Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House More Than Words - eBook

Bethany House More Than Words - eBook

Gretchen Kohler is an Amana storekeeper's daughter with a secret passion for writing. But artistic pursuits are frowned upon in her conservative Amana village, so she confines her poems and stories to her journals, letting only close friends read them. When a young reporter comes into her store, she believes she's found a kindred spirit. She shares a few of her stories with him--only to have her trust betrayed in the worst of ways, resulting in trouble for her entire community. The scandal is made even worse by the fact that gypsies have camped nearby and seem to be preying upon the Amanans' compassionate, pacifist nature. Will Gretchen lose her job, her reputation, and the love of her childhood beau all because of one bad decision?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for More Than Words - eBook
Review 1 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best of Judith Miller!!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judith Miller has done such a great job with telling the story of the Amana people. I have to say that once I started with book 1, I was hooked. I just fell in love with Gretchen and what a great daughter she was. I almost hated for the book to end, but knowing it had to, I am now patiently waiting on book 3. Great job Judith!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story with an interesting twist

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although she lives in one of the villages of the Amana colonies, Gretchen Kohler dreams of being an author. A dear friend supplies her with notebooks in which to record her thoughts, but this friend is the only person who seems to care about her writing.
Her father has been distant and stern since her mother died, and her childhood sweetheart, Conrad, is a pragmatic man who doesn’t pay attention to the person Gretchen really is. To top things off, she’s saddled with the care of her senile grandmother, who often mistakes Conrad for her deceased husband.
One day a salesman comes to the store where Gretchen works, and notices her writing in a journal. He’s impressed by what he sees, and his interest leads Gretchen down a path she’d never have imagined. The consequences impact the entire colony.
In More Than Words, Miller follows her initial volume in the Daughters of Amana series, Somewhere to Belong, with further fascinating glimpses into the early Amana colonies. This novel was enjoyable on many levels. I recommend it to readers who enjoy family-friendly stories set around lifestyles different than our own.
My thanks to Bethany House for providing my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Than Words - A Charming Read that I recommend

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gretchen Kohler is discontent with aspects of her life in the Amana colony, which is all that she has ever known. But she hungers for more of a way to express herself than is allowed. So she writes her secret journals that she fills with her stories and poems. She only wants to know if her writing is worthy and when a traveling salesman offers to find out for her, she goes against the rules of the community. With the support of her childhood sweetheart, she must find the path of contentment within the confines of the world she lives in.
Judith Miller has spun a story with action, suspense and emotion that is just right for a lazy evening of reading. It is also a great read-aloud book for mothers and daughters. I recommend this book for age 13 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
I was so entranced by Judith Miller's Daughter's of the Amana Colonies books. Living in Nebraska I am very aware that the Amana Colonies are in Iowa but I've never been there. Now that I have read the first two in this series I can not wait to make a trip there and see them in person! Judith absolutely brought the colonies to life for me and I learned so much about the colonies and how they work. I realized that while many people (like myself) tend to lump the Amish, Mennonites and people of the Amana Colonies all under the Amish label, there are really a lot of differences between them and Judith highlights a lot of the ways that the people living in the Amana Colonies are different. I found it fascinating. Then she creates this group of characters that are just wonderful and there is even some mystery woven into the story with the band of gypsies camped outside town and who started the fire and why things are disappearing. I don't think I could have been more pleased with this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
More Than Words by Judith Miller is the second book in the Daughters of Amana series. Gretchen Kohler is mostly content working in the town store, although she misses her father's affection and attention that has waned since the death of her mother. He often leaves her in charge of the stores and of younger brother Stefan, which creates trouble when the Gypsies come to town and Stefan just can't seem to stay away. Gretchen loses herself writing in her journal. She composes poems and essays until Allan Finley arrives in the small community claiming a desire to joining them and shows an interest in Gretchen that no one but barber and childhood sweetheart Conrad has been giving her. Although Gretchen is often angry at Stefan for breaking the strict rules of their community, she's just as guilty, but it's easy for her to rationalize away her own actions until her pride causes damage to the entire community in a way she didn't see coming, and it just may cause her to lose her standing within the village and the love of Conrad. It's not necessary to have read the first book in the series because I didn't notice any reference to the characters from the first novel. I would have liked to see just a glimpse of them though. Gretchen is completely likable is impulsive young woman that readers will alternately want to hug and shake silly. I felt that Conrad was a bit too bland for Gretchen, although he did prove himself true, I understood her attraction for Allan. There's a strong message here about not judging a group by a single representative of it. I don't feel that this was as strong as the first book in the series, but it's still an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Gretchen Kohler loves her family and her Amana Colony, but dreams of more than working in the general store with her father and keeping an eye on her younger brother and grandmother. Her grandmother suffers from dementia and is harder to watch after than her little brother. If that isnt enough to keep her busy, a traveling band of gypsies that camp outside of town bring more trouble than she imagines. With all the things pulling at her in her life, she doesnt have the time shed like for writing. She knows that her Amana village would not approve of her creative pursuits and so she confines her poetry and stories to writing in her journals. Only a close friend or two has been given the privilege of reading them. When a decision she makes about letting an outsider see her work doesn't turn out like she hoped...Will her family forgive her? Will her beau understand and forgive her as well? What will the elders think of the person who betrays her and her disobedience? What does her future in Homestead hold for her?Gretchen learns many lessons about people, including they are not always what they seem. But even in the most difficult of circumstances, she learns that God can work all things together for good. I invite you to travel back in time and be a part of the lives of the people of the Amana colonies. This is the second book in the Daughters of Amana series by Judith Miller. I love the way Judy brings to life the history in the stories she writes. Her research and accuracy is impeccable. She creates a fictional story with an historical backdrop woven in. Youll find yourself living in a time and place that comes alive in your mind, making you feel as if youre there. This book is written in first person and you will feel you are Gretchen Kohler. There are three books in this series, but can be read in any order as each is written as a stand-alone. My daughter and I cant wait for the third book to come out in February, 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Audrey Hebbert
Gretchen Kohler wouldn't think of living anywhere but in her beloved Amana Colony, where she keeps the rules and works hard to fulfill her destiny. Her mother died, leaving her with a younger brother and a senile grandmother, along with her grieving father who depends upon her to run the community store. Her childhood sweetheart is obviously thinking marriage, but there's that creative urge within that will not be stifled. Her only outlet is her secret journals where she writes her stories and poems. Along comes a young, attractive reporter with a kindred spirit--or so she thinks. Sharing her stories leads to his betrayal in the worst of ways. Will she lose her job, her reputation, and her beau because of one unfortunate decision?Once again Miller has spun a wonderful tale for family reading. Lots of action and suspense, but no unpleasant surprises. I highly recommend this book.Reviewed by Audrey Hebbert, author of Green Light Red Light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Another excellent story in this series, Daughters of Amana. I couldn't put the book down wondering what was happening in Gretchen's day. As with "Somewhere to Belong", you feel like you know these young ladies. I'll be anxious to receive "A Bond Never Broken" in February, I know I won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for More Than Words - eBook
This review is fromMore Than Words, Daughters of Amana Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Kimm Valdez
This is a great book. It gives you some history of a great area, the Amana Colonies, while relating a wonderful story of faith and that the simple Christian life can be the preferred choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.