book from Bethany House as part of their Book Reviewer program.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sela
Do you feel like youre a nice girl but you have nothing to show for it? Do you feel like you just get trampled in relationships of all kinds? Do you feel like you try so hard to be nice to everyone only to have unfulfilling relationships? You dont have to!The premise of this book is stated in the subtitle: When just being nice instead of good hurts you, your family and your friends. We are taught, or at least think we are, that being nice is what is expected of us as Christians. Yet, is that really what Jesus taught? Is that really what God wants from us? The authors make the point that we need to be more like the 360-degree Jesus, who was salty and sweet. The book covers several outside influences that have lead to this problem of CNG (Christian Nice Girls) and provides examples from the bible of Gods Good Women that were not nice, but were definitely good. The authors do an excellent job of keeping what could be a heavy topic light and yet makes you pause and think about your life and how you behave in all types of situations. The book was easy to read and yet provided enough practical information that Im still working through a lot of it in my own mind. Its a book that I could read every year or so and get something more out of it (or maybe just a few pointed reminders).Not only did it provide practical information, but it also provided scripture to back up its points. The authors encourage you to read the bible for yourself and also seek out others who will help you on your road out of Nice Girl City.No matter your stage of life or whether you think you fall into this trap of being nice instead of good (I didnt think I did, but boy was I wrong!), this is an excellent read. Great to read by yourself, but it would also make an excellent study for a small group of women who are interested in growing their relationships with Jesus and with each other. I received a copy of this book from Bethany House, but my opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTanya
Christian women can really get in a habit of being too nice. I think there is a stigma that we have to be all and do all for others or else we are just not being a good Christian. We get in a rut of feeling obligated to say "yes" to anyone that needs help and serve on every committee at church. What happens is we get over worked and over stressed. This ends up hurting not only ourselves, but our family and close relationships. There is a way out of the "People Pleasing" rut. This book offers some good and practical advice to first see why we Christian women feel these obligations to "be nice" and then offers some good suggestions. I really like that they tell stories of a Christian Nice Girl and a Christian Good Girl. This really helps the reader to see themselves in the Christian Nice Girl's pleasing habits and learn to make changes. This book does a great job of really showing how setting boundaries and our expectations of ourselves can help us really live out our Christian faith and still be a great witness for Christ. I think this is a good starter book for women who are pleasers. I would suggest that if you want further reading on this topic to consider reading Kevin Leman's book "Women Who Try To Hard" and Cloud and Townsend's book "Boundaries". These books really focus on how to set boundaries (and why they are necessary) and to learn to be a positive pleaser.This book was sent to me by Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program. I was sent a free copy to review. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinion expressed is my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2010
You mean Christian girls don't have to be nice? Really? I was taken back a bit by this title, but the truth is, I learned a lot from this book. The heartbeat of this book is that being GOOD is different than being NICE and that as Christian women we aren't called to be "nice"; we are called to be like Christ and he was always good. Being good doesn't mean that we can't say no, can't have confrontation, can't say what we are really thinking, being good means we speak the truth in love and be the person Jesus calls us to be. Too often I put guilt on myself for saying no or having good boundaries. But when I do that I'm allowing my image of what a "Christian woman" should be control me more than what the Lord wants me to do. I need to be like Christ! And Christ had great boundaries. Christ always spoke the truth. Not everyone liked him, in fact, some people hated him. But he was always loving, always truthful and always good. Help me Father to be more like Christ!! I don't want to be "nice" for the sake of being a good "Christian woman". I want to be the woman God has called me to be. I want to be like Christ! This book is a great reality check for all Christian women, whether you struggle with this concept or not, it's a great read. It can be slow at times but I love the message behind it. I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
My attention was grabbed by the title of this book. So often as women we have a hard time saying no to people and the demands around us. Controversy is something to be completely avoided at all costs - even if it means the relationships we have around us are falling apart. Coughlin and Degler do a good job of pointing women to who Jesus Christ truly was. He was not someone who was incredibly sweet all the time to people. He created waves wherever He went. People either loved Him or hated Him while on earth.It's so easy to forget that being a righteous, godly woman does not mean that we are nice all the time. The two do not go hand in hand. Christ confronted when it was needed. Christ pulled away from others to make sure He spent time alone with the Father, even though there were people who needed Him.This isn't the fasted moving book for me. I really haven't gotten that far, however, there is a story line throughout the book that draws me to hang out for more. This book is a good reference book, however, I don't know that I would want to recommend it to someone who I know is really struggling with this so-called syndrome.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather Gillstrap
