Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Day of War - eBook

Zondervan Day of War - eBook

In ancient Israel, at the crossroads of the great trading routes, a man named Benaiah is searching for a fresh start in life. He has joined a band of soldiers led by a warlord named David, seeking to bury the past that refuses to leave him. Their ragged army is disgruntled and full of reckless men. Some are loyal to David, but others are only with him for the promise of captured wealth.

While the ruthless and increasingly mad King Saul marches hopelessly against the powerful Philistines, loyal son Jonathan in tow, the land of the Hebrew tribes has never been more despondent-and more in need of rescue. Over the course of ten days, from snowy mountain passes to sword-wracked battlefields, Benaiah and his fellow mercenaries must call upon every skill they have to survive and establish the throne for David-if they don't kill each other first.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Day of War - eBook
Review 1 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great biblical story brought to life.

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
shagcmb23
Location:SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Author admits taking creative license with the story, so as long as you don't get hooked up on that, you can really enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic book

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
sm2tron2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book, a very fast ready, I enjoyed it from cover to end
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adrenaline pounding moments, courageous characters

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enter the world of soon-to-be King David as told like no one else has done before. Benaiah is a powerful warrior in David's army, on the run from King Saul, who is bent on David's destruction. When David sends Benaiah to the Hebrew tribes to prove David's loyalty to his people, Benaiah finds himself in a clash with lions and with enemy warriors seeking to plunder a village and rape it's women. Benaiah gains crucial knowledge from a warrior before the warrior is killed, and races back to David's army to share about an imminent attack on their loved ones. David and his men soon find themselves fighting enemies on many fronts, both human and spiritual warriors alike.
Day of War is a book for men who want permission to be men, men who want to be the warrior protecting their family. The novel is true to the events captured in 2 Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11 in the Old Testament, with manly characters untouched by the feminist movement of modern times, heroes who are imperfect and even deeply flawed but who battle for what is right. I love the author's description of David the warlord, a man with confidence and authority, a "lion's face" of power, and yet a man who could play the lyre & sing achingly beautiful melodies, a man who prayed loudly and passionately into the night. That is indeed a man who boys today can aspire to be like.
I found that the historical details of ancient Israel are rich, the scenes are vivid, the supernatural scenes mesmerizing. The story was taut and faced paced, with adrenaline pounding moments and courageous characters. Not only was the book thoroughly entertaining, but it brought to life David's story in a way that stirred my faith and, I believe, is written in a God-honoring manner.
I greatly enjoyed this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars. I look forward to the next installment in the series!
Warning: This book has violent scenes, and some readers may be turned off by the imagery used.
Disclosure: Book was provided courtesy of the publisher, Zondervan, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book especially for young men.

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dcrshell
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have given this book to 6 other high school/college/young adult men and they all thought it was one of the best books they have read. And my wife thought it was great also. Not a lot of these kind of books for men. This is one to get for all the men you know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
GeorgiaRed
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent read. I literally could not put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Christian Life is a life of war

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave Jenkins
Location:Caldwell, Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Day of War is written by Cliff Graham a chaplain in the United States Army National Guard, and graduate of Liberty Baptist Theological Seminary. Day of War is the first book in a series titled Lion of War. This book explores a man named Beniah and David’s mighty men of Israel in 2nd Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11. This book is a novel not a verse by verse treatment of 2nd Samuel 23 and 1st Chronicles 11.
As I read this book I was encouraged by the courage David’s men took in the face of many battles, great danger. I was reminded in reading this book that the Christian life is a life of war against the flesh, the devil and the world. Reading this book will help you appreciate not only the struggles David’s men went through on his way to being the King of Israel, but it will also help you to understand and frame your own struggles in light of the war you are engaged in presently as a believer living in a sinful world.
Reading fiction has never been my favorite genre to read as I prefer reading biblical and theological treatments, but I am slowly warming up to this genre. For a long time now, my wife has been encouraging me to read fiction not to get away from reading biblical and theological books but to get a break from all the heavy reading. I am thankful I listened to her advice, because Day of War is a well-written book and engaging book. Reading fiction I’ve noticed has helped my reading of other genres also.
I encourage you to read Day of War in order to be reminded afresh that the Christian life is a life of war against the flesh, the world and the devil. The Christian is no longer in bondage to sin, but now serves a new lord-- Jesus Christ and is a new creation because of Jesus death, burial and resurrection. As a result of being a new creation in Christ the believer can serve Jesus our Risen Savior who defeated death and now empowers believers to live lives empowered by the Holy Spirit in order to engage as His soldiers in the work of the Great Commission. I recommend you pick up Day of War by Cliff Graham and be encouraged that the Lord we serve is truly victorious over sin and death, and now empowers His people to serve in His power for the sake of the advancement of the Gospel for His glory.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Promising debut

