Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Banner of Truth The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1

Banner of Truth The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1

John Newton, author of the hymn "Amazing Grace," said, "If I might read only one book beside the Bible, I would choose The Christian in Complete Armour." Charles Spurgeon wrote, "Gurnall's work is peerless and priceless; every line is full of wisdom; every sentence is suggestive." David Wilkerson, author of The Cross and the Switchblade, wrote, "The Christian in Complete Armour should be in the library of every man and woman of God." Originally written in 1655 in three volumes, this Puritan classic on spiritual warfare has been updated into modern English and abridged for easy reading. Volume 1 covers our call to arms, being armed, the nature of warfare and the character of Satan, and standing in the fight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Review 1 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dottie Az
Location:AZ
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A truly awesome book that I am very pleased to have purchased. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to understand and grow in their walk with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Have !!!!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Clifford Newby Jr.
Location:Seven springs, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Next to the bible this is a must read! Buy it and read it. You want be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
sxt087
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy this!!! You wont be the same after reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike
The only book I've read filled with more wisdom of the Holy Spirit is the bible. I wish I would have read this years ago!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynda Bancroft
These volumes are not about "how to". This deals with the heart and will convict, comfort, encourage and challenge to a deeper walk in Christ. This version is easy to read, but I prefer the unabridged version. The print is smaller, you may need a dictionary to help with unusual words or phrases, but it is well worth it. Gurnall had so much more to say than was included in the abridged version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Hitchcock
This is a wonderful book!!! A must read for EVERY Christian!!! Very enlightening and convicting!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rupert Seah
It is an excellent book for all who are serious about their Christian faith. The battle is an internal one between the flesh and the Spirit and also an external one between Christians on the one hand and the devil and the world on the other hand. With this book I became more aware of the cunning devises of the evil one and also of the many deceptions in our modern society Christians fail to recognise and accept. A must read for all Christians. Holiness is sometimes an obscene word even in Christian circles. This book makes pulls no punches on the subject.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Wyatt
Oh my goodness!!! this book is all that you will ever need (besides the Bible). It is full of scriptural information. I purchased all three and dont reget it one bit. Every christian should read these 3 books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Miracle
Gurnall's books basically have no fluff. Each page is filled with applicable truths that help me and any one who would read them. Basic truths that if held to would keep us walking in freedom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rosa Richardson
AWESOME!! I highly recommend it to young people who are starting their walk with Christ. This will help you "walk the walk"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nicole S
It's amazing how the strategies of the devil haven't changed through out the centuries. Gurnal does a marvelous job of exposing some of the enemies tactics while challenging the christian to be consistent, disciplined and watchful in his faith walk. Well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Alexander
It is a very thorough review of the Whole Armor of God. For anyone wanting to get a good understanding, I would highly recommend the three book set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Edson
Excellent ! Every Christian should read this book.Great to read a book with some food for thought not just wishy washyGreat book! Every Christian should read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Stephen Samuel
I've begun the first volume of this series and I highly recommend these works to everyone. Gurnall's work reminds us that the Christian life is a battle, and our strength is God Himself. Each page is concentrated with so much Scripturally-based wisdom that just a few pages at a time can yield tremendous insights that deserve concentration and self-examination. These works, if applied, can certainly help a believer renew his/her mind. Gurnall was enabled by the Lord to say a lot in single sentences. Thoroughly quotable, and memorable, preachers and lay people alike will want to have this series in their libraries. Thanks to CBD for making it so affordable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Christian in Complete Armour, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2001
Customer Avatar
R.B.
This book has been called the classic of Puritan literature. Its greatness cannot be overstated. It remains fresh after four readings, and should be read by all. Do not misunderstand, however, this is not a book about spiritual warfare per se, it encompasses the whole of Christian living- and only in that respect can it be likened to warfare. Every page is full of gems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.