Do you know a lady who can't say no because she feels the need to be nice and doesn't want to hurt anyone's feelings? Who always does what is expected of her? Who seems to be somewhat of a doormat? Are you like that? If so, this book is definitely for you. "No More Christian Nice Girl" shows how being nice, instead of being good, can hurt yourself, your family, and your friends. I was very intrigued when I read the title and introduction of this book. It begans by introducing Nicole, a CNG (Christian Nice Girl), who is late for work and gets a call from a needy friend. She gets frustrated with her husband for telling her not to answer because she is late, and she answers anyways. She then gets mad at her daughter who wants help with her spelling words, and her friend thinks she isn't listening and gets mad as well. Yes, this seems like an extreme situation, but I think it happens far too frequently.The book goes on to show you how you can be good, and be a good Christian, friend, mom, and spouse. I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have definitely learned a lot, and I'm not even an "extreme" Christian nice girl. They have chapters to help with dating, marriage, and work. They reference several verses from the Bible to show that Jesus wasn't always a "nice" person. He pressed some issues, and said some things that made people mad. He overturned tables in a temple! The Bible also tells us as Christians to be the salt of the Earth, not the sweet sugar. We need to be a little more than just "nice" and this book tells us how. I loved this book, and I plan to pass it on to some family members that I feel could benefit from it's message.**I received the book "No More Christian Nice Girl" from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.**www.somommy.blogspot.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laury Hubrich
Bethany House publishers sent me the book, No More Christian Nice Girls (When just being nice - instead of good - hurts you, your family, and your friends) by Paul Coughlin & Jennifer D. Degler, PhD to read and review. My daughter is wanting to take it home to read so it's pushing me to get this written.Wow! This is a great book if you are one that struggles with guilt feelings when you say no or really feel you should say no. There are true-to-life examples from both the authors. They also include a woman throughout the book that they use for an example. After each chapter, there are questions to think about.I highly recommend this book for women, since we're the ones that seem to struggle with guilt the most.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
No More Christian Nice Girl by Paul Coughlin & Jennifer D. Degler is the companion volume to No More Christian Nice Guy for men. Christian girls and women are raised to always be kind, quiet, and modest. There is an expectation that they never show anger or strong emotion, because they are supposed to be perfect. The authors explain that the perfect woman is occasionally angry, and that while we are to model our lives on Jesus', he wasn't always nice. Jesus was often angry and spoke harsh words to people, but only when they had it coming. Coughlin and Degler use Jesus' life on earth as their model for women to speak up for themselves, stop swallowing their angry and avoiding conflict and becoming doormats. I read a lot of devotionals over the course of a year, and while they are often encouraging, it is the rare book that actually inspires me to begin changing me life AND leaves a lasting impact long after I've finished reading it. Just like many Christian women, I have kept quiet when my feelings were hurt, took on co-worker's workloads to "help" out, said yes when I really meant no, and allowed people to walk all over me in order to avoid hurting someone's feelings, all because I wanted to be a good Christian woman. What I discovered in this book is that I haven't been a good Christian woman at all. A good Christian woman allows others to take responsibility for their own actions and addresses the issue when someone hurts them, even if it does create conflict. Jesus didn't avoid speaking the truth to the Pharisees to keep from hurting their feelings, and neither should we! A quiz is included that will help readers determine what areas of their life they are too nice in, and chapters are broken up into sections like work, family, marriage, and even sex for easy reference. Since reading it, I've been making a lot of changes in my life in how I interact with people and I anticipate that will truly bring about long-term change.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Okay, the title of the book intrigued me, especially the description of the book: when just being nice-instead of good-hurts you, your family, and your friends. Now that hit home. No More Christian Nice Girl, published By Bethany House is written by Paul Coughlin and Jennifer D. Degler, PhD, tackles the hard issues; like how to be an authentic good christian women who is there to do and be the hands, heart, and feet of Jesus to those who are lonely, lost, and needy, and yet still maintain integrity and balance with her family and friends. The book gave great strategic examples detailing specific situations and how a Good Christian Woman (versus a christian nice girl) would respond. Being a wife and mother myself I appreciated the wake up call this book gave me, after all I would never want to have my family resent my time 'helping' others. The authors have taught the difference between helping and enabling and I found this particularly helpful for me. I would highly recommend this book and give it 5 stars. This book would make an excellent women's study and it comes with questions after each chapter that facilitates both group and personal reflection. This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers for purpose of review. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda
