Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook

Zondervan WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Review 1 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helps you prioritize your time according to God's will!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
loves2read
Location:Lebanon, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really great book with a lot of practical wisdom!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Catchy Title Lives up to Expectations

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cbdcustomer
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the audio book to research for potential small group curriculum. I found the book to be very practical in applying the concepts that are relevant in today's culture. I purchased the DVD study and participant's guides for a small group study. The DVD is very well done. The messages are powerful and impactful. The group was engaged with each session and fruit was taking seed during the study.
I would highly recommend the book for personal growth and encouragement along with the group study for small groups.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christian lady
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now this is the way it should be "preached": inspiring, Biblically solid, not watered down, and in a fun and enjoyable format. Well done, sir!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Spiller
Location:Pasadena, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weird is a challenging and insightful book. It’s engaging and full of wisdom. It has blessed me!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Otto
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good book that really makes you look at yourself and define your relationship with Christ
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great individual study and for group book study.

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
auntbec
Location:Navasota, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I read this book I have become more committed to being "weird" for Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is wow! God has totally blessed me

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
tasham
Location:Greenock, Scotland
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book covers the main issues that we as Christains face in the fallen world and it is all about how we are made to be weird- this is not our home and as Christians we are called to stand out and although that may seem scary when we do we allow God to come in and teach us how to become more Christ-like. We are going to stand out in this fallen world because we are children of God who are called to live life to a different standard- a WEIRD one.
Please read this if you get the chance because my review will never give it any justice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
SunmanMom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by the Pastor at my Church. Well worth reading. Sounds just like my life. Good tips and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
twelsh3
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book. It's easy to read. It's entertaining. It's Biblically sound. The author is blunt about the fact that we are either following this world or we are following Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

encouraging a life centered on God

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We want to appear normal, right? Groeschel did until the tragic death of a college coed woke him to the seriousness of life. He began studying the Bible and realized what it taught was anything but normal. It was weird.
What's “normal” in today's society is not working. Groeschel encourages us to quit being normal. Be weird, the God kind of weird.
He begins with time and how we live in it. “God will often give you more than you can handle so you can learn to depend on him rather than on yourself.” (32) He helps us unplug from the “busy machine” and encourages Sabbath. He suggests asking, “Is it wise?” when confronted with a decision or invitation.
Next he looks at money, reminding that God has richly blessed us. “As long as we live in pursuit of more stuff … we will never life in true abundance.” (71) We don't think we are rich because some marketer has convinced us we can't be unless we can afford their product. The weird view: “Gratitude for all we have and stewardship of its use for the good of all.” (71) Live with contentment and generosity.
He shares his thoughts on love and marriage. He reminds us to focus on God for fulfillment, not our spouse. “If we focus on God first and view our spouse as his gift to us, we stop expecting another person to do what only God can do.” (110) And, “If the grass looks greener somewhere else, it's time to water your own lawn.” (111)
He writes about family relationships, raising children to need and intimately know God, maintaining fidelity in your marriage, resisting sexual temptation, and helping your kids understand God's plan for sex.
Groeschel notes we must always be aware: “The current of normalcy will pull you away from God at every opportunity you let it.” (191)
He ends with four questions to help give clarity in discerning what God wants you to do with your life, your God-given objective.
His primary motivation for writing this book is that “we've made lukewarm synonymous with normal” for the Christian life. (231) Quit being normal. Be weird.
“Normal is to strive for the center of what the world lives like.
Weird is to live to be in the center of God's will.” (120)
“...[W]eird people know that everything is spiritual … We live aware of God moment by moment. He is not a part of our lives; God is our life.” (127)
This is a good encouragement to live the life God has called us to – for new and seasoned Christians alike. I highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is so pracitcal.

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
bbrown
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Craig Groeshel shares about his weird life in such a humorous and practical way. This book touches on so many areas of life where Christians struggle on what it means to follow Jesus not the world. Craig tackles the areas and gives practical insight into what life should look like. He sets the bar high and shares personal failures, so you don't feel it is hopeless. I want to be weird and look forward to the day when weird is normal in the church!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Groeschel's message is urgently needed.

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berean
Location:Finksburg, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Weird" says what has needed to be said for a long time. At their own peril, many people who claim to be Christian cannot be distinguished from secular society -- what I call a "camouflage Christian," because we blend in with our surroundings so well. The church of Laodicea is at hand. Thank God for Craig Groeschel's book. It deserves to be used in small group studies everywhere; in sermons too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie Van Dusen
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the way Craig Groeschel takes everyday situations and gives a better way to solve the problem. We all need to be more loving to each other and Craig gives some ideas how to do that. I enjoyed the book even while it was telling me to shape up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for New Christians

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
kstinger101
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a new Christian, sanctification has proved to be a challenge. WEIRD is presented in a way that someone who does not have a clear grasp on Scripture yet can clearly comprehend. The only section of the book I would change is the portion on "sex". It focuses more on immorality than purity, which is something I have recently been struggling with. Overall, and amazing book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Book

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
MichelleNicole
Location:Kansas
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this book and I would defintley recommend it to anyone at least high school age or above..(I am 17) ..because there are some parts that talk about money problems and sexual things(sexual things in a good way, not a bad way I promise) that younger people don't need to be informed about just quite yet. I read this book every night before I go to bed and from each section of the book I learn at least one thing. This book also has great quotes and sayings that I love putting as my Facebook status and people always "like" them haha. Buy this book...you won't be dissapointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved The Book

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shandra
Location:Canton, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the book I have been craving! If you want loving honesty about our roles as followers of Jesus Christ, this is the Biblically based source you're looking for. I commend Pastor Craig Groeschel on sharing the principles from his own personal experiences first rather than placing himself in a higher-than-you, teacher position. I highly recommend this book and cannot help, but be changed by his reiteration of the scriptures and what they mean for the way I live my life... Weird: Because Normal Isn't Working!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rob Bell Love Wins is better but WEIRD is okay

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Omar
Location:Boston, MA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book a lot, but it reminded me of what my mom used to say while I was growing up: "You are so WEIRD!" CBD has a great price on this book, but I think that Love Wins is a much better book. I just can't find it on this website, which is crazy because CBD usually has everything! Oh well you are still great! I will buy Rob Bell's book whenever it comes out on CBD because I want to buy from CHRISTIAN people, not Amazon.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WEIRD: Because Normal Isn't Working - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do You Have to Be WEIRD to Be God's Children?

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
LifeVerse
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While I am a fan of Craig Groeschel’s writing and his last book "The Christian Atheist," I found his newest book "Weird Because Normal Isn’t Working" to be a disappointment. The intent behind the book "Weird" is to compare and contrast what is normal in society to a Christian standard Groeschel defines as “weird.” He encourages going beyond normal society measures for time management, money spending and giving, sex and relationships, and core values. Being a modern Christian means you fall into a category of weirdness, according to Groeschel. Somehow, I don’t imagine these are words Jesus would use to describe God’s children. I was disappointed in the direction of the book, the constant references to sex, and the overindulgence of cliches. Many of the examples presented in the book were mentioned in previous books written by Groeschel. In the writing, I detected much pride about turning away from drinking and sex, and little thanks for God's forgiveness and redemption. Forgive me for judging, I received an advanced copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
+4points
17of 30voted this as helpful.