Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Narrow Path - eBook

Abingdon Press The Narrow Path - eBook

Miranda Klassen's Mennonite church is big and modern and she loves the mixture of faith, action, and activity. But in order to follow her dream she moves across the country to a small town to organize the 25th anniversary celebration of an Old Order Mennonite church. Ted Wiebe has been assigned to assist and guide Miranda, feeling good that his church has chosen another Mennonite. But except for sharing the same basic faith and denomination, their churches have nothing else in common. His church embraces old-style roots, so Ted expects to find someone similar at the airport: a woman who never wears pants, no body piercing (including pierced ears), no makeup, and wearing a head covering as a sign of modesty, someone else who lives in accordance with old-fashioned values. But the woman who acknowledges him is wearing unreasonably high and outlandishly expensive shoes, denim jeans, and makeup, including bright red lipstick. As she gets off the plane she's fiddling with an iPod and yapping on the cell phone. When Miranda enters Ted's church and community she feels like she's been transported back into Little House On The Prairie. Ted is supposed to help Miranda fit in, and Miranda is supposed to help his church reach out into the community. When it's time to start planning and organizing for the celebration, then the fun really begins.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Narrow Path - eBook
Review 1 for The Narrow Path - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
grace greatman
Location:Abuja, Nigeria
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book addressed the fact that true Christianity is more of a heart thing, not in appearances. Great read. I enjoyed the dialogue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Narrow Path - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
shorty
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was an interesting story.It had good story lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clean, simple, and romantic.

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs B
Location:CNY New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is wonderful to read something that is clean and yet romantic. The story line did drop in a few places, fast forwarding in the plot, but overall very good. The author had a way of letting you into the mind of both characers as the story went on. A most enjoyable book. Would love to see the story continue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Narrow Path - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Trouble at the Crossroads

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been intrigued with the Mennonite faith since we had a Mennonite gentleman assemble our newly purchased Amish gazebo kit to be erected beside our pond. What precision and care he took with his work and what a delightful, humorous conversationalist!
This book will not give you an in-depth theological understanding of that denomination, but it will give you a delightful look at how two entirely opposite groups within the same faith can eventually come together on common ground. Many of the characteristics of each are very similar: same work ethic, same humble devotion to community, same respect for the things of God. However, their approaches to the things of the world reveal the breadth of change that has moved some congregations away from the Old Order-the Old Way.
Although some of the story line gets dropped at certain points, the story of love, joy in worship and deep abiding faith is woven throughout. This book was a delight in many ways. It has lessons for all of us in loving our brothers of other denominations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Narrow Path - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Offered as a free read, but this was a worthy read

