Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Preacher's Bride, The - eBook

Bethany House Preacher's Bride, The - eBook

In 1650s England, a young Puritan maiden is on a mission to save the baby of her newly widowed preacher--whether her assistance is wanted or not. Always ready to help those in need, Elizabeth ignores John's protests of her aid. She's even willing to risk her lone marriage prospect to help the little family.

Yet Elizabeth's new role as nanny takes a dangerous turn when John's boldness from the pulpit makes him a target of political and religious leaders. As the preacher's enemies become desperate to silence him, they draw Elizabeth into a deadly web of deception. Finding herself in more danger than she ever bargained for, she's more determined than ever to save the child--and man--she's come to love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
34 out of 3694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Review 1 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magnificent message.

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By the time I finished this book, I felt emotionally drained...drained and in a haze.
''The Preacher's Bride'' ended up breaking me in every way possible. I dived into it not expecting a fairy-tale but definitely not expecting to resurface with way more than I had bargained for. It is an absolutely beautiful book. Its depth is mind-blowing and gut-wrenchingly sublime. Its wisdom washed over me and by the time I turned its last page, my soul was kneeling before the Almighty in awe.
Be warned, though, you need at least a whole box of tissue to go through this journey.
About three years ago, I discovered Jody’s writing when I read '' The Doctor’s Lady’’. To give you an idea of how much I loved it -- and still do! -- I literally couldn't stop flipping pages for twelve hours straight. It isn't a light story, the characters go through rough patches but it isn't extremely, bawl-your-eyes-out emotional. Neither are the other books by Hedlund that I read afterward : ''Unending Devotion'', ''A Noble Groom''. The more I was endeared to this author’s writing, the more I was curious about her debut. Great things were being said about it, after all, so when chance came for me to read it, I quickly grabbed a copy.
Let me be honest ; at first, I really wasn't sure I would end up liking it. The pace was a bit slow and I was not as engaged as I had hoped to be in it. Moreover, there were edgy elements that truly took me by surprise -- they were raw and gore. (Please note that this one is for mature readers only. Hedlund is not afraid to expose the sheer cruelty and injustice her characters face. There are frequent mentions of bloodshed and violence and the atmosphere is, in general, ominous.) Though I was, in the beginning, skeptical about the book, the story piqued my curiosity, leaving me with the need to find out the characters' outcomes. As it turns out, despite the trials endured, both John and Elizabeth remain steadfast in their dedication to their calling. Everything about them oozes love, commitment and hope. The depth of these flawed but courageous characters tugged at my heart -- though, at times, I wanted to shake some sense into them. How could they be so stubborn when danger constantly threatened? Why couldn't John just leave his ministry for his family’s sake? I was frustrated but the more the story unfolded the clearer the message became.
What would you do if everything around you shattered?
What you would do if your enemies were so great you didn't know if tomorrow or today would be your last day on earth?
Would you truly love and believe God? Would you refuse to believe anyone or anything above Him? Would you crawl toward him if you didn't have the strength to stand or run?
I was wide-eyed and stunned by the time I read the conclusion to this story and immediately after turning the last page, I was sobbing uncontrollably. (Even as I reminisce this story, tears are threatening to spill.)
I cried for Elizabeth… what a beautiful, beautiful woman. What a God she serves. She believes Him. Though He slays her, she clings to Him with whatever strength she has left. Her faith is flawed but oh-so willing. As the snares and shadows of death menace to swallow her, she holds on and fights for her man, her children. She is the kind of woman I want to be. A warrior, a tender soul, a believer. Elizabeth discovers an amazing and rare spirit in John Costin who is as stubborn as a mule but dedicated and confident in his calling. His heart for his family and God is anything but untrue. I was a blubbering mess when it came to their relationship. My God. These individuals face so many losses and missed opportunities, so many fears and insecurities. Elizabeth's hopes are utterly destroyed after she marries John and yet the hardship only serves in deepening their love. I like what she says to him at some point : ''It is better to love and be loved, even for just a day, than to have not loved at all.'' Forget about happy-ever-afters, the best heroes and heroines are the ones who, after undergoing the refining fire of persecution and tribulation, come out as pure gold.
