Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Reckoning, The - eBook

Bethany House Reckoning, The - eBook

Katherine Mayfield, the new Mistress of Mayfield Manor, always dreamed of a fancy "English" life. But as the seasons pass, she finds herself grieving the loss of her Amish family and dearest friend, Mary Stolzfus. Shunned from the Plain life she once knew, Katherine finds solace in volunteer work with hospice patients--a labor of love she hopes will bring honor to the memory of her birth mother.Unknown to Katherine, her long-lost love, Daniel Fisher, is desperate to locate his "Sweetheart girl," only to be frustrated at nearly every turn. Meanwhile, she delights in the modern world--once forbidden--cherishing the attention of Justin Wirth, her handsome suitor.Her childhood entwined with Daniel's, yet her present life far removed from Lancaster County, Katherine longs for the peace that reigned in her mother's heart. And once again, she is compelled to face the heritage of her past.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reckoning, The - eBook
Review 1 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Created4Purpose
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fabulous conclusion to the "Heritage of Lancaster County Series". I read the entire series in the span of 3 days. Beverly Lewis has a way of making her characters come alive on paper and I couldn't stop reading until the story of these lovely people's lives concluded. I must say, I was extremely satisfied with the way this book developed and ended. A beautiful story of identity, relationships restored and most importantly salvation. I absolutely recommend the series and can't wait to get my nose into another of Beverly Lewis' books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Binghamton,NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've really enjoyed these books. They are so clean and back to basics. I am a farmer at heart. I don't have to worry about bad language . They are family friendly. Beverly Lewis's books are so enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book.

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
nannan
Location:Westmoreland, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sit with a 94 yr. old lady at nite. Her mind is as sharp as a tack. She can't see as good as she use to. I love to read. A friend gave me a book by Beverly Lewis with 2 stories in it, The Shunning & The Confession. I read to the lady I sit with & she could hardly wait to hear what was going to happen next. So, my daughter ordered The Reckoning. So, ever since I been reading Beverly's books. We read October Song. Now we are reading Te Postcard & The Crossroad. Also my daugther just ordered The Courtship of Nellie Fisher & Amish Prayers for us to read. We plan on reading all of Beverly's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Barfield
Location:Macon, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order almost all my books from CB - the ones about the Amish are my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great series about the Amish

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MyrnaS
Location:Vancouver Island
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Again Beverley Lewis keeps me flipping pages until the books are finished - which is always sad because it's like saying good-bye to friends. My only complaint is that they keep me reading way too late into the night. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
larcarjoy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Beverly Lewis' books. The Amish theme is refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
tedbear
Location:Prophetstown, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3 book I have read by Beverly Lewis and I really enjoyed reading them. . They are good down to earth stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I enjoyed the conclusion to the Heritage of Lancaster County series more than the second book but not quite as much as the first. While living in her birth-mother's mansion in New York, Katie comes to realise that she misses many aspects of her old Amish life - quilting, baking, helping those who are to frail to look after themselves. Can she really throw that all away and become completely "fancy"? I felt that on her quest to discover who she really was, Katie really grew as a character and the immaturities about her that I'd previously disliked diminished. Katie's friends and relatives back in Lancaster also featured more in this book, which is another reason why I enjoyed it. It was great to read about Rebecca coming to terms with her daughter's shunning, Mary finding love and Annie rekindling her friendship with her brother.
Throughout the book, several characters discussed finding salvation through belief in Christ. I appreciated that Beverly Lewis had picked up on the fact that a lot of Amish don't believe in this and instead think that you have to earn your way to heaven, as this is an aspect of Amish life that I don't entirely agree with. However, I can see how this would make the novel unappealing to a secular audience. Daniel's discovery of salvation in the second book had been a trivial point but it was discussed much more frequently in The Reckoning, so be aware of this if you are not a Christian and are considering reading this book.
All in all, I've enjoyed reading this series but would not say that it is my favourite of the Amish sagas available. Lewis broke into the scene with the Heritage of Lancaster County books and while this was groundbreaking at the time, her writing has changed a lot since the late 90s. There are some cliches and predictabilities about these books and the speech can seem stilted in places. These novels make great comfort reads, but a better series by Lewis is the Abram's Daughters series. There are several other authors of Amish fiction who I'd recommend, my favourites being Amy Clipston, Vannetta Chapman and Barbara Cameron. The Heritage of Lancaster County is a great place to start in the Amish genre, and because it was the series that started it all, you can only move on to bigger and better books! 7/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gayle Kindle
This book had a special meaning for me. My daughter is adopted, I've had her 38 yrs. and she recently found her birth Mother. So I can understand the frustration that Katie's adopted Mother went through. The book was very good, like all of Beverly Lewis books I've read and will continue to do so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen C Stieber
This is a fabulous series. I would recommend it to everyone, including my granddaughters. I bought all three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Sowers
This is a book you can't put down...the author has you feeling as though you're living in the Amish world. The story took me out of my hectic life and gave me some peace and the desire for a more simpler life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Liz Doud
4 starsIlike these books and the author does a great job of writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlene Dalrymple
Katherine has become quite the young lady and has given herself freely to help others. The author leads the reader into the very "soul" of Katherine and we see what a beautiful person she is as a result of her upbringing. At heaart, Katherine is still Amish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Dixon
This was the final book in this series and I couldn't wait to read it. Beverly Lewis is an excellent author. Thank you Beverly for your wonderful, clean, uplifting stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elsie Fitzpatrick
Wow This book is wonderfully written.I have read the whole series and couldn't put them down till I was done with them all.Great story line and the family unity becomes very addictive and is very close to real life back the good old days.All that bothers me once you have read that many books you almost take up their lives and you feel lost once you come to the end of the books They are good and I don't know how to change them to not get that feeling but keep on writing good books like that and you will have me buying them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judith Ritchie
I had read the first book of this series last year, and could never find the next two. Thanks to Christian Books I have read the next two books. I found them well written and full of drama, and mystries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivian Sye-payne
I read this whole series and felt it was simplistic yet interesting because I learned some things about the Amish that I did not know. There were several issues left unresolved so I assume there must be another book coming. I plan to give my set to my soon to be twelve year old granddaughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reckoning, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Geraldine
This one of the books I read when I started reading. I could not put it down. Istarted with The Shunning then The Confession then on to The Recking. Boy I got into Beverly Lewis's books and now I have all her amish reads and have her last one on backorder. You just feel like your there living the story with katie and hope for the best for her. I can't tell you how I love reading it your heartbreaks with katie and you love when she loves. You have to read this book and you will keep on reading books like this and want more. Happy Reading Geraldine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.