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosy
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A peek into Amish culture, a romantic story that grew, on me and into love for the characters. The process, and struggle of the couple keeping the faith were well written. Like I said, a worthy read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought it was great!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by author Gail Sattler. While I normally stick to Amish fiction only, I am branching out to Mennonite and I'm so glad I honed in on this one.
I thought there was great chemistry between the two main characters, despite their differences and getting on each other's nerves.
I loved the setting, the church, the program, the work the characters did ... I thought it was quite nicely put together.
I think you'll enjoy this book too; especially if you are a fan of the simple lives of Plain peoples.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
The ending was what really made this story shine. It started out a bit slow and it wasn't until I was about halfway through the story that I started to really care one way or the other. I felt her frustrations at times and enjoyed the way Ted comforted her when she was hurting and how he tried to be a true friend. I enjoyed that the conflict was so black and white at times, but on occasion it also felt a bit like shoving a square peg into a round hole. Sometimes you could feel that it was a bit forced, like her reason for being at Piney Meadows in the first place. At any rate, it was a sweet love story and I really enjoyed how everything came together at the end. The story was downright romantic. And those few kisses that were shared. Wow! They set the pages on fire because they were the result of restrained passion. That's my favorite kind...the type that builds and builds until it finally happens. :) And it's even better when it is surrounding an emotional situation, like when Miranda was so discouraged.I loved how the author showed the strengths and weaknesses of both characters and how Ted didn't realize at first how much Miranda really did have strong faith in Christ. Why? Because he was determining her depth of faith based on her outward appearance. The scene where she tearfully responded as she sang the lyrics of the hymn was profound and emotionally moving. I loved how this situation started to really change Ted's perspective about real worship and how he realized everything he'd done recently had been more out of habit than from his heart. I loved how Miranda's faith stirred Ted's. She made him want to be a better man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
There are several reviews about what the plot was about so I will skip that whole thing. I'm still sort of up in the air about this book. Mennonite genre is not something I normally read, but I read the back cover and it was intriguing. On the one side, this was a book that was full of characters that care about and for each other while still dealing with very human problems and several parts in this book made me laugh out loud. The writing and for the most part the plot was well done. On the other side, the author's time line for this plot was 10 month and I had trouble following this whenever the times changed. She wasn't very clear about how much time had past since the previous chapter and I felt I was always playing catch-up. I also felt there where holes in the plot where things were missing because of big holes of missing time. That being said, if you like books that are all about relationships, Mennonite community and warm fuzzies, this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Miranda and Ted could not be more different. They are both Mennonites, but Miranda is from a Mennonite church in Seattle that is modern and Ted belongs to an Old Order Mennonite church in Minnesota. When Miranda is hired to lead the Christmas program for Teds church, their differences are obvious. Miranda wears jeans, red t-shirts, red lipstick and reads the Bible on her cell phone. Ted believes in following the traditions of his Mennonite heritage. Despite their differences they are able to work together and put on a great show, and maybe even find love.The first thing that struck me about this book was the instant chemistry between Ted and Miranda. It was so obvious it practically jumped off the pages. I thought Ted was adorable, even if he was a bit stuffy and rigid. He had a lot to learn about real faith from Miranda and she brought a lot of excitement and new forms of worship to this church that needed a pick-me-up. The people of this Mennonite community were very warm and welcoming and I liked how they accepted Miranda for who she was.This is a cute story with a good romantic twist and a solid Christian message, although it was a little on the slow side at times, but not too bad. It is definitely a relaxing read, but I found the pages not turning very fast and my mind wandered sometimes. A story does not always have to move fast to be good, so if you are looking for a little romance, humor, and faith, then you will likely enjoy this story. The chemistry between Ted and Miranda, the community of Mennonites and the supporting cast help make this a very well rounded and charming romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2010
Miranda Klassen, dedicated daughter of a Seattle Mennonite minister, is a talented musician and noted songwriter. Shes excited to have been offered the challenge of helping an Old Order Mennonite church prepare and publicize a Christmas program that will draw new people and new life to its staid congregation.A completely modern Mennonite, Miranda loves red, her computer, and her cell phone. What awaits her in Minnesota is like something out of Little House on the Prairie. The women cook and sew and dress like they stepped out of the last century. The men open doors for the ladies, wear old-fashioned but strangely appealing hats, and sit on the opposite side of the church from their wives. What on earth has she gotten herself into?Ted Wiebe wonders the same thing. No matter how talented she might be, it was a mistake to bring this modern woman to his communityand especially to his church. Miranda wears pants. Her lips are red, along with her boots and much of her clothingwhich does not include a proper prayer kapp. Shes attached to her laptop by some invisible cordand she reads her Bible on a red cell phone!Two people from different worlds, with opposing points of view on just about everything. Both are committed to an important project. But after meeting one another, neither is thrilled about the prospect, especially since theyll be forced to spend a lot of time together.But God works in mysterious ways.A warm and endearing look at a closely knit, wonderfully loving Mennonite community. Gail Sattler explores the difficulty many of us have in accepting that our way may not be the only right way. Mirandas impact on Teds life and the lives of his Mennonite familyand their influence on hertouches, amuses, and entertains. The Narrow Path is a well-written, informative, revealing look at a way of life most of us can only imagine, and an enjoyable exploration of what happens when two worlds collide. Enjoyable reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Although Ted was the most traveled and somewhat contemporary-minded in his Old Order Mennonite fellowship, he was shocked when he met the woman he was to pick up at the airport. She was more modest than many around her, but definitely not what he was expecting. He couldnt even imagine what the rest of the congregation would think when they got a look at her. But much to his surprise and dismay, most seemed to accept her. She tries hard to honor their ways, but still be herself and strive to accomplish her mission. Despite her mistakes and many blunders, she seems to fit in, which befuddles him she reads her Bible on her cell phone in a community where no one even owns a dishwasher or microwave. But he couldnt ignore his growing attraction for her when he begins to look at her heart. She finds him rigid, but kind, smart, and even very appealing in spite of his plain clothes and black hat sometimes because of them. But can they ever agree on anything other than agreeing to disagree? Will they ever be able to succeed with her plan to help the church reach out more effectively? Too many of her ideas are not of their Mennonite ways. Time passes quickly, even more quickly with an unexpected turn of events that forces them to work even more closely together. Just when Ted thought he knew Miranda, will she surprise him once again? How can two believers both Mennonite, but so different -- fit into each others lives? What do they do with their growing feelings? Can two people with such diverse traditions stay on the narrow path and commit to one another? This was a delightful story that I enjoyed very much. Congratulations, Gail, on sharing a story that not only entertains, but shows us that we should never be too quick to judge nor not make time to listen. And we should always look past the outside and at the heart. Ill be looking forward to your next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Narrow Path - eBook
This review is fromThe Narrow Path.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Though the cover may allude to being of the Amish genre, THE NARROW PATH was no such novel. An original story about the Mennonite community and a young woman who enters from the outside.Miranda has been hired by a Mennonite community to create a Christmas play, but can she adapt to this new culture for a year and can she really fall in love with a young man, rooted in his ways?I enjoyed this book. It was fresh and original from what I normally read in the Amish genre. There was humor and a love story that was completely unpredictable- at least for me. When it got down to the wire between Miranda and Ted, I wasnt sure what way it was going to go. And the ending wasnt rushed.My favorite part of the book was when Ted and Miranda would meet for meals. There was humor there that made me chuckle and smile.It is not your typical run of the mill story. I wasnt sure if a story about planning a Christmas play could hold my attention, but it did and I enjoyed the chance to read this novel. Its a fast read, but also one with uniqueness that captivated me.I received my copy from the author to influence. I received no compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.