Many of us believers have most likely vowed we’d willingly do anything for this Savior we serve. With ''The Preacher’s Bride'', Hedlund reminds us that the road toward Home is not smooth. There will be moments of sheer helplessness. We will feel confused and abandoned. In despair we will wonder : '' Is He as good as He claims to be?'' Will we chose to believe Him throughout it all?
'' The Preacher's Bride'' transcended every of my expectations. In it, the author does a terrific job of bringing alive John and Elizabeth Bunyan’s story through the Costins, crowning their journey with a breathtaking scene.
It is impossible to come out of it the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The setting of this book is Bedford, England in the year 1659. This was a time in history when Oliver Cromwell was in power in England and his puritanical beliefs were fostered and encouraged. There were many Puritans living in Bedford, including the main female character, Elizabeth Whitbread.
Elizabeth is the second oldest of seven daughters. Her family owns and operates a bakery. She works there during the day and on the Sabbath takes bread to the poor. She has promised to marry Samuel Muddle at summer’s end and quit working as housekeeper for Brother Costin and his family. She began working for Brother Costin at the elders request after his wife died two weeks after giving birth to her fourth child. Elizabeth wants to serve the Lord by helping those in need. However, as the summer progresses, Elizabeth falls more and more in love with her four young charges and their father. During this summer she also is attacked on two separate occasions by a Royalist Anglican man. He wants her to spy on John Costin and sneak away some of his rebellious papers that could be grounds for a charge of sedition. He beats Elizabeth, but she keeps John’s children safe. There are other attempts on her life by this man, and John is determined to keep her safe. How can he do this?
John Costin has been a Puritan a scant five years, but in that time, he has become one of their leading preachers even though he has had no formal education or training. This lack of training and education is one of the focal points of his enemies. He is a mere commoner preaching the Gospel. Only those sent by the Church and properly ordained should be qualified to do this according to Royalists. Royalists also support the king, not Cromwell. John spends his time writing, preaching and tinkering. His tinkering pays the bills, but his passion is preaching God’s word. When he realizes his enemies are becoming more desperate to silence him, he opts to marry Elizabeth. She will be a mother to his children and free him up to spend more time preaching. Elizabeth has other ideas about how a marriage should be and must face heartbreak and grief when her husband rejects her love.
This is a story of two people and their dedication to serve God no matter the cost to themselves. These two main characters are based in historical people, and some of the events in the story actually happened in real life. I find that fascinating to read “what might have happened” in this fictional story. Once readers turn the first page, it will be easy to keep reading until the end of the story. I’m looking forward to more interesting stories from Jody!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:February 28, 2013
Just when I thought I knew about Puritans…here’s a novel about one of the most famous ones in history. And a great one too!
Jody Hedlund paints a vivid and accurate picture of the Puritan culture and era centuries ago in The Preacher’s Bride. While the Puritans lived out their faith much different from the way I live mine, there is plenty to learn from. I found it historically intriguing as well, from the conflict (and often persecution) that happened depending on which English king or queen took the throne (Henry VIII, then his daughters Mary and Elizabeth).
And now I know why the Puritans high tailed it to the U S of A.
I really enjoyed the story and her characters. I liked that the main character Elizabeth was a strong woman with a feisty spirit, who stood up for what was right and could give a much needed tongue lashing to some well deserving people. I really enjoyed the story of her and John and what they went up against. Times were different, but love never really changes does it?
Looking at the culture of England and specifically the Puritan culture in the 1600s, I can’t help but chuckle at the differences. Example A) Elizabeth freaking out over seeing a man without a shirt on. Oh how different today is! One look at a Victoria Secrets commercial and they would have died. But it shaped much of history and it’s a fascinating time period to study. Probably why I enjoyed it so much.
I didn’t realize until after I finished that this story was based upon real life preacher, John Bunyan and his second wife Elizabeth. So sad to think there really were insane people who thrived off of harming others with violence and intimidation. Even worse that there are still people like that today.
History sidenote: Bunyan wrote one of the classics of Christian literature, Pilgrim’s Progress (you can get it free for the kindle), and is a key figure in Christianity history (he was in prison for twelve years for preaching scripture). His book inspired C.S. Lewis’ Pilgrim’s Regress (another creative read that documents Lewis’ conversion).
booksandbeverages.wordpress.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I would've liked it, but there's one problem.

