Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Hatteras Girl - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Hatteras Girl - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 4388%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hatteras Girl - eBook
Review 1 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
regrn
Location:Williamston, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was great. I just had trouble using the ebook reader. It was difficult to change pages or to go back. Sometimes, it would skip all the way to the end of the book. I'm new at reading ebooks, so maybe it is a learner problem!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Simple, Uplifting read

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
AG Smith
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hatteras Girl was my first encounter with author Alice J. Wisler. The story is about a single woman named Jackie and her desire to own a bed and breakfast in her sleepy little town. To pay the bills and fill her time, Jackie is journalist and helps her childhood friend out after a tragic loss. Jackie blindly chases her dreams while her family around her try to create other dreams for her that lead to interesting tales within this story.
The story to me seemed a little slow and at times a bit too depressing. It did have its quirky moments and was well written. Overall the author managed to keep my interest peaked enough that I wanted to learn the outcome. While faith and Christian values are obvious in this story it is not so overwhelming that it would turn anyone off.
So while this story was not a griping page turner, it is a nice story that can be considered uplifting and even touching at times.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall, a good book

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a fast, mindless read...quite predictable. I felt I knew what the end was going to be from the beginning, but o.k. if you like a girl meets boy, girls gets boy story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A light fun read

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:New Hampshire
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hatteras Girl is centered on the Outer Banks of North Carolina around a single Korean-American girl who has two dreams. One is to be married and the other is to be the owner of The Bailey House with her best friend, Minnie. The Bailey's were a sweet elderly English couple who had run the bed and breakfast and had entertained Jackie and Minnie each day after school.
Will Jackie's dream come true and will she fall in love while it does? We all learn (along with Jackie) that even though things may seem to be the path God wants us to take, nothing happens without patience or happens exactly the way we think it should. Sometimes God has other plans for us and they will become revealed in God's time. I love a strong main character that isn't so perfect that I can't relate to her and who sheds little pieces of wisdom here and there as she learns. This was a fun light read that would be great to read on the beach. Sometimes you just need a fun read.
Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Light Read

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Selabear
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Going into this book, I knew that it was a light read, which is a nice change every so often. While I definitely enjoyed this book, there were a few things that I did not particularly enjoy.
The things that I liked were that the story was written in first person, a nice perspective, and the characters valued their friendships, family relationships, and followed their dreams.
The things I didn’t like were that it’s classified as Christian fiction, but in this case, it just meant that they went to church on Sundays, and occasionally thought about God and that He might have a plan for their lives. It would have been nice to see some spiritual growth come out of the events that took place. Also, the end was a bit over-the-top cheesy, but if you really enjoy romantic fiction, this would have been a great ending. To me, it was extremely predictable and not realistic.
I found the characters hard to connect with, which I feel like came from a lack of depth. What were they really feeling? What were they really interested in?
Overall, I give this book 3 stars. Would I read it again? Probably not. Do I have a negative impression of it? Not at all! If you like light and fluffy romance novels, this would be a good read for you. Thank you to Bethany House for sending me this book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
lipto
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
If there was one word that I would use to describe Hatteras Girl, it would be sweet. If I could use one phrase, it would be sweet with a hint of mystery.
Jackie Donovan has two dreams. One is to marry. The other is to own a bed and breakfast. However, she doesn't just want any man and she doesn't want just any bed and breakfast. She has her heart set on just one -- The Bailey House. However, there is a mystery surrounding the house and it sits alone, vacant and beginning to fall apart.
As she dreams about The Bailey House, she also dreams about finding the right man. Her well-intentioned relatives set her up on many (disastrous) blind dates, but she just can't seem to find the one. And then, without warning, a man and The Bailey House fall into her lap. Leaving her to wonder, is it all too good to be true?
I believe you will enjoy reading this book, as you journey with Jackie on her quest to fulfill her dreams and as she finds that sometimes what she really needs is right in front of her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Okay Read, but not a Must Read

