Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 1

Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 1

Teaches basic phonics for early readers with 12 illustrated child-friendly workbooks, each containing eight pages. Bestselling format guides students through exercises in matching, reading, spelling, writing, copying, and more. Knowing single consonants is a prerequisite to beginning this series. Included in Book 1 is a helpful three-page consonant pretest that measures the student's familiarity with consonant sounds. Grades K-1.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explode the Code, Book 1
Review 1 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for homeschool

Date:January 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
MommaBear
Location:Lebanon, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently started homeschooling my kindergartner, who had pre-k at public school and 1/2 of K at public school. When reading, she would guess at words, I assume that's how they teach the kids - look at the picture and first letter and guess. So I had to train her to sound out the words and look at every letter. This book has been amazing! She is half way through and can read complete sentences and sound out words on her own and is again excited about reading! I've never taught anyone to read and was quite freaked about the prospect, but this book was a great buy! It makes teaching phonics easy! :) I highly recommend. I'm going to order the higher levels for my older daughter. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource!

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs C
Location:Corinna, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this series. The explode the code books have helped my oldest with reading skills and I have now started my Kindergartener on them. They are affordable and easy to use. I like how the lessons are laid out so I can easily give them a lesson on the next concept and then let them practice with the books. It's nice having the lessons laid out in the same format so the kids know what to expect in the lessons as they work through the book. Practice with recognition, writing, and reading....it's all in here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good PH and PA

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
kegley
Location:wv
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for kindergarten ages and to reinforce phonics. I really like that it also focuses on phonemic awareness which is lacking in many programs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great phonics and writing workbook

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
LolaBerry
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this book with my five year old and she has really enjoyed it. It has helped her gain confidence in reading and writing words and sentences. We have taken it slowly and only do about half of a lesson each day because I don't want her to get burned out on a lot of copy and seat work. She loved doing the book, enjoyed the silly pictures, and her handwriting has improved from all of the practice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bridge from ABC's to spelling

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenifer Haley
Location:Eastern Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted to find such a great resource. Very surprised to find it for less at christianbook than on its home website! My son enjoys it and it's a really great reinforcement of what we're doing with K/1st grade reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

builds confidence, gets them reading

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momof6
Location:Oregon, Hillsboro
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
builds confidence kid-led workbooks, gets them reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
jem05
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son really enjoyed this book, makes learning fun
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
CLKR
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's good for extra worksheets but far too repeatitive. Same words over and over for each lesson. Would like to see different words to enhance understanding of concept instead of them being able to memorize the words since only a few pinpointed for lesson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchased 1 and 1 1/2 to finish out kindergarten

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
One and one and a half would have been great starters for my kindergarter. I purchased these two to finish out year and found them to be a great review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My 4 year old is loving it!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
sing4you
Location:Monroe, WA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homework is not a problem for our little one. She dives into her book each day with smiles. The repetition has been just the right amount as she learns to apply it to her reading. The pictures are sometimes tricky to decifer what they are meaning. Once that is figured out she can do the book on her own. Writing and reading together has been a key to her young awakening to books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kryssy
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered ETC 1 for my 6 year old son. He's had problems with reading, especially without pictures. He is what you'd call a 'highly distractable' child, with ADHD and the resultant problems with his focus and memorization. I bought it as a supplement to our other phonics work (AO Lifepacs, An Ordinary Parent's Guide to Teaching Reading, and Reading Eggs) because even the basics were not clicking for him and he was becoming frustrated with the entire process.
This book works on vowel sounds and basic blends. The child needs to have at least a basic understanding of the consonant sounds- although my son struggled with this and is actually picking them up more quickly as he works his way through the book. The black and white pictures that some other reviewers call cheesy are helpful, without being a distraction. They don't dominate the page and make him use his own decoding skills to figure out the words and sounds. The repetition is WONDERFUL. Each lesson takes a basic sound and blend and uses it in several different ways so it engages their little minds
and sticks!
The first few days, he needed me to sit with him and explain what to do on each of the different types of pages, but after that, when he begs to do phonics (which he does! It's a HUGE step up from the dreading it like he did) he grabs his ETC, sits at his desk and goes to work on his own!
I would HIGHLY recommend this book, especially if you have a reluctant learner, or a slow reader.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gave my girl the basics missed at school

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
miriam
Location:CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product gave my girl the basics she missed at school. It seemed too basic at the beginning but it developed at a rate that my girl never noticed she was making progress, but she was, so she never resisted it. It was easy, she had fun coloring the pictures and she was able to use her new learning on her reading. Mommy is happy! and my girl feels more confident writing and reading every day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an optional purchase for our home school curriculum which I didn't know about until after I bought it. I wasn't sure if we would need it until week 6 rolled around and my daughter and I were getting frustrated because of what the basic curriculum lacked. I found this book and it was cheaper to purchase here than through the site I bought her curriculum from. When bought Explode the Code I wasn't thinking that it might not come with a teaching manual so I was somewhat surprised that it didn't. But, we are still able to work through the book without it although I do have one on order now. The book itself is great! It gives my daughter a little more practice with sounds, letters, writing, recognition, etc. I'm really happy with this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic phonics reading program

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Turner
Location:Calgary, AB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the content, layout and process of this program excellent. My daughter likes it a lot. Generally we do only as much as she can handle in a day (1-3 pages) instead of a whole lesson, that way she enjoys it more without being overwhelmed as each "lesson" is quite long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a great phonics learning tool.

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tish
Location:Hendersonville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product to supplement my curriculum. It has really made a difference in my sons' application of phonetics. Using Explode the Code 1 as a supplement to my curriculum has really paid off and is a great learning tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great writing practice

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
TeamSmith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for my 4 year old to practice writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE this!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
JLea
Location:MT JULIET, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Explode the Code for both of my boys and I cannot say enough about the effectiveness of the series. It is an all-in-one workbook that covers phonics, spelling, reading and handwriting. The pictures are all black and white and drawn by kids and my children think they are awesome. Plus, the workbooks are so inexpensive. I 100% recommend the Explode the Code books!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this book so far. I feel like each lesson is extensive and gives an appropriate amount of practice. My 5 year old is going great with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book to use with beginner readers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Explode the Code, Book 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elisa
Location:Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son is learning to read and spell with this program. He really enjoyed this book. I plan to order Explode the Code for each of my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.