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kurisuta
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In the beginning, I enjoyed reading about the characters and life in Puritan England. When I got to the part about John's daughter Mary and reading that she was blind, I thought, "Wait, John Bunyan had a blind daughter named Mary." Then, when I read that John Costin was a tinker (just like John Bunyan) I didn't enjoy it as much as I hoped. (If you don't know who John Bunyan is, he's the author of Pilgrim's Progress.) After I read the book, I read the author's note stating that she based this book on the life of Elizabeth Bunyan, John Bunyan's wife.
I just don't understand why the author would take real people, change their names a bit, tweak some of the events, and call it a work of fiction. I mean, you're talking about REAL people and REAL history here. I feel that shouldn't be touched. (It's a reason why I stay away from biblical fiction.) I don't understand why the author didn't just do a biography on the life of Elizabeth Bunyan. I would've found that enjoyable to read.
So, if you don't mind all this, go ahead and read it anyway because the author does do a really good job with the story and the characters. But if you're like me, then I suggest you don't pick up this book.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Debut Novel!

Date:January 16, 2012
The Preacher's Bride by Jody Hedlund is Jody's debut release from 2010, which I somehow missed. The story was inspired by the life of John Bunyan (Pilgrim's Progress, anyone?), but Jody chose to focus primarily on his second wife, Elizabeth.
Elizabeth is a fairly "plain" Puritan woman whose greatest desire is to serve the Lord. When John Costin's wife dies shortly after childbirth, Elizabeth volunteers to step into the role of housekeeper and take care of his four children, including his oldest daughter Mary who is blind. The children quickly come to love Elizabeth, but it takes John quite a bit longer to realize the depth of his feelings for her.
As far as debut novels go, this is one of the best I've read. The story is gripping from the very start and Jody does a fantastic job introducing characters (there are quite a few), explaining the political and religious affairs of the day, and describing the town of Bedford in such a way that you feel like you're walking through the community with a personal tour guide. The dialog was incredibly well-done as well . . . with a few "methinks" and "mayhaps" and "perchances" thrown so you don't forget that you're in England in the mid-1600s.
The relationship between John and Elizabeth certainly didn't come easily. As I read their story I was both frustrated with John and hoping that he would come around (and quickly!). At the same time, I wanted Elizabeth to find something in herself that was worthy of love and for others to see that in her as well. The romantic relationship between John and Elizabeth was unlike anything I've ever read before. While completely innocent and chaste (as was proper for Puritan men and women), it was simultaneously steamy. I'm not sure how she pulled it off but it was perfect!
The story itself is incredibly inspiring. To get a glimpse of what it might have been like to be the wife of one of the heroes of the faith at a time when Christians were regularly persecuted. It made me think more about what it was like to be a Christian in England during that time and also what it's like to be a Christian in many parts of the world . . . even today.
I can't wait to read more from Jody Hedlund. The Doctor's Lady (2011) is definitely on my TBR list! I can't wait to see what she publishes this year.
This book was loaned to me by a friend. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mouths Mom
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book. It was exactly what I expected after reading the previous reviews. It was suspenseful and I really enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing The PREACHER'S BRIDE

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was absolutely stunned by the wealth of information this book contained, and at the final conclusion. I won't say more on the conclusion because I don't want to spoil it for other readers. But I loved this book. I learned more 'history' reading this book, and what life was like during those years, than I ever did in history class in school. How thankful to be living in modern America now, vs the way things were in England during this period.
Can you imagine being committed to a marriage and then through circumstances have your to-be-groom given to your sister instead? Can you imagine not having a say in anything and living sometimes worse than a slave just because you are a female?
I enjoyed learning about the differfent medicines used in those days, and the different ways of making breads and soups etc.
In other wrods, I found this book was very hard to put down; it had me involved from the beginning, and THEN the shock of the end. I highly recommend this book for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I enjoyed reading this book. It was very moving and contained a lot of spritual truths. I strongly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Fiction