No More Christian Nice Girl tackles the problem so many women have. As young girls we are taught early on to be helpers, always smile and be nice whether you feel like it or not, after all sugar and spice and everything nice is what little girls are made of right?Then we grow into young women and we kinda carry that into adulthood. We sort of get trapped into saying yes to whatever is ask of us whether we have the time to do it or not. Heck I always believed that if I said No that I might get labeled mean or Not Nice. This book really made me rethink my priorities, I think that sometimes if we are to nice we set ourselves up to be taken advantage of.This book does a great job of showing women that its OK to say no. I really enjoyed all aspects of this book and found the study questions at the end of each chapter very helpful. This is one of those must read books for women of any age . If you have ever fallen into the trap of always saying yes even when you really want to say no and need to figure out how to break out of the yes "box" then this book is for you. I was provided a copy of this book for review by Bethany House publishing for my honest review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Today, we live a social church that seldom faces facts, acts in the sweetest way to be a good witness, and likes soft, delicate and sweet ways, as expected from a good Christian. As a result, many good-intentioned women end up trying to please everyone, accomplishing nothing more than becoming a doormat for those who like abusing others. As a consequence, even the own identity is lost and life becomes a constant struggle, resulting in frustrated and broken relationships. This is what drove the authors to write this book with biblically-founded advice and an easy narration. Yes, you might find yourself soaring through the truths and jokes, while you learn that assertive, respectful and graceful words are more powerful than nice ones, even if this might result offensive to those who like to use women. It might be a challenge, but as the authors put it, confrontation will lead into intimacy and better relations. At the end of each chapter, the authors include questions for further study and invite the reader to go to certain verses in the Bible and see how the principle they expose is applied. Another plus is Nicole, a fictional character that exemplifies a nice Christian woman. By the end, you can see her learning to be different, with authentic (not socially accepted) love for God, for herself and others; she gets closer to God and becomes a better witness of His love.I would not doubt in recommending this book. However, I must also include a word of caution: this is a very good book, so good that I have to add the reader must always have in mind that it is not the maximum authority on how to build a Christian character; thats what the Bible is for. I wonder - if Christians stepped up, studied the Bible and applied the teachings it includes, this book might not be needed and the authors be out of work!I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review; this does not bias my opinion on the book nor the authors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Do you suffer from the disease to please? Are you miserable and overwhelmed because youre afraid to say no to others?If you feel like you are running around making everyone else happy while you are withering inside this may be just the book for you! Authors Paul Coughlin and Jennifer D. Degler, address these issues and more in their book, No More Christian Nice Girl. If youre not quite sure what a Christian Nice Girl is, theres a self-evaluation in the beginning of the book that will help you decide if youre a member of this sorority. (I've also posted a link down below, where you can take the self evaluation online.)Readers will learn the differences between peace making and peace faking, and what appears to be nice, Christian behavior may actually be sinful and detrimental. After reading this book, youll have the courage to trade in your cowardly demeanor for that of a courageous Christian woman and feel completely liberated from the self-induced bondage of people pleasing.One of my favorite sections in this book was the you teach people how to treat you portion in the chapter about family and friendships. Healthy boundaries are critical to being an emotionally healthy individual and there is a ton of great insight in this book, about how to set and keep those boundaries.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2010