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hatteras Girl is centered on the Outer Banks of North Carolina around a single Korean-American girl who has two dreams. One to be married, and one to be the owner of The Bailey House with her best friend, Minnie. Both were childhood dreams, and it looked like they were going to come true and be intertwined. What more could a girl want?
Well, for starters, a girl might want a main character who put a little more thought into her life. While Jackie Donovan (a good Korean name) is very easy to relate to, she seems a little shallow. There does not seem to be a lot of depth to her, except when it comes to The Bailey House, but even then it's still not that deep. You are left to assume she has a relationship with God by the fact that she goes to church and there is one page where she and her good friend, Buck, talk about God. Other than that, she seems to leave God out of every decision.
There are other parts of the book that are fairly predictable. I figured out who she would end up with early in the story, even though they never really had but one time of really close interaction. The plot itself had a lot of holes in it for me. We never really got below the surface of anything. Even when she ended up with her man, it was a little unexciting for me.
All this to say, I really didn't hate the book. I am still not a great fan of first-person stories, and this one was a prime example why not, but I found myself liking the character if I did want to yell at her a couple of times. I was very intrigued by her roommate, and would love to see a story about Minnie and her young son, Zane, as they heal from the loss of Minnie's husband and find life and joy again. I thought the book had a lot of potential, I just wished that it had more depth to it.
All in all, I think Ms. Wisler shows promise and will definitely follow her to see how she grows in further books.
This book was provided to me for review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not My Kind of Book

Date:January 18, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, I hate to give an unfavorable review, but I will be honest regarding my thoughts on this book.
There were some things I liked about the book. The setting. The dream Jackie had of one day owning the Bailey House. But, the things that I didn’t like seemed a little louder than the things I did.
*The rest of this review will have some spoilers, so beware* I found the dialogue in some places to be unbelievable. (Such as when she confronts Davis at the Grille.) If I was having an argument and someone was speaking that way to me, I would think they were mentally unstable. It was very random dialogue.
Also, Jackie didn’t seem to have any spiritual growth throughout the book. There were moments early on where she asked questions regarding God and why He let certain things happen, and I never felt like she was resolved with any of it.
Finally, the book broke one of my pet peeves. That is when there is more romance (and focus on the relationship) between a heroine (or hero) and the person they don’t end up with than there is with the person that they do end up with. That bothers me, but I know it doesn’t for everyone.
There were a couple other things too, but I don’t want to go on forever on the book’s issues. I think there will be some people who enjoy this book, but, sadly, I wasn’t one of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I liked the humor, plot, and perspective!