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
MBrown
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know this was based on a real hero of the Christian faith (Elizabeth Bunyan, John Bunyan's 2nd wife) and was pleasantly surprised after reading the author's note at the end. The book is well written with interesting characters and family issues that are easily related to and, therefore, entertaining to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction! I thought there was just enough description without being boring, and I really felt like I could get into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gigi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A delightful read. I did not realize this was taken from the life of a real person. I will now go back and reread Pilgrims Progress with a renewed interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
joeybear
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book. The story is a bit different from other christian fiction books. Enjoyed the historical nature of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
amy2775
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WONDERFUL STORY about a young woman standing up for what she.thinks is right no matter the.consequences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very fascinating story. I loved the time period and setting of this book as well as the characters themselves. Learning more about the Puritan faith was a great experience. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved it!

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Author Amanda Beth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally read historical fiction books. I only bought it to support Jody since she is a local author. But I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. There was so much going on that it kept you wanting to flip to the next page. I have a new found love for historical fiction now. Thanks, Jody! Great job! I can't believe this was your first book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Preacher's Bride

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Preacher's Bride is the first novel from this debut author, though a second novel is now in print. I hope that the author's writing will improve from this first book. I found the story to drag in the middle, but I think the time period (England in the 17th century) and the setting (the societal pressure against the Puritans by the Royalists) contributed to the story's slowness.
I found Elizabeth Whitbread to be too perfect, and John Costin to be too selfish. I couldn't connect with either of them. As a blind person myself, I really take exception to the blind child Mary being characterized as prophetic or a mystic, when all she did is pay attention to her remaining senses, like blind people do. What really burned me is when Mary felt Elizabeth's face and proclaimed her beautiful. This myth that blind people must feel other folks' faces to know them is still perpetrated in books, and it is not common at all for a blind person to do this.
I didn't realize until reading the author note at the end of the book that The Preacher's Bride is a fictionalized account of the lives of John and Elizabeth Bunyan. John Bunyan wrote The Pilgrim's Progress while spending years in jail, persecuted for his Puritan beliefs. If this information had been placed at the front of the book, it might have made a difference in the way I interpreted the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We Must Protect the Children

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holly Weiss
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Preacher’s Bride is an engaging, skillful narrative. The intriguing cover drew me in and as I read I was immediately transported and immersed in the day to day lives of the Puritans of 17th century England. Some reviewers have erroneously hinted that The Preacher’s Bride takes place in America in Amish country.
Set in the framework of the rancor between English Royalist and the Puritans, the book’s message is that enduring faith, children and family trump persecution. I was unable to put the book down until I learned the fates of John Costin, a tinker “called to mend souls not just kettles” and his housekeeper.
Elizabeth Whitbread, the heroine of this refreshing Christian historical romance, is a compassionate, persistent and perceptive young woman bent on protecting and nurturing the children of the recent widower. “My conscience before God will not allow me to stand idly by,” says Elizabeth.
Author, Hedlund, particularly adept with dialogue, has the gift of swiftly moving her plot along. Her personal experience as a mother of five has evidently enabled her to delve easily into the fanciful, innocent world of children. Her young characters literally jumped off the page into my heart. Particularly impressive is the characterization of Mary, the blind eight-year-old, whose sixth sense is clairvoyant and prophetic.
The Preacher’s Bride is a page-turning tale that will keep you engaged. Kudos for enthralling storytelling about the wife of John Bunyan. Highly recommended Christian Historical Fiction and not restricted to Christian audiences.
Reviewed by Holly Weiss, author of Crestmont
http://www.hollyweiss.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do Not Be Decieved By the Cover