Date:August 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Cliff Graham's debut novel, Day of War, is a unique addition to the Biblical Fiction genre and I found much to like in this retelling of David's battles alongside his fierce and faithful warriors. I was particularly enamoured with Cliff's portrayal of the charismatic and conflicted David, as he and his rag tag army of mercenaries roamed and fought in ancient Israel. Jonathan is also drawn with intelligence and insight and while they do not cross paths in the time frame of this story, their abiding friendship is evidenced well. Benaiah, who carries much of the story, reflects the staunch, career warrior who comes to realise he betrayed his wife with his dedication to the fight. Cliff has a gift for characterisation and there is plenty of opportunity to display it with the numerous main players from Benaiah to David, Jonathan to Saul, Keth, Garab, Eliam and Josheb. Earthy conversations, bloody battles and gallows humour are thankfully all present reflecting the lot of a warrior rather than sanitizing a story that is unquestionably gruesome as well as heroic. Check out the Biblical books of Samuel or Chronicles and you will get the picture. While there are fearsome battles, wrestling with lions and suicidal missions, Cliff includes the frailties and fears of these men adding excellent texture and depth to the tale. On occasion, the descriptive prose was overdone and some scenes too drawn out, but I expect to see some tightening of the plot and language as Cliff continues to hone his craft in the remaining four novels. Men will thrive on these books but women, do not discount them! Anyone who loves a gritty and authentic read will be hooked by Cliff's stories and his marvelous characterisation and hopefully will venture back to the Scriptures which inspired Cliff to pen the adventures and failures of David and his Mighty Men.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding biblical read!

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Windle
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was SUCH an outstanding read, on the times of King David from the POV of David's Mighty Men, one of the world's early Special Ops forces. I saw this as a free download, but didn't bother as I assumed it was one more same-oh biblical fiction on the life of David, of which I've read many in two languages, until some military acquaintances starting raving about it. This was definitely written by a warrior and is one of the best and most realistic novels set in biblical times I've ever read. The only drawback: the story didn't finish, and the sequel isn't yet out. I am hooked and waiting anxiously for the next installment. Just hope it is soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Day of War

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Silverbill
Location:Sandy, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
998 B.C.
I felt pleased and blessed when Zondervan sent me a copy of "Day of War," by Cliff Graham. Cliff has signed note read: Psalms 140:7 “O God the Lord, the strength of my salvation, Thou hast covered my head in the day of battle.” Battle rage and battle weariness are continuous themes throughout the novel. Understanding how warriors actually fell under those conditions and what they depend on is one of the great achievements of this book. To know God’s covering, praying for it during time of desperate need is an even greater achievement.
The tale of David and his mighty men comes from two Bible sources; 2 Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11 and have been a favorite of mine for 30 years. Graham has truly captured the brutality and male heroism of ancient Israel. He has taken the story of King David the warlord and his Mighty Men and written the first installment of an epic tale on a scale with, the valor of “The 300, a tale of the Spartans’” and hopefully will have greater impact at the box office. 2012 will see a major motion picture from David Cunningham (Path to 911) and Grant Curtis (Spiderman 1, 2, &3) with another sequel the following year.
This is a page-turner, which I could not put down. It is deeply masculine, but not in sense of bulging muscles, macho, and blind killing machine sort of way, (it is a very violent book). Graham touches on the deeper part of manhood as the reader sees the main character, Benaiah, who suffers through the insecurities, guilt’s, and frustrations that every man battles during his life. The relationships between the main characters in the story evidence the fact that Graham has served in the military and understands the inexplicable bond of men who fight together.
I marvel at how well written the book is yet remains as faithful to the biblical record which inspires it. Benaiah, David, The Three along with the other Mighty Men are going to be the heroes of the next generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Day of War - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
mary
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kept my interest all the way to the end. Good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.