Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Touch of Grace, A - eBook

Bethany House Touch of Grace, A - eBook

Eighteen-year-old Grace Knutson loves Blessing, North Dakota, and sees no reason to leave. She is more serious-minded than her twin sister, Sophie, and is very sensitive to the feelings of others. In spite of her familys disapproval, Grace has always had a soft spot in her heart for Toby Valders. She has seen the vulnerable side he has kept well hidden.

The arrival of Jonathan Gould, the handsome scion of a wealthy New York family, creates a flurry of anticipation and speculation in Blessing. Jonathan's father wants him to learn the value of manual labor and to appreciate the accomplishments of those not born to wealth. Surprisingly, the city boy takes to farm life, working from dawn to dusk alongside the others. Soon he finds himself inexplicably drawn to gentle, courageous Grace.

Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
Review 1 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
bmagenta
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first bought this book, I was so excited. Normally, you can tell alot about a book based on its cover. In addition, I heard great things about the author. The reviews on CBD were mostly very good, so I was expecting a really good read.
However, I was really dissapointed. I felt that the author didn't focus on the couple as much, but rather wrote a lot about the other characters. For example, a large portion of the book was spent detailing one of the mothers, which I found irrelevant. There was a lack of detail that I felt made the book hard to follow.
Also, the lead character, Grace, was hard to like. She was very rude to everyone and so focused on getting Toby's attention, she didn't allow poor Jonathen a chance to get to know her. Maybe if the author would have given more time to develop this character she wouldn't have appered as snobbish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Heaton
Loved all of the books in this series, starting with Red River of the North series. Takes you back to what it was most probably like in the 1800's homesteading and following the families through their children's lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Very good book. Enjoyed reading it and wanted to keep reading instead of setting it aside to do other things.Good book as were #1 and #2 also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Donna Zimmerman
Daughters of Blessing is an excellent series to start reading. A touch of Grace book #3 Once I started read I couldn't but it down. Lauraine Snelling is a great author, as you read you feel like you are a part of this town and the characters are your friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Eubanks
I thought the book was very well written and I enjoyed it very much. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Rodgers
This was a very sweet book. I want this series to continue. It is educational as well as entertaining and gives a good glimpse into our nation's past and the development of the wild frontier. This author is very talented and her work never seems "tired". She captures you from the beginning of the story and carries you to the end - wanting more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Allene Anderson
This is the best book of the series, "Daughters of Blessing". I love Lauraine Snelling books she is a great writer She is an inspirational writer who walks you through life situations and applies God's word so you see how God works in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
I finished reading this book today. . . now I'm sad! I LOVED this book. I thought Jonathan was so sweet. I didn't like how the ending was, though. I simply cannot wait for the next book!!! Also, I'm wondering when we're going to see a book about Astrid. . .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judith Knowles
A wonderful read from an excellent author. I can't wait for the next book in the series...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharmon Martin
As usual, Lauraine Snelling, tells a wonderfully inspiring story filled with God's truth. I love following the lives of the people in Blessing as they grow in their walks with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tamra Risser
loved this book. I've enjoyed reading all three of these series. I can't wait until the book about Astrid comes out though. Although it isn't the next book to come out so not sure when that will be. Anyway, it was great to read about Grace becoming a young lady after "watching" her grow from a newborn baby in the first series. Lauraine Snelling has done a fantastic job with these series and has outdone herself again with A Touch of Grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kay G Clark
Another great story from Lauraine Snelling. I feel like the Bjorklunds and Knutsons are family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gerald Jones
In a style that is uniquely Lauraine Snelling, she lets you in on thoughts and feelings of her characters. She draws you into the era, yet still brings back memories of those times of my early childhood before electricity and other modern convience came to rural America. I could relate to a lot of the experiences that Grace went through, the mode of travel, the chores, and all so the close knit family ties. Snelling did her usual excellent work and I would recommend it to any of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Penny Hardaway
Each book in this series has been better than the previous book, but "A Touch of Grace" was such a sweet, wonderful story. Grace has seemed to be slightly in the background in so many of the previous books about Blessing. I was thrilled to see her as the main character and see her find someone who would love and cherish her for the wonderful person she is. Snelling's series about this family always leave you at the end of each book wanting more about them. I am anxious for the next book to see Grace and Jonathan grow closer and hopefully wed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dovona Unger
Anytime I see a book written by Lauraine Snelling I purchase it because I have never been disappointed. This book is no exception. It kept me interested from beginning to end. She keeps you in suspence and you can never predict how an event is going to happen. I would recommend this as well as any of her books to anyone. I also like the way she weaves in life lessons which you can apply in everyday life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mel
This book is one of the best books I've read. I'd recommend it for a teenager like me because it gives u a sense of what it was like in the early 1900's. I'd give it a thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2008
I loved "A Touch of Grace" It really holds your attention. I have the entire series starting with "Red River of the North" series. Can't wait for the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Walzel
This was an excellent book about someone whose family did not let their daughter's blindness be a problem. The daughter finds out that she can be of service to other people regardless of her blindness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Brinkmeyer
Another wonderful novel. Once again the house is a mess because I couldn't put it down and do my chores.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Touch of Grace, A - eBook
This review is fromA Touch of Grace, Daughters of Blessing Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane Taylor
I found all this series hard to put down once I started. I enjoy fictional history, whether my own heritage or someone else and their customs and survival coming to American, being the original pioneers. God Bless the original people in their dreams and the writers who have depicted the probable ways of life then. And so thankful for all the conveniences and ways we live now, but really feel people were much happier and more content. They depended on each other. May writers continue to bring more immigrants from other countries to the earliest years who helped develope this country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>