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
travelingstacey
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers to review.
This is the story of Jacki, quite secure as a writer for a magazine, and living in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. She's constantly being set up with guys, but never seems to find Mr. Right. Her lifelong dream--to own and operate a local Bed and Breakfast that she used to visit as a child. On a writing assignment, she meets Davis Erikson, who is handsome, wealthy, successful, and a little secretive. He's also connected with the Bed and Breakfast.
One thing I immediately noticed, and that I liked, about this book is that the story is told completely in first person...from Jacki's mind, her perspective. It was great to see everything from her thoughts. They were real thoughts that you and I would have, but not something we would necessarily say out loud. It made the book interesting. Even her selfish and irritated thoughts were revealed, and it made Jacki even more real in my mind. I laughed out loud several times...I loved the humor in the book. I also enjoyed the references to popular culture, which included shows I watch on tv even now! The story was not as predictable, had a few little twists and turns, and there was even a love story. Overall an enjoyable book and one I would recommend! It even had three recipes at the end of the book...including a lemon cookie recipe that I'm seriously thinking of making soon! : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great book! With characters that you just want to hug and help them with their hurting hearts. I loved this book and while it was the first book I have read that was written by Alice J. Wisler, I know it will not be the last.
Have you ever had a dream that you have held onto so long that when it finally happens, you realize you have changed and your not sure that you can fulfill the dream or even if the dream is realistic anymore. This is where Jackie Donovan aka "Hatteras Girl" has found herself. Ever since she was a young girl, she has wanted nothing more than to own and run The Bailey House, which is a bed and breakfast that is on the North Carolina shore at Hatteras. The Bailey's were a sweet elderly English couple who had run the bed and breakfast and had entertained Jackie and Minnie each day after school. She had wonderful memories of that time and wanted to restore the house to its original glory. But when the dream arrived, she was not sure she could make it happen.
So much had changed in her and Minnie's lives and this was a dream they had shared. Overtaken by grief Minnie and her young son, depend on Jackie alot.
Will Jackie's dream come true and will she fall in love while it does? She thinks so, but is she looking in the wrong direction for love?
This is a great book, one that you will not want to put down. I truly enjoyed the book! 310 pages $US 14.99 4 stars.
This book was provided by Bethany House for review purposes only, no payment was received for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
J Kramasz
Location:Mpls MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the story of Jackie Donovan a young woman living in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. There are two things she most wants in life – to own a bed and breakfast, more specifically the Bailey House, and to marry a wonderful man.
But for now, she is a writer at the Lighthouse views while she lives with her recently widowed childhood friend and helps to raise her son.
While working on a story she meets Davis Erickson, a man who seems to hold the keys to both of her dreams, but all is not as it would seem.
Overall, I liked this book. It is written in the first person, which I found to be very frustrating for the first few chapters. After about five chapters it stopped bothering me, but at first it was very annoying. It is a bit slow moving, but that allows the reader to really get comfortable with the characters and ends up being part of the appeal of the book. The characters are very real and relatable. By the end I found myself hoping for a sequel.
I must mention that I received a complimentary review copy of this book from Bethany House, but that in no way influenced my opinion of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Real

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Sears
Location:Sherman, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am still reading books sent to me by Bethany House Publishers for review. The latest book I read was titled "Hatteras Girl" written by Alice J. Wisler. It all happens in North Carolina's Outer Banks. Alice does a fantastic job of making you feel like you are right at the beach with her descriptions. The story is about love, love of a bed and breakfast, love of the beach, love of Hatteras, and the finding of true love that comes from the most obvious of places but is most often overlooked friendship. Jackie the main character sorts through real life issues and finds true love in a true friend. It was so down to earth and real that I enjoyed this book and the plain everyday characters that make life so interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A WONDERFUL ROMANCE OF DREAMS DO COME TRUE!

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
HATTERAS GIRL by Alice J. Wisler is a contemporary fiction set in modern day on the Outer Banks of North Carolina.It is well written with details and depth. It has secrets,humor, loss, grief, hope,faith, healing, charm, beach, nostalgia, family, relationship, Bed and Breakfast, and dreams do sometimes come true. The characters are charming, the story is set in the beach communities of the Outer Banks of North Carolina. This is a wonderful beach story of faith, love, and dreams.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Bethany House,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loveable and Relatable!

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vanessa of HHCreations
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading "Hatteras Girl", by Alice J. Wisler, and I'm eager to read the rest of her literary works! Jackie Donovan is definitely a character you can relate to in one way or another. In fact, I'm not sure if it's her personality, her strong hope and motivation that helps her through some tough times that are thrown her way, or her ability to be honorable and caring towards her friends and family at all times no matter how annoying or how emotional a situation they might be faced with, that I enjoy the most about her.
An interviewer and writer for a local magazine in the Outer Banks region of North Carolina, Jackie is a 29-year-old dreamer who would love more than anything for God to answer 2 of her most desired prayers: a man who will be everything she is looking for, and to be the owner of her childhood dream house -- The Bailey House Bed and Breakfast that has now fallen into disrepair. As the story unfolds and the plot seems to take the course that Jackie prays for every day, we all learn (along with Jackie) that even though things may seem to be the path God wants us to take, nothing happens without patience or happens exactly the way we think it should. Sometimes God has other plans for us and they will become revealed in God's time.
A great story with a story line that keeps you intrigued and captivated at all times. I couldn't put it down! Plus, I love all of the characters, and the way they all tie in to God's plan for Jackie makes them even more enoyable no matter what role they take or end up taking as the story draws to a close. I highly recommend it to anyone who reads contemporary fiction whether they are a Christian or not.
Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love the Charming Characters

