Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 2

Educators Publishing Service Explode the Code, Book 2

Explode the Code, for use in the primary and elementary grades, teaches the basic phonics concepts necessary for beginning through intermediate reading. Each of the 12 illustrated workbooks in the program contains a series of lessons of approximately 8 pages in length. These lessons follow a consistent format designed to reinforce phonetic patterns in a sequential manner. Within each lesson children have extensive practice in matching, reading, copying, spelling, and writing sounds and words. Amusing illustrations, drawn by children, highlight the lesson exercises. The simple directions and consistent format allow students to progress independently. The workbooks provide teachers and students with an instructive and entertaining program to supplement any reading and spelling program. Book 2 covers initial consonant blends; final consonant blends. Grade 1.
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explode the Code, Book 2
Review 1 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More simplistic than expected

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelestes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for building very basic phonics skills. I was expecting something a little more involved, but the repetitive nature of Explode the Code is good to solidify any skills that were lagging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Series!

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Selner
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the Explode the Code series for teaching phonics. There's LOTS of repetition and it goes slowly enough for students who struggle with learning reading. We're only on book 2 but I'll be using the entire series to continue teaching my son reading with our homeschooling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun way to learn!

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
pianomom
Location:Aurora, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this workbook. This is one of my first grade daughter's favorite things to do in school. Each page has a fun phonics activity with cute little drawings. My daughter views each page as a game and really enjoys it. I wouldn't use this as a stand alone phonics program as it is pretty simple and not too indepth about teaching concepts but it is nice to fill in with.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky Freund
Location:Midlothian, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Explode the Code books are great to help kids with reading. My daughter was able to read after finishing Explode the Code 1. I'm going to continue with Explode the Code to help her with her reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great beginning language arts curriculum!!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomOf3inArkansas
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love what Explode the Code has done for my daughter! It is such a wonderful way to introduce spelling, phonics, & reading. The way students are guided through this process is wonderful & she was able to do the majority of the work independently. I was amazed at how quickly it moved my daughter from reading simple words to recognizing & spelling compound words & beyond. She went through books 1-8 in about 2 1/2 years & they gave her a great foundation. She also used the Beyond the Code books, but, although they were good practice, I felt they needed to be more challenging at that point. Within the year after she completed the Explode the Code series she was able to read, at 8 years old, books of 300 plus pages at a grade level 4 years or more ahead of her actual grade. I would highly reccommend these books!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
CLKR
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's good for extra worksheets but far too repeatitive. Same words over and over for each lesson. Would like to see different words to enhance understanding of concept instead of them being able to memorize the words since only a few pinpointed for lesson.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supurb!

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tabitha
Location:WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Explode the Code is a great program. This is my first year using it, but i'm impressed and will be using this from now of with all my kids as they need it. I purchased the Teacher's Edition with this, and the Beyond the Code book as well. This made for a complete phonics/reading program that my son absolutely loved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource for beginning readers!

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace8225
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this book when my 4-year old expressed an interest in reading. She is already reading and writing many three letter words, and constantly asks me for more "homework". The pages are not reproducible, which makes it impossible to repeat lessons. This is the only downside to the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My daughter LOVES this book!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kryssy
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my 6 year old daughter, who is a natural reader. I purchased a couple other books on different levels for other children and thought that she might enjoy this as well, so they'd all have the same 'phonics books'.
I'm SO glad I did. She has never needed much instruction in reading, just explaining a new blend or syllable rule, but her reading has EXPLODED since she started working in this book! ETC2 is all about common blends at the beginning and ending of words. Since she's been working on it, her reading speed has gone up by leaps and bounds! I have to make her put it down at the end of the day, and she often works through an entire lesson (8 pages worth of work) in a single day.
It's her favorite part of school time!
Again, I would recommend this book to anyone teaching a child to read! This series is amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid, Basic approach to Phonics

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
awalker4life
Location:MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the Explode the Code series as a supplement for my child's phonics program. The simple, straightforward approach is great at reinforcing phonics concepts. I like its flexibility; we choose when and how to use the pages to coordinate with the letters we are learning. I like the black and white format, as it is not too visually distracting, but interesting enough to hold the attention of a young student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explode the Code WORKS!

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
4kidsplus1dog
Location:Southern California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we pulled our 6 year old daughter (grade 2) from public school, she went from not being able to read the word "the" to mastering ALL the words in Explode the Code book 2 within two months time. We will be moving on to book 2 1/2, to give her that extra practice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explode the Code, best all around.

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rose Boon
Location:Florida
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Explode the Code for years as a teacher, now use it for summer enrichment for grandsons. They earn a penny a page and get to choose what to buy with what they've earned. An added benefit this year, one pair of neat sox or underwear for each book they complete. They are "worker bees." Oldest grandson was awarded for A honor roll ALL YEAR last year. Great books, good investment, children can do them pretty much on their own once they get the sounds right.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Working for us

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrsgilman
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my homeschooled 6 and 7 year old daughters. Tried Critical thinking's 'Langauage Smarts' but we struggled with that so started looking around for something else.
My 7 year old finished this book in 7 days, often working on it out with school time. The instructions were easy for her to follow so she did a lot of the book on her own with my 'marking it' when she was done. My 6 year old likes it too but needs a little bit more supervision. It could just be that they are both older therefore understand and pick up more but we intend to stick with these books for now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I use this with all of my kids and tell everyone..

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Thomas
Location:Nebraska
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great, it is easy and helps spelling, reading, comprehention, and they can do it mostly on their own. My kids would rather do this book then most of their other books. They love it. My kids will all use these books kindergarden through 2nd grade. It is a great place to start. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.
I highly recomend these books to all my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Philadephia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this product for about 8 years and continue to love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leigh
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves Explode the Code. The title is interesting to him and he gladly does several pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Date:December 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
krrose
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these for my reading 4 year old girl, who is bright, but very easily distracted. These fit her perfectly. The graphics are simple enough not to distract too much, but the exercises are very effective and progressive. She is also completely capable of doing the work independently.... bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
farm girl
i really like the simplicity of the books in this series. they are so easy to use and are to the point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Missy Sorrell
We enjoy Explode the Code books. I am using them to help teach my kids to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Explode the Code, Book 2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann S.
Explode the Code is an excellent tool for teaching systematic phonics instruction. I use it as an additional supplement. However, clearly it can stand on its own as an excellent phonics resource. My second grade boys can't wait to do it each day. The Teacher's Guide is a must in order to establish a solid understanding in phonics. I actually have to limit my boys to two pages per day. They want to keep on working. The workbook pages are black and white and skillfully incorporate vocabulary, phonics, handwriting new words, and identifying the correct word in a sentence. Completing the pages are a matter of circling the correct words, rewriting vocabulary words, underlining correct blends etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>