This is a must have for all christian women. I think to some extent each of us battles with being God's good Woman and just the traditional "sugar and spice" nice girl. The title of this book was what caused me to want to read it. I realize that submission is a taboo word in today's culture of "me-first" mentality. I was afraid this book was one that would mislead women to such a mentatlity with the use of watered-down scripture. However, it is just the opposite. The author's seek to empower women in the scripture to lead virtous lives for the glory of God by standing firm in His word. This sometimes means not being the "nice girl", but being instead the woman of God's Grace and Power, by lovingly and firmly defending the ground that God has given you to defend (even when it is just a bean field - this is an old testement reference to one of David's mighty men). I loved the references to women of the bible that where not christian nice girls but were God's good women such as Deborah, Jael, Ruth, and Mary of Bethany. I found the set up of the book very interesting to. The book opens like a novel about Nicole. Thereafter, each chapter is filled with wisdom and insight ending with another insert of the story of Nicole, followed by study questions and further bible readings. It was interesting to see the transformation of Nicole from CNG to God's good woman. Thank you Bethany House for this review copy. (to see more reviews of christian books please visit www.abbiereviews.blogspot.com)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
I like that they give check lists in this book to go through. You can ask yourself the questions and see if you fall into the catagories, or if you have issues with certain things. It breaks it down in to a variety of areas so its not just all clumped together. The questions at the end of the chapter were also good they can help us dig into the real issues behind our problems of being too nice and how to handle the situations. I also appreciate the appendix at the back where they call it the Not so Nice Jesus in the gospels where Jesus was assertive and firm. I think its important for us to acknowledge those parts as I think sometimes we are taught that Jesus was always turning the other cheek.I think they sum it up nicely in the end with learning how to be Gods Good Woman is far more important Its challenging to look at whats really behind the plastic, passive niceness that passes for Christianity in many womens lives, and than to boldly choose to be authentic instead. Ill say a big AMEN to that! Its getting harder and harder and I need all the help I can get!This book is easy to read; you wont get caught up on technical psychological mumbo jumbo instead youll be able to work on yourself and perhaps strengthen your relationship with Christ and become more like the woman he created you to be!*review copy provided.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie McCoy
The common mentality of a Christian woman is to please everyone around them, always saying "yes" to everything and living up to the "sugar and spice and everything nice" agenda. In some ways, showing kindness is a good thing as it shows the goodness of Christ in your heart. In other ways, a person can be taken advantage of being overly kind. Boundaries are an important thing to have in one's life. (A good book for this subject is the one by Henry Cloud and John Townsend.) Moving on, there were some things that I agreed with and some things that I didn't. First off, there was a diagnosis test near the beginning. For each statement, the reader answers "true" or "false." Some I agreed were a problem of being the "nice girl" as the book puts it. For example, one statement reads "a Christian woman should always have a smile on her face," and another one says, "I feel guilty when I say no or set firm boundaries with others." Then there were the statements that I didn't entirely agree on or think were a problem. One example is the statement that "avoiding conflict leads to a better life." If you answered true then you are too nice. While it's good to confront certain situations, I feel like sometimes it is can be best to move on from others. It's not always worth fighting over every issue that arrives either. I enjoyed the part about anxious and overprotective parents. As one myself, that hit home. It's hard for me to not be so overprotective sometimes. The authors make a good point that "God takes the sin of cowardice very seriously," making a connection with Revelation 21:8 (p.69). For the most part, I enjoyed this book. While there were a few statements and parts that I didn't agree with entirely, the rest was very helpful. Thanks Bethany House for allowing me to review this book for free!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for No More Christian Nice Girl: When Just Being Nice-Instead of Good-Hurts You, Your Family, and Your Friends - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Godspoetic1
Are you tired of the same old, same old? Are you tired of being stuck in that rut, and feel like you are going backwards in life, rather than forwards? The authors of this book, show you how always being that Christian nice girl, can just suck the life right out of both you and your every day relationships with family, friends, the workplace, etc. The authors will delve right into key elements of what causes this, and how to come above it. They show women how to become bold and assertive, and to stop being people pleasers, and to learn how to say no! You will learn how to stop being that doormat, and feel empowered, claiming the abundant life in Him, that we all are so deserving of. You will learn how to create healthy relationships and boundaries, by applying Biblical principals to your everyday life and relationships. After reading this book, you may just well be transformed by God, into a bold, empowered woman, who says, No More Christian Nice Girl!As per FTC Guidelines, I must state that I was given a review copy of No More Christian Nice Girl, to read from Bethany House Publishers. My opinions are expressly my own, and are in no way positively or negatively influenced, due to receiving this copy to review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>