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
T. Forkner
Location:Wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Alice J. Wisler's latest novel, Hatteras Girl. I read her first novel Rain Song and enjoyed it so much that I loaned it to someone and can no longer remember where it is (If you have it, can you please give it back?). It is hard to say what I loved most about Hatteras Girl. Was it the Outer Banks of North Carolina setting? Maybe, because I love a good setting. Or maybe it was the cast of quirky, but refreshingly down-to-earth characters who were surprisingly familiar to me. I love a good 'supporting cast.' I also love a strong main character who isn't so perfect I can't relate to her and who sheds little pieces of wisdom here and there as she learns. Like I said, it's hard to say what I loved most about this novel because I really enjoyed it all.
One thing I really want to say is that it has a background thread that deals with grief in a way that is not too heavy. It felt to me that this story teaches people how to deal with other people's grief as much or more than how to deal with your own. It's hard to know what to say and how to act when tragedy happens to other people, and seeing how Jackie navigates this with her best friend who is in the midst of grieving for someone is touching.
Of course, I always love a good recipe, too, and this book has three of them at the end of the book that I'm looking forward to trying. I'm so glad I read this book. If you are looking for a book that isn't too simple with complex and interesting characters, but that will still make you smile, then you should read Hatteras Girl. - Tina Ann Forkner, Author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sometimes dreams do come true.

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hatteras Girl by Alice J. Wisler is about a young lady named Jackie Donovan who lives in the Hatteras Port Area of North Carolina. Jackie is a fun loving young lady with a dream. Her dream is to own the "Bailey House."
The Bailey House was a Bed & Breakfast that held fond childhood memories for Jackie and her best friend Minnie, however now it is closed and empty. It was always their dream to run the establishment and greet guests and make them feel welcome and at home.
The only dream Jackie's family has is seeing her find a man and get married, after all she is turning thirty. Davis Erickson of Rexy Properties comes to the area and sweeps Jackie off her feet. An added bonus he has connections and holds the keys to the Bailey House.
Who exactly is Davis Erickson? Has Jackie finally found the man of her dreams or has he been right in front of her the whole time? Will Jackie and Minnie's dream of running the Bailey House ever come true? Find the answers to these questions and many more in Hatteras Girl.
MY THOUGHTS: This was a good book, a good storyline, however I did not feel like I was a part of it. The author's style of writing is very abrupt and to the point. She really does not paint a picture where you feel you are involved, which was a little disappointing to me.
Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a fun book to read

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hatteras Girl was a fun book to read I liked Jackie and all the other characters. I found myself able to visualize all the scenery in that Alice Wisler writes about. I've always wanted to go on vacation to the Outer Banks and this book just makes me want to go more :). Jackie has dreamed and never let go of her old childhood dream of owning a certain bed and breakfast. It makes you think back to your own childhood dreams that you might still have. I always wanted to be a prek (or kindergarten teacher) did that, I also always thought it would be neat to be a children's librarian and do story times with crafts! :)
I have never read a book by Alice Wisler so I wasn't sure what to expect and I was genuinely happy with her book and will pick up others when I see them at the library I'm sure. I think she writes a good book with just enough suspense.
thank you Bethany House for allowing me to review this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Memorable Characters in a Beach Town