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: The Preacher's Bride - Jody Hedlund - October 2010
Sister Elizabeth Whitford felt that her life was worth more in God than everyone treated her , she tended to the poor, fed them and welcomed them into her heart. She was a giving young women who in a way mirrored in the book "Mother Theresa crossed with Florence Nightingale". In a world where Puritan is the religion to follow , Elizabeth is having second thoughts as she is drawn more into the world of Christianity. When Elizabeth is called to be a housekeeper for the Preacher Costin's family after his wife has passed away from childbirth , she agrees as anything to prolong her arranged marriage with Samuel, a guy she is not even remotely attracted too . As the story progresses like most we see Elizabeth and John Costin move closer together and as we witness through the turning pages, their faith and serving in the one true God falls hand in hand with Elizabeth a healer and server and John a Preacher and Evangelist. When enemies threaten to silence Costin and Elizabeth for preaching the Good news of Jesus Christ, can these two form a bond so strong that will prove that if you believe in Jesus and God, all things no matter how hard or impossible it may seem are possible.
Jody Hedlund is an author that you will enjoy if you like the writings of Kim Vogel Sawyer , Lauraine Snelling, Julie Lessman , Cathy Marie Hake and Julie Klassen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! not too much else to say that would not be repeating what others have already stated! At first it was somewhat different getting into this book but once I was there I could NOT put it down. I do hate to admit I really did not know too much about the Puritan way of life and Hedlund did a great job of telling the story. After I was done reading this book I found I then had to go google more info about the Puritans & the Pilgriams Progress. Whatever you do, do not miss this great read! JOB WELL DONE. Story is based on actual events. * Please write a follow up to this story Jody.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh Perspective and Riveting Read

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Based on its cover, my first thought was that The Preacher's Bride was yet another Amish fiction novel, but I was wrong. Instead of the often formulaic stories that are set in Ohio and Pennsylvania, The Preacher's Bride takes place in England and provides a fresh perspective of the religious persecution that the Puritans faced, and it tells the story of Elizabeth Whitbread and John Costin who face the challenge of loving and understanding one another during a tumultuous time in which members of society are at odds because of religious and political convictions.
Ultimately, this novel takes its readers on Elizabeth's journey as she makes the decision to serve a young family and grows to love her new husband. As Elizabeth protects and nurtures her new family, I found that I was riveted to the pages at times, especially during more suspensful moments of the book. Jody Hedlund skillfully presents Elizabeth as a young woman who possesses doubts and uncertainties, but who perseveres through trials with her own deeply held convictions. I find myself drawing similarities between Elizabeth and Jane Eyre, but I am also strongly influenced by the fact that I watched Jane Eyre shortly after reading this book.
After finishing this novel, I read the "Author's Note" at the end, which provides the historical background from which Jody Hedlund created this compelling story. The end of The Preacher's Bride is even more compelling when I consider the real-life marriage after which her charcters are based. I am eagerly awaiting Jody Hedlund's next novel because she won my loyal readership with this promising debut!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Preacher's Bride, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Preacher's Bride.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Journey to 1600s England!!

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
patti lacy
Location:Normal, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God demands that widower John Costin preach the gospel despite his lowly station as a tinker. Duty and a willingness to serve lead Elizabeth Whitbread, the daughter of a baker, to care for John’s children. As the single-minded pair labor pure-heartedly and single-mindedly, Satan and his servants plot to wreak havoc with their lives…and their union. Will John somehow reach the lost sheep of England yet care for his flock at home? Will Elizabeth find peace as the wife of an itinerant preacher, scorned by the Anglican community and besieged by gossip and malice and her own doubts about God’s withholding of blessings?
Jody Hedlund transports the reader to the life in a Puritan community and weaves a love and faith story as beautiful and complex as the lace tatted by Elizabeth, the novel’s heroine. Sigh as you turn that satisfying last page, but don’t miss the Author’s Note, which piques interest in “…one of the greatest heroes of the faith, John Bunyan, writer of the classic Pilgrim’ Progress." Thank you, Jody, for introducing me to John’s wife, Elizabeth. Jody, blessings on what surely will be an illustrious writing career!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>