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
NANZ
Location:Utah
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like many of the other reviewers, I received "Hatteras Girl" from Bethany House Publishers to give an unbiased personal review. I had not read the author's work prior to this book.
I found I could not put this book down for very long before I had to read at least one more chapter to see what else would happen with these small town, family-oriented characters. Her descriptions were so engaging that I felt I could walk around the town and through the yard of Bailey House as well as the house itself. I might even know who the people were by listening to their conversations. There were conflict of interests [love, business, well-meaning family & friends] that weren't all resolved by the end of the book - just like real life. Maybe one of those could even be evolved into another book. I liked that I found myself laughing outloud in some parts!
I would have preferred a bit more development of the primary relationship near the ending, but it did make sense. It was one of the quieter underlying story lines that contributed to the overall balance in the book.
After finishing "Hatteras Girl," would I like to vist Hatteras? Yes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

you can't always get what you want . . .

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
ATaylor
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sometimes, what you want and what is right for your life are two very different things.
Jackie Donovan’s tightly-knit family has one goal for her life: to meet and marry Mr. Right. After a string of less than successful blind dates, Jackie meets Davis Erickson. Davis seems to have everything Jackie wants, including her beloved Bailey House where she spent much of her childhood. Despite a myriad of “red lights”--crises centered around her family and her best friend, Minnie--Jackie remains determined to spend time with Davis. But the closer she grows to Davis, a chasm develops between her and Buck, one of her oldest friends.
Over time Jackie discovers that the people and situations surrounding her aren’t always as they seem. Her story is one of learning to trust in God’s plan for her life and finding contentment where God has placed her.
Set in the coastal towns of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, Hatteras Girl is a comfortable story that manifests the same easy mood as a lazy summer afternoon. After the first four chapters, I wanted to feel nestled into the town and story . . . but I simply wasn’t hooked. Aside from a few patches of clever dialog, Hatteras Girl is predictable and offers nothing out of the ordinary with regard to plot. As I finished the last chapter and closed the book in my lap, I found that I didn’t know Jackie as well as I knew some of the other characters. Perhaps this is the greatest disappointment since the story is written from her point of view.
I don’t regret having read Hatteras Girl, but it will not make my “Favorites” list.
*In exchange for my honest opinion, Bethany House provided a copy of Hatteras Girl free of charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hatteras Girl - eBook
This review is fromHatteras Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A CHARMING BOOK

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hatteras Girl
Jackie Donavon is turning 30 and has yet to see her life dreams even begin to unfold. One is to marry a wonderful man and the other is to own the town bed and breakfast that holds so many happy memories of her childhood.
She trudges along at her job as a reporter for a local publication, highlighting local businesses for tourist. She shares an apartment with her widowed childhood friend, Minnie and Minnie’s 4 year old son. In addition to Minnie’s grief over the loss of her husband she is also dealing with the decline of her much loved mother. Jackie is always there support as best she can and helping with her son.
Working and going on horrible blind dates her relatives continually set up for her seems to be her lot in life.
Suddenly the tide seems to shift when she meets handsome and wealthy Davis Erickson. It seems all her prayers are going to be answered, but are they? Amy learns that things are not always as they seem.
I very much enjoyed this book. I like books that I can become immersed in the characters. I felt a part of her warm, loving and supportive family. It was as if I knew each one personally, their quirks, faults, and positive attributes.
The book had many surprises along the way, pleasantly interwoven throughout the story. The book was a reminder to me of how God is always working in our lives whether we see it not. Jackie made me think of myself when I try to second guess God and look for my plans to unfold instead of letting Him write my “script”. It also brought to mind the many times answered prayer was right in front of me but I couldn’t see it because I was looking in the wrong places. While things may not always work out the way I planned, God will take care of everything in His way and His time.
I was delighted to see at the end of the book were some very special family recipes that were mentioned throughout the story. As I read I thought, “I wish there was a recipe for that! A very nice touch to an already excellent book!
In exchange for my honest review, I received